Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Spending money for Las Vegas

• 18-07-2014 11:11pm
    Registered Users Posts: 21

Myself and my partner are going to Vegas for a week in October. Need to know how much spending money would cover us both. Including food, shopping, day trips, shows, etc. we want to do as much as we can because this is probable the first and last time we will get to go. Would $7000 cover everything? All useful info appreciated. Thanks! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭nibtrix

It's impossible to say how much money you'd need because no-one knows what kind of shows you're going to go to, where you're going to eat, how much you'll drink etc. and most importantly how much shopping you want to do.

$7000 sounds like an insane amount to spend in a week - I would fly to Vegas, pay for a nice hotel for a week, spend like money was going out of fashion and still have a lot of change out of $7000 (spending for 2 people) so your question seems ridiculous to me. To another person it might be normal!

• Registered Users Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Running Balance

$7k seems a crazy figure. are ye planning to do a helicopter trip to the grand canyon??

Make sue you go to see the cirque de soli show Love..
    Amazing..

• Registered Users Posts: 21 Dubfan1

Ok, thanks for the info! What would you reckon would cover it then?? $4000?
    I've looked on other forums and asked around but nobody has given me a ball park figure of what would be enough.

$7k seems a crazy figure. are ye planning to do a helicopter trip to the grand canyon??

Make sue you go to see the cirque de soli show Love..
    Amazing..

Yes we want to do as much as we can! Defiantly Grand Canyon and cirque de soleil. Would you recommend booking these trips/tickets beforehand?

• Registered Users Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Running Balance

Dubfan1 wrote: »
    Yes we want to do as much as we can! Defiantly Grand Canyon and cirque de soleil. Would you recommend booking these trips/tickets beforehand?

yes we booked cirque de soleil months in advance to make sure we could get the date we were in Vegas.
    We travelled around the US for a while so stayed out in the canyon for a couple of nights so no idea of helicopter cost.
    Stay in the venician also, we got an apartment in mandlay bay but it was a bit of a trek in to walk into the main strip..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭nibtrix

I second the recommendation for the Venetian.

Yes, you should book things before you go if you're sure you want to do them - shows, day trips etc. It'll give you a much better idea how much the whole trip will cost you.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

I came back from there 2 weeks ago. I spent about 500e, a sister spent 1200e and my brother made 200e.

It's an impossible question for anyone to answer really. $7000 might be peanuts if you intend on gambling $5000 of it for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,365 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

bring only as much as you are willing to lose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

We always set a gambling budget and kept that money separate. If we lost them there was no more to top it up with under that rule.

Show tickets and day trips are expensive, book before you go so you'll know what the outlay is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Keep in mind hotels are cheap. We stayed in the Trump and Aria, they are probably the cheapest 5 star hotels we have stayed in anywhere. Also stayed in the Hilton beside Planet Hollywood, it was a 4 star and very nice.

yes we booked cirque de soleil months in advance to make sure we could get the date we were in Vegas.
    We travelled around the US for a while so stayed out in the canyon for a couple of nights so no idea of helicopter cost.
    Stay in the venician also, we got an apartment in mandlay bay but it was a bit of a trek in to walk into the main strip..

Thanks for all the information! I will look up ticket prices ect now.

Ponster wrote: »
    I came back from there 2 weeks ago. I spent about 500e, a sister spent 1200e and my brother made 200e.

It's an impossible question for anyone to answer really. $7000 might be peanuts if you intend on gambling $5000 of it for example.

I don't really intend on gambling a lot. Shopping is more my thing! I'll just have a go because I'm there!

mloc123 wrote: »
    Keep in mind hotels are cheap. We stayed in the Trump and Aria, they are probably the cheapest 5 star hotels we have stayed in anywhere. Also stayed in the Hilton beside Planet Hollywood, it was a 4 star and very nice.

We have flights and accomodation booked, we're staying in planet Hollywood .

• Registered Users Posts: 10 hughes81

$7,000 is plenty to have a good time in Vegas.
    I've been there with the wife twice - 7 days & 10 days. Probably spent, on average, $3,500.

As a guide, some of the activities we done and the approx cost (all per person...)
    Celine Dion at Caeser's: $80
    Guns n Roses at Hard Rock: $90
    The Strip Gun Club (great craic if you're into it): from $150
    Papillon Grand Canyon Airplane Tour: Approx $250
    Cirque du Soleil "O" in Bellagio: Approx $180
    Try and book what you really want to do in advance

Most of your shopping will probably be done in Caesers
    The Fashion Show Mall opposite the Wynn is also good.

There are restaurants for every budget. Breakfast usually cost $25. Dinner - anything from $70 to $180. Tender in Luxor cook amazing steaks :-)

Really wish I was going back after writing this!!
    Have fun.....

• Registered Users Posts: 45 Dermo73

I was there a couple of weeks back and stayed at the Aria. $150 a night for a top quality new 5 star hotel that is set just back off the strip beside the Bellagio. I'd highly recommend it. Lots of shows available by Cirque and others. You can book in advance but there are some good deals on the day at tickets for tonight kiosks along the strip if you change plans. Went to a show called Absinthe in a tent at the front of Caesars Palace and loved it. Amazing performers and very risque humour. Not for sensitive types but I thought it was fantastic. Food costs whatever you want to pay. Buffet options from €25 and up but you won't be hungry afterwards. $7K sounds like you can go 5 star all the way. Enjoy!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,270 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

I loved the place with the exception of the Planet Hollywood hotel :):) Be aware, they will offer to upgrade your room on check in for an additional cost. I was extremely unamused when i got accosted entering the casino and asked names, nationalities etc, turned out to be a time share sales person who stated that they were permitted to do this by the hotel.

You don't appear to have money issues, so i would suggest that you buy good seats, don't go cheap. We watched Peepshow with Holly Madison, excellent seats where she was literally swinging her legs over our heads :):) We took the grand canyon airplane ride, about half the cost of the helicopter ride, hudson dam tour, skydiving, Cirque O, and some excellent restaurants. Literally spent $10 on roulette black 8, won $360 and left the casino :)

The city has the most amazing vibe.

hughes81 wrote: »
    $7,000 is plenty to have a good time in Vegas.
    I've been there with the wife twice - 7 days & 10 days. Probably spent, on average, $3,500.

As a guide, some of the activities we done and the approx cost (all per person...)
    Celine Dion at Caeser's: $80
    Guns n Roses at Hard Rock: $90
    The Strip Gun Club (great craic if you're into it): from $150
    Papillon Grand Canyon Airplane Tour: Approx $250
    Cirque du Soleil "O" in Bellagio: Approx $180
    Try and book what you really want to do in advance

Most of your shopping will probably be done in Caesers
    The Fashion Show Mall opposite the Wynn is also good.

There are restaurants for every budget. Breakfast usually cost $25. Dinner - anything from $70 to $180. Tender in Luxor cook amazing steaks :-)

Really wish I was going back after writing this!!
    Have fun.....

Thanks so much for all the advice!!! Really helpful!

smurfjed wrote: »
    I loved the place with the exception of the Planet Hollywood hotel :):) Be aware, they will offer to upgrade your room on check in for an additional cost. I was extremely unamused when i got accosted entering the casino and asked names, nationalities etc, turned out to be a time share sales person who stated that they were permitted to do this by the hotel.

You don't appear to have money issues, so i would suggest that you buy good seats, don't go cheap. We watched Peepshow with Holly Madison, excellent seats where she was literally swinging her legs over our heads :):) We took the grand canyon airplane ride, about half the cost of the helicopter ride, hudson dam tour, skydiving, Cirque O, and some excellent restaurants. Literally spent $10 on roulette black 8, won $360 and left the casino :)

The city has the most amazing vibe.

Would you recommend taking the upgrade? we wouldn't travel to the states a lot, so I booked a package through a travel agent. I've been a few times, but this is my fb first time there. I didn't want hassle of missing connecting flights caused by delays etc...just to be safe! Re the questions upon entering casinos! I'll just walk on!! Thanks!

Dermo73 wrote: »
    I was there a couple of weeks back and stayed at the Aria. $150 a night for a top quality new 5 star hotel that is set just back off the strip beside the Bellagio. I'd highly recommend it. Lots of shows available by Cirque and others. You can book in advance but there are some good deals on the day at tickets for tonight kiosks along the strip if you change plans. Went to a show called Absinthe in a tent at the front of Caesars Palace and loved it. Amazing performers and very risque humour. Not for sensitive types but I thought it was fantastic. Food costs whatever you want to pay. Buffet options from €25 and up but you won't be hungry afterwards. $7K sounds like you can go 5 star all the way. Enjoy!!!

I'll admit I'm kinda kicking myself after reading this! I hope planet hollywood is decent! Really just somewhere with nice people and a clean room to rest the head! Maybe I'll book day trips in advance and shows when we get there, would there still be good seats available?

I can't wait for the food part!!! I'm a chef and I've heard so much about a few places!!

Thanks for the info!

Would you recommend taking the upgrade?
    I took the room upgrade, ended up with a roll away bed, if i sat at the end of it to put on shoes, the whole thing would fold up in the middle, kind of funny when the wife would get launched off :) IT was about $40 extra per day over the booking.com room that i have originally booked.

Asked for ice, took 2.5 hours :( Remember that this is a city of TIPS, 10% if you are unhappy with service, 15-20% if its good, whatever you like if service is above your expectations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭billie1b

I can't wait for the food part!!! I'm a chef and I've heard so much about a few places!!

Thanks for the info!

now now, don't be keeping secrets, tell us the recommended places, I'll be taking my honeymoon trip there in March

smurfjed wrote: »
    I took the room upgrade, ended up with a roll away bed, if i sat at the end of it to put on shoes, the whole thing would fold up in the middle, kind of funny when the wife would get launched off :) IT was about $40 extra per day over the booking.com room that i have originally booked.

Asked for ice, took 2.5 hours :( Remember that this is a city of TIPS, 10% if you are unhappy with service, 15-20% if its good, whatever you like if service is above your expectations.

Was it worth the extra $40 a day? Apart from the dodgy bed lol

I didn't see the original room, so to be honest, i can't answer the question.

billie1b wrote: »
    now now, don't be keeping secrets, tell us the recommended places, I'll be taking my honeymoon trip there in March

Ok I've made a bit of a list, I don't know if I'll make them all but I'll pick a few and book in advance.

Le Cirque @ Bellagio
    Roy's
    TENDER @ Luxor
    Rollin Smoke BBQ - ( off strip )
    RAO'S LAS VEGAS @ Cesars Palace
    Eat @ Carson Ave
    Jean Philippe Patisserie

Ok I've made a bit of a list, I don't know if I'll make them all but I'll pick a few and book in advance.

Le Cirque @ Bellagio
    Roy's
    TENDER @ Luxor
    Rollin Smoke BBQ - ( off strip )
    RAO'S LAS VEGAS @ Cesars Palace
    Eat @ Carson Ave
    Jean Philippe Patisserie

Nice thanks, i'll have a gander at them on the net later

• Registered Users Posts: 45 Dermo73

I'll admit I'm kinda kicking myself after reading this! I hope planet hollywood is decent! Really just somewhere with nice people and a clean room to rest the head! Maybe I'll book day trips in advance and shows when we get there, would there still be good seats available?

Thanks for the info!

I think you should have no problem getting good tickets a day or so in advance. A lot of shows are closed Tue/Wed.

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭Tangey99

There is a nobo in Vegas too, I can't remember if its in palazzo/venetian or MGM, I've stayed in them all over the years.

• Registered Users Posts: 363 ✭✭Paul_Hacket

Why are you going to Vegas for a week if you don't gamble? You will go out of your mind.

Also, if possible change the Planet Holleywood booking, it's fine but nowhere near the quality of some of the other hotels. Pretty much every hotel in vegas will allow you to cancel a reservation for free so you should be fine.

Why are you going to Vegas for a week if you don't gamble? You will go out of your mind.

Also, if possible change the Planet Holleywood booking, it's fine but nowhere near the quality of some of the other hotels. Pretty much every hotel in vegas will allow you to cancel a reservation for free so you should be fine.

My parents don't drink or gamble, well my dad enjoys the odd whiskey/brandy and cigar every now and then, and they go to Vegas every 2 years, they love it. You dont have to gamble to enjoy yourself

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭Tangey99

I agree that you don't have to gamble.

I'm going for 5 nights in Nov. I'll gamble in passing, probably couple $100 at most. we are staying in the Palazzo again.

We go for the variety of entertainment and high levels of things to do.

Regarding cancelling, LV hotels are no different from any other hotels in the world. They have cancellable rates and cheaper non-refunnable rates. The latter, as its name suggests, is non refundable.

So it depends on your booking.

• Registered Users Posts: 363 ✭✭Paul_Hacket

Tangey99 wrote: »
    I agree that you don't have to gamble.
    Regarding cancelling, LV hotels are no different from any other hotels in the world. They have cancellable rates and cheaper non-refunnable rates. The latter, as its name suggests, is non refundable.

So it depends on your booking.

Flat wrong. Every hotel on the strip that I know of (and I've stayed at most of them) has a no-fee cancellation policy up to 72 hours in advance. From the Total Rewards website (Planet Hollywood is a member of the Total Rewards group):

https://totalrewards.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/341/~/las-vegas-hotels---cancellation-policy

Regarding going to Vegas without gambling, I don't get it. The shows are better in cities like NYC, so is the food by a long stretch. Vegas basically amounts to fake versions of 'touristy' things found in other cities. It's fun for a cuople of days just to look around if you've never been there before and don't gamble. Pretty much everyone I know who tries to stay for longer starts to feel weird, as if you've just eaten two pints of icecream for breakfast and are now sitting down to a lunch of marshmallows - the whole thing just seems sickeningly fake and cloying after a while.

Regarding going to Vegas without gambling, I don't get it.
    The atmosphere in LV is totally different to NYC

So even though I have booked it through an agent, I could still change hotel??

Yes, I booked mine through TourAmerica, wasn't happy with my first hotel so rang and got it changed within minutes, no cancellation fees, just paid whatever the extra for the new hotel was

• Registered Users Posts: 212 ✭✭corcadorcha

Yes, you should be. Contact travel agent and ask. That shouldn't be a bother.

That's great, thanks.

billie1b wrote: »
    Yes, I booked mine through TourAmerica, wasn't happy with my first hotel so rang and got it changed within minutes, no cancellation fees, just paid whatever the extra for the new hotel was

Thanks, I've checked out the pallazo online it looks fab.

I first had the Excalibur (booked by travel agent), had a read of loads of the on-line reviews and most of them were bad, had a look through different hotels and reviews myself then and changed to the MGM Grand, had family stay here a few times also and no complaints

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,664 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

I've stayed in countless hotels in Vegas, including PH and unless you are going to pick Aria or Ballagio, there isn't a better location for a mid-range hotel. If you dont hire a car, and you might not, then cabs are going to be expensive for a week stay. A good location hotel will allow you to walk to most things and PH is well situated. The rooms in PH are very good and if you do the $20 upgrade trick you'll get a great room that time of year.

When I go to Vegas I go to play poker and I have a $400 - $500 budget per day that should cover everything. if you dont gamble then it should be cheaper than this.

The hotel in Vegas in less important than you think. All the Vegas room on 4 star plus hotels are world class and these can vary in cost quite a bit. If money is no object then definitely pick a 5 star like the Aria and enjoy the pampering but in my experience I'd pick a mid-priced room and keep the money for spending during the week.

Also, dont forget that most hotels in vegas now have a resort fee - normally not included in your booking - and can be up to $25 per night per room payable when you check out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Greg81

Just rember about Vegas Sandwich. It is worth to try.

http://www.frontdesktip.com

Hyzepher wrote: »
    I've stayed in countless hotels in Vegas, including PH and unless you are going to pick Aria or Ballagio, there isn't a better location for a mid-range hotel. If you dont hire a car, and you might not, then cabs are going to be expensive for a week stay. A good location hotel will allow you to walk to most things and PH is well situated. The rooms in PH are very good and if you do the $20 upgrade trick you'll get a great room that time of year.

When I go to Vegas I go to play poker and I have a $400 - $500 budget per day that should cover everything. if you dont gamble then it should be cheaper than this.

The hotel in Vegas in less important than you think. All the Vegas room on 4 star plus hotels are world class and these can vary in cost quite a bit. If money is no object then definitely pick a 5 star like the Aria and enjoy the pampering but in my experience I'd pick a mid-priced room and keep the money for spending during the week.

Also, dont forget that most hotels in vegas now have a resort fee - normally not included in your booking - and can be up to $25 per night per room payable when you check out.

Thanks that's a lot of good info. I didnt know about the resort fee, the travel agent never mentioned it either. I'll definately do the $20 sandwich trick.