Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Golf Society - Turkey Shoot out - 21 November 09:56 @ Corballis Golf Links

• Registered Users Posts: 3,112 ✭✭✭benny79

Hey Fix any chance of a course guide? as the one I found I think is a bit outdated and to be fair it is a course you need to have some idea what your doing!

I do recall the last time I played it there was one hole I hit a 9I off tee to a blind landing zone than a 5I to green :)

Thanks to the Big Easy that day who was my course guide! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

This place is not bad - now, is a Saturday and could be something on - I've only been there during week.
    Good food etc - unreal views.

Only 2 minutes up road , you can see it on the 16th Tee.

http://www.watersidehousehotel.ie/

Yes this makes sense - this is the one where the back 3 holes used to be?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Felexicon

Was out there today. She's a vicious animal when the wind and rain rolls through

• Registered Users Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭sofireland

Would it be cheeky to bring a second guest?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,870 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

sofireland wrote: »
    Would it be cheeky to bring a second guest?

Absolutely............... Not!

Most welcome.

• Registered Users Posts: 249 ✭✭dwd

lads, I'm going to have to drop out from this, my shoulder and neck is giving me real trouble at the moment and golf is the last thing that it needs. The physio recons I need to give it a rest for a few weeks :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭Barnaboy

This place is not bad - now, is a Saturday and could be something on - I've only been there during week.
    Good food etc - unreal views.

Only 2 minutes up road , you can see it on the 16th Tee.

http://www.watersidehousehotel.ie/

I went there for something to eat on a Saturday during the summer and was not impressed at all. Over priced and poncey. Ordered a burger and chips- skinny chips with skins still on, overcooked and tasteless, and a burger that all kinds of weird s*** on it- tasted awful. Also made no attempt to provide child appropriate meals. Not an issue for our group but says everything about the establishment.

Views are nice though :D

• Registered Users Posts: 20,816 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Barnaboy wrote: »
    I went there for something to eat on a Saturday during the summer and was not impressed at all. Over priced and poncey. Ordered a burger and chips- skinny chips with skins still on, overcooked and tasteless, and a burger that all kinds of weird s*** on it- tasted awful. Also made no attempt to provide child appropriate meals. Not an issue for our group but says everything about the establishment.

Well, sounds perfect if they couldn't handle kids or skinny chips .

Poncy in Donabate - :D

I'll look around - but , this place is the real outpost of Dublin.

There is probably something decent in village -will check out.

Make sure there are child seats and skinny chips :D

dwd wrote: »
    lads, I'm going to have to drop out from this, my shoulder and neck is giving me real trouble at the moment and golf is the last thing that it needs. The physio recons I need to give it a rest for a few weeks :(

Too much building D.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭dan_ep82

dwd wrote: »

Probably for the best last time I played Corballis it knocked me out of work for 8 days with a pulled muscle in my neck :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Barnaboy wrote: »

Happy to listen to your alternative suggestions :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Dealerz

Well, sounds perfect if they couldn't handle kids or skinny chips .

Poncy in Donabate - :D

I'll look around - but , this place is the real outpost of Dublin.

There is probably something decent in village -will check out.

Make sure there are child seats and skinny chips :D

I'm not playing, however keelings lounge in the village is a good spot for a crowd, it's big, serves decent food....views aren't great...but Portrane is just down the road if people step out of line. I'd say they could reserve a few tables up the back....best place for yis 😜

Ok lads will sort keeling.
    Thanks for that info.

• Registered Users Posts: 249 ✭✭dwd

Too much building D.

:) the only good news is the roof is now on the shed!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

Unfortunately I have to pull out of this. Was really looking forward to a bracing day by the sea :)

Was already going to be tight with a stag in Mayo on the same day but tried to play this morning for the first time in over a month and only lasted four and a half holes before the pain was too much. Hopefully haven't set back the recovery too much but fear I may have :(

On the bright side it's not the worst time of year to be forced into a prolonged break. Enjoy everyone! Corballis is always a treat :)

Also it's not my drinking hand so should be alright for Mayo :D

Hopefully catch you all next year at some stage :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

tried to play this morning for the first time in over a month

Picked some day for it. I can barely stand up outside the wind is so strong.

RoadRunner wrote: »

Was out there.
    Very funny.

Played well.

Hopefully not a day like today.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

Was out there.
    Very funny.

Played well.

Hopefully not a day like today.
    RoadRunner wrote: »

Arrahh would ye shtop! T'was a grand soft morning :p

That's why the dubs have no chance!! :p :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,112 ✭✭✭benny79

Arrahh would ye shtop! T'was a grand soft morning :p

That's why the dubs have no chance!! :p :pac:

Yeah Is that why you are faking a injury! ;):D

• Registered Users Posts: 311 ✭✭tigerwood1

First boards outing i missed in three years :(. My prediction

1st fixit 36pts
    2nd macker 34pts(long overdue return to form)
    3rd seve 33pts

• Registered Users Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

Looking forward to this, haven't played in a while, was going to play Friday but work got in the way.

Was thinking of only bringing a 7 iron and Putter

J

Looking forward to this, haven't played in a while, was going to play Friday but work got in the way.

Was thinking of only bringing a 7 iron and Putter

J

It is an interesting idea for that course - would be perfect for a 1 club challenge.

Like many lads would score better with 1 club.

With a 7 iron , you would have problems on - only

You couldn't reach 15 or 16 or 18 in regulation.

BUt after all that , many players would score better.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

With a 7 iron , you would have problems on

4 - Yes would have to be low knock down into the short grass before the green
    6 - Not sure, maybe a full swing 3/4 down the shaft.
    8 - 3 shots to the green, I think i have a shot there.
    9 - Hardest of the lot, will need one of your fast hands and low shots
    14 - Two 7 irons should do it, no ?

You couldn't reach 15 or 16 agreed but should be able to get on 18 in regulation.

Decision made, only two clubs for me.

J

4 - Yes would have to be low knock down into the short grass before the green
    6 - Not sure, maybe a full swing 3/4 down the shaft.
    8 - 3 shots to the green, I think i have a shot there.
    9 - Hardest of the lot, will need one of your fast hands and low shots
    14 - Two 7 irons should do it, no ?

You couldn't reach 15 or 16 agreed but should be able to get on 18 in regulation.

Decision made, only two clubs for me.

J

:rolleyes::rolleyes::D

I think for another day.

But , agree it has potential.

I honestly think I could get around in under 85 with 1 club.
    Under 80 if all went right.
    Maybe - :D

• Registered Users Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

We might get lucky with the weather on Saturday. Cold, dry with a gentle breeze

• Registered Users Posts: 17,762 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Any sign of a time sheet?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

yea, I have it done, but need to adjust with the drop outs.

I will get it up later on.

Seve OB wrote: »
    yea, I have it done, but need to adjust with the drop outs.

I will get it up later on.

Seve - I will be travelling - so don't mind being after 1045 - thanks.

Timesheet for Saturday Folks

Time Player 1 Player 2 Player 3 Player 4
    09:48 kieran. Alanm 3putt O'Reilly Tony
    09:56 bigchap1759 sofireland sofireland guest sofireland guest 2
    10:04 Golfgraffix ballyk redzerdrog Milk_Tray
    10:12 ronnoco13 Ben1977 bombedbiscuit Barnaboy
    10:20 benny79 RoadRunner TheRoomWrecker princess poppy
    10:28 FixedePitchmark Scubapro Macker1 ThecHamp26
    10:36 Seve OB shaunac93 Tyson Fury spacecoyote

OK, so whatever I just clicked on Teamer seems to have reset everything!!!
    Sorry about that.

There were 30 accepted a few minutes ago. :eek:

We also have 3 guests coming who are not on teamer.

No need to re-accept, I have yis all down as you can see, unless you name is not on the list above of course and you want to attend, there is still space.

Open to non members of the society also, so you are more than welcome to come along.