Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wrestlers who legitimately scared you .

• 24-05-2015 12:01am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭

What wrestlers really scared you for whatever reason?

For me, it was Arn Anderson because he was a normal guy.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

When I went to a house show in the early 1990s I was pretty scared when The Undertaker came out, despite the fact that he was my favourite guy along with Bret when I watched T.V.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

WWF kane with his mask on. and that voice box thing he used to talk with. and his theme song....

the undertaker and his theme song, along with that eye roll sent the ****s up me. I used to have nightmares about being in the ring, the lights go out, the gong, the fog descends, and im stuck there paralysed as he walks to the ring. I tried to run but id always fall over, and im sure I got chokeslammed a few times.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Vader. I was terrified of him as a 6 year old in 1993.

/thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

There wasn't very many like Vader!

• Registered Users Posts: 22,237 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Giant Haystacks.

None since the 70s.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

They are Wrestling tonight to be honest:
    CFqoUHkWoAAjjQD.jpg

Early 90s Undertaker and Papa Shango gave me the heebie jeebies as a child.

Pentagon Jr from Lucha Underground would have probably given me nightmares if he was around back then:
    PentagonJr2.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 851 ✭✭✭vintagecosmos

Jake the snake Roberts

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭chakademus

Papa Shango.

• Registered Users Posts: 60,339 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

In the mid 80's when I was a kid Fit Finlay and his ex wife Princess Paula wrestled in our local youth centre he legit scared the sh1t out of us all as did Princess Paula in head dress.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Pentecost

Vader definitely. Though I thought he was cool as **** at the same time.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,841 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

I was going to say Papa Shango too, i've only just learned The Godfather was the same person.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,799 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Jake was a great heel though, seems legit.

For me, it has to be the shockmaster though.

I was going to say Papa Shango too, i've only just learned The Godfather was the same person.

Next thing, you'll say he was the goodfather too! Haha as if...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

The undertaker, doink the clown, papa shango. They all scared the bejesus out of me when I was a kid.

What a pansy!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Chip Whitley

Definitely Papa Shango for me too.

I wonder will there be a thread on this in 25 years time and will many of today's kids say Bray Wyatt.

Brendão wrote: »

I wonder will there be a thread on this in 25 years time and will many of today's kids say Bray Wyatt.

Id say there are adults who will say Bray now.

• Registered Users Posts: 254 ✭✭poeticmakaveli

Hahaha that's crazy, papa shango for me too! So everyone can agree he was one scary dude!!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

Sid justice actually gave me nightmares

• Registered Users Posts: 60,339 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

eh i dunno wrote: »

Sid breaking his leg gave me nightmares.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,623 ✭✭✭Dancor

Early 90's Undertaker and Kamala.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Paul Bearer used to scare the life out of my younger brother. We shared a room and when we went to bed our dad would knock the lights off and I'd go 'Oooooohhh Yeeeeeessss' and my little bro would be sh*tting it.

• Registered Users Posts: 734 ✭✭✭aaaaaaaahhhhhh

The Boogie Man still scares me to this day.
    When he does that feckin walk, I still run out of the room.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

This list is not complete without nailz. Freaky evil looking yoke

• Registered Users Posts: 11,880 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

George "the animal'' Steele would be up there for me when i was younger

• Registered Users Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Cianan2

These days Brock Lesnar, legit scary dude

• Registered Users Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭bur

Good shout, like a near 7ft tall Michael Rooker.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 12,013 Mod ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

This list is not complete without nailz. Freaky evil looking yoke

Absolutely. Papa Shango too. Freaky as a child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Virtanen

Brendão wrote: »

Not gonna lie, when I started getting back in to wrestling last year, Hell in a Cell was the first thing I watched. I had never heard of Bray Wyatt. So when he made his grand appearance at the end of the night, I had absolutely no idea who he was, or what was going on. I genuinely got caught up in the moment, and was actually scared of him in that moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Zeus, aka Tom Lister
    not so much in the tv angle, but in No Holds Barred.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

When I was very young I was completely afraid of Kamala.