Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Road to Hype - Irish edition ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭Ramza

OMW now, will prolly land in Dublin in 10 mins. Will be at the venue for 12

• Registered Users Posts: 7 lovebutton

Lads, reg is open till twenty past, right? Only on my way now

I know places can't be held but dick butt is coming <3

• Registered Users Posts: 18,703 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

On my way.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭ayjayirl

Ultra results

1st Ladno
    2nd Cobelcog
    3rd Fergus
    4th place: The Truth

5th place tie: Azza
    Jun_dp101

7th place tie: ATB|RFG|RS|Nutritious
    Sharin

9th place tie: Brianvondoom
    FullMeter | D4RK ONION
    MelficeVKM
    eff

13th place tie: Doyler
    RS Ramza
    Mike P
    FullMeter | El Pollo LOCO

17th place tie: RS |ayjayirl
    Tigernorm
    Desosaurusx
    Dan
    Paro
    Uphoria
    Dick Butt
    spriral

25th place tie: Dreddy
    The_Witch
    Mikenyan
    KO|Kiki
    Jay
    EtherealJezter
    DeadRedZebra
    HappyToster

33rd place tie: PolishedPilot
    SteveBoat
    Owwmykneecap
    Leto_II_of_Dune
    Simon_K
    jimmypenguin
    NLCereal
    Djackulate
    sludgecomber
    Markoto

Tekken Results

1st The Truth
    2nd Fergus
    3rd Emmett
    4th place: Brendan

5th place tie: CKT_Neilo
    haloman15989

7th place: Cobelcog

Smash Results

1st Skarfelt
    2nd ArikadoX
    3rd Lythero
    4th place: PurpleToaster1
    5th place tie: Berra13
    Mikenyan

7th place tie: henriflame
    Super_Eoghan

9th place tie: Cobelcog
    bpjk27
    ssimonss
    BigDeDeDe

13th place tie: Squeek
    NLCereal
    2-XL
    HappyToster

17th place tie: sludgecomber
    Saxon
    oneshotfinch
    FoxFyre
    LetoIIDune
    Casey

• Registered Users Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Fergus_

GGs to everyone, thanks for all the tekken people that came and congrats to Simon for taking it.

*thumbs up*

• Registered Users Posts: 10,988 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

I played awful, but it was good craic.

Thanks to the organisers, anyone who brought equipment, helped out and participated.

Wish I could go to Scotland, but real life is in the way.

• Moderators Posts: 8,678 ✭✭✭D4RK ONION

GGs all, didn't realise I had placed that high. Well done also to FullMeter.com | El Pollo LOCO for placing 13th!
    ayjayirl wrote: »
    Ultra results

25th place tie: Dreddy
    The_Witch
    Mikenyan
    KO|Kiki
    Jay
    EtherealJezter
    DeadRedZebra
    HappyToster

SteveBoat
    Owwmykneecap
    Leto_II_of_Dune
    Simon_K
    jimmypenguin
    NLCereal
    Djackulate
    sludgecomber
    Markoto

Either there are two Dreddys, or somehow, Chopper did worse than a guy who didn't even show up

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Most stressful stream ever. Think one of my power adapters is fried.

Great day though, a lot of fun. Serious kudos to AJ and Rach for playing an absolute blinder, the people who restreamed me, and all the people who brought gear- who were all mad helpful and super prompt!

Frazzled and exhausted now...

• Registered Users Posts: 15 Sh4rin

Gz to Ladno for winning it, best cody I´ve ever seen. GGs to everyone who I played specially Azza and Cobelcog :) Need to practice more! See you soon guys :)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,988 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

D4RK ONION wrote: »
    Either there are two Dreddys, or somehow, Chopper did worse than a guy who didn't even show up

I played so badly today that it's very possible.

GGS to everyone involved today. I think it went well. Want to say special thanks to Rachel, Brian, Mike, Gus, & Everyone who brought gear.

Shout outs to Sh4rin - always brings in the views on Twitch.

Thank you to Versus Scotland and the guys at Hypespotting proper for putting their faith in the Irish Fighting games community with their name and for their promotional efforts on the day.

The Woolshed were amazing and very accommodating.

ggs to all and a although I went 1-2, the two were Ladno & Cog. GGS lads.

My apologies for the Tekken guys regarding the stream. A completely unavoidable miscommunication that resulted in the one lead needed amongst 60,000 getting left behind.

I'm sure I will leave someone out so I'll just ggs to everyone. It was great to see soo many people I didnt recognise - shows good community growth.

I played so badly today that it's very possible.

Dreddy didn't show so I just let him drop down to losers but he was then paired with someone else who didn't show so he bye'd to the next round.

• Registered Users Posts: 966 ✭✭✭Jun_DP101

Ggs. Any of the Northern Irish guys know if Simon lau is in steam/xbl/psn?

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭EmSixTeen

Jun_DP101 wrote: »
    Ggs. Any of the Northern Irish guys know if Simon lau is in steam/xbl/psn?
    He's The Truth - he's so honest he only plays face to face.

Was great fun, shoutout to Doom, ayjay and Rachel for everything, and anyone else involved in the running/streaming of the tournaments. Grats to Ladno! Also grats to cog the bomberman beast. I played poop but was fun, need to hold the L and level up. Good to see Sharin at another tourney, guy has a great gief, see you all next time
    ayjayirl wrote: »

Damn what a Scrub :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭2gen

Shout out to my sponser! I was only 1 round away from sharing 9th place with you ;) I'm really happy about my final placing for the 1st SF4 tournament I took seriously. Hopefully I can be top 8 material eventually :)

And a special shout out to "Les" for repping the "XGC Bomber Crew"! such a hype Grand Finals!

Thanks to the tournament organisers and GGs to everyone who played me (Elf player) in tournament or in casuals. I'm not sure how many "stupid character / I hate this character / gimmick" comments I got throughout the day :pac:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

2gen wrote: »
    Shout out to my sponser! I was only 1 round away from sharing 9th place with you ;) I'm really happy about my final placing for the 1st SF4 tournament I took seriously. Hopefully I can be top 8 material eventually :)

And a special shout out to "Les" for repping the "XGC Bomber Crew"! such a hype Grand Finals!

Thanks to the tournament organisers and GGs to everyone who played me (Elf player) in tournament or in casuals. I'm not sure how many "stupid character / I hate this character / gimmick" comments I got throughout the day :pac:

You're not playing SF right until people are hating on your character :D

You're not playing SF > El Fuerte

I'm gonna fall into the trap...this sounds about right :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 25 Uphoria

My first Dublin tourney, enjoyed the day got plenty of casuals in (which my my main aim to play as many people as possible) only gripe was some toolbag not once but twice walked in front of players or asked if the game to be paused mid match so he could get past to another setup :/

• Registered Users Posts: 2 Simon_L

Hey everyone,
    My first tournament in a long while, had a lot of fun was great meeting the Tekken players in Dublin, the grand finals against Fergus was some of the best tekken I have played in ages definetly beats playing online, hope to meet you all again. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Fergus_

Definitely, would love to play you more and work on certain aspects of my gameplay to improve :D

Hi Just. Sooo, that was fun and mental. Just wanted to give an update on the sending people to Scotland train.

Our raffle winner was unable to attend due to college commitments so we are sending the following players.

RS | Ladnopoka
    RS | Simon "The Truth" Lau
    RS | Johnathon Armstrong

and

RS | Cobelcog

These players will join the rest of us mugs who are paying for the privilege.

RS | Ayjayirl
    RS | Brianvondoom
    RS | FullMeter | D4RK ONION
    RS | RFG | Nutrient
    RS | KO | Kiki
    RS | KuroTao
    RS | CKT | Neilo

Now to practise....

• Registered Users Posts: 18,703 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

It's RS|KO|Kiki

Ladno and Cog going? ****ing godlike, gwan the boys

• Registered Users Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Macal

Honoured to have the Random Select handle now.

RS | CKT | Neilo (/Macal/Murderous Neil)

good grief I have to stick a name.

• Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭Zoomyzoom

Hi guys, what a day! Ggs had by all & thank you to everyone who organized, who helped out during the day, who took part & to everyone who came along! It was a great day & I'm delighted to see all the positive feedback... a bigger venue & a few other extras make all the difference! I took a few shots, 363 to be exact ;) I have tried to put the link into this post but my account still has to reach a maximum quota - I really need to start using this more often - so I've asked Ar to post the link on here for me... feel free to tag, copy & share :) Can't wait for Scotland guys :D

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭Doyler01

Great event. That venue is perfect. Congrats to Eugenius.

GGs to all, lets have another event asap pronto and somebody please beat Ladno :pac:

Highly considering hypespotting if I can sort work and a little time to practice.

Doyler01 wrote: »
    Great event. That venue is perfect. Congrats to Eugenius.

GGs to all, lets have another event asap pronto and somebody please beat Ladno :pac:

Highly considering hypespotting if I can sort work and a little time to practice.

RS|Doyler
    tbc