Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

begging

• Registered Users Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

The young lads asking for money outside the shop on Washington Street are my biggest annoyance. Every single day there is a rotation of 3 people, all asking for money when I am going into get a pack of chewing gum or whatever before working my bollix off. You'd think they'd try to use some of their ample free time to improve their lot, but they're dead happy where they are.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭Fabio

How do you suggest they "use their ample free time to improve their lot" minidazzler? Where should they start, if you don't mind me asking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

Fabio wrote: »
    How do you suggest they "use their ample free time to improve their lot" minidazzler? Where should they start, if you don't mind me asking?

Uh, the library for a start. Stuffed Full of free books to learn any skill they can imagine. If you can read you can learn absolutely anything you want.

FAS. Job-bridge. Volunteer work.

Do you have any idea what people in developing countries give for the services we have here?

I don't think it's too bad in town myself. In the daytime I've no issues bringing the kids in. I'd avoid the dodgey spot down by the bridge end of south mall, that's about it. There are a few people asking for change alright but they are generally polite and not intrusive. Never seen anyone get agressive about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 437 ✭✭mimihops

There are two young girls going around town asking for money for a bus to Midleton.

They asked me for 50 cent about a month ago, saying they just need it to pay for a bus ticket. They were only about 17 or 18 and didn't really seem like junkies, just maybe emo types who hang around outside Tesco Paul street. I gave them the 50cent anyway as they seemed genuine.

Two weeks later, I came across them again. "Excuse me, we're trying to get to Midleton and we just need 50cent to get the ticket". They didn't recognize me. I asked them "Are you still stuck in Cork? I gave you money for the bus ticket a few weeks ago!" They looked shocked and started to make up an excuse "Yeah but, but.. but.. yes... but.." I just told them to feck off.

So watch out for two young girls looking for bus money. Maybe they're junkies in the early stages. First met them on Cornmarket street, second encounter was around the dodgy carpark on Grattan street.

I have come across these girls twice over the past few months, first time in Wilton shopping centre and second time in town. Same story about the bus to Midleton. They just looked like your average emo type, wonder what their story is.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

A bit like a Goth or a Curehead.
    It's the new thing now, like.

lol, emo has been dead since about 2008 I'd say, nothing new about them.

I'm just back in Cork after a year living in a decent-sized city in Germany, and I think it was much worse before, tbh.

Maybe the begging is just more aggressive in Germany (it can be pretty in-your-face, and there's lots of them) but I was really surprised when I got back, from all of the horror stories people had been telling.

As usual, bit of perspective needed, lads. Cork is not that bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 751 ✭✭✭mcko

Again it is a lack of a Garda presence on the streets, I can't remember when I last saw a Garda on the beat in town.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,918 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

mcko wrote: »
    Again it is a lack of a Garda presence on the streets, I can't remember when I last saw a Garda on the beat in town.

All Guards can do is tell them to move. Once Guards are gone they're back at it again.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

WhiteRoses wrote: »
    I agree that Cork city has become really rough, lots of dodgy characters hanging around.

I'm quite good at discerning the difference between actual homeless people and junkies, but I can still sometimes be fooled.

I've also noticed a lot of very young well dressed beggars lately - about two weeks ago there was a girl no older than 20 sitting by Uncle Pete's by Paul St. sitting with a cup in front of her, while texting off an iPhone! Also another girl outside Vera Moda immaculately dressed (well, she had decent clothes, clean shoes and a face full of make up on) asking for spare change. What's up with this?

Some of them do seem to make a career out of it and can always be seen in the same places, there's an elderly Roma lady consistently on the footbridge leading from Sullivan's Quay to Grand Parade, and I get really upset seeing other elderly people handing her notes, feeling sorry for her, none the wiser to the fact that she most certainly isn't homeless.

Just makes me sad that these fraudsters are getting money from good hearted people when those who genuinely need it are looked over.

You're right there,shes living on Evergreen St.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,763 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

You're right there,shes living on Evergreen St.

I used to see groups of Roma getting the bus into town from Rochestown in the mornings when I lived out that way.

I've stopped giving to beggars on the street now because I don't know who is genuine any more, which is sad. I suppose, the best way to help those truly in need would be to give to Simon/ Focus/ Cork Penny Dinners.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,001 ✭✭✭✭rob316

mcko wrote: »

They don't give a ****e, down daunt square last Saturday two junkies screaming at each other, can in the hand each, two cops stroll past just looked and did nothing.

They have more pressing issues to deal with anyway like checking car tax :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 18,001 ✭✭✭✭rob316

lol, emo has been dead since about 2008 I'd say, nothing new about them.

I'm just back in Cork after a year living in a decent-sized city in Germany, and I think it was much worse before, tbh.

Maybe the begging is just more aggressive in Germany (it can be pretty in-your-face, and there's lots of them) but I was really surprised when I got back, from all of the horror stories people had been telling.

As usual, bit of perspective needed, lads. Cork is not that bad.

Its not that bad, Ive experienced Dublin and its much worse but why should we settle for the city centre going to ****. Near zero police presence and the ones that are around don't seem to care about this stuff.

Junkies, bums, homeless, beggers, shabby empty buildings left to rot, it doesn't exactly showcase the city in a good light.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭Fabio

pwurple wrote: »
    Uh, the library for a start. Stuffed Full of free books to learn any skill they can imagine. If you can read you can learn absolutely anything you want.

FAS. Job-bridge. Volunteer work.

Do you have any idea what people in developing countries give for the services we have here?

I don't think it's too bad in town myself. In the daytime I've no issues bringing the kids in. I'd avoid the dodgey spot down by the bridge end of south mall, that's about it. There are a few people asking for change alright but they are generally polite and not intrusive. Never seen anyone get agressive about it.
    The library is a good place to start yes but for almost any job you need both an address, a permanent one, and a qualification of some form. To get that qualification, indeed to get any state benefits really, you need a postal address. Homeless people do not have that and therefore it is incredibly difficult to even start the process of lifting yourself up again.

The stories of homeless people making another start are rare for a reason. Because it is very difficult given their external circumstances. You and I may think we have it hard from time to time but we're here debating and discussing something online knowing we can eat later on, some homeless people (not all) have no idea when they will eat next and can't whip out the smart phone to see what FAS course might suit them (even if it were possible to do).

In developing countries people on the streets may actually find it easier to pick up the odd bit of casual work because the gap between rich and poor is, on average, not as bad as it might be here but mainly because casual labour is also a lot more common on the streets of many developing countries. It is not here.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,942 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

rob316 wrote: »
    Its not that bad, Ive experienced Dublin and its much worse but why should we settle for the city centre going to ****. Near zero police presence and the ones that are around don't seem to care about this stuff.

Junkies, bums, homeless, beggers, shabby empty buildings left to rot, it doesn't exactly showcase the city in a good light.

Well the beggers and drug addict types are another thing and i agree that the guards have given up on policing the city centre but there's a lot of talk about closed businesses and abandoned shop fronts in the city.A lot of new businesses have opened up as well in the city centre over the course of the last year so i think things are evening themselves out on that front.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

rob316 wrote: »

I agree with you there, it doesn't do the city's image any favours, but the way a lot of people go on about it you'd swear we were living in the worst corners of Detroit.

The thing is, if most places are worse (which they are), then visitors are generally going to have a good impression of the city.

Of course problems should be solved, and the best rate of this shhite is 0%, but that's an impossible standard and I just think people should calm down before resorting to cracking open each others skulls and feasting on the goo inside.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,066 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Coming home from game tonight I saw amblenence attending homeless people who be always begging in Douglas Street.

Hope they are OK, but they must wreck the staff who work in Spar and off licence few doors up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

Fabio wrote: »
    The library is a good place to start yes but for almost any job you need both an address, a permanent one, and a qualification of some form. To get that qualification, indeed to get any state benefits really, you need a postal address. Homeless people do not have that and therefore it is incredibly difficult to even start the process of lifting yourself up again.
    Sorry, but that's pure bull. Here's a raft of jobs that need no qualification. Builders labourers, landscaping, painters assistant, waiter, kitchen worker, laundry work. Apprenticeships are the same. no address required for any of those, and if there is, no reason in the world a family member, po box, homeless shelter or friend can't be used as an address. There are services available for that too.
    The stories of homeless people making another start are rare for a reason. Because it is very difficult given their external circumstances.
    Or more likely, because homelessness is complex. It's a myriad of reasons ranging from mental health issues, to addiction, immigration, exploitation, to just being a frikken dickhead who has fallen out with every single member of their family and friends. People who are temporarily homeless can, and do pick themselves up and get back on track. People with serious underlying issues like alcoholism or drug addiction are likely quickly get back into the same homeless situation again, repeatedly. No matter what anyone gives them.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

Be wary of this big fat guy with a beard and balding curly hair about 30 and sounds like a traveller.He is very aggressive in his begging and is not averse to standing in front of people blocking their way and going up to people using ATMs.

• Registered Users Posts: 374 ✭✭ROY RACE

Begging and heroin go hand in hand

• Registered Users Posts: 151 ✭✭Dave47

Be wary of this big fat guy with a beard and balding curly hair about 30 and sounds like a traveller.He is very aggressive in his begging and is not averse to standing in front of people blocking their way and going up to people using ATMs.

fella got harassed today near atm and he had a small child with him. Incidentally didn't see a garda patrol all day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Dave47 wrote: »
    fella got harassed today near atm and he had a small child with him. Incidentally didn't see a garda patrol all day.

The beggar or the guy using the atm?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭Cadyboo

Those beggars on Washington st work for someone. Some time last year we saw a big jeep drive up the beggar went over handed in his money, got some back, jumped into the jeep and another guy got out and sat in his spot. Later that night we saw the first guy further up the street. They are wearing the best of gear and all have good phones. Tbh I just don't give to any of them anymore.

Some sort of a public infomation campaign is needed; informing people if they want to give, give to the recognised charities only, not to any random on a street corner. Cut off the source of easy money and that cuts off the spoofers and organised begging rings.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

There was a lady begging by Finns Corner on Grand Parade today.

Platinum blonde hair (no roots), a full face of make up, and respectable enough clothes. She had two bags of shopping and a phone in her hand. Granted, she didn't seem to be in her right mind but she certainly didn't appear to be someone who had fallen on hard times. She most certainly didn't seem homeless. She was stopping everyone that walked past asking for change, she appeared to have accumulated quite a bit by the sound of her coffee cup by the time I passed her.

Its so hard trying to figure out whether someone genuinely needs help or is just chancing her arm. This lady seemed like a chancer but you can never be sure!

• Registered Users Posts: 134 ✭✭IrishGurll

My mam was doing her shopping in dunnes in North Main Street about two weeks ago and a man (definitely on drugs) came up to her trying to see her SVP vouchers for 50 euro, he followed her around the whole shop trying to prove they were real and was getting very aggressive. My mam was getting frightened so reported him to one of the security guards in there and he got escorted out. She was in town again on Saturday and the same man followed her in North Main Street and grabbed her jacket and called her a "rat". She was petrified. North Main Street is flooded with junkies.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

IrishGurll wrote: »
    My mam was doing her shopping in dunnes in North Main Street about two weeks ago and a man (definitely on drugs) came up to her trying to see her SVP vouchers for 50 euro, he followed her around the whole shop trying to prove they were real and was getting very aggressive. My mam was getting frightened so reported him to one of the security guards in there and he got escorted out. She was in town again on Saturday and the same man followed her in North Main Street and grabbed her jacket and called her a "rat". She was petrified. North Main Street is flooded with junkies.

I would rather walk to Douglas or Wilton than do my shopping in Dunnes on North Main street. Its a rough area and that shopping centre is dreary, dirty and full of trouble. Your poor mam must have been terrified, tell her to do her shopping in Dunnes in Merchants Quay/Patrick Street or in Tesco on Paul St. in future. Not that there isn't trouble in those areas too, but they are certainly less shady and dodgy than North Main street, and more populated too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

Only way to stop begging is not to give them money.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

North Main St looks like The Luftwaffe bombed it.Its been going to pot for years.

A Luftwaffe bombing might actually improve it.

• Registered Users Posts: 408 ✭✭Totally Tropical

I don't agree with the North Main Street bashing.It's always been a rough and ready/what you see is what you get street but i've always walked down there without having any problems.I think that street has a certain character to it that i find refreshing.You see fellas begging on Oliver Plunkett Street as well and that is the citys second most important retail street after Pana.That incident in the North Main Street shopping centre that another poster alluded to was nasty but the way some people are going on.If i was to listen to them i'd be wearing a flack jacket and walking around with bodyguards on my next visit to town!Cork is not perfect but it's one of the safest cities in Europe.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,839 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

I agree with the above post. I walk on North Main Street almost daily and find it fine. It is also home to Bradley's - Cork's best off licence and artisan food shop. The kind of hysterical advice posted here advising people to avoid the area only serves to degrade the area.
    As more and more law abiding citizens abandon the streets, the scumbags move in.

North Main Street really is no worse than any other part of town. There is one vacant site but very few empty buildings. I suspect that the people lambasting the area and advising people to avoid the area are not really that familiar with the street.