Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Murder rate gone up by 33%.

• 22-09-2014 4:02pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭

So the official crime rates for this country have been released and murder is up in the last year by over 30%.Theres also big increases for kidnapping and other violent crime.So despite what the Guards and government keep telling us Irish society seems to getting more violent.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0922/645448-crime/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Ireland is one of the safest liberal democracies on planet Earth to live in.

Enjoy your stay.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,249 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Scumbag v scumbag self solving problem crimes are up.

Crimes that effect real people are down.

Happy days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Karl Stein wrote: »
    Ireland is one of the safest liberal democracies on planet Earth to live in.

Enjoy your stay.

Don't fill his head with that nonsense, or he'll be killed in the coming Crimepocalypse.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

endacl wrote: »
    Scumbag v scumbag self solving problem crimes are up.

Crimes that effect real people are down.

Happy days.

Thats fine till innocent people start getting killed.Its not in societys interests to have heavily armed gangs operating freely.Look at the amount of people who've either been shot in cases of mistaken identity(Shane Geoghan) or killed because they were witnesses(Anthony Campbell).The Gardai have done an excellent job in Limerick in putting away the leading scumbags but in Dublin there seems to be no end to the problem and now you have gangland killings in places like Cavan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Beano

darkdubh wrote: »
    So the official crime rates for this country have been released and murder is up in the last year by over 30%.Theres also big increases for kidnapping and other violent crime.So despite what the Guards and government keep telling us Irish society seems to getting more violent.

The stats for murder in this country are so low it doesnt take a massive increase (in this case 15) to give seemingly alarming figures of a 33% increase.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mr McBoatface

TBH :- Stats are bollix . An increase of 15 murders generally involving people engaged in murder and crime does not make this country more dangerous.

PS - 100% of the people who will respond to or read this thread will die.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

So.... Homicides in 2013/14 are numbering around the same as they were in 2011/12.
    (With a very low year in between.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Thats fine till innocent people start getting killed.

As tragic and detestable as the cases you cite are they're incredibly rare.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

In realilty the rate is much higher due to the huge amount of unreporting that goes on, mostly down to Garda negligence.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,182 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Here's the thing about Ireland...
    It's not some warzone or anything like that. Dispite what certain people may think :pac: Go over to other parts of the world to know what a dangerous kip is really like.

But within saying that, is Ireland getting a more dangerous place to live in? ... of course.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,887 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Holsten wrote: »
    In realilty the rate is much higher due to the huge amount of unreporting that goes on, mostly down to Garda negligence.

Murders are not reported?

And your basis for saying that is?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,887 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Here's the thing about Ireland...
    It's not some warzone or anything like that. Dispite what certain people may think :pac: Go over to other parts of the world to know what a dangerous kip is really like.

a quick google shows Ireland 36th lowest rate of 217 countries

We had 1.2 homicides per 100,000 people in 2012

Honduras has 90....yes 90

• Registered Users Posts: 12,169 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

An increase in the number of scumbag drug dealers killing other scumbag drug dealers, doesn't bother me too much to be honest.

If you actually read the statistics crimes against ordinary law abiding citizens have reduced.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Look at the amount of people who've either been shot in cases of mistaken identity(Shane Geoghan) or killed because they were witnesses(Anthony Campbell).
    So, two.

No matter what we do as a nation, people are going to murder other people for all sorts of reasons. Innocent people are going to get injured or worse, **** happens. The bottom line in Ireland is that very little **** happens and you won't get better numbers unless you plan to lock the entire nation up for their own good.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,560 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

The amount of people who don't know they've been murdered is shocking.

Worse still those who are aware that they've been murdered but have no faith in the Gardai so they do nothing about it.

http://www.cso.ie/Quicktables/GetQuickTables.aspx?FileName=cja01c1.asp&TableName=Homicide+Offences&StatisticalProduct=DB_CJI think this gives a better picture of the situation. We had a low in 20011 and it has climbed since then but the overall trend is downwards since 2006.

The stats quoted in that article are YTD figures which dont seem to match with the other CSO figures i linked to above

Robbo wrote: »
    The amount of people who don't know they've been murdered is shocking.

Worse still those who are aware that they've been murdered but have no faith in the Gardai so they do nothing about it.

It happened to me once but i didnt bother reporting it. I'm sure the guards are busy enough without me bothering them with my little problems.

ScumLord wrote: »
    So, two.

No matter what we do as a nation, people are going to murder other people for all sorts of reasons. Innocent people are going to get injured or worse, **** happens. The bottom line in Ireland is that very little **** happens and you won't get better numbers unless you plan to lock the entire nation up for their own good.

Two examples,there have been many more.I'm not going to go trawling through old news reports for stats but my point is that people have a "its not affecting me so I don't care" attitude.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

A few reasons for the increases seem to be a big increase in people getting killed in drunken assaults/stabbings at house parties.Maybe the easy avilability of cheap booze should be looked at and off licenses more heavily regulated.There seems to be more and more gangland killings certainly and people being killed for more trivial reasons.Being in a fight with some scummer in a pub and being shot a few days later,petty rows etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,169 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Thats fine till innocent people start getting killed.Its not in societys interests to have heavily armed gangs operating freely.Look at the amount of people who've either been shot in cases of mistaken identity(Shane Geoghan) or killed because they were witnesses(Anthony Campbell).The Gardai have done an excellent job in Limerick in putting away the leading scumbags but in Dublin there seems to be no end to the problem and now you have gangland killings in places like Cavan.

Ah would you stop with the sensationalist nonsense. The gangs aren't heavily armed (shotguns and pistols isn't heavily armed) or operating freely. There have been a tiny amount of cases where an innocent bystander gets killed.

There was a 33% increase compared to last year (15 more dead drug dealers boo hoo) but last year was a statistical outlier, the overall trend has been down since 2006.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭Aubrey loves Joe

jobyrne30 wrote: »

PS - 100% of the people who will respond to or read this thread will die.

Could you expand more on this please?

Karl Stein wrote: »
    As tragic and detestable as the cases you cite are they're incredibly rare.

One of those cases is too many and as someone has pointed out, we have had both Shane Geoghegan and Anthony Campbell getting caught in the crossfire to begin with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

You can make statistics look like anything you want. That was my first statistics lecture in college was about. To make statistics reliable, they need to be look over a long period of time and compared to other years.

One year is not a fair representation

One of those cases is too many and as someone has pointed out, we have had both Shane Geoghegan and Anthony Campbell getting caught in the crossfire to begin with.

Unfortunately the world is not perfect, so there will always be innocent victims of criminal gangs.

MadYaker wrote: »
    Ah would you stop with the sensationalist nonsense. The gangs aren't heavily armed (shotguns and pistols isn't heavily armed) or operating freely. There have been a tiny amount of cases where an innocent bystander gets killed.

There was a 33% increase compared to last year (15 more dead drug dealers boo hoo) but last year was a statistical outlier, the overall trend has been down since 2006.

They were all drug dealers?

Could you expand more on this please?

you've gone and done it now. Because you responded you have lost your chance for immortality.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

I think that they should stop counting a scumbag being killed as a number and when a sexy lady is killed it should count and be punished as double

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭timetogo

Non sensationalist info for the murder rates around the world here.

http://www.unodc.org/documents/gsh/data/GSH2013_Homicide_count_and_rate.xlsx

Beano wrote: »
    Unfortunately the world is not perfect, so there will always be innocent victims of criminal gangs.

Be that as it may, the authorities have to be seen to tackle it head on to prevent anymore all the same. Gangland killings cant be just seen as a necessary evil.

Ill admit i dont care much for those who are involved in gangland and are slain but at the same time it would be absolutely irresponsible and reckless of the Gardaí if they just stood idly by and done nothing to prevent these killings. All well and good saying 'well so and so was only a scumbag anyway' but you have to place yourself in the scenario of walking down the street and happening to be a few feet away as someone is being assassinated. The bullet could have hit you as easily if the assassin has a poor shot and the shooter could also decide there and then that a witness to such a murder needs to be eliminated. Look at the case for example a few years back where Mr Joe Duffy phone in was shot in a taxi. Imagine how terrifying it is for that driver having such fear as he only tries to earn a living.

Or indeed would you like your child to witness a murder as they are being dropped off at school? Its not as open and shut as we like to think