Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does anyone else find 'Movember' moustache growers a bit smug?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

juan.kerr wrote: »
    Go for it.

Is it all people with facial hair that you dislike or just the ones that claim to do it for charity?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Is it all people with facial hair that you dislike or just the ones that claim to do it for charity?

The ones that jump on the Movember bandwagon only, don't really care about facial hair otherwise.

As someone else mentioned, some 'participants' don't even know it's for charity.

• Registered Users Posts: 403 ✭✭Mensch Maschine

Finally every second bloke in ireland will no longer look like a skanger or gay.

More eye candy for you then, yeah?

Larianne wrote: »
    Maybe their top lip gets cold in November? Tis chilly out.

So how many of those shaved them off on 1st December?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

9959 wrote: »
    I hope you're not suggesting that a man might wear a moustache because he thinks it 'looks good' on him.

I've only ever seen three people who've looked even remotely cool sporting these facial abominations: Bryan Ferry, Brandon Flowers, and the late lamented Betty Driver from the TV Soap 'Coronation Street'.

Tom Selleck, Freddie Mercury, Hugh Jackman.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

So how many of those shaved them off on 1st December?

I dunno. I don't have an obsession with men wearing moustaches. ;)

Larianne wrote: »
    I dunno. I don't have an obsession with men wearing moustaches. ;)

That makes two of us. At least.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Andy!!

Not really, since no one here knows who I am. Whereas the moustache growers are walking around showing off their moustaches.

Yeah I dont think you understand what smug means. You can still be smug if no one knows.

Andy!! wrote: »
    Yeah I dont think you understand what smug means. You can still be smug if no one knows.

Can you really be? And how would this manifest itself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

More eye candy for you then, yeah?

Yeah, women.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

Movember is the most unsmug form of charity I can think of. Making your face look ridiclous for a month isnt easy.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Making your face look ridiclous for a month isnt easy.

I do it all year round!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

I agree OP. If you want to grow a 'tache, just grow a fukking 'tache whenever you want, not just November 'cause everyone else is doing it.

I posted this on another thread: For all the hype of Movember and lads putting pics up on Facebook of the progress of their 'taches, there's not a lot of info in the mainstream actually about testicular cancer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Making your face look ridiclous for a month isnt easy.

The majority know what it's about so growing a mustache is hardly ridiculous or challenging.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Andy!!

Movember is the most unsmug form of charity I can think of. Making your face look ridiclous for a month isnt easy.

Too right; half way through the month I really wanted to quit.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I agree OP. If you want to grow a 'tache, just grow a fukking 'tache whenever you want, not just November 'cause everyone else is doing it.

I posted this on another thread: For all the hype of Movember and lads putting pics up on Facebook of the progress of their 'taches, there's not a lot of info in the mainstream actually about testicular cancer.

If you want more info on cancer become an oncologist.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Finally every second bloke in ireland will no longer look like a skanger or gay.

Quite like the 1970's pornstar look tbh ;)

Hey anyway what's the problem - grow a bit of facial hair, raise awareness, raise a bit of money ...

Put a smile on some hairy blokes face!

Some woman like it afaik....we can't all be hairless babies :o

• Registered Users Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Fellas just grow them to look hip or somesh1t like that, I very much doubt many of them actually donated to charity

• Registered Users Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭vektarman

Does anyone else find 'Movember' moustache growers a bit smug?
    Myself and my workmates grew moustaches for Movember, and raised a few quid to boot, it was heartening to see how many people encouraged us through the month and helped us make people aware of mens cancer issues, 'smug' was the last thing that we would have thought of ourselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 943 ✭✭✭Real Life

I wish we were in a time where men could grow a moustache like this and not be questioned about it.
    http://i.imgur.com/km2vF.jpg
    a fantastic example of a moustache, i think i should do this since my hair is already the same

• Registered Users Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Real Life wrote: »
    I wish we were in a time where men could grow a moustache like this and not be questioned about it.
    a fantastic example of a moustache, i think i should do this since my hair is already the same

I'm pretty sure there's a guy working in Urban Outfitters in town rocking that look at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Real Life wrote: »

I passed a guy with one of those the other day. Tall, well built, shaved head. He looked magnificent. Why wouldn't you grow one? There's a nasty insular attitude from some people but fcuk them. They're going the way of the dinosaurs, thank God. Be a man and grow whatever facial hair you want.
    -Guy with a beard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I say fair play too them, especially those who are willing to have knacker taches for the month. ;-)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭Zab

Rubbish. I donate to charities, but prefer to keep it anonymous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

I can't wait till Fanuary.

• Registered Users Posts: 943 ✭✭✭Real Life

Shryke wrote: »
    I passed a guy with one of those the other day. Tall, well built, shaved head. He looked magnificent. Why wouldn't you grow one? There's a nasty insular attitude from some people but fcuk them. They're going the way of the dinosaurs, thank God. Be a man and grow whatever facial hair you want.
    -Guy with a beard.

you've talked me into it, il do it. i already have a full grown beard so its just a matter of shaving everything but the moustache

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 69 ✭✭TheFisherKing

Beard-cember, Beard-uary, Beard-ruary, Barch, Bapril (no baps), Bay, Bune, Buly, Baugust, Beard-tember, Beard-tober.....

http://tinyurl.com/cc8suq9

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

They're fairly irritating alright. Not sure why though. I think it's the idea of a grown man only feeling comfortable to grow a tache if his freinds are too and they're doing it for a "cause" :rolleyes: It's proper Facebook generation stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

i don't mind the Movember concept, if only it were limited to men it would be good though

• Registered Users Posts: 600 ✭✭✭The Orb

Can't wait for the girls turn in Fanuary