Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

something bit me!

• 26-08-2012 11:26pm

Toe was grand until about an hour ago, walking round the flat barefoot all day. Then I noticed my big toe feeling a little tender, not to worry, assumed I just stood on something. Within ten minutes it was swelling and it hurts like feck to walk on! Sizeable swelling, feels really hot, and hard (yes I know how that sounds).

What the hell could have done this? :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

budgese wrote: »
    Toe was grand until about an hour ago, walking round the flat barefoot all day. Then I noticed my big toe feeling a little tender, not to worry, assumed I just stood on something. Within ten minutes it was swelling and it hurts like feck to walk on! Sizeable swelling, feels really hot, and hard (yes I know how that sounds).

Sounds like a centipede bite

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Ebola?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭hattoncracker

radioactive spider?

Expect your eyesight to improve when you wake up tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭SocSocPol

Missing, one adult tarantula, if found please return to SocSocPol:D

• Registered Users Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Has to be TB or cat aids.

Just chop off your leg at the hip. Be grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,955 ✭✭✭Degag

A rattlesnake obviously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

Take an anti histamine and stop moaning. I have acne on my bum, some of us have real problems!!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Yep amputate it now before it spreads and kills you.
    (take an antihistamine maybe?)

mauzo wrote: »
    Take an anti histamine and stop moaning. I have acne on my bum, some of us have real problems!!

You're not related to ilovesleep are you? :eek:

radioactive spider?

Expect your eyesight to improve when you wake up tomorrow.
    SocSocPol wrote: »
    Missing, one adult tarantula, if found please return to SocSocPol:D

Radioactive tarantula hopefully, if me eyesight improves by a couple of degrees I might actually be able to see the fecker.

Other than that, he'll have the other nine toes before I find him.

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 13,449 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Was it your finger too?

Was it Charlie?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭hattoncracker

I feel so sorry for you, but not sorry enough to rub Dr Spot on your ass.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,248 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I was in Africa a few years back, had an itch on my side. One day I decided to take a look properly and it was actually an insect half buried into my skin, about 1cm long. Gross.
    Check your toe OP

Jaysus, that actually didn't even occur to me. There's antihistamines in here somewhere... might even unearth a colony of mutant toe biting creatures if I dig hard enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭PieForPi

Budgese,

I don't want to alarm you but I've a friend who works in St.James' Hospital who was telling me recently that the reports of botfly egg implantations has sky rocketed this summer in Ireland.

It's mainly harmless. Fly lands on you, pierces skin, implants egg and leaves. Eggs quickly grow, hatch under the skin, break the skin and then fly away from the host. Not pleasant though.

With all the rain and the humidity it's no surprise really.

Chucken wrote: »
    You're not related to ilovesleep are you? :eek:

Not that i know of why?....has she got it too???

• Registered Users Posts: 816 ✭✭✭dr strangelove

Bad AIDS. Definitely

• Registered Users Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Flesh eating virus.

PieForPi wrote: »
    Budgese,

I don't want to alarm you but I've a friend who works in St.James' Hospital who was telling me recently that the reports of botfly egg implantations has sky rocketed this summer in Ireland.

It's mainly harmless. Fly lands on you, pierces skin, implants egg and leaves. Eggs quickly grow, hatch under the skin, break the skin and then fly away from the host. Not pleasant though.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

what type of footwear had you on?

Not that i know of why?....has she got it too???

There was a story. Once. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

antodeco wrote: »
    Was it your finger too?

Was it Charlie?

You call your finger Charlie?

I call my 3rd leg. Mick the dick.

Oh FFS Im eating my dinner here!!!!!!!!

PieForPi wrote: »
    Budgese,

Yep am aware of the botflies. Seems unlikely to have happened in such a short space of time though, let's see what it feels like tomorrow.

Seen it.

Dinner at 11.40? No, Just No!

Nom nom nom :D

what type of footwear had you on?

Barefoot. Stuck on a pair of runners to go outside for five mins. No socks. Barefoot again. Started around the time I put the runners on actually.

Dinner at 11.40? No, Just No!

Its always dinner time somewhere.

touche' :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 746 ✭✭✭ladypip

Barefoot. Stuck on a pair of runners to go outside for five mins. No socks. Barefoot again. Started around the time I put the runners on actually.

Maybe there was a goblin hiding in your shoe?