Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheltenham Day 3:Thursday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

1.30 - sir des champs
    2.05 - Pineau de re and Sergent guibs

4.00 - Hectors choice and Niceonefrankie
    4.40 - Midnight appeal

• Registered Users Posts: 225 ✭✭Morleystreet

Good luck to everyone for tomorrow.

1.30 for non stop
    2.05 our father
    2.40 albertas run
    3.20 five dream e.w. (2nd to bb twice this season, albeit by a mile. Will be running for a place and might sneak third).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭stiffler123

1:30- Bold sir Brian
    2:05 Buena Vista and Restless Harry
    2:40 Poquelin
    3:20 Thousand Stars(betting without Big Bucks)
    4:00 Giorgio Quercus
    4:40 Midnight Appeal

Good luck to all.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭MidnightQueen

What i have so far, will be editing this tomorrow.

Place Pot

14:05 Sergent Guibs 9/1
    14:40 Riverside Theatre 5/1 Rubi Light 9/1 Captain Chris 11/1
    15:20 Thousand Stars 8/1
    16:00 Niceonefrankie 10/1 Notus De La Tour 16/1
    16:40 Midnight Appeal 12/1 Swing Bill 20/1

Jackpot

13:30 Peddlers Cross 10/3 and Sir Des Champs 7/2
    14:05 Our Father 9/2
    15:20 Big Bucks 8/13
    16:40 Midnight Appeal 12/1

• Registered Users Posts: 936 ✭✭✭leggit

1.30 Really fancy Peddlers Cross in the first, don't think Sir Des Champs is as good as everyone thinks but sure we'll see tomorrow! (Reminder to edit post @ 1.40pm...:D)

2.05 Thinking about Sonofvic in this one but Pettifour definitely has e/w claims at 50/1 and I wouldn't count out Restless Harry at 33/1 either.

2.40 I think Noble Prince has everything going for him in this race, between him and Somersby for me. Call me insane but I really think that course specialist Kalahari King has excellent claims for a place and I'll definitely be having a nibble on him at 33/1.

3.20 Big Bucks (NAP) has this in the bag doesn't he? e/w or w/o value is with Thousand Stars but I'll be going big on Big Bucks to make it 16 in a row, don't think Oscar Whisky will handle the distance well. Will do a double with Boston Bob I think in the Albert

4.00 I think Divers is a pretty decent horse and now that AP will be on board I think I'll go with him for this race. Really tough one to call but have my doubts about the favorite Salut Flo to win it so will definitely be avoiding him.

4.40 Tough one to call like the 4.00 but I'll just side with becauseicouldntsee. More going with my heart in this one since I like this horse a lot even after it's fall in the grand national. But it's also a good horse on it's day and I can see it being thereabouts come crunch time.

5.15 Don't be betting on this!!! If you have to, just close your eyes and point at the screen and back it e/w ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 33 Tekken

Anyone fancy blazing tempo???
    Done well in last few races

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,481 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Have heard good things about Boston Bob (not as close to the horse's mouth as was Finians) but should give a good account of himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭closeline

What is a lucky 15 and is there much of a chance of winning in it

• Registered Users Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭superfurry1

Gone For the Peddlers and Big Bucks Double works out about 6-1. Bad start to the week though so not going into tommorw with much confidence.
    So here's some more to avoid. Sonovfic, Blazing Tempo, Cockney Mackem,Start me up. And Finally the most important race of the day The paddys day derby Loden :D

• Registered Users Posts: 418 ✭✭gandroid

Tekken wrote: »
    Anyone fancy blazing tempo???
    Done well in last few races

She's interesting at the price for sure. It's a very competitive race though and the only thing putting me off her is she didn't really perform at the track when she ran there before...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,753 ✭✭✭corny

Voler la Vedette each way. Probably won't trouble the fav but she might be good for place.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

closeline wrote: »
    What is a lucky 15 and is there much of a chance of winning in it

Google

• Registered Users Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Having convinced myself to back Riverside Theatre, starting to have second thoughts and might just go for Noble Prince. Previous festival form, should like the ground. Have had a few people raving to me about Rubi Light but I just can't see it. Prefers a cut in the ground and his jumping performance the last two times out was enough to put me off.

In the first, I'm thiking of going for Sir Des Champs even though I'm probably overthinking this way too much. Peddlars, given the form McCain is in and course form, should win. But for some inconcievable reason I don't want to back him. Fair chance I'm going to go nuts either way after the race. A Peddlars/SDC + Big Bucks double could be the way to go via Betfair multiples.

Plugging for one of Sonofvic, Sergeant Gibbs and Pineau de Re in the 2.05; Mourad or So Young to be placed in the 3.20; Fine Pachment in the 4.00; and either Benbane Head or The Hollinwell in the 4.40. Will decide tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭grohlisagod

Anybody interested in Somersby at 5/1 for the 2.40? Decent form and gave a good account of himself against the likes of Long Run and Kauto Star at Kempton. Surely worth an each way punt.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

Have a presentation in the morning so haven't had much time to look at the cards. I'll try get more done tomorrow afternoon.

RUSSIAN WAR 40/1 , PETTIFOUR 40/1 & SCOTSBROOK CLOUD 100/1

Looks incredibly open but I think at least one of these three outsiders can make the frame. Gordon Elliott's RUSSIAN WAR is an old friend of mine and had a tremendous season last year notching up 6 wins over hurdles, including one at Cheltenham. He created a fantastic impression winning at Aintree and followed up that win a really, really impressive win off a mark of 135 at Ayr where he won on the bridle. After this, Elliot sent this 9 year old chasing but he really didn't take to it and lost a lot of confidence. Since reverting back to hurdling, he put in a much improved performance without looking the horse of old off a mark of 149 over C+D back in October and after being pulled up on his last start he's had a 5 month break which should freshen him up (has a good record fresh). Although he'll have to put in a career best performance to win this off a mark of 147, I certainly think he is capable and if the first time application of cheekpieces work I can see him going close at what looks a very overpriced 40/1

PETTIFOUR is a 10 year old from the Nigel Twiston Davies yard who has good course form and could well have been laid out for this race. He came a very good 2nd at the track back in November of 138 and I think he may have had this race in mind (probably like so many others) for quite a while. Tomorrow he races off a mark of 143 which certainly doesn't seem beyond him and the trainers son Willie takes off a very valuable 7lb to give him an effective handicap rating of 136. If the application of first time blinkers bring about some improvement, I see no reason why Pettifour can't at least outrun his odds and hopefully win.

My last selection is the outsider of the entire party in the shape of David Evans 7 year old SCOTSBROOK CLOUD and I don't understand why he's such a massive price. As a 6 year old, he was highly progressive winning twice and finishing 2nd three times in his 7 starts in this sphere which culminated in a decent 2nd off a mark of 135. The form of that race looks strong with the winner putting in a great effort on his only subsequent start off a 7lb higher mark and the 3rd winning off a 7lb higher mark subsequently. After a 5 month absence, Scotsbrook Cloud was pulled up on his last start but that was on heavy ground which didn't suit at all and I'm willing to ignore that effort. Off a mark of 137 tomorrow, if he's improved from a 6 year old to a 7 year old I see no reason why he won't be able to defy this mark in the future and with jockey Michael Byrne taking off 5lb tomorrow he gets into the race as joint bottom weight off just 10-1. Although he could easily be outclassed, his trainer is in very good form at the moment and I've certainly see way worse 100/1 shots in my lifetime.

DIVERS 7/1

I think this looks a bit of a Ferdy Murphy plot as Divers has gotten into this race on what seems a very good mark. Divers absolutely loves it around Cheltenham and was a winner at the festival last yearr. With Murphy in great form and Tony McCoy booked, will be very surprised if he doesn't go extremely close with a clean round of jumping.

Don't like too much else for the day, although I think SO YOUNG 22/1 could be best of the rest behind Big Bucks in the World Hurdle and it wouldn't surprise me if FREDO 33/1 put up a good showing in the last race of the day.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Rossom - Single handedly taking the bookies for all they're worth :D

• Registered Users Posts: 563 ✭✭✭irish_man

Just backed Oscar Whiskey there. The sky sports phone app have a few tips and they called rock in ruby and Finians rainbow to win. Won €30 on Finians rainbow yday and put it all e/w on oscar whiskey.

• Registered Users Posts: 418 ✭✭gandroid

Ladbrokes have Enhanced Place Terms for the Stayers/World Hurdle until 9.30 this morning...half the odds for a place, as advertised on the Morning Line.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

crystal bonus to win jewson 5/1.
    sonofvic in pertemps 11/1- only carrying 10/10 and ran grand crus to less than a length earlier this year.disappointed on last chase but is 2/2 over hurdles. im taking a chance.

ryanair loooks a minefield

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

gandroid wrote: »
    Ladbrokes have Enhanced Place Terms for the Stayers/World Hurdle until 9.30 this morning...half the odds for a place, as advertised on the Morning Line.
    1 hour of half the odds.....wow.hayley was on newstalk last night and i thought the offer would be much better than that. are people even out of bet yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 34 ciarraiabu1977

having a horrid festival so far, gone for a lucky 15 on the following: :)

Sir Deschamps
    Thousand Stars
    Noble Prince
    Our Father

any thoughts?!

• Registered Users Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

1.30 Peddlers Cross 7/2

Vibes haven't been good but I've backed him the last two festivals and won't stop now. Still think he has a great chance. The defeat to Sprinter Sacre is nothing to be ashamed about!

2.05 Buena Vista e/w 11/1

My biggest price winner last festival at 20/1 and winner of this race the last two years. Always get a great spin for your money round Cheltenham with this horse - was also 3rd in a supreme and 6th in an Arkle back in his younger days. Getting on abit now but hopefully there is one last day in him, 10 pound claimer on board who has 3 wins out of 10 runners for David Pipe in the last year.

2.40 Captain Chris e/w 14/1

This looks a very good renewal of the Ryanair, a case could be made for most horses in it. I think Captain Chris is overpriced at 14s and is worth an e/w shout. Winner of the Arkle last year (Finians Rainbow 2nd) he would have won in the Haldron Gold Cup at Exeter if it wasn't for a final fince unshipping of Richard Johnson. Was behind Kauto and Long Run next time out and I thought he ran very well considering his jumping was very bad. Next time out something seemed amiss and he was pulled up in the Argento. Worth another chance I think.

3.20 Big Bucks Can't see him being beaten.

Oscar Whisky w/o the fav 9/4

Oscar Whisky is a class horse, think he will give Big Bucks a bit to think about but will come up short and finish second so going to back him without BB.

4.00 Divers e/w 15/2

Won at last years festival. Good third in the Paddy Power to Great Endeavour. Should be there or thereabouts. McCoy booked.

4.40 Midnight Appeal e/w 14/1

5/8 over fences and placed the other 3 times including a second to Fruity O Rooney who ran well here on Tuesday. Think he can improve further, does need to improve jumping a bit though.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,245 ✭✭✭Juwwi

Can anyone provide a link to the charity race card online I cant find one and got a tip last week for this race.
    dont know name of horse only Jockey and Trainer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

Backed Sir Des Champs only because I backed him in Leopardstown last time.

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭El Ninotorres

Lucky 15 -

Pineau De Rae
    Noble Prince
    Thousand Stars
    Hectors Choice

If all get placed it's €243 return off 50c e/w lucky 15, if all win.. I'm going on the piss BIG time tomorrow...

• Registered Users Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Day 3:

Lucky 63 (EW) across 6 races.

1:30pm - Sir Des Champs
    2:05pm - Sergent Guibs
    2:40pm - Riverside Theatre
    3:20pm - Oscar Whisky
    4:00pm - Notus De La Tour
    4:40pm - Midnight Appeal

There is a 5:15pm race but I'm not even bothering to have a punt on it. Basically a lottery. May as well just pick a random horse out and back it each way. Probably not worth your time.

As well as my Lucky 63 (EW) bet I've got an each way treble on the following:

Solix (1:30pm), Riverside Theatre (2:40pm) and Oscar Whisky (3:20pm)

And finally a small each way bet on Pettifour (2:05pm).

Good luck. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 227 ✭✭GampDub

After a good day yesterday here are my picks today... not overly confident so we'll see how we go. Still keeping the stake sensible and only betting in the later races if I'm doing okay!

Reckon at least one winner for the green and gold of JP today but I'm really against Alberta.

Anyway here goes:

1.30 Sir Des Champs

2.00 Catch Me
    Restless Harry
    Bellflower Boy

2.40 Captain Chris (terrible form this season but I like this horse and backed it last year)
    Noble Prince (my main bet in the race)
    Medermit (an outside chance but I prob wont back him)

3.20 Big Bucks (might do a double with Noble Prince)

4.00 Gansey, Life of Luso were my own fancies
    Reading the racing post this morning and David Pipe reckons Salut Flo is one of his best for the week and the owner of Crack Away Jack says he wins this easy. An each way race if ever there was one.

4.40 Sunnyhillboy - especially if JP has wont before then. If he has then this will be a no bet race for me! Wierd reasoning I know but its how I roll.

Best of luck today...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Hi lads.

I did a preview of today's racing if anyone wants to see it

http://tcdhorseracing.com/2012/03/08/thursday/

• Registered Users Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

My nap of the day is Cape Tribulation I have stuck 25 e/w on him at 16/1 i think he is a better hurdler than chaser and i can see him been up there with a race that pays 1,2,3,4,5 at 1/4 of the odds.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

I reckon if Sunnyhillboy wins he'll go for the National provided he comes out of the race well, otherwise he will go to Ireland. Thats my guess anyway.