Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tin of beer or Can of beer?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

I've heard some people say gonna get a few 'tinnies' but they never say tin singular.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭GalwayKiefer

Cans would be what I'd say but here it's tins or tinnies. Doesn't sound right to me.

How can it not be a can, it can't be a tin; but, it can be a can.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

Once its wet couldn't give a fcuk what you call them after that...

• Registered Users Posts: 138 ✭✭younge

Thats what she said

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭girlonfire

It's a can. Anyone who thinks otherwise is wrong :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Turpentine

I usually drink a sextet of ale from cans made of tin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Miss Olenska

Either a can or a tall boy.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Posy wrote: »
    Brown bull. Yes, of course.

*pretends to understand*

From your profile: "History
    of Ireland: Vikings, famine, British rule, civil war, big hair, recession, celtic tiger, recession again, NAMA."

You skipped the pre-Viking era. All 9,000 years of it.
    Jaysus, do they even teach Irish history in school these days?

Just search for "The Brown Bull Of Cooley" and see how those feckers in Ulster would never have become part of a united Ireland, even if the hated Brits had not invaded or if Ian Paisley had not created a Christian cult.

Those feckers said "NO!" a long time before the Paisley cúnt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

An aluminium of beer.

I think its can in Dub and Tin in the country. In my experience off course.

• Registered Users Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Turpentine

Terry wrote: »
    From your profile: "History
    of Ireland: Vikings, famine, British rule, civil war, big hair, recession, celtic tiger, recession again, NAMA."

You skipped the pre-Viking era. All 9,000 years of it.
    Jaysus, do they even teach Irish history in school these days?

Just search for "The Brown Bull Of Cooley" and see how those feckers in Ulster would never have become part of a united Ireland, even if the hated Brits had not invaded or if Ian Paisley had not created a Christian cult.

Those feckers said "NO!" a long time before the Paisley cúnt.

Here was me hoping to find out what to officially call one of my favourite beverage containers when I was blessed with the sight of this rant about the Brits. Thank you Terry, that'll learn 'em.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

You weirdos theyre tin foil hats.

Lads comin for a fehw tin foil hats.

Finish your tin foil hat put it on your head, stack em, pour a fresh tin foil hat over your
    mate cos he's a bit quiet, mad craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 blackworld

I usually call it a CAN of Beer . . .

• Registered Users Posts: 3,661 ✭✭✭policarp

I'll have a tube of tonsil lube, please. . .Sheila. . .

Can, Tin of Drink of sorts . . .

• Registered Users Posts: 13,859 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Broads.ie wrote: »
    Well, what do you call it?

I call it a TIN.

I call it a bottle.

Cans/tins of beer? Ughh.

• Registered Users Posts: 621 ✭✭✭dave3004

Bottles?

We call 'em Bots !

• Registered Users Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

Brewskie!

Actually can 70% of the time, tin 30% or thereabouts.

Next you'll be telling me there's no tin in tin foil. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭10green bottles

Broads.ie wrote: »
    What... you never say to your mates "hey... let's get a few tins" ??
    Posy wrote: »
    Can!! I say 'tins' sometimes when if I'm in Norn Iron though..
    ffs nobody north of the false border says that.
    Cans of harp from the freestate,round Gundalk thanks :pac:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Pherekydes wrote: »
    There's no tin in a beer can.

Dey a latta salt in a beer can.

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭HenryChinaski

Can, definitely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

A tin of pop*.
    A tin of Pringles.
    A tin of soup.
    A tin of beer.

*Does anyone actually use the word 'pop' who doesn't live inside an Enid Blyton novel?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,966 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Next you'll be telling me there's no tin in tin foil. ;)
    That's because it's thin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭al28283

namloc1980 wrote: »
    It's Aluminium not Aluminum.....bloody Yanks!

It's Aluminum

• Registered Users Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

saa wrote: »
    You weirdos theyre tin foil hats.
    ALUMINIUM foil hats, please.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Bag o' cans

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,966 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

A bag of tins doesnt sound right.
    Australian Government
    Department of Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs

Application for Grant of Australian Citizenship
    You must answer 75% (28 or more out of 37) of these questions correctly in order to qualify for Australian Citizenship

1.How many slabs can you fit in the back of a Ford Ute while also allowing room for your cattle dog?

2.When packing an Esky do you put the ice, or the beer, in first?

4.How many beers in a slab?

13.How many cans of beer did David Boon consume on a plane trip from Australia to England?

14.How many stubbies is it from Brissy to the Gold Coast in a car travelling at 120km/h?

18.Which Australian Prime Minister held the world record for drinking a yardie full of beer the fastest?

30.What is the difference between a pot and a middy of beer?

Sky King wrote: »
    ALUMINIUM foil hats, please.
    You do know they actually act as antennas for frequencies assigned to the government , it's like putting a satellite dish tuned to 1.3GHz on your head :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

That's because it's thin.

*Head explodes*

• Registered Users Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Can (:cool:) you say both?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

bottle of lager