Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UK cops smash OAP driver's windscreen and dragged him out of car over minor offence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Failing to stop is not a minor offence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

SV wrote: »

He probably forgot his hearing aid and didn’t hear the siren.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭patrickc

madness, the cops were way OTT

He probably forgot his hearing aid and didn’t hear the siren.

Remove the 'probably' out of that and you too could write for the daily mail.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,901 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I'm sure they didn't know it was an OAP till they'd got him out. In these times cops always assume the worst and a car with tinted windows which doesn't stop gets the full works. I think PC stuff these days has gone too far, just because the person is an OAP they can do as they please. Would this have made the news if it was a 20 year old ? Not a hope.

• Registered Users Posts: 166 ✭✭TW Mr Tayto

I'm sure it's their training - to stun the driver. I may be exaggerating, but would be "PC" to let age make a difference?

EDIT: I'm not arguing with the last post - I was actually posting before I seen that ! :L

• Registered Users Posts: 64,891 ✭✭✭✭unkel

We don't know what happened when the driver failed to stop. No point really speculating about it...

In the video it looked like a wee little fella in a high viz jacket went totally crazy attacking (and shattering) the drivers door window. Another man jumped onto the bonnet and kicked the windscreen without much conviction. I take it these two are police officers who are now suspended?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,761 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

SV wrote: »

....it's quite obvious they were on a power trip. They should be dismissed from the force and brought up on charges tbh. The penalties for the no plate and tint windows are grasping at straws, not having anything else to get him for.

Oh, and it's Welsh Police, I see........Wales is effectively a no-go area for anything on wheels these days........AMHIK........

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

From reading the article, he had originally pulled over. He then drove away before the officers issued him with the fine, and drove on for another 8 miles thinking he was getting a Police escort? :confused:

Seems to me, that between his confused state, and his very unstable health condition, maybe he shouldnt be driving at all?

Besides, had he not thought of himself as being above the law and put his seatbelt on,he wouldnt have this kind of issue.
    No doubt his family would be screaming for more police action were he killed in an accident as a result of not wearing his belt. :rolleyes:

unkel wrote: »
    We don't know what happened when the driver failed to stop. No point really speculating about it...

In the video it looked like a wee little fella in a high viz jacket went totally crazy attacking (and shattering) the drivers door window. Another man jumped onto the bonnet and kicked the windscreen without much conviction. I take it these two are police officers who are now suspended?
    TThe radio chatter sounds like they're gearing towards having to persue him "40, still on the right side of the road - I'm happy to continue"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

He's clearly got a hearing problem and maybe some dodgy vision if he honestly didn't see or hear the police car behind him. So maybe he shouldn't have been on the road to begin with?

If I were a cop and I see some guy refusing to pull over in a quite new, black, Range Rover with blacked out windows... I would be thinking there's a fair possibility that the driver is some sort of drug dealer.

The first cop got out and straight away started smashing the driver window which was a bit over the top. But in saying that, he couldn't see the driver was an OAP because of the tinted windows.

No idea what the hell the cop on the bonnet was thinking. Hardly police practice to get up on someones bonnet and start kicking in the window?

Imagine if some of the shards of glass hit the drivers face from the windscreen or the driver window?
    Or imagine if the driver was some scumbag and started driving off while the cop was on the bonnet?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

I see absolutely nothing wrong with this. The driver drove away from police, in a vehicle that is a high value target for car thieves (who usually break into a house for the keys), failed to stop when indicated to do so by lights and sirens and refused to get out of the vehicle when it was stopped. He can count himself lucky that he wasn't pepper sprayed.
    The officers in question didn't know:
    -was he drunk
    -was he insured
    -was the vehicle stolen
    etc.

Hindsight is a wonderful thing and 11 months after the incident its very easy to say he's a pensioner, and so on. What if it was a stolen vehicle that hadn't been reported yet. I'd hate to imagine a 2.5 tonne Range Rover ramming a patrol car at speed trying to get away. Those officers had minutes (if even) to make a decision as to how to proceed and I prob would have done the same thing in the same situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

A few of you here are saying that the police didn't know who they were dealing with... when in fact they did, as they had already been dealing with this man at an earlier incident; and followed him after he drove away.

I'm not saying who is right or wrong, just making that point.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

The papers love to throw "OAP" around to make people sound defenseless when it suites them.

Sly Stallone is a pensioner in a year, Arnie in 2. Just for comparison.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

A few of you here are saying that the police didn't know who they were dealing with... when in fact they did, as they had already been dealing with this man at an earlier incident; and followed him after he drove away.

I'm not saying who is right or wrong, just making that point.

That's true actually.

But I have even less sympathy for him after reading the last half of the article.

The cops pulled him over for not wearing his seatbelt and as one of the officers went around to the passenger door, the OAP drove off (and allegedly tipped the officer).
    The OAP claimed that, the reason he drove away was because he thought he had been dealt with AND because of his medical conditions?
    OAP wrote:
    'I feel on health grounds I was justified,' he said. 'I was displaying my medication needs and the officer was ignoring me.

'My survival instinct was such was that I was trying to assist the officer the best I could. I feared another stroke.

'I thought he had finished with me. I just drove off coolly and calmly and not off at speed.'

Isn't that not a bit contradictory?
    First he's saying his survival instinct kicked in and he felt he HAD to drive away to prevent a stroke.

Who exactly gets a stroke from being reprimanded for not wearing their seatbelt? God forbid a dog would run out in front of him and he'd have a full force coronary!

But then he says he was convinced that the officer had dealt with him and he was free to go?

And, the only reason he 'pulled over' was because the guy in front of the Range Rover that you see in the video actually threw out a spike strip that forced him to stop.
    So god only knows how far he'd have driven without that.

Sounds like one of these d1cks that thinks because they're an OAP, they can get away with murder. And now he's going to milk this for all it's worth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Stekelly wrote: »

Sly Stallone is a pensioner in a year, Arnie in 2. Just for comparison.
    Both of them would beat the cr*p out of any cop. :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

These policemen would not be suspended if it were some 19 year old driving.

I feel no sympathy for the OAP whatsoever.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,818 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I see absolutely nothing wrong with this. The driver drove away from police, in a vehicle that is a high value target for car thieves (who usually break into a house for the keys), failed to stop when indicated to do so by lights and sirens and refused to get out of the vehicle when it was stopped. He can count himself lucky that he wasn't pepper sprayed.
    The officers in question didn't know:
    -was he drunk
    -was he insured
    -was the vehicle stolen
    etc.

Hindsight is a wonderful thing and 11 months after the incident its very easy to say he's a pensioner, and so on. What if it was a stolen vehicle that hadn't been reported yet. I'd hate to imagine a 2.5 tonne Range Rover ramming a patrol car at speed trying to get away. Those officers had minutes (if even) to make a decision as to how to proceed and I prob would have done the same thing in the same situation.
    A couple of points:

1. They knew that he was elderly, as they'd already seen him and spoken with him.
    2. While being pursued, he was driving at between 30 and 40mph.
    3. He stopped immediately when he saw police ahead of him.
    4. Police had a stinger laid out ahead of him, so he clearly wasn't going anywhere.

Those officers had 17 minutes to decide how to handle a situation where they knew the driver to be elderly, where speeds never exceeded 40mph, and where the vehicle had already come to a complete halt before they approached it.

There may be extenuating circumstances of which I am unaware, but from what I have seen those police officers appear to have been lacking in either the judgement, the temperament, or both, to serve the public in that role.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

Shock and Awe is a recognised Police tactic designed to give the police vital seconds to apprehend a suspect whilst he recoils from the onslaught.

I'm positive I recognise his picture from somewhere else..
    He's been in the papers for something before, keep this in mind if it gets unearthed, I know I'm right :P

• Registered Users Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Anan1 wrote: »
    A couple of points:

1. They knew that he was elderly, as they'd already seen him and spoken with him.
    4. Police had a stinger laid out ahead of him, so he clearly wasn't going anywhere.

Those officers had 17 minutes to decide how to handle a situation where they knew the driver to be elderly, where speeds never exceeded 40mph, and where the vehicle had already come to a complete halt before they approached it.

There may be extenuating circumstances of which I am unaware, but from what I have seen those police officers appear to have been lacking in either the judgement, the temperament, or both, to serve the public in that role.

1. Elderly people don't commit crime?? Trust me, they're harder to catch than younger people.
    2. Drunk/drug drivers (from experience) don't always drive at speed, it helps not to crash
    3. Because he had no other choice, but who's to say that he couldn't have had a gun/knife/other weapon behind the tinted glass. In light of recent events in the UK, it's more than possible.
    4. A stinger isn't going to stop a vehicle immediately, just slow it down (assuming that all 4 tyres get hit, which is rare). The result in this case would be a 2.5 tonne jeep effectively out of control, especially if its one or two tyres.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

1. Elderly people don't commit crime?? Trust me, they're harder to catch than younger people.
    2. Drunk/drug drivers (from experience) don't always drive at speed, it helps not to crash
    3. Because he had no other choice, but who's to say that he couldn't have had a gun/knife/other weapon behind the tinted glass. In light of recent events in the UK, it's more than possible.
    4. A stinger isn't going to stop a vehicle immediately, just slow it down (assuming that all 4 tyres get hit, which is rare). The result in this case would be a 2.5 tonne jeep effectively out of control, especially if its one or two tyres.

whats that guy doing driving a 60 grand jeep in the first place, surprised no one has brought that up.

he didn't seem fit to drive a daewoo lanos.

but the cops were crazeyyy, like someone out of that film. the crazies.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭kasper

the only bit that was over the top was the jumping on the bonnet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

They didn't even try opening the door using the handle. Those cops are fuhken stupid freaks.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,662 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

The extreme action taken by the Police seems to be a direct result of the driver lurching forward and hitting the police when he was originally stopped.

What I believe probably happened to trigger such an over the top reaction (smashing windows and the like) was the OAP being an arrogant git over something as trivial as "wearing a seatbelt". I'd say the policemen were getting píssed off with his backchat, one of them walked round to the passenger side to check his tax disc and the OAP released his foot off the brake (more than likely an auto) and bumped the policeman.

This píssed them off no end and they told him to get out of the car, he told them to get stuffed and drove off.

I can't imagine it being any tamer than that to provoke such a reaction from the policemen.

squod wrote: »
    They didn't even try opening the door using the handle. Those cops are fuhken stupid freaks.

It's their training - it stuns the driver, or have I been watching too much road wars?:D

1. Elderly people also get confused, and sometimes react irrationally. I would have thought a basic understanding of human nature would be a prerequisite of policing.
    2. Surely his unwillingness to exceed 40mph would have given the police some reason to question whether an elderly man even knew that he was being pursued?
    3. They're police, not SAS - they should be well versed in the tactics of de-escalation.
    4. Surely we can assume that when police place a stinger they also prepare for the possible consequences?

The extreme action taken by the Police seems to be a direct result of the driver lurching forward and hitting the police when he was originally stopped.

What I believe probably happened to trigger such an over the top reaction (smashing windows and the like) was the OAP being an arrogant git over something as trivial as "wearing a seatbelt". I'd say the policemen were getting píssed off with his backchat, one of them walked round to the passenger side to check his tax disc and the OAP released his foot off the brake (more than likely an auto) and bumped the policeman.

This píssed them off no end and they told him to get out of the car, he told them to get stuffed and drove off.

I can't imagine it being any tamer than that to provoke such a reaction from the policemen.

Don't give a reasoned out post like that that justifies what they did!
    That'd go against the angry mobs!

Well done btw :D

squod wrote: »
    Those cops are fuhken stupid freaks.
    Enough of that, we can discuss this without resorting to insults.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,561 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

this is the key bit for me:
    But when an officer went round to the passenger side, the car lurched forward and he was knocked over.

Mr Whatley told Caerphilly magistrates court, , that he then drove off because he thought the matter had been dealt with, felt ‘frail and vulnerable’ and was worried he would suffer another stroke.

Thats a pile of crap, he knocks a cop over and then drives off? pull the other one, obviously he rightly pissed off the pair of them. They went a bit over the top but they hardly 'dragged' him out of the car.

Usually rtdh and daily mail rubbish...