Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shame on Tesco - Removing Irish Brands from its Stores

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

ch750536 wrote: »
    Is that british as in part of the economic structure of 'Great Britain and Norther Ireland' or is it british as they are based in the British Isles?
    Last time I checked N.Ireland was ruled by the British.
    Where are these British Isles you speak of?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭joolsveer

Lisie247 wrote: »
    Penneys is an Irish company...

I don't think so.
    Primark is a retail group in the value sector and operates a total of 187 stores in Ireland (where it trades under the Penneys brand),Holland , Spain and the UK. Primark employs in excess of 27,500 people. In GB, in terms of market share, TNS ranks Primark as GB's second largest clothing retailer by volume and Verdict Research now places Primark as the leading retailer in value clothing. Primark was voted 'Best Value High Street Fashion' by GMTV and ITV viewers.

Primark Stores Ltd., is a subsidiary of Associated British Foods. Associated British Foods is a diversified international food, ingredients and retail group with global sales of £8.2bn, and 96,000 employees in 44 countries.

http://www.primark.co.uk/background.shtml

• Registered Users Posts: 24,004 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Hagar wrote: »

Just saw the small print on the Moy Park website and see that it's part of the OSI group a US outfit.

http://www.osigroup.com/global/about.html

I don't think British whatever comes into it now:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭ch750536

Longest river in the British Isles?

Shannon.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/British_Isles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

You keep make claims, but offer no proof.

Please cite one single product that has been removed from the shelves.

The OP is correct, Tesco Sligo has removed nearly all its frezzer stock and also other areas when I was in the store on sunday. I will be heading in later tonight for shopping to see if anything has changed since.

tech2 wrote: »
    The OP is correct, Tesco Sligo has removed nearly all its frezzer stock and also other areas when I was in the store on sunday. I will be heading in later tonight for shopping to see if anything has changed since.

Which brand names are missing?

Longest river in the British Isles?

Shannon.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/British_Isles

The term British Isles is controversial in relation to Ireland, where there are objections to its usage. The government of Ireland discourages its use. "Britain and Ireland" is a frequently used alternative name for the group.

Wikipedia can be made to say anything. Now back on topic please.

• Registered Users Posts: 372 ✭✭Lplated

Jip wrote: »
    AFAIK they were just the rashers used for export in the gift baskets that people send abroad at Christmas, they were from Holland or somewhere. The ones you buy here should be from Irish pork.

Not according to this article from the Irish Farmers Journal - http://www.farmersjournal.ie/2007/1013ruralliving/countrylifestyle/feature.shtml

I'm not sure tbh what the present state of play, but on the basis that at least some of their product is not irish but is sold/branded as such, they would go well down my list of 'irish' companies that i'd bother supporting.

Tesco has admitted that it asked charity bag-packers at its store in Antrim to remove GAA jerseys following complaints from the public.
    Children as young as nine were collecting money for a GAA club on Sunday when they were asked to go home and change out of their club jerseys.
    Tesco says the decision was taken following vociferous complaints from the public, including one from a local Ulster Unionist councillor.
    The retailer normally asks bag-packers from sports clubs to wear their jerseys so the public will now who they represent and will have a choice whether to donate or not.
    Well at least we know who they are not prepared to upset. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 7,560 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

tech2 wrote: »

Last month, Tesco Galway also emptied most all the freezers.

Then they cleaned them and put the stock back.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

I think Tesco's view of things Irish is very clear

From BBC NI

Tesco kids had to remove GAA gear

A group of bag packers representing a GAA club were told to remove their club shirts at Tesco, it has emerged.

The children from St Comghall's club were taking part in a charity bag pack at Tesco in Antrim town.

However, after "very vociferous complaints both in person and on the phone", the company said it asked for team shirts to be removed.

A parent of one of the children involved said the shirts did not feature "anything contentious".

The Gaelic Athletic Association (GAA) is an all Ireland sporting and community organisation which in Northern Ireland is overwhelmingly supported by Catholics.

In the past some unionist politicians, including Northern Ireland's sports minister Gregory Campbell, have criticised it for not doing enough to improve community relations.

A spokesman for Tesco said: "It is our policy to ask that the groups wear their uniforms so customers will know the organisation for which they are collecting."

"This gives the customer the option to go to another checkout if they do not wish to support this particular organisation.

'Deviated'

"On Sunday, we had a number of very vociferous complaints both in person and on the phone, including one from a political representative regarding the wearing of the GAA shirts while the group were collecting.

"It is understandable that our duty manager then deviated from Tesco policy and asked that those packing should do so in plain T-shirts."

ardmacha wrote: »

From BBC NI

Tesco kids had to remove GAA gear

A group of bag packers representing a GAA club were told to remove their club shirts at Tesco, it has emerged.

The children from St Comghall's club were taking part in a charity bag pack at Tesco in Antrim town.

However, after "very vociferous complaints both in person and on the phone", the company said it asked for team shirts to be removed.

A parent of one of the children involved said the shirts did not feature "anything contentious".

The Gaelic Athletic Association (GAA) is an all Ireland sporting and community organisation which in Northern Ireland is overwhelmingly supported by Catholics.

In the past some unionist politicians, including Northern Ireland's sports minister Gregory Campbell, have criticised it for not doing enough to improve community relations.

A spokesman for Tesco said: "It is our policy to ask that the groups wear their uniforms so customers will know the organisation for which they are collecting."

"This gives the customer the option to go to another checkout if they do not wish to support this particular organisation.

'Deviated'

"On Sunday, we had a number of very vociferous complaints both in person and on the phone, including one from a political representative regarding the wearing of the GAA shirts while the group were collecting.

"It is understandable that our duty manager then deviated from Tesco policy and asked that those packing should do so in plain T-shirts."

I expect the manager wanted to survive the trip home, or he wouldn't have strayed from Tesco's policy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭darc

3 things

1. Penneys.
    It is owned by Associated British Foods which is owned by the Canadian businessman Galen Weston. It is operated from its headquaters in Mary St. Dublin 1.

2. British Isles - This is a geographical term, just like the Irish Sea. It has no political connections and describes geographically the islands of Britain & Ireland.

3. GAA jerseys - these are used by a minority of nationalists to antagonate unionists in Northern Ireland as such can lead to offence - similary I expect that tesco would not permit union jack t-shirts to be worn at a collection.

Still no word of any Irish brand being deleted from Tesco - Not even the evening hysterical has made any comment!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭gerrycollins

Tesco are not removing "irish" products from their shelves.

They are basically buying international brands suchs as Mars Cadburys Persil Coca Cola etc from UK based suppliers thus avoiding the irish offices/distribution in what they claim will help reduce prices long term.

however this means that the eg Mars sales team in Ireland will not be helping Tesco with merchandising and promotions. tesco will use the savings made to reduce prices and fund promotions.

the likes of Irish made products obviously not available through an english distributor will still be purchased here in Ireland however these products are not main stream as ireland produce very little grocery products.

darc wrote: »
    3. GAA jerseys - these are used by a minority of nationalists to antagonate unionists in Northern Ireland as such can lead to offence - similary I expect that tesco would not permit union jack t-shirts to be worn at a collection.
    They are also used by a lot of kids playing football.
    Sometimes the simplest answer is the one to go for, Occam's Razor.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

There is nothing offensive about a GAA jersey, which is not to say that an offensive person may not sometimes wear one. So if gurriers wear runners, then someone collecting cannot wear runners. The proposition here is that a GAA jersey is offensive whereas other sports garb isn't. That is simple discrimination. A team should be able to wear their own kit in their own town without condition. One wonders if you can object to bag packers wearing turbans and whatnot.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,036 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

You can't buy Rudd's sausages or rashers in tescos, nor can you get Bombay Pantry or Balti House curries.

Dunnes for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 441 ✭✭Ddad

Jaysus I hate Tesco, big corporate behemoth. I don't shop there as I always feel screwed after. Sure the milk and bread are cheap but the fruit and veg suck. The meat is mediocre, adn I know for a fact that many of the people on the counters can't differentiate one end of a cow from another. Here's the scenario, my local butcher can tell me what breed of cow I'm buying from him, when it was slaughtered and we talk of local news and his meat is cheaper and without question better. He's a decent man and on the occasion whan I've forgotten the wallet; no bother, I'll catch you the next time. Ditto my local greengrocer.

Most Tesco staff wouldn't give me the time of day and on the occasion when my friend who shops there every week forgot his wallet I had to call down to him with the cash so he could get his shopping. They had no fealty to him.

Its cheaper to shop local and in season and better for the local community than to pour money into this company. Tesco always trot out the line about job creation when they open up in a town but watch all of the smaller businesses crumble. The feckin supermarket giants are a cancer on society...down with that sort of thing I say.

Wikipedia can be made to say anything. Now back on topic please.

Aaah, he's just grumpy as he just found out he lives in the British Isles.

No I don't, I live in the South of France.

Nelson%20Muntz.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭20goto10

If you don't like it don't shop there. End of story. I don't hear anyone complaining about German produce in Lidl and Aldi. It's only because it's British. STFU and go shop in Dunnes "the difference is we're a rip off" Stores if you have a problem with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

ardmacha wrote: »
    Hagar wrote:
    Well at least we know who they are not prepared to upset.

Seriously, I can't get over some people. Tesco seems to be the big bad wolf these days around here as they're currently in the headlines alot but this craziness is not restricted to Tesco, it spreads to every company that's UK based. Take a look for example at the Dunnes thread that's cutting a huge amount of staff hours and there's barely any venom there, a company may I remind you have the black mark on their record for having one of, if not the, longest strikes in recent Irish history.

People are so insular these days and yet had no problems with such companys back in the days of the so called Celtic Tiger.

Can I remind you ardmacha that this happend in a Northern Irish store which is not all roses and doves despite the good Friday Agreement, not an Irish one where things are a hell of alot different. Now say this happened in a Dunnes store and there is the possibility that it could, would you be saying the same thing, what ridiculous comments.

I'm as Irish as they come but I can still see the bigger picture, something that seems to be getting smaller and smaller for alot of people.
    ddad wrote:
    Jaysus I hate Tesco, big corporate behemoth.

What the hell do you think Dunnes, Lidl, Aldi are, corner shops ? The rest of your post is laughable, you think Dunnes will let you pay later if you forgot your wallet ?

I do hope you all now go home this evening and remove the majority of t.v. and radio stations from your televisions and radios, after all, they are all run by big corporations. And leave your cars behind if you have any, they've been sold to you by big bad corporations.

As I said in another thread, the worse thing about recessions is that everyone become a bleedin socialist.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

!

They are also the official club wear of teh organisation that was _permitted_ to collect.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

ejmaztec wrote: »
    It's guaranteed, take my word for it......................I know about these things cos I'm on the internet.:cool:

Ahem.

It's now Thursday - no sign of any plague. Just typical - one can't believe everything one learns on the Internet. Ah well another hard lesson learned.

Anyone for the last few (hundred) anti-bubonic plaque suits ?

Jip wrote: »
    As I said in another thread, the worse thing about recessions is that everyone become a bleedin socialist.

Odd, I see that as one of the best things about the recession.

parsi wrote: »
    Ahem.

It's now Thursday - no sign of any plague. Just typical - one can't believe everything one learns on the Internet. Ah well another hard lesson learned.

Anyone for the last few (hundred) anti-bubonic plaque suits ?

I had 3 million of those last week and couldn't sell one of them. For some unknown reason people were crying out for them a couple of days ago, and now I've got none left.

Thanks for your business.:P

Bleedin socialist :D

• Registered Users Posts: 975 ✭✭✭newman10

Odd, I see that as one of the best things about the recession.

It would be if most people understood Socialism

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭IIMII

similary I expect that tesco would not permit union jack t-shirts to be worn at a collection.
    No, they just display it on half the food items sold up there

IIMII wrote: »
    No, they just display it on half the food items sold up there

And Marks and Spencers display it on most of the food items sold down here. Your point being ?