Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you do it

Options
  • 05-04-2024 11:03am
    Registered Users Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭

A friend of mine recently came into 200K inheritance , I'm sure he also as a few quid saved up

He rents with his wife and 2 kids , Both have ok office jobs but are struggle like most here in Dublin , He said he has made up his mind & is going to pack up and move to Spain or Portugal & buy a house outright & try find work ,

Would you do it & if so where would you go ,

It terrifies me to be honest,

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭victor8600

Sure I would, especially since I work in IT, my job can be done anywhere. Spain and Portugal would be my first choices too.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,016 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Not only would I do it, I have recently done it (specifically moved from the UK to Spain). It's a bit of a cheat on my part in that I lived here as a kid so I already have the language, and I've got a job I can continue to do from here.

I will say that as a broader generalisation, you do want to put some thought and research into it before taking the plunge. You want to understand how easy or hard it might be in your chosen area if you don't speak the local language, what requirements there are for obtaining residency (freedom of movement doesn't preclude bureaucratic hurdles as part of living somewhere), what the job market is like for your field, etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭Alexus25

Nope, Ireland is my home, if I had that money I'd buy my dream house here

• Registered Users Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright