Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

15-02-2005, 19:54   #1
Fonzy

Looking to take up a new pastime in Waterford

Hi fellow Waterford Boardees..
I recently had to give up badminton because it was damaging my knee. I was told that other sports wont have the same bad effect so Ive to go looking elsewhere.

The thing is.. Its kinda hard for a twenty something to take up a new sport from complete scratch. I like jogging or running long distances, but other than the badminton Ive never done much other sport or stuff that gets me out of the house for a while.

SO.. Ive a job for ya all.

If you're in a club of any kind in Waterford.. be that sports or otherwise, that accepts complete newbies, any chance you'd let me know the details?

At this stage Im not too worried if its a sports club or not, Its the social side of sports that I really enjoy anyway..

This post might be worthwhile for fellow newbies in other sports so Id be delighted to get info on what kind of club you're in, when / where they meet up, and if they take on new members.

Seen as the God of Knees has deemed my badminton career to be over.. Id be delighted to hear of alternatives!

Thanks a lot for your help!
Advertisement
15-02-2005, 21:19   #2
kensutz

Send a message via Skype™ to kensutz
Nightowls? I really don't know myself what else you could do. unless you fancy trips to Carrow Road every Saturday lol. Volleyball is available in the Presentation Thurs nites but might be damaging.
15-02-2005, 21:29   #3
Trotter
Closed Account

You could try the Army Reserve..
Based in the barracks on Green St. Waterford.

All sorts of interesting outdoor stuff and all of the kinds of things you'd see on www.military.ie