Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Sunrise Running

• Registered Users Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Feb 11
    12.45k Easy @5:06 | HRR 59-69%

I used to do workouts on Thursdays. No more. Its a mad work day and I'm generally tearing my hair out by the end of it. My kids photobombed every single meeting today. Had a right old joyous time of it after the snow melted twice as fast as it landed :rolleyes:

I got out first thing to get an hour easy run done. Cutting wind. I confess to wearing tights :D Legs felt fine, no real fatigue from yesterday but another easy day tomorrow to be sure. I rolled my calves goodoo. Kinda sunk in last night that, I'm heavier than one of the Operation Transformation participants :o Lent next week, lets be having ya...

327/2,600 miles (526/4,200 km)
    935/10,000 press ups | 405/2,000 pull ups
    34/1,000km rowing
    42/42 days active | 39 Run | 6 Row | 15 S&C | 5 Yoga

Feb 12
    Yoga 30 mins sun salutation sequences

Movement
    Mindfulness

I needed both

• Registered Users Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

I went through 4 versions of the 880 and I'd probably default back to 880v10 but have yet to see on discount.

Check 365rider.com

Feb 15
    14.01k Steasy @5:00 |HRR 62-75%
    S&C: Plyometrics 33 mins | HRR 63-82%

I drew a line under last week. A solid one. Despite 73k and a good workout I felt it was a failure. I felt dejected by the end. Fatigued. I almost threw in the towel. I took my first day off yesterday, overdue really. Nutella heart shaped american pancakes kinda day :D I had battled with the will to go out and do an easy run, a long run, a session, a double long run session, a marathon, nothing.....

The night before I just ran, to do something. 5K became an hour, then 90 mins, figuring out the stresses, sorting them and figuring out why they were dragging me down. Sometimes running serves just that purpose. No metrics, no targets, just run, feel the air and allow the body and mind breathe...

Hit a lockdown low on Friday evening. The end of a long week, the final meeting. Presenting mode, under pressure, my little girl arrived with a pretty pose and song. Excited for so many things the end of week brings... Daddy done, Mommy home, family hot chocolates. Her sheer excited yell shocked me out of it. Told her I couldn't talk now with just a look. Her excitement dissolved to tears instantly thinking she was being bold. My heart in my stomach, I tried to wrap up, almost too upset myself to continue. The dozen leaders in front of me understood, they really did. The lowest moment of the week was soon followed by the highest moment of the week as my two youngest after I hugged them to bits, happily helped me make brown bread :)

So with that week down I started a new one with a lovely mild spring day run around the countryside. It was a bit more effort than easy but I just ran as I felt, in a tee shirt!

We have a 2 week skipping challenge going in work. So 8 minutes of whipping my ankles and calves cramping badly, I started a workout.

3 Rounds of 60s/15s on/off. It was tough. I averaged 63% HRR and banked 2 threshold minutes (the burpees shot the heart rate up).

Burpees with push up (16 reps per round)
    Mountain climbers
    16kg Kettlebell snatch (16-18 reps per round)
    30 inch box jump (15 reps per round)
    12kg slam ball russian twists (20 twists over and back per round)
    Plank with reach

346/2,600 miles (557/4,200 km)
    1,035/10,000 press ups | 405/2,000 pull ups
    43/44 days active | 41 Run | 6 Row | 16 S&C | 5 Yoga

Feb 16
    16.38k in 2x (7x400m off 60s) 3'R | HRR 73-92%
    S&C: 15mins skipping 24 mins strength

This was my last workout back in January before the 5k TT. I averaged 3:47 per rep and 73-89% HRR. 4 weeks later I set out to do it again. Set the target pace as my 5k TT. Another very spring like day, though windy. My usual 4k warm up and got stuck in. It was lunchtime in the Industrial Estate so lots out walking. I had to stick to the road and constantly look out for cars and trucks.

Felt like I was holding back on the first rep to keep it within the target zone. The next 6 reps were reasonably steady, although I felt I was working a bit harder than last time. Caught my breath on the 3 minutes recovery after the first set. The legs felt ok but the right hip was making a little noise. Ad I began the second set the heavens opened to dump a heavy shower. It lasted 3 reps but felt refreshing and calmed the wind. I was definitely working but I enjoy these short reps. The pain shows itself but doesn't bite :)

I pushed the effort for reps 12 and 13 to start the last one fatigued. I just wanted to get the feeling of working for a finish, that end of a TT feeling. 78 for the rep and job done :) Overall 17 minutes LT and 1 minute RZ banked.

2x (7x400m off 60s) 3 mins Z2
    Target 3:43 range 3:38-3:48
    rep dist|rep time|avg pace|in range
    400m|1:29|3:44|Yes
    400m|1:26|3:37|No
    400m|1:28|3:40|Yes
    400m|1:27|3:39|Yes
    400m|1:28|3:42|Yes

Set 2
    rep dist|rep time|avg pace|in range
    400m|1:27|3:38|Yes
    400m|1:25|3:33|No
    400m|1:26|3:37|No
    400m|1:18|3:15|No

Later some S&C. I warmed up with the skipping rope. 15 minutes and my calves felt better. As I began to sweat I pulled out the mat and a 16kg Kettlebell for 5 Rounds, no rest, of

5 pull ups
    20 KB single leg dead lifts
    10 push ups
    20 reverse lunge with knee drive
    5 V Ups

Lots of Kcals burned today. Now its pancake time :D:D

356/2,600 miles (574/4,200 km)
    1,085/10,000 press ups | 430/2,000 pull ups
    44/45 days active | 42 Run | 6 Row | 17 S&C | 5 Yoga

Feb 17
    12.52k @5:16 | HRR 58-65%
    S&C: Skipping & Mobility

DOMs today. Glutes mainly. 2 days of S&C sessions after a week of it is the culprit. Good though, the DOMs tell you exactly which muscles got the workout.

Easy day today. I was passed on a trail and felt my effort creep up. Quickly shut it down. This had to be the easiest run of the week. Mild Spring day, caught under 2 showers.

Later some skipping rope and long yoga poses. Lent day 1. Want to be <80kg by end of March.

363/2,600 miles (586/4,200 km)
    45/46 days active | 42 Run | 6 Row | 18 S&C | 5 Yoga

Feb 18
    14.93k @4:50 inc 6x30s strides | HRR 67-88%

The weather! 20mins of cloudy, wet and windy. Cars splashing people on the footpaths. Hit the countryside for a few lumpy miles and the sun emerged. Then a lap of the park doing strides in the rain before a sunny tailwind home :cool:

Felt great today :D Being self coached its easy to not have a pattern. However I think I've settled on one to get the best of the weekly energy and execute the workouts. I was sore yesterday and no way I could have done the longer strides. Today was different, up onto the toes for 30 seconds each and really enjoyed them.

Oh, and if nothing better to do later. The Perserverance Mars Rover is landing today. Stream starts at 7:15pm

372/2,600 miles (601/4,200 km)
    46/47 days active | 43 Run | 6 Row | 18 S&C | 5 Yoga

Feb 19
    Yoga 24 mins | Yoga with Adrienne "Breathe" Day 5/30
    S&C: 24 mins skipping rope | HRR 52-64%
    19.16k inc 6x20s strides & 6x1500m LT off 2' | HRR 74-86%

Firstly, enjoyed the Yoga this morning. Really hit the spot to wake the body up and feel loose and taller :) The skipping was a break from meetings and quite aerobic. Who knew, skipping is a workout! My feet burned.

The main course was the workout. Thankfully the rain stopped by the time I got out but the roads were wet and dirty. My Saucony Speeds are no longer clean white. I felt a bit sluggish on the warm up, cursing the wind. The strides were zippy but my form was sluggish. Energy was not great.

The workout numbers look good and on target. In fact bang on. 23 threshold minutes banked :) The numbers don't tell how it felt though. It felt rough. 1500m felt long. All of the reps started into a headwind too and I struggled. The pace was there but I felt as though I was working too hard. I switched the watch to heart rate for 2 reps and that checked out in the right zone. I just felt like I was working harder than the numbers were telling me. By rep 5 I was starting to fade and the last rep was not great.

Maybe it was the wind, maybe it was just a long workout at 5 secs faster than I've been doing shorter LT workouts. It was a solid workout, just took more out of me than expected.

6x1500m off 2' jog
    Target 3:54 range 3:49-3:59
    dist|time|pace|in range
    1500m|5:49|3:53|Yes
    1500m|5:48|3:53|Yes
    1500m|5:51|3:54|Yes
    1500m|5:44|3:50|Yes
    1500m|5:46|3:51|Yes
    1500m|5:54|3:56|Yes

384/2,600 miles (620/4,200 km)
    1,185/10,000 press ups | 470/2,000 pull ups
    47/48 days active | 44 Run | 6 Row | 19 S&C | 6 Yoga

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭API

That's a great workout and all the maintenance work too

Feb 20
    10.2k Easy | HRR 63-73%

Slightly reluctant evening miles but got them done. Legs ache, especially calves. Putting it down to 2 hours of skipping rope this week. Foam rolled before and after. No knots, just DOMs.

Feb 21 - First Long Run of the Year :)
    Yoga 30 mins | Yoga with Adrienne "Breathe" Day 6/30... Core
    23.32k @4:24 inc 3x3k @MP | HRR 74-84%

Fueled with non chocolate pancakes, I executed the first long run of 2021. While I was at it I clocked 1hr 33 and change for a half marathon :eek: Quickest I've gone since summer 2019.

Wore the Saucony Speeds for this. Jury still out, not sure they are for the long run but I'll try again. Perhaps the sweet spot is 10k. I was tempted to break out the NB Fuelcell TCs for this but I'll leave those until I'm focused on longer stuff.

Calves and hip flexors a bit tight but felt decent setting out on glorious sunny spring day. I decided to do some tempo stuff to keep it interesting. In each of the first 5k I ended with 3k at HM to MP effort.

Rep 1, 3k @4:14
    Rep 2, 3k @4:07 - tailwind
    Rep 3, 3k @4:09 - headwind

I maintained a steady pace on the 2k between the reps and a 7min mile pace for the last 5k home. At times I felt a rhythm and the "right" spot to land on the Speeds and they felt better. Particularly holding a steady cadence and pace. Other times, long stints into the wind was tiring. It was a lumpy enough route too.

The body was fatigued for a finish. Overall heavier week and first long run, so not surprising. Still, it was a solid one to begin with. Nothing like the inspirational LRs that Healy, AMK, Zico etc are executing :eek: I'm happy with this as an end to a solid week.

110.5k over 8hrs40 running (11.5hrs total) with 53 threshold minutes banked :) This week I need to pay attention to recovery between workouts.

395/2,600 miles (643/4,200 km)
    1,185/10,000 press ups | 470/2,000 pull ups
    48/49 days active | 45 Run | 6 Row | 19 S&C | 7 Yoga

• Registered Users Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭healy1835

That's a great effort for a first long run of the year. You've really hit the ground running after your little spell on the sidelines.

healy1835 wrote: »
    That's a great effort for a first long run of the year. You've really hit the ground running after your little spell on the sidelines.

Thanks J. It was the bones of 5 months on the sidelines. The work I did on the rower kept some fitness so the engine was ready to come back. Some LR again from you today, you are in some shape!

Feb 22
    12k approx at approx pace and approx HRR

Sussing out a March Challenge option today so no detail!!

Missed the sun boooo. No window to get out at lunch as kids wanted to play ball. Darker and a wind chill by the time I emerged stressed out from Monday madness. My NB 1080v10 2nd pair are now walking shoes after less than 300 miles.. can't be the shoes, must be my stride?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Feb 22
    12k approx at approx pace and approx HRR

Sussing out a March Challenge option today so no detail!!

No dets on Strava either!!! damn :D

Feb 28
    Long Run 20.78k @5:03 | HRR 64-77%

Been a few days since I logged. Lovely long run today in the glorious sunshine. Legs a bit fatigued from 150 squats yesterday. Obviously need to get back to consistent S&C.

Missed 2 days running with a slight ankle sprain. Silly twist chasing my kids around the kitchen. Regular RICE helped. Just stiff, didn't bruise up much. It felt fine today.

The other 2 runs this week were recces for the March Challenge. Glad I did them as I went 180 on the scoring system.

76.9km total for the week over 5 runs.

454/2,600 miles (731/4,200 km)
    1,345/10,000 press ups | 550/2,000 pull ups
    55/57 days active | 52 Run | 6 Row | 21 S&C | 9 Yoga

March 1: 10.67k Easy @5:02 & Pilates 27 min
    March 2: Workout 6x20s strides & 7x800m off 90s

Mondays run was easy but I felt flat. It was laboured at best. First run in the Nike Infinity React Flyknit and they are awful. Remind me of my least favourite shoe of the last 3 years, the Adidas solardrive. I guess they serve the purpose of purely easy runs. The react foam is squishy and unresponsive. You just land with a splat on a super wide outsole. I couldn't imagine trying strides in these. Years since I've done pilates and it was core core core

A bit more pep in the step for the workout yesterday. I warmed up and did some strides en route to Mary Immaculate college for these. It has an astro turf track around a pitch that my sub3 running buddy uses. Its a bit lumpy and the corners of the pitch are tight turns but its cleaner than the industrial estate. You just have to avoid balls and people :rolleyes: There was a huge bunch of teens playing rounders on the pitch and it was generally very busy.

I maintained a controlled effort at my 5k pace for the first few reps but was blowing. It was much harder work than I remember the actual 5k. I managed to flick a ball up and boot it back onto the pitch during a recovery so aerobically I was recovering well :) Again I thought I had 2 minutes but it was actually 90 secs :rolleyes:

For the second last rep 2 GAA lads emerged chasing each other around for a few laps. At 3:37 pace I very slowly closed the gap on them :eek: The final rep was just running harder than 5k pace. More like mile pace.

It was good work overall but mentally and physically I just feel a little "off" this week. :confused:

I wore the Endorphin speeds for this one and felt better in them. With the workout done I maintained a steady pace for the bones of 15 mins home and this is really where I connected with the Speeds. "Steady" was aerobic and controlled.. at 4:12 pace :eek: Basically most of the cool down was at my marathon pace and it felt sweet, like I could keep running. I even considered a few more km.

Back on the Fitness Pal App for a couple of weeks just to manage macros and sugar intake.

7x800mm off 90s jog
    Target 3:43 range 3:38-3:48
    dist|time|pace|in range
    800m|2:56|3:41|Yes
    800m|2:56|3:40|Yes
    800m|2:54|3:38|Yes
    800m|2:55|3:40|Yes
    800m|2:53|3:37|No
    800m|2:44|3:26|No

470/2,600 miles (756/4,200 km)
    1,225/10,000 press ups | 470/2,000 pull ups
    59/61 days active | 54 Run | 6 Row | 19 S&C | 8 Yoga/Pilates

• Registered Users Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭healy1835

The Speeds are just a lovely shoe to run in.:)

Gutted you didn't like the infinity react. I'm a big fan of them. The complete opposite to you.

I've been the same as you this week. Mood is a little off and running is a little less enjoyable. Still ticking them off though.

Gutted you didn't like the infinity react. I'm a big fan of them. The complete opposite to you.

I've been the same as you this week. Mood is a little off and running is a little less enjoyable. Still ticking them off though.

Maybe its just Nike. The pegs were my first ever. Had the 35 and 36. My only issue really was that the 35 toe box was a bit tight and both last barely 300m. Otherwise solid shoes. I was looking for an easy recovery type of shoe. I had 2x NB1080v10s and they are super comfy, especially the upper but just felt dead too soon. Also only lasted 300m. Now, maybe its just me and I'm heavy on shoes.

I took the infinity react flyknits out again today for an easy run and while I think the NB1080 fresh foam x suits me more than the react foam, its all still mattresses :rolleyes: Also the NBs promoted more of a roll where the flyknits promote a flatter landing. I get that use case, recovery runs would likely be flatter or not so much mid/forefoot as tempo. I'm certainly not tempted to pick up the pace in them and thats probably just what I need. I got a really ugly grey pair too on discount, so ugly shoes for ugly runs :D

At least those beautiful new Adizero Pros or on the way to balance the shoe closet :D

The mood coincided with a few things.
    Work pressure and missed the sunshine running :(
    Adjusting to minding macros and sugar - a good, needed thing :cool:
    Later nights watching a series with Mrs Shotgun
    Coupled with earlier mornings getting ready for school again
    And likely the 1 year anniversary of lockdown and its all the same :rolleyes:

I decided to update the log maybe 2 or 3 times a week instead of daily as the Challenge threads take a bit of time and I try to limit my social media time.

Yeah for me the mood coincided with;

Work pressure especially after two half days meaning I was bombarded when back online. Several things ramped together especially one (good) thing completely left of field that threw me completely..

Kids acting up a bit, demanding - a half day of demanding kids with the second half demanding work was a mental drain..

Because of how Monday and Tuesday shaped up I couldn't get out running til late both days. Meant I wasn't on the couch unwinding til 9.30pm Monday. Long run wasnt so enjoyable after trying to get mini dinner into me before it. Food and running just don't agree with me.

Hopefully just a mini dip.

Anyway sorry for hijacking. Just needed to vent! Lol

March 3-7

Wed: 13.04k easy @5:04 was a simple easy run. Practiced a little progression at -1 sec. Managed 3 in a row but its not easy.

Thu: 14.07k easy inc 10x30s hard surges was a nice run around town. Work very busy so lunch times closed in this week. Barely enough time to walk around the block or take a meeting on a walk. Late again and I was mega reluctant to go out. All the excuses :rolleyes: Wore the Beacon 3s with the intention of easy with some strides. After 2km into town I accelerated hard for 30 secs at the start of every km, for the next 10km. Felt much much better by the time I got home :)

Fri: 8.6k easy @5:15 was another meh late evening plod. I missed the morning and afternoon windows for tempo run but I was not in the form for it either. A short run in the bag against my own will :cool:

Sat: 16.33k inc 8k Tempo (Lactate Threshold) was surprising. In beautiful sunshine I execute an 8k tempo I had not planned. The Tuesday intervals make sense as it relative to 5km. I was struggling to plan out 10km type sessions. I did a few 4x4min, 5x5min, 6x1500 and figured it was time to just extend the interval length. I tentatively planned 4x2k but The Endorphin Speeds felt so good after the Tuesday session that I decided to try a tempo altogether. 2 full laps of the Industrial Estate with a head wind going up a long drag through the center of it to the highest point. I encountered it on Kms 2 and 6.

I went with heart rate to control the effort. Stay mid LT zone and only let it creep up for the hill, headwind or the last km. I figured I'd land between 4:00-4:10. The actual splits were 3:54, 3:55, 3:51, 3:51, 3:49, 3:54, 3:47, 3:52 :D Stoked with that! The effort was 78-89% HRR and I banked 26 mins LT. A solid workout and a really enjoyed it. I was working at 10k type effort.

The first lap up the hill (km2 - 3:55) was grand as I was fresh but the next lap (km 6- 3:54) was mentally tough. I was psyching myself up for it, knowing that once I was at the top I had a cross and tail wind for the last 2km. I enjoyed this a lot more than longer reps and I think I'll stick to tempo runs going forward.

Sun: 23.57k Long Run @4:56 & Cake :) was a solid run at 63% HRR. Just under 2 hours and I did not need a steady effort or "stuff" on top of tired legs and rolling countryside hills. 190m elevation on this route made it lumpy and it was done on a bowl of weetabix. I felt it but it reminded me of long runs on tired legs back on my last marathon plan and they were bang for buck. A homemade carrot cake after a full irish for my cheat day today :)

Good week of running overall. I need to fold S&C back in but plenty of foam rolling helped recovery between days. Managing my macros is good too. Keeping a lid on sugar and I've lost 6lbs in 2 weeks. Down to 174lb or 78.9kg which is closing in on my sustainable goal training weight.

Total for the week: 101.0km :)

517/2,600 miles (832/4,200 km)
    1,328/10k press ups | 470/2k pull ups
    64/66 days active | 59 Run | 6 Row | 19 S&C | 8 Yoga/Pilates

BP 10K Plan Week 0

Mon 8 Mar
    7k @5:34, recovery plod

Legs felt banjaxed from the weekend. Completely reluctant run but served its purpose to A) put more miles on the Nike Infinity Reacts and B) Get blood flowing after a day of sitting in a chair.

Tue 9 Mar
    12.6k @5:20, horrible easy run

Reluctant again. I'll explain further below. The rain and wind were not exactly inviting by the time I emerged into the darkness. I had a shin splint on my right leg from playing soccer with the kids at the weekend and within minutes a stitch in my side for running too soon after a meal :rolleyes: Coupled with the wind and my rubbish mental state, I hated every minute of this. It was just meh, laboured meh. To make it even worse, I got back home soaked, to realised I had somehow paused my watch midst run. Everything about this one sucked :(

Wed 10 Mar
    15.33k inc Monaghetti Fartlek

Thank you Healy1835 and thank you rain! Healy1835 for getting that thread going and I spent any time between meetings listening to my favourite tunes :) The rain, for telling me to not wear the Endorphin Speeds. Horizontal rain and I hadn't yet tested the Speeds on wet ground. I'm sure they are fine but they are also my first stack height kinda shoe and I wasn't risking slipping or going over my ankle again.

Instead I wore the Adizero 4 and had a blast. With all the cushioning lately I had forgotton what a lovely shoe this is. The Continental rubber outsole was awesome in the wet conditions. In much better mood I just grinned into the savage gnarly wind and got this done. A fun short fartlek that I used to test out the planned interval pace.

A Monaghetti Fartlek is 2x90s, 4x60s, 4x30s, 4x15s all with equal rests. It went by in a flash and I banked 13 minutes of threshold work. I tried to avoid the headwind as it was almost gale force. However some reps were easy and some were very hard. Overall I enjoyed it and got a good flavour of the kind of effort I'll be at for the next few sets of interval workouts.

Pace range target was 3:31-3:37
    2x 90s - 3:28, 3:30
    4x 60s - 3:31, 3:34, 3:32, 3:34
    4x 30s - 3:26, 3:36, 3:37, 3:42
    4x 15s - 3:21, 3:25, 3:28, 3:14

The mojo has been up and down the last couple of weeks. A few life things and running a little aimlessly. I fell off S&C, stayed up later and slept worse. After the 5k TT in January I was basically plugging in a 5k workout and a 10k type longer intervals most weeks. It felt like looking into the fridge feeling hungry, no dinner plan and no shopping done. You get takeway or eat cornflakes and feel kinda meh afterwards. Thats how I felt setting up a weeks training and trundling through it.

At the weekend I did an unplanned, ad hoc 8k tempo at avg 3:53 pace, with a max of 89% HRR. It surprised me. I assumed that, pushing another 2k into the red zone and dealing with the pain, I am close to 39 minute 10k. The goal became clear. Sub 38 would be a lifetime PR. Furthermore getting into that shape would likely have me near 5k PR fitness too.

I considered coaching. I did some research but decided its not the right time. I subsequently bought a Ben Parkes 10k plan. I like his attitude and I just needed some 10k simple specific structure. So, I start an 8 week 10k plan next week with a target to go sub 38 at the end of it. This week I'm testing the interval, goal and tempo paces as well as resetting my nutrition :)

Good man. Some sort of medium/long term structure is needed. It's very hard to wing it on a week by week basis.
    Good luck with the plan. Can't beat the 10k distance!

Good man. Some sort of medium/long term structure is needed. It's very hard to wing it on a week by week basis.
    Good luck with the plan. Can't beat the 10k distance!

Thanks P and I agree. I've always trained to a goal and there is a longer term Marathon one. This 8 week block will hopefully leave me in new territory, with a few weeks to bridge to a marathon block.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Fair play to you for going out yesterday in that weather. I took the easy option and listened to your 3 playlists while getting in my steps around the house :p

I think there's mojos missing across the country, hope you get back on the s & c and maybe we can do a strength challenge for one of the challenges :)

Enjoy the training, look forward to seeing that sub 38 10k.

I think there's mojos missing across the country, hope you get back on the s & c and maybe we can do a strength challenge for one of the challenges :)

You know its coming... ;):):D I just need you or Bungy Girl or ReeReeG to come up with the idea :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Best of luck with the 10k training & target.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,418 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Good luck with this. What's the story with Ben Parkes? What piqued your interest about his methods?

Murph_D wrote: »
    Good luck with this. What's the story with Ben Parkes? What piqued your interest about his methods?

Been following him on his YouTube Channel the last 2 years. I generally like his upbeat attitude. I originally found his content when googling S&C for runners and he had a simple post run specific set. However it wasn't until I saw him being interviewed by his running form coach and soon after having a chat with Kofuzi, that I got an insight to his thought process.

Its not necessarily a method, more a set of basic training principles. Almost running 101. I got lost in the myriad of online coaches until I remembered that he does a coaching service. Lo behold I found his plans. Not expensive and not complicated. Just an 8 week map of stuff that he knows to work. The mileage is a bit low but it was the 10k specific workouts I was looking for.

Its easy to go an pluck workouts from here and there but what I was missing was knowing how to sequence them. I'm reading "Running with Buffaloes" at the moment and was not willing to put it down to read 80/20 or something to that effect to spend time understand another method. Plus its a pretty short block at 8 weeks.

BP 10K Plan Week 0

Thu 11 Mar
    13.52k @5:19 | HRR 54-64%

Darkness, wind, rain, cold cold wind chill. Miserable weather. It was a case of getting out the door and putting one foot in front of the other. Ran completely on feel with the watch covered. More reluctant miles in the bank.

Fri 12 Mar
    15.96k inc 3k Tempo & 2k LT | HRR 70-89%

My last makey uppy workout for a while :) The purpose of this was to test out how the "Tempo" and "LT/Goal" paces felt. It was also a chance to see how the Endorphin Speeds fared in the rain. Another gnarly day, cold enough to see my breath. Pouring rain had me soaked 2km into the "warm up". I ran an extra km to no avail of feeling warmer. The wind was strong too and my intended loop of the Industrial Estate was going to be tough in parts. Edit: The Speeds were a little slippy on wet tarmac, ok otherwise. Grip not as good as Adidas Continental outsole, but then what else is?

Part 1: 3km Tempo, target 3:47-3:54. Actual 3:52, 3:48, 3:49.
    I found this harder than the tempo at the weekend. Running through puddles and grimacing into the wind. A couple of other runners out making faces at the wind and horizontal rain. I managed to hit the splits on this section but the conditions sucked.

Part 2: 2km LT/Goal Pace, target 3:37-3:44. Actual 3:33, 3:39.
    I took a full 5 minutes to recover and started this with the wind behind me. I started too hard, at interval pace instead of goal pace. By the time I completed the first km I was into the headwind for the rest and had to work very hard. Got it done which is the main thing. Garmin told me I posted a 5:43 mile which is 8 secs shy of my Boards mile TT. No wonder why I was wheezing. Happy enough to execute what I intended. A few steady metronome kms home in 4:34, 4:34, 4:34.

Between the 2 workouts this week I now have a flavour of the paces I will train at for the next 8 weeks. Its all faster than I've trained before so its not going to be easy. The focus is simple, execute the workouts and recover between them. I did 2 days of intermittent fasting too this week as a trial, so it is likely I was a bit low on fuel. The fast itself was fine and something think Ill adopt periodically more to curb the evening snacking habit that anything else.