Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
18-08-2013, 16:12   #1
another question
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,281
What is an Indexed Search in the Control Panel of Windows?

I thought I had deleted a lot of stuff of an old laptop but when I stumbled into Control Panel - Searches - Indexed Searches, I saw loads and loads of stuff like downloaded songs etc.

It seems as though I cannot do a ' clear list ' apart from right-click and deleting them 1 by 1 but that would takes hours if not longer.

Anyone know what 'indexed searches' is and any way of deleting it's contents rapidly?
another question is offline  
Advertisement
18-08-2013, 16:23   #2
Torqay
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5,807
To speed up search Windows creates a file index. Without the index, file search will take significantly longer. (but even with the index, Windows Search is no match for Voidtools' Everything)

How To Clear Windows 7 Search Index Easily

If you don't need indexed search, you might disable it altogether.
Torqay is offline  
18-08-2013, 16:26   #3
another question
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Torqay View Post
To speed up search Windows creates a file index. Without the index, file search will take significantly longer. (but even with the index, Windows Search is no match for Voidtools' Everything)

How To Clear Windows 7 Search Index Easily

If you don't need indexed search, you might disable it altogether.
I will look at this thanks.

I just had an alternative idea though, maybe you could tell me what you think.

I'm selling the laptop and I only have 1 account (mine and it's an administrator account).

Could I 'create a new account - make the new account the administrator account' and then delete my account?
another question is offline  
18-08-2013, 16:35   #4
Torqay
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5,807
Why don't you just restore the laptop to factory default?

Then install and run Ccleaner (select the option "Wipe free space") just to be sure to be sure.
Torqay is offline  
Thanks from:
18-08-2013, 16:39   #5
another question
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Torqay View Post
Why don't you just restore the laptop to factory default?

Then install and run Ccleaner (select the option "Wipe free space") just to be sure to be sure.
Would you mind awfully talking me through a factory restore, I wouldn't know where to start.

I'll have a look a Ccleaner - is the Free version sufficient? I don't fancy paying $19.99 for the professional version.
another question is offline  
Advertisement
18-08-2013, 16:45   #6
Torqay
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5,807
Quote:
Originally Posted by another question View Post
Would you mind awfully talking me through a factory restore, I wouldn't know where to start.
Laptop make/model?

Quote:
Originally Posted by another question View Post
Would you mind awfully talking me through a factory restore, I wouldn't know where to start.

I'll have a look a Ccleaner - is the Free version sufficient? I don't fancy paying $19.99 for the professional version.
Free version is just fine... look in the Builds section for the Slim version, it comes without adware. Or use the portable version from a USB stick (run as Administrator)
Torqay is offline  
18-08-2013, 16:55   #7
another question
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Torqay View Post
Laptop make/model?



Free version is just fine... look in the Builds section for the Slim version, it comes without adware. Or use the portable version from a USB stick (run as Administrator)
Thanks for helping me.

Advent Roma 2000 - Black Gloss laptop.
another question is offline  
18-08-2013, 17:04   #8
Torqay
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5,807
Advent??? Ouch...

Apparently, this model requires a Windows Vista recovery DVD.

Quote:
DVD Recovery

Should your Windows develop serious errors or fail to start, you can restore your computer back to factory settings by using the Recovery DVD you may have created or been sent.

To restore your computer back to factory settings, follow the steps below.

Start the computer with the Recovery DVD in the optical disc drive
After the usual startup screen has vanished press a key when prompted to load from the DVD
Select the language you wish to install (normally English is the only option)
Once you have chosen your language you will be presented with the available recovery options
Microsoft Repair Environment - after choosing the UK keyboard layout you will be asked to choose the Operating System you wish to repair. If Windows Vista is not listed then you cannot repair the OS without doing the full recovery. After choosing Vista the Microsoft Vista startup repair tool will run and attempt to repair any startup problems you are experiencing
Reinstall Windows - gives you the options available to reinstall Vista
Advanced Options - this launches the diagnostic centre allowing you to run chkdsk, launch notepad or bring up a command prompt
Exit & restart computer - Exits withut running the recovery process
To continue with the recovery program you need to choose Reinstall Windows
On the next screen you have the ability to launch Vista System Restore and roll back to a date when Vista was last working ok or to run the Full Destructive Recovery. To continue with the recovery program you need to choose Start Full Destructive Recovery
After choosing the Full Destructive Recovery option you are presented with the warning screen that all data will be lost. It is important to make sure all data has been backed up to disk if possible and to realise this process deletes all data and reverts the machine back to it's default state. To continue with the recovery program you need to tick the box indicating you are aware of data loss
The recovery process will then run through, reinstalling Vista and also recreating the hard drive recovery system for future use.
When it has finished copying files it will ask you to remove the DVD and then restart the computer. It will then go through setting up Vista, you will need to go through the Vista "Out of Box Experience". This is fairly straightforward so just follow the onscreen instructions
Torqay is offline  
18-08-2013, 17:08   #9
another question
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Torqay View Post
Advent??? Ouch...

Apparently, this model requires a Windows Vista recovery DVD.
Advent! Yes and it weighs 3kg, ouch as right! and double ouch because I do not have a recovery dvd.

Back to:

Could I 'create a new account - make the new account the administrator account' and then delete my account?
another question is offline  
Advertisement
18-08-2013, 17:29   #10
Torqay
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5,807
You can just rename your account.

Delete all your files, then run Ccleaner as per above.

Or, if you prefer a fine Irish product, install Eraser and Erase Unused Space


Last edited by Torqay; 18-08-2013 at 17:34.
Torqay is offline  
Thanks from:
20-08-2013, 19:25   #11
another question
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,281
Torqay - Will Eraser or Ccleaner remove MS Office because it is the primary reason one interested buyer is interested.
another question is offline  
20-08-2013, 23:12   #12
Torqay
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5,807
No... neither software will "uninstall" any software.

(Ccleaner has an uninstall function but that's not what we're looking for here)
Torqay is offline  
Thanks from:
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet