Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

23-04-2011, 12:10   #1
BrianD3

Autocar test the Nissan Leaf range

Claimed range 109 miles, actual range (until it stopped) in this test, 74 miles.
http://www.autocar.co.uk/car-video/n...-video-review/

From the video it seems as though the predicted range dropped from 109 miles to 79 miles as soon as the interior fan was switched on. Don't know if there was also a heating element in use. If this was the range reduction just from using the fan then

Also the car used a lot of charge at motorway speeds. I have some experience of electric cars and vans which have lower top speed than the Leaf and at N road speeds, range is massively reduced. Was hoping that the Leaf would be better but it seems as though the same principle applies to it.

So it seems as though the car is completely unsuited to most high mileage drivers (because of the range issue on open roads) Yet for most city drivers, it's also unsuitable due to the high purchase price and because they're probably not doing enough driving to take advantage of the reduced "fuel" costs compared to a diesel hatch.
Advertisement
23-04-2011, 12:27   #2
Mr.Boots

when i fist heard of the Leaf i thought of this...

Someone going home from work..starts to snow, heating on, demister,wipers,radio...stuck in traffic, bateries cant last long.
I cant see the advantage of them over a Insight/Prius
23-04-2011, 12:39   #3
C4Kid

Considerably more energy is consumed keeping a car moving at 100-120 KM/h than at 50KM/h. More wind resistance etc...
24-04-2011, 01:08   #4
Sesshoumaru