Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
27-06-2010, 20:13   #1
garv123
Registered User
 
garv123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Espaņa
Posts: 5,302
xbox sky player.

Is the sky player on the xbox free?
Theres a sky box in the house already but i want to be able to watch telly in my room.
can you just download it and use it or what must you do?
garv123 is offline  
Advertisement
27-06-2010, 20:44   #2
TheMooseInNam
Moderator
 
TheMooseInNam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kilkenny
Posts: 2,159
Mod: Xbox
Send a message via Skype™ to TheMooseInNam
Yeah, just download it and link that sky membership number to your xbox account and you're set to go.

If you have Sky Movies on the card, you'll have access to a huge backlog of movies through the sky player. Enjoy
TheMooseInNam is offline  
Thanks from:
27-06-2010, 20:46   #3
garv123
Registered User
 
garv123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Espaņa
Posts: 5,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMooseInNam View Post
Yeah, just download it and link that sky membership number to your xbox account and you're set to go.

If you have Sky Movies on the card, you'll have access to a huge backlog of movies through the sky player. Enjoy
cheers.
ive only basic sky package. does that mean il have the same on the player?
garv123 is offline  
27-06-2010, 23:34   #4
TheMooseInNam
Moderator
 
TheMooseInNam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kilkenny
Posts: 2,159
Mod: Xbox
Send a message via Skype™ to TheMooseInNam
Quote:
Originally Posted by garv123 View Post
cheers.
ive only basic sky package. does that mean il have the same on the player?
Yeah, you'll be limited to only a few channels then. Sky Player doesn't offer everything a Sky Box does, which is a shame because I'm sure it could offer every channel.
TheMooseInNam is offline  
28-06-2010, 00:03   #5
garv123
Registered User
 
garv123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Espaņa
Posts: 5,302
Just been on youtube looking it up there and it said if you didnt download it before you cant use it now they stopped it over too many problems or something
garv123 is offline  
Advertisement
28-06-2010, 18:31   #6
antomorro-sei
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dublin 12
Posts: 1,954
Send a message via MSN to antomorro-sei
I thought one had to have Multiroom to use the Sky Player on the Xbox?
antomorro-sei is offline  
28-06-2010, 18:43   #7
jordananderson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
multi room not needed. all you need is a gold account and your sky account details to migrate the info to the xbox. if you don't have a sky account you can get it through the xbox (without sky box or account) by paying by CC just follow the info on the blades.
jordananderson is offline  
28-06-2010, 19:07   #8
antomorro-sei
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dublin 12
Posts: 1,954
Send a message via MSN to antomorro-sei
Quote:
Originally Posted by jordananderson View Post
multi room not needed. all you need is a gold account and your sky account details to migrate the info to the xbox. if you don't have a sky account you can get it through the xbox (without sky box or account) by paying by CC just follow the info on the blades.
Sound. I've Sky+ downstairs and an Xbox with Gold upstairs. I should be able to use the Sky player then yeah?
antomorro-sei is offline  
28-06-2010, 19:12   #9
coadyd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 122
I have xbox GOLD account . But do ot have sky . But my Dad has sky full package could i use his account details to set it up on my xbox . Also he lives in a different county would this be an issue?
coadyd is offline  
Advertisement
28-06-2010, 20:36   #10
TheMooseInNam
Moderator
 
TheMooseInNam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kilkenny
Posts: 2,159
Mod: Xbox
Send a message via Skype™ to TheMooseInNam
Quote:
Originally Posted by coadyd View Post
I have xbox GOLD account . But do ot have sky . But my Dad has sky full package could i use his account details to set it up on my xbox . Also he lives in a different county would this be an issue?
Shouldn't be an issue, should work just fine for you.
TheMooseInNam is offline  
29-06-2010, 04:16   #11
garv123
Registered User
 
garv123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Espaņa
Posts: 5,302
you must have the sky player already downloaded
they removerd it so you cant download it anymore
garv123 is offline  
30-06-2010, 11:31   #12
That_Guy
Registered User
 
That_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashbourne, Dublin (Urban Sprawl... Deal with it)
Posts: 42,979
Send a message via Skype™ to That_Guy
Try here OP http://skyplayer.sky.com/watch/xbox360/

In order to view Sky on your Xbox you need a gold membership and have Sky multiroom or you can buy a Sky sub for 3 months.

http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/p...s|14419856.htm

Really good deal in Argos at the moment. €14.99 for 3 months of Sports and Entertainment package with a universal remote.

If you don't have multiroom it may be worth stocking up on a few of these. I'm not sure if there's a movies sub pack though.
That_Guy is offline  
30-06-2010, 14:23   #13
mgsrocks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by That_Guy View Post
Try here OP http://skyplayer.sky.com/watch/xbox360/

In order to view Sky on your Xbox you need a gold membership and have Sky multiroom or you can buy a Sky sub for 3 months.

http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/p...s|14419856.htm

Really good deal in Argos at the moment. €14.99 for 3 months of Sports and Entertainment package with a universal remote.
That package only includes a one month Sky Code and a 3 month xbox live code. I've been buying the codes on there own from here and havn't had any problems:
http://cheapxboxlivecodes.com/xbox-l...live-sky-card/

Work out at a little over 6 euro a month. For some reason it says you only get sports but I've been able to watch the movie channels too without paying extra.
mgsrocks is offline  
11-07-2010, 03:27   #14
robbeardsley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 116
Loving this during the WC, what with all the "Footballs Greatest" on backlog.
robbeardsley is offline  
11-07-2010, 10:06   #15
BlitzKrieg
Registered User
 
BlitzKrieg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Here and there, now and then
Posts: 12,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by coadyd View Post
I have xbox GOLD account . But do ot have sky . But my Dad has sky full package could i use his account details to set it up on my xbox . Also he lives in a different county would this be an issue?
no it isnt an issue

My family have the full sky package back in ireland but i am currently living in London and am using it, there's no issue as sky by default allows you to have sky player on 5 computers and 1 xbox, but only 1 computer and 1 xbox can be used at a time, regardless of where you are.

The movie package is seriously the best reason for it, I havnt touched much else on it.

On setting it up, I see nothing on it being not downloadable to new users and they still advertise it too (http://skyplayer.sky.com/watch/xbox360/)

I found it easier to set up sky player on a pc or mac first and then just fill in your log on details to the xbox version much quicker then trying to link it with the card etc on the xbox.
BlitzKrieg is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet