Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sedation during dental treatment

• 17-07-2009 3:40pm
    Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭itsmine

Does anyone know of a dentist who can perform fillings with "twilight sedation" (I think it's called?) - where you wouldn't be aware of the injections/drilling/general misery of it all?
    Thanks!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭toadfly

Never heard of that sedation but there are several dentists that do IV sedation. Its brilliant I cant go to the dentist without it. severe phobia here! no names is who I go to now. i live in Galway and they do a Saturday once a month which is very handy. they are so nice and gentle. Very good with me, they know how bad I am and are always so nice. it €250 for the sedation which is steep but so worth it. u cant drive after so make sure u have someone to drive you home after. bring lucozade as well just to pick you up a bit after!

no names do it as well but AVOID! I went there before (they only charge €150 for sedation) but never again. they left me sitting in waiting room for half hour which isnt the easiest thing when you have a phobia and know whats coming, fair enought that might not be their fault. then went in it took him 45 minutes to find a vein and by that stage I was so upset I wudnt let him do anything (so he says...I dont remember!) all of that and nothing done, he then charged me for the sedation! I have never had trouble with any other dentist finding a vein (I have had it done by three different dentists and no problems) I eventually got the money back but after a lot of fighting. Just dont go there! He was putting my arm into hot water as well to try and get a vein!

Also went to no names, they were very good as well only about £90 for sedation but its a long drive for whoever is bringing you home!

if you need any more info just ask! Good luck.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭4Sheets

I Had that up North ..its Nitrous Oxide gas isnt it??..was great had major work done while on it and didnt feel a thing..was in my own world..but still aware enough to follow the dentists instructions..10 mins after it was removed I was able to drive away..I was so nervous getting into that chair I was shaking ..next appointment I was like give me the gas and u work away tell me when its over..Lovely dentist as well and I saved 50% on the republic prices..feel free to PM..And I wasnt charged ..but then again I did have alot of work done so maybe it worked to their benefit as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,538 ✭✭✭ Branson Some Apartment

Nitrous is a much milder sedation than intravenous sedation, they should not be confused. Generally no extra cost for Nitrous however there is for intravenous sedation. Nitrous is quick to reverse but the intravenous take several hours. You cannot drive with intravenous afterwards.

I have had the gas as well at one stage for emergency filling to replace one that fell out, its very different. with the gas it just relaxes you, with IV sedation you have no memory of it, or very little anyway you might remember bits after but dont know whats going on at the time. the gas got me through the filling, I wouldnt have been able to get it done otherwise so its you dont have an exteme phobia that might be the way to go. otherwise use sedation. if you are in the west go to no names, I dont have any recommendations for Dublin or other parts of the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Modern local anaestetics are very good and easily administered .

• Registered Users Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Back in the fifties there was a woman in a white coat going around to every national school with a bucket and pliers. No such thing as sedation back then.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Back in the fifties there was a woman in a white coat going around to every national school with a bucket and pliers. No such thing as sedation back then.

Maybe thats why there are so many people now with a fear of the dentist. Just a thought...:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

TillyGirl wrote: »
    I have had the gas as well at one stage for emergency filling to replace one that fell out, its very different. with the gas it just relaxes you, with IV sedation you have no memory of it, or very little anyway you might remember bits after but dont know whats going on at the time. the gas got me through the filling, I wouldnt have been able to get it done otherwise so its you dont have an exteme phobia that might be the way to go. otherwise use sedation. if you are in the west go tono names, I dont have any recommendations for Dublin or other parts of the country.

I can recommendno names in dublin for sedation. Had a lot of work done there in the last few months after 20 years of being too scared to darken any dentists door. The first consultation and next visit were complete sh1tters but after the sedation the rest were soooo much easier, they were just terrible... :o:o:o but all finished now and its like having a confidence transplant...

• Registered Users Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Claregirl

I can recommend no names

I don't have a particular phobia but at the time my own dentist was unable to numb the tooth so they sent me to no names where they sedated me with the I.V. sedation. That was about 2 years ago - don't remember a thing! Very very good. If you're getting this done though you definitely need someone to accompany you and to drive you home after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭BeatNikDub

RustyNut wrote: »
    I can recommend no names in dublin for sedation. Had a lot of work done there in the last few months after 20 years of being too scared to darken any dentists door. The first consultation and next visit were complete sh1tters but after the sedation the rest were soooo much easier, they were just terrible... :o:o:o but all finished now and its like having a confidence transplant...

Just booked an appointment Rusty!
    Nearly started crying down the phone like a bloody eejit. All the thoughts of my old dentist's surgery whizzing round the head. Christ that woman was pure evil.

Thanks again for your help :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Congrats thats the biggest step. stick it out tis well worth it...:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 MissyC

how did you get on in no names? Having teeth issues, and haven't been to a dentist since secondary school... really want to find a good dentist who can deal with my jitters, and has gas at hand!

MissyC wrote: »
    how did you get on in portabello? Having teeth issues, and haven't been to a dentist since secondary school... really want to find a good dentist who can deal with my jitters, and has gas at hand!

Hey Missy, my appointment is next Monday. They were so nice on the phone I have to say and reassured me on everything. They have put me with one of their dentists who specialises with especially nervous patients.
    I will come back to you when im done! Right now im just as worried about how much it is all going to cost me as well! But has to be done.
    I havent even been able to tell anyone either, too afraid ill chicken out or get a "thank god youre doing this at last - youre a mess!".
    I'll be sure to come back here when i have more to report!

So had the appointment today.
    Was really impressed with no names clinic. They are a really professional outfit and incredibly friendly.
    Have to get a wisdom tooth out, a filling redone on my front tooth and it turns out i have two baby teeth (one of which has come out soon!).
    Going to be sedated for most of the work but 2 more sessions and ill be pretty much done.
    Feel so much better for making the first step to finally having a healthy smile!
    Cant recommend this crowd enough - do it MissyC!

Got the intravenous sedation today with <snip> and couldnt have gone better.
    My pulse was quite high when I was there and I was pretty worried and stressed about the whole thing.
    Anyway within a few minutes I was totally at ease and the dentist was able to take out a wisdom tooth, a baby tooth, do a thorough cleaning, a filling and the moulds for the whitening I will be getting done next time.

Couldnt recommend this bunch more.
    I am just so glad I took the steps - honestly I was terrified. Its mainly thanks to my hypnotherapist I managed to get my foot in the door so totally understand how hard it is :)

All my work with the no names is finished now.
    Had a lot of work to get done today on a front tooth and decided to man up and not go for the sedative.
    Twas all grand, no pain and was talked through everything.

My teeth are far from perfect but they are now healthy a nice white and I can actually show my teeth on photographs!

Didnt cost the earth and I just cant tell you how comfortable every member of staff made me feel.

Do it!

• Registered Users Posts: 23 cianor

Hey Missy,

So have you gained the confidence to make that apointment. For me I have had a major Dental Phobia - and I have not been in over 20 years. Finally I plucked up the courage to make the appointment and it was with no names. Last week I had the first appointment and I broke down and cried my eyes out with the Dentist! But he and his assistant were so nice and understanding. There is no judging, giving out or anything like that. I need a fair bit of work done but not as bad as I thought :-(

Today I had my second appointment and I got a filling. I did not want the sedative, so tried it without. It took a while to complete and I was scared the whole time, but they were so nice and they really look after you. They also try to build up your confidence which is great. There was no pain at all. The Drill is fairly quiet nowadays too! I'm going back again on Tuesday to have 2 fillings this time.

I'm so looking forward to when all the work is complete. I know that I am going to be a new person.

BeatNikDub - You got whitening done? how did that go? Is it fairly straighforward. I might want that too, but it might be too costly.

cianor wrote: »

BeatNikDub - You got whitening done? how did that go? Is it fairly straighforward. I might want that too, but it might be too costly.

Fair play to you Cianor!! Delighted for you.
    The stuff I got done without the sedative I was terrified too, I dont think i could have squeezed the chair rests any more than I was!
    But as you say, the staff totally put you at ease.

The teeth whitenening is grand. Its not the laser whitening youre probably thinking of its bleaching that you do over time. They make moulds of your top and bottom teeth and the way I did it was every night you add the bleach to the moulds and wear them. Its a bit uncomfortable and your teeth are very sensitive (i found) during the period of time you do it for (which im guessing is different for everyone - i did 2 weeks and they are sparkling white!). Once you finish it though the sensitivity goes.
    It was worth every penny!

BeatNikDub wrote: »
    i did 2 weeks and they are sparkling white!).

Oh- only two weeks that does not sound too bad at all - Must talk to them about it. I do not want to get laser at all. Now that I have managed to get somebody to look into my mouth - I want it to be a one stop shop.

Thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 sheillo

Hi , does anyone know what no names dental is like? I live about 10 miles from there but cant find out anything about it. Would like to hear from anyone who knows anything. Thank you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Sligoaidan

****mod edit no names read the charter**** If you're not great with visiting the dentist (bad experience as a child) then its just the job. Patrick runs through the whole proceedure and shows your xrays to explain what would be going on.

They're great in there and I had no bother at all. You feel a bit tipsy during it, kinda strange but nice and relaxed, and don't remember any drilling. Handy for me too, as I'm from Sligo and didn't have to travel far at all. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7 Yojojo

Hi

Is ***mod edit*** really as good as you all say?? I am TERRIFIED but I badly need work done as am in pain with a very decayed tooth but too scared to make the first appointment :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Sligoaidan

you should def ring them up and talk to them about it. If you google twilight sedation sligo then you'll get more info on it. But its really worthwhile. *** Mod edit *** really easy to deal with., and besides sounds like your tooth will be bugging you a lot more, the longer you leave it

Seriously SligoAidan you could see I edited out names on your post previously, the charter is there to be read. The previous names on this thread are historic prior to the no names rule. 1 month ban.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 brennan78

hello everyone, I jst seen this now and i have taken the first step. I have just made an apt with <snip>.Fingers crossed all goes well tho I am petrified already jst at the thought of it.
    Not been in years and only just that i am getting a tingle in one of my teeth i want to get it sorted. I think if i thought i could get away forever without ever seeing a dentist i would probably try it.. :eek:

• Moderators Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Big_G

Did you even read the warning given above??? Infraction given.

I have deleted all the names out of this thread, everyone thank brennan78 for necroposting.

• Moderators Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Big_G

Yeah, I sent him a message explaining why it is a GIGANTIC pain in the arse when someone necroposts in this forum. I wish threads were automatically locked after 3 months...

brennan78 wrote: »
    hello everyone, I jst seen this now and i have taken the first step. I have just made an apt with <snip>.Fingers crossed all goes well tho I am petrified already jst at the thought of it.
    Not been in years and only just that i am getting a tingle in one of my teeth i want to get it sorted. I think if i thought i could get away forever without ever seeing a dentist i would probably try it.. :eek:

You may get a form on your first visit to fill out some details. Mark on the form that you are nervous patient. The dentist may not read it before meeting you, so just tell him/her before you sit on the chair. If you are petrified, tell them that you are petrified.

They will most likely then discuss with you what is it that makes you scared and they will tell you what will happen in your first visit and make sure you are at ease before ever looking in your mouth. Once you have been once, subsequent visits should be much easier!

Just want to add if anybody is reading this thread historically and they are interested in knowing details about the Dentist I attended, feel free to PM me.