Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

16-02-2009, 17:05   #1

Bicycle, tax back for self employed?

I'm a sole trader and am interested in the cycle-to-work scheme (up to €1K tax free on a bike if paid for by the imployer). Does anyone know if this scheme is also available for the self-employed / sole-traders?

If not, are there other tax breaks for a bike used sometimes for getting in and around town for meetings? Is it already a deductable? Can VAT be claimed back?

Any info appreciated.
Advertisement
17-02-2009, 10:13   #2
swanvill

Hi,
The new legislations seems to only apply to directors/employees and not sole traders, however I reckon that you could just charge the bike & safety equipment as a normal business expense. The only thing you might have to watch, which is bit daft, if there is any personal usage which could be benefit in kind implications.
Thanks from:
17-02-2009, 20:05   #3

Thanks Swanvill. So I'd get the VAT back that way? Would it also be deducted off my taxable income?

I didn't think I could get benefit in kind from myself... interesting
17-02-2009, 20:17   #4
swanvill

Yes VAT could be reclaimed and the bike would be deductible as a business expense.

RE BIK I might be a bit over cautious, typical accountant but if the bike was not used 100% for business (hard to disapprove I know ) but say only 75% then only 75% of the costs would be allowed as a business expense.
Thanks from:
17-02-2009, 20:50   #5

Interesting... so in effect it's actually a bit better than the cycle to work scheme (if the bike is exclusively for work)
Advertisement
18-02-2009, 08:35   #6
swanvill

Yep, happy cycling
08-05-2009, 17:14   #7
air