Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
05-08-2010, 10:09   #346
Voyager II
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 75
average should be fine for dtt. just make sure you have the correct ariel for ch 21 and it is mounted horizontally. dtt is as good if not better than the rte transmissions from artra 28e on sky.
Voyager II is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
05-08-2010, 10:42   #347
cillo2000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 62
At the moment DTT isn't broadcasting TV3, it has been like this for months now. They've replaced it with test cards... but DTT has been in the news a lot over the last few days, so I'd imagine that it should move from a beta phase to live. So I guess TV3 should be re-appearing soon. I mailed the guys in the RTE network and they give fairly good feed back on what's happening.

Oh and to answer your question I'm getting a 50-60% signal in south Kerry from Mullaghanish and this is all you need for a perfect picture.
cillo2000 is offline  
Thanks from:
05-08-2010, 12:16   #348
deanh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 303
What is the likely range of DTT broadcasts from Mullaghanish? My family have a holiday home in Rosscarbery which does get a signal from there but most of the area relies on a infill signal from a tower at Downeen. These sites are not likely to be upgraded, so would the signal from Mullaghanish be strong enough for DTT?
deanh is offline  
05-08-2010, 12:58   #349
12 element
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 700
What's the analog signal like? Is it watchable?
12 element is offline  
05-08-2010, 18:10   #350
deanh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 303
If you are asking about the analogue signal in Rosscarbery 12 element, then I would say it is quite good for RTE 1 and 2 and for TG4 as well as good sound but snowy picture for TV3( which makes me suspect that the signal is from Mullaghanish as I don't think its on the relay transmitter from Downeen).
deanh is offline  
Advertisement
18-08-2010, 19:10   #351
Antenna
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,942
regarding the new mast at Mullaghanish

I am led to believe that strobe lighting is now operational on the Mullaghanish replacement mast and would be visible farther than the old lighting. Anyone with LOS (Line-Of-Sight) - have a look during darkness!
Antenna is offline  
18-08-2010, 19:23   #352
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
I saw the strobe last night, seriously bright. I'am about fifteen miles as the crow flies. I'd say the sky must light up in the area around the mast

Last edited by Longie555; 18-08-2010 at 20:18.
Longie555 is offline  
18-08-2010, 21:28   #353
dunleas
Registered User
 
dunleas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antenna View Post
regarding the new mast at Mullaghanish

I am led to believe that strobe lighting is now operational on the Mullaghanish replacement mast and would be visible farther than the old lighting. Anyone with LOS (Line-Of-Sight) - have a look during darkness!
When do you think it will become live?
dunleas is offline  
18-08-2010, 23:59   #354
More Music
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 778
It is live, although DTT is still on reduced power for the moment.

All services are now live on the new mast. The old one is being stripped down and dismantled.
More Music is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
19-08-2010, 09:17   #355
mossym
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8,393
Quote:
Originally Posted by More Music View Post
It is live, although DTT is still on reduced power for the moment.

All services are now live on the new mast. The old one is being stripped down and dismantled.
the reduced power, that's the same level it's been at for a while though right? i was having serious signal level issues up until the weekend when i moved my aerial and now have a rock solid signal, any increase in power will only help, but just wondering is the power level now as low as it will go
mossym is offline  
19-08-2010, 10:17   #356
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Zombie Insomniacs

We have been plagued by the strobe lights [from Mullaghanish] the last few nights.
Our bedroom is lit up at a 1Hz rate, via our velux window
--- and we are >20 miles away!!

Do they need some sort of planning to do this?
or an Environment Impact Survey, including the damage caused buy Zombie Insomniacs?

Anyone know how long this will go on for??
kenny555 is offline  
19-08-2010, 11:17   #357
watty
Registered User
 
watty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 31,770
Always. Methinks you need a light tight blind.
watty is offline  
Thanks from:
19-08-2010, 12:18   #358
The Cush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 13,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by watty View Post
Always. Methinks you need a light tight blind.
Velux blackout blinds are available, my brother has them.
The Cush is offline  
19-08-2010, 12:34   #359
John mac
Registered User
 
John mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,479
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenny555 View Post

Do they need some sort of planning to do this?
It is probably part of the planning requirements to have them.
John mac is offline  
19-08-2010, 12:35   #360
mossym
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8,393
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Cush View Post
Velux blackout blinds are available, my brother has them.
had them in a house we rented once, they'll stop any light.unbelievable darkness due to them, we had a SE facing window and even on a rare sunny day they would keep the room in total darkness all day
mossym is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet