Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
15-10-2010, 10:49   #1201
rsmike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tír na nÓg ( I wish)
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterjohn25 View Post
i am on the look out for a lcd tv anything from 22" to 30". Very curious to know what the brand hannspree are like. they appear to be good value but nervous buying such an unkown brand . any advice
Review of the 28" here, the 16:10 aspect ratio sounds like it might become annoying
rsmike is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
15-10-2010, 13:48   #1202
watty
Registered User
 
watty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Research Station
Posts: 31,161
good for 4:3 content and PC though.
esp. if it 1920 x1200 instead of 1920 x1080 (review confirms it is PC Widescreen 1920 x1200)

2 x 576 lines = 1152, not 1080.
1920x 1200 will run 1600x1200, 960 x 600 or 800x 600 games very nice.

16:10 = 1.6:1 format Dr Strangelove will be good if you can find an 1.66 version!

Most decent films are wider than 16:9 (1.78:1), varying from 1.85:1 to 2.7:1. A few are black bars at side 1.66:1 apart from Classics in Academy format (almost anything before 1951) which is close to 4:3 = 1.33:1 and usually cropped to 1.33 from the native 1.375:1(only Silent Era was actually 1.33:1 and Electronic TV started as 5:4 = 1.25:1 and switched in 1949 or 1950 I think...)

Quote:
All studio films shot in 35mm from 1932 to 1952 were shot in the Academy ratio. However, following the widescreen "revolution" of 1953, it quickly became an obsolete production format. Within several months, all major studios started matting their non-anamorphic films in the projector to wider ratios such as 1.66, 1.75, and 1.85, the latter of which is still considered a standard ratio along with anamorphic (2.35). 1.37:1 is not totally obsolete, nonetheless, and can still be found in selected recent films such as Gus Van Sant's Elephant.
Get used to black bars for Classic content and OAR films.

However, for any normal sized room I'd regard 37" as minimum WideScreen size (28" WS is like 21" or less 4:3 set). For HD you want bigger.

It's a very intimate study that would want 28" for WS or esp. WS HD.

I'd be happier with that as a console or PC monitor that's for occasional TV in a Den/Study/Workshop/Kitchen.

Last edited by watty; 15-10-2010 at 14:07.
watty is offline  
Thanks from:
16-10-2010, 01:52   #1203
lor2ie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 22
Send a message via Yahoo to lor2ie
smaller lcds

http://www.vmaxx.ie/index.php/defaul.../category/530/

hi, I was wondering if anyone knows if this has mpeg 4 to view the digital rte stations. Yes i have Google it but no help... all it says on the website is..(The Q15A2D Q-Media combines a 16:9, 1366x768-pixel television with an MPEG4-compatible DVD player, making it ideal for smaller rooms.)

I recently purchased a lcd television (TOSHIBA 32AV733F LCD Television)from same site and it works perfect on the DTT channels. I have tried contacting the website to ask but all i get is "if you have a look at the TV in question later today it will give you all the specs." I did but see nothing new, as confused as ever.. As to argos, they don't seem to have a clue...
lor2ie is offline  
16-10-2010, 08:42   #1204
The Cush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Limerick, Mullaghanish Tx
Posts: 7,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by lor2ie View Post
http://www.vmaxx.ie/index.php/defaul.../category/530/

hi, I was wondering if anyone knows if this has mpeg 4 to view the digital rte stations. Yes i have Google it but no help... all it says on the website is..(The Q15A2D Q-Media combines a 16:9, 1366x768-pixel television with an MPEG4-compatible DVD player, making it ideal for smaller rooms.)
Not MPEG-4. From the specs "MPEG2 tuner"
The Cush is offline  
16-10-2010, 11:56   #1205
STB
Registered User
 
STB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: WX
Posts: 4,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by Machinehead View Post
Thanks again STB. Email sent to Panasonic, hope it gets some results. As you've said, all recent Panasonic customers who don't have MHEG5 middleware set up should pester these guys. Just wondering, is it just D25 models or all Panasonics sold in Ireland that don't have MHEG5? Although my understanding from other posters is that a lot of them have the UK option in set up. I figure why they don't have MHEG5 on the D25L is down to freesat availability outside the UK & the inbuilt DVB-S tuner on the D25. (Am I making sense here?)
Any response ?
STB is offline  
Advertisement
16-10-2010, 15:13   #1206
lor2ie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 22
Send a message via Yahoo to lor2ie
mpeg4

ah. thanks "The crush" so just look for the tuner specs the fact that it has MPEG4-compatible DVD player won,t work. Wonder what that is used for then!! Right got small lcd telly to return to argos....they really should get someone in there that knows all this stuff... thanks again.
lor2ie is offline  
17-10-2010, 11:53   #1207
STB
Registered User
 
STB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: WX
Posts: 4,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by lor2ie View Post
ah. thanks "The crush" so just look for the tuner specs the fact that it has MPEG4-compatible DVD player won,t work. Wonder what that is used for then!! Right got small lcd telly to return to argos....they really should get someone in there that knows all this stuff... thanks again.
MPEG4 in this case refers to the DVD player and it ability to play Divx files from Disc. Its a common mistake. The part level is important. This will not MPEG4 decode broadcast streams.

When you see MPEG4 in the tuner it is MPEG4 H264 or MPEG4/AVC.
STB is offline  
Thanks from:
17-10-2010, 16:46   #1208
Machinehead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Dark Side of the Moon
Posts: 558
@ STB.
No response yet. Their last reply took a couple of weeks "due to technical problems". Their website & the manual, which they reiterate, says that the TV was only compatible with operational services in specific countries as of 01/01/2010, Ireland is not included & I don't think anything I say or do will alter their position on the fact that the TV is not guarenteed to work on any other systems. I guess that I will just have to hold out for an upgrade that I hope will activate MHEG5 functionality.
Machinehead is offline  
17-10-2010, 22:56   #1209
Pangea
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Donegal
Posts: 4,206
Ended up returning the Ex503, had a noticeable delay for gaming.
Anyone know if the ex401 would get Irish digital?
Theres no freeview hd.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sony-KDL40EX...7352527&sr=8-1
Pangea is offline  
Advertisement
18-10-2010, 11:04   #1210
Black Briar
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 21,884
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pangea View Post
Ended up returning the Ex503, had a noticeable delay for gaming.
Anyone know if the ex401 would get Irish digital?
Theres no freeview hd.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sony-KDL40EX...7352527&sr=8-1
Can't find it on the sony site but a number of the reviews include the spec sheet stating an mpeg 4 tuner so yes it would work if thats the case but get the manual in the shop and see the spec sheet hard copy

Heres the dabs spec sheet for it

http://www.dabs.com/products/sony-kd...d-tv-70J5.html

Click on the specs tab at the bottom left.
Black Briar is offline  
Thanks from:
18-10-2010, 12:36   #1211
The Cush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Limerick, Mullaghanish Tx
Posts: 7,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pangea View Post
Anyone know if the ex401 would get Irish digital?
Theres no freeview hd.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sony-KDL40EX...7352527&sr=8-1
Yes, Sony specs - http://www.sony.co.uk/product/t32-ex...TechnicalSpecs

Some non DVB-T2 TVs listed on the Sony UK site now have the following in the specs (including the one above) High Definition TV Tuner (MPEG-4) - H.264 (with supported operators) - YES
The Cush is offline  
Thanks from:
18-10-2010, 12:46   #1212
Pangea
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Donegal
Posts: 4,206
Thanks for that guys, thats good then , might go for the 401 then , the 403 looks good for gaming too but I think that the currys deal has expired by now.
Pangea is offline  
18-10-2010, 17:12   #1213
Pangea
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Donegal
Posts: 4,206
Just found the 403 on argos for the same price as Black Briar got it for in Currys a few weeks ago.
Doubt you will get it cheaper anywhere else at the moment.

http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/p...s|14419667.htm

Im not very tempted at the thought of buying a tv in argos though, think I would prefer a tv shop. Maybe I am being old fashioned.

Last edited by Pangea; 18-10-2010 at 17:14.
Pangea is offline  
19-10-2010, 17:29   #1214
rsmike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tír na nÓg ( I wish)
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pangea View Post
Just found the 403 on argos for the same price as Black Briar got it for in Currys a few weeks ago.
Doubt you will get it cheaper anywhere else at the moment.

http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/p...s|14419667.htm

Im not very tempted at the thought of buying a tv in argos though, think I would prefer a tv shop. Maybe I am being old fashioned.


I have that feeling also, but the Argos price 599.99 looks really good, I just had a look in Curry's at the weekend and the 403 (40") was €749.99, I mean Argos have the 401(U?) at 829.99, makes me wonder if the 403 price is a mistake?

BTW, Curry's (Mahon Point, Cork) told me they can't get the 503
rsmike is offline  
Thanks from:
19-10-2010, 20:56   #1215
Volcane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 16
The 503 seems to have come into stock in lots of places during the past few days. Amazon had them at £555 (sterling) for a short time yesterday evening with a 3 year Sony warranty, they are now back to 600 but are out of stock for a while.

I bought this evening from John Lewis, got the Sony KDL 40ex503u with the Sony 307 Blu-ray for £663 delivered, 5 year warranty on the TV and 2 on the Blu-ray. (a benefit of a Northern address!)

A panasonic plasma may have been better but couldn't get enough info on the tuner specs, Panasonic seem to be doing nothing until saorview is launched. I'm hoping that the Sony will be able to take a update if required.
Volcane is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet