Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
28-10-2008, 13:39   #1
Vitoldus
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cork
Posts: 25
Send a message via Skype™ to Vitoldus
O2 Wireless broadband extremely slow

Hi,
I've got Huawei E220 from O2, I usually have 4-5 bars on EDGE, but still my speed is comparable to dial up if not slower than that - steady 3kb/s is something i consider good.
I am running xp home on acer travelmate laptop, never had any issues with it before, I am completely confused why it is so slow.

Anybody had this issue before?
Vitoldus is offline  
Advertisement
28-10-2008, 14:03   #2
barnicles
Closed Account
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,825
Me. For me its contention
barnicles is offline  
28-10-2008, 14:05   #3
foggy_lad
Registered User
 
foggy_lad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Carlow
Posts: 13,149
i have had a similar issue for the last 7days with evening speeds dropping to 5 kbps between 6.30pm and 11.30pm. it appears to be caused by contention, i am using the E270 and daytime speeds exceed 2.5mbps but after 6.30pm i get no service at all!

i am in Carlow town and there are two colleges here signed up for o2's HEAnet broadband offer and this would explain the slow speeds as all the students signed up and other customers are left high n dry with a massive reduction in service!
foggy_lad is offline  
28-10-2008, 14:16   #4
Vitoldus
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cork
Posts: 25
Send a message via Skype™ to Vitoldus
Well, I live in Lismore, co Waterford, and it's not exactly cork city, so i can't see many competitors hanging around, most people actually have regular broadband so that should exclude contention. And i have such a low speed regardless of the time of the day or night...
Vitoldus is offline  
28-10-2008, 14:24   #5
jor el
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 16,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vitoldus View Post
Well, I live in Lismore, co Waterford, and it's not exactly cork city, so i can't see many competitors hanging around, most people actually have regular broadband so that should exclude contention. And i have such a low speed regardless of the time of the day or night...
But you're on EDGE all the time, which is never going to be anywhere near broadband speeds. The backhaul connection to the mast is probably going to be much lower for a non 3G mast, than it would be for a 3G mast, as speeds off it will be lower. If this is the case, then your EDGE speed will vary from about 240kbps downwards.

If EDGE is the only signal you're getting, and there are actual broadband alternatives, then it's time to consider one of them. EDGE is pretty much useless anywhere I've seen it. Even with full signal strength, I often get no Internet connectivity at all, when on EDGE.
jor el is offline  
Advertisement
29-10-2009, 22:49   #6
petermacn
Registered User
 
petermacn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 9
02 Broadband too slow for video

No point in trying to watch RTE player or any video in the evening here in Nth Co Du blin. It is simply too slow, stopping everying few seconds . I rang customer service and was told to place the modem against the window. I tried that... and guess what, yep....no difference. I was told to try again later. Unfortuneately I signed up for eighteen months of this and could be stuck with it. Though , I feel i have a case for a refund as I am not getting half the speed I am paying for. Not a happy bunny at all....
petermacn is offline  
30-10-2009, 20:02   #7
Our man in Havana
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 28,890
EDGE is perfectly ok for me if I simply want to view webpages. If I needed to download something big simply leave it overnight. Thankfully they have upgraded to a full 3G signal here but occasionally it goes down and EDGE is an acceptable backup.
Our man in Havana is offline  
31-10-2009, 01:41   #8
missyfirefly
Registered User
 
missyfirefly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Where the wild things are......
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond-007 View Post
EDGE is perfectly ok for me if I simply want to view webpages. If I needed to download something big simply leave it overnight. Thankfully they have upgraded to a full 3G signal here but occasionally it goes down and EDGE is an acceptable backup.
Set the Network type/Frequency band to 3G Only and it won't Fluctuate between 3G and EDGE.

You'll find this in the network options. It will either be phrased as WCDMA Only, 3G Only or 3G All.
missyfirefly is offline  
31-10-2009, 01:48   #9
Our man in Havana
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 28,890
I already knew that. There are times when there is no 3G signal. Nothing to do with my settings.

I do not set it to 3G preferred.

Up until last year there was no 3G here. I merely stated that EDGE was good enough then.
Our man in Havana is offline  
Advertisement
31-10-2009, 01:59   #10
missyfirefly
Registered User
 
missyfirefly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Where the wild things are......
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond-007 View Post
There are times when there is no 3G signal. Nothing to do with my settings.
Thats probably due to cell shrinkage at peak times.

It's good that EDGE meets your needs so in that case.
missyfirefly is offline  
31-10-2009, 20:32   #11
Dare_2_defy
Registered User
 
Dare_2_defy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cork
Posts: 7,721
http://www.speedtest.net/result/608482374.png

That's what I got just a minute ago, I'm in Cork City BTW
Dare_2_defy is online now  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet