Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
01-07-2007, 19:48   #1
Urban Weigl
Registered User
 
Urban Weigl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Co Mayo, Ireland
Posts: 2,763
Send a message via ICQ to Urban Weigl
3 Broadband coverage map is up

3 have put up a proper 3G broadband coverage map:

http://maps.three.ie/coverageViewer/...t/mapScreen.do

Don't think anyone else has noticed yet.
Urban Weigl is offline  
Advertisement
02-07-2007, 10:45   #2
Sponge Bob
Banned
 
Sponge Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Location Location
Posts: 24,831
Its clunky in use and is a tad optimistic in my opinion ...showing cells at their absolute maximum extent before breathing kicks in .
Sponge Bob is offline  
02-07-2007, 10:57   #3
rymus
Registered User
 
rymus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Cork
Posts: 8,735
very slow and doesn't seem to get on too well with firefox at all. Boo urns!
rymus is offline  
02-07-2007, 11:14   #4
Eurorunner
Registered User
 
Eurorunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: 6,600 miles from paradise...
Posts: 2,372
Do vodaphone or 02 have an equivalent checker? If so, can someone provide a link please.
Eurorunner is offline  
02-07-2007, 12:19   #5
thebman
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 9,948
The map doesn't work well in anything as far as I can see. We got this and the guy in the store was trying to use the map and it wouldn't work properly for him.

Anyway we got it and although we are miles inside the coverage area, we only get one bar reception and fall outside coverage if it isn't near a window. Speeds are 50KB/s max, usually about 25KB/s. Pings are 300ms.

Software installation is a breeze and it frees up the phone line which is the main advantage of this for my parents so as it is cheaper and faster than dial up, they'll stick with it.

http://dispatch.mapflow.com/lav3-irl...ap_3188097.jpg

Head west from Tullamore to find it then enable the 3G data thing. As you can see, we are miles inside the coverage area yet we only get one bar. I hope this can be used as a guide for other people.
thebman is offline  
Advertisement
02-07-2007, 12:47   #6
Urban Weigl
Registered User
 
Urban Weigl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Co Mayo, Ireland
Posts: 2,763
Send a message via ICQ to Urban Weigl
Works well enough for me in Safari 3 public beta. I'm picking up a 3 signal many miles outside of the coverage indicated, but only in the attic. Only getting 220kbps though.

I wish they'd just let you download the entire map as a high resolution PNG.
Urban Weigl is offline  
02-07-2007, 13:20   #7
watty
Registered User
 
watty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Research Station
Posts: 31,158
Works for me fine on Firefox. A bit slow.
watty is offline  
Thanks from:
07-07-2007, 23:45   #8
Our man in Havana
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 28,890
My signal strength varies between none and 3 bars and I can get a max of 1300 kbps even on zero signal strength.
Our man in Havana is offline  
08-07-2007, 12:09   #9
Quackles
Registered User
 
Quackles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: North West
Posts: 1,437
Send a message via Yahoo to Quackles Send a message via Skype™ to Quackles
Map puts my town right in the middle of a 3g coverage area. In reality, can't get speeds better than dialup either in my own house on outskirts of town or in my parent's house smack bang on the main street.
Quackles is online now  
Advertisement
08-07-2007, 12:24   #10
Urban Weigl
Registered User
 
Urban Weigl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Co Mayo, Ireland
Posts: 2,763
Send a message via ICQ to Urban Weigl
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quackles
Map puts my town right in the middle of a 3g coverage area. In reality, can't get speeds better than dialup either in my own house on outskirts of town or in my parent's house smack bang on the main street.
If you are getting a good signal, that issue has nothing to do with coverage.
Urban Weigl is offline  
08-07-2007, 12:27   #11
Quackles
Registered User
 
Quackles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: North West
Posts: 1,437
Send a message via Yahoo to Quackles Send a message via Skype™ to Quackles
Quote:
Originally Posted by Urban Weigl
If you are getting a good signal, that issue has nothing to do with coverage.
The signal is patchy at best, too.. Some days I'll be able to connect, others not. I didn't know that, though.. if download speeds aren't connected by coverage, what does connect them? If it's traffic, I seriously can't imagine there'd be that many around here on the 3 network, it has to be something else.. Doesn't matter that much to me, didn't buy it for use at home, but I'd still be interested to know.
Quackles is online now  
08-07-2007, 12:30   #12
Urban Weigl
Registered User
 
Urban Weigl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Co Mayo, Ireland
Posts: 2,763
Send a message via ICQ to Urban Weigl
I was saying if you are getting a good signal, your problem with slow download speeds have nothing to do with the coverage in your area, but rather another issue... but since you now say you get very poor signal, they are likely related. Have you tried connecting outdoors? Because HSDPA operates at 2.1GHz, it doesn't work too well in some houses, e.g. if you have thick walls.
Urban Weigl is offline  
08-07-2007, 12:56   #13
Our man in Havana
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 28,890
I can get 1300 kbps during the daytime but as soon as 6 in the evening comes the speed drops to almost dial up rates. Signal strength remains constant throughout the whole day. I think it is down to all the people that are on 3 in the evenings, not just those in your local area.
Our man in Havana is offline  
08-07-2007, 12:59   #14
Quackles
Registered User
 
Quackles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: North West
Posts: 1,437
Send a message via Yahoo to Quackles Send a message via Skype™ to Quackles
Quote:
Originally Posted by Urban Weigl
I was saying if you are getting a good signal, your problem with slow download speeds have nothing to do with the coverage in your area, but rather another issue... but since you now say you get very poor signal, they are likely related. Have you tried connecting outdoors? Because HSDPA operates at 2.1GHz, it doesn't work too well in some houses, e.g. if you have thick walls.
Haven't tried outdoors, it rains a lot in Leitrim Thick walls could explain my parent's house, 100+ years old, stone walls.. Wouldnt in mine, but we get poor mobile coverage too (o2 network) so I wasn't surprised there.
Quackles is online now  
08-07-2007, 16:49   #15
Urban Weigl
Registered User
 
Urban Weigl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Co Mayo, Ireland
Posts: 2,763
Send a message via ICQ to Urban Weigl
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quackles
Haven't tried outdoors, it rains a lot in Leitrim Thick walls could explain my parent's house, 100+ years old, stone walls.. Wouldnt in mine, but we get poor mobile coverage too (o2 network) so I wasn't surprised there.
In fairness to Leitrim it has been raining a lot everywhere these past few weeks.
Urban Weigl is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet