Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
26-06-2007, 18:11   #1
chuckles30
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,252
Central heating timer stopped!!

I'm hoping someone here might be able to help me. As the title says, the timer for my central heating seems to have stopped.

I went to switch on my heating the other night (it has been off for ages because of the lovely weather) and noticed that the time on the clock was wrong, so I fixed the time and set it to come on for 30 mins. I didn't take any notice of the time being wrong as I thought it might have been due to a power cut or something like that. Anyway after an hour or so I noticed that the heat was still on, so went investigating and the clock hadn't moved at all. So I turned off the heating and reset the time again - and no move since. So I guess my question is - can it be fixed? Or is it dead? It's only there about 15 months as it's a new house.

I tried searching on the net, but couldn't find anything. I did find sites selling batteries for timers, but I always thought they worked off the mains.

Attached is a pic of mine as I know there are loads of different models out there. Apologies for the quality - it was taken with the phone, but you'll get the idea.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg heating timer.jpg (21.2 KB, 8081 views)
chuckles30 is offline  
Advertisement
26-06-2007, 18:52   #2
311
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5,301
Thats a manual clock chuckles ,it doesn't need batteries.
You might just have got a dud clock . I hate those things though ,if it needs to be replaced get a digital one instead.

At the moment ,I install Danfoss clocks. Was installing horsmann ,but the danfoss ones are really easy to control.
311 is offline  
27-06-2007, 10:10   #3
hobie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,335
Mechanical Timers don't have a battery ...... when they pack up it's a trip to the re-cycle centre ....

Electronic(Digital) Timers do have a battery and it's function is simply to keep the Computer within the Timer powered up during 'Power Outs' ..... this maintains not only the time clock but also any programs you have input ..... I've never heard of a battery being replaced .....

in our part of the country you could expect up to 1/2 a dozen power outs a year and if you had to re-input, often quite complex programs(daily ..... weekends ....friday nights etc etc) it would be a real pain .....
hobie is offline  
Thanks from:
27-06-2007, 12:07   #4
Stoner
Moderator
 
Stoner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dublin 7
Posts: 9,497
Send a message via Skype™ to Stoner
Ahh the old APT suitable timer. A fairly decent unit for what it is expected to do. I have never seen one needing to be replaced, we have installed 100s of them in the past. Typically they are replaced with a battery backed up 24Hr Seven day unit. That unit you have is about €25 worth and a digital battery backed up unit will set you back about €45- €60. S0 rather then getting it fixed , I'd get it replaced (only thing is that sometimes space is an issue the APT timer has the same footprint as a single socket, while the digital ones have the footprint of a twin socket and sometimes these units are tucked away in a corner so watch that with your replacement)

as _Brian_ suggested Danfoss are decent

BTW the unit should not have just stopped working, I'd check the size of the MCB to make sure that there is no posibility of an over current melting the contacts.
Stoner is offline  
27-06-2007, 13:51   #5
chuckles30
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,252
Thanks guys - I'll just have to get it replaced then.

Stoner - how would I go about checking the size of the MCB? Is it a diy thing or would the electrician be able to check it out when he comes to fit the new one? I presume I should get a pro to fit the new one.......or is it something that be could be done diy?
chuckles30 is offline  
Advertisement
27-06-2007, 15:40   #6
hobie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,335
The best I ever got out of a mechanical Time switch (Immersion) was ten years .....

and then ....

the clock stoped !!!! .....

So I fitted a super duper Electronic switch ....
hobie is offline  
27-06-2007, 16:09   #7
Stoner
Moderator
 
Stoner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dublin 7
Posts: 9,497
Send a message via Skype™ to Stoner
hi chuckles30, as you can see from Hobies remark they dont fail much. I spoke to our head quality guy here and he has never heard of them giving trouble either.

There should be a 20 Amp MCB feeding this time clock (or fuse if your wiring is old) so check your distributionboard/ fuse board and look for a 20AMp unit.

To tell you the truch these units are easy when you know how, but the first one or two you do can be tricky, IMO you'd need a sparks to hook it up, and it is a 15- 20 Min job max (unless something else is found)

*Edit* just noticed maybe Hobie is saying they are not good! anyway I think everyone agrees that the digital one with a battery back up is the way to go

Last edited by Stoner; 27-06-2007 at 17:10.
Stoner is offline  
28-06-2007, 09:06   #8
chuckles30
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,252
I'll probably go digital when I have to replace it at all & then I'll try and find an electrician who'll actually show up for a small job like that!!
chuckles30 is offline  
29-06-2007, 09:24   #9
Macer123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 216
Just being doing a search regarding this problem. I have 4 identical timers and two have stopped working i.e. the clock is not turning. There is power going to the timer because if you set the switch to "on" the boiler works and the light on the timer lights up.
These timers are approx 8 months old.
We had a power cut in the last few days, any chance this could be related?
Macer123 is offline  
Advertisement
29-06-2007, 09:27   #10
Slaanesh
Moderator
 
Slaanesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1998
Location: Barred
Posts: 1,639
Funny, I have the exact same APT timer in my house, new house, and it failed within 10 months.

Still haven't gotten a new one yet.
Slaanesh is offline  
29-06-2007, 09:38   #11
secman
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,519
I have the exact same Apt timer clock and it stopped working 2 weeks ago. Trying to think how long ago it was installed, max 12 months probably 10 mnths. All the sparks in the job say " Thats unusual , they normally last years " The old Clock workd for about 15 years or more. Bad batch or what ?

secman
secman is offline  
29-06-2007, 09:41   #12
Slaanesh
Moderator
 
Slaanesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1998
Location: Barred
Posts: 1,639
heh could be. Don't happen to be living in Kilmessan do you? My neighbours stopped too now that I think about it.
Slaanesh is offline  
29-06-2007, 11:41   #13
hobie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by secman
I have the exact same Apt timer clock and it stopped working 2 weeks ago. Trying to think how long ago it was installed, max 12 months probably 10 mnths. All the sparks in the job say " Thats unusual , they normally last years " The old Clock workd for about 15 years or more. Bad batch or what ?

secman
If there is a bad batch (and it seems there might be) I would contact the manufacturer and ask for an explanation and replacement .....

I have something like ten (10) timers controlling various devices and if I was getting failures at anything much less than 10 years I would be very dissapointed ....

A trick I always follow whenever putting in an electrical/mechanical device is to mark the date of purchase on the device with a permanent marker (on the back/underneath of course ) .... heaters ...radios .... time clocks .... even CFL bulbs etc etc ..... you will be surprised the feedback it gives you .....
hobie is offline  
29-06-2007, 11:55   #14
Macer123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 216
I've had no luck on the web trying to find the manufacturer, anyone do better than me ???
Macer123 is offline  
29-06-2007, 17:02   #15
hobie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macer123
I've had no luck on the web trying to find the manufacturer, anyone do better than me ???
Electro-Replacement Ltd
1 Moor Park Industrial Centre
Tolpits Lane
Watford
Hertfordshire
WD18 9EU
Tel: +44 (0)1923 255344
Fax: +44 (0)1923 255829

Alternative contacts:

Technical Helpline +44 (0)1923 220277

APT is a trade name of the above company ....

http://www.ribaproductselector.com/D...al/cov.htm?ac=
hobie is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet