Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
16-04-2007, 16:42   #16
BAZM8
Registered User
 
BAZM8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by experiMental
*sorry to be off topic slightly, mods*

BAZM8:
I have a higher Certificate in Construction from DKIT, and also a knowledge of 3dStudio MAX and Photoshop for creating visualization. Would I be qualified to work in architect's office as a design assistant with the architectural design-side (rather than planning, building services and quantity surveying side) of projects?

Do you also know what kinds of duties should I perform as a design assistant (apart from CAD and visualization)?
To be honest i don't know what a "Design Assistant" is?
The General basic positions are Architect +Architectural Technican and most other positions within the office are a variation of these depending on qualification and experience. A certificate in Construction studies is a good base level as it means you should know how a building goes together. It could put you ahead of others looking to get into a practice (as a technician) over those who just have a CAD course.

A sound knowledge of AutoCAD(or Vectorworks, miniCAD et al) on top of another technical qualification is of benefit. I would always look for the qualification first and then the experience when hiring.

(on a side note Generally the building services and quantity surveying are done by other consultants and are rarely handled in house)
BAZM8 is offline  
Advertisement
16-04-2007, 17:01   #17
janmc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by experiMental
*sorry to be off topic slightly, mods*

BAZM8:
I have a higher Certificate in Construction from DKIT, and also a knowledge of 3dStudio MAX and Photoshop for creating visualization. Would I be qualified to work in architect's office as a design assistant with the architectural design-side (rather than planning, building services and quantity surveying side) of projects?
Maybe in one of the larger, commercial offices. It's the sort of job that doesn't really get advertised though, you just have to be in the right place at the right time.

I'm not sure that 'design' assistant is the correct job title for what you're describing though - from what I've seen, design assistants tend to be recently graduated architects or architecture students.
janmc is offline  
17-04-2007, 21:21   #18
BostonB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by BostonB
For example whats the usual scale?
Anyone know?
BostonB is offline  
18-04-2007, 18:33   #19
BopNiblets
Registered User
 
BopNiblets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: The crater pockmarked world known as "Kildare"
Posts: 3,373
I'd also be interested in doing a CAD course on top of my CSSE degree (I had originally planned to do an Architecture Diploma) as I would like to work with CAD or 3D modelling software, but I hear there are few positions available in Ireland?

BAZM8, what industry are these specialist companies you mentioned? Is it 3D modelling? And what do they do that architects don't? Just the practical computery side of things?
Maybe I'd even like to get into one of those places, somewhere where I'd be drawing up stuff in CAD...

Last edited by BopNiblets; 18-04-2007 at 18:38.
BopNiblets is offline  
18-04-2007, 20:31   #20
BostonB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,745
Theres a few specialist companies around like deantus.com for example.
BostonB is offline  
Advertisement
19-04-2007, 18:11   #21
BAZM8
Registered User
 
BAZM8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by BopNiblets
BAZM8, what industry are these specialist companies you mentioned? Is it 3D modelling? And what do they do that architects don't? Just the practical computery side of things?
Generally in this country people use computer programmes to replace the old drawing boards and paper. i know this is changing but the vast majority of builders still require a 2D print to build anything. 3D is commonly used for presentations and marketing. The people who do this work don't design generally. They take the design from the Architect, plans and elevations and turn it into a 3D model. You don't need Construction technical knowledge to do this( but you need a lot of computer knowledge i assume)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BopNiblets
...Maybe I'd even like to get into one of those places, somewhere where I'd be drawing up stuff in CAD...
All practices in this country are using CAD, so to work in Architecture you would have to know how to use it

Also BostonB see other thread on this site in relation to "money in architecture" with regard to pay scales.
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...p?t=2055070952
These are for technician and architects though, so knock off a few grand for CAD tech only and there is probably a ceiling too.
BAZM8 is offline  
19-04-2007, 19:18   #22
BostonB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by BAZM8
....
Also BostonB see other thread on this site in relation to "money in architecture" with regard to pay scales.
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...p?t=2055070952
These are for technician and architects though, so knock off a few grand for CAD tech only and there is probably a ceiling too.
Ta, Only spotted that the other day. Many moons ago I did my City and Guilds in Autocad and some 3D Studio, but never really got a decent job at it, so switched to something else. Was wondering if the situation had improved. I've known a few people who done at it, and moved to other things and some who only recently have started to make an ok income from it. From the people I know. theres more money to be made from it in the UK IMO than in Ireland. I guess you have a larger market to sustain you.
BostonB is offline  
30-04-2007, 10:23   #23
holly1975
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Auto CAD Problem...Please help

Auto CAD Problem...Please help

I work in an Architects office on cad release 2004 and we get major internal errors and our cad / computer provider can not hekp us....Wondering can anyone help us...We get internal errors when zooming, changing from modelspace to paperspace, copying and pasting,changing text, and the odd time when your just working away the computer will just STOP.....it make us so mad as you have to keep saving the drawing every few mintues just incase......PLEASE HELP....WE HAVE PURGED, AUDITED DWG ETC AND NOTHING HELPS..........
holly1975 is offline  
30-04-2007, 10:28   #24
odonnell
Registered User
 
odonnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diceicle
I would like to go be qualified as a cad technician and work in the architecture / building design area.

I would like to point out that having a qualification in the use of AutoCAD in no way makes you employable in the construction or architecture industry unless you have some construction knowledge. The job doesnt exist in which you are merely required to draw lines on Autocad, you need to know what youre drawing. These CAD courses i suspect are meant for aged architects, techies, and engineers who grew up with drawing boards...yet must move with the times. you would be far far better studying as an architectural technologist and that would get you into an architectural practise - where you WILL end up drawing pretty much everything the office generates.

If youre not interested in knowing anything about construction, then study an out and out 3d course and go work for a 3d illustrations company....a lot of money can be made from these guys as the industry is becoming more and more reliant on presentation - for clients and planners alike.

I disagree with the money being better in the UK. In my experience the money is only better there at top level - if you go into an architectural practise, Dublin is the place for you currently.
odonnell is offline  
Advertisement
30-04-2007, 10:51   #25
janmc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by holly1975
Auto CAD Problem...Please help

I work in an Architects office on cad release 2004 and we get major internal errors and our cad / computer provider can not hekp us....Wondering can anyone help us...We get internal errors when zooming, changing from modelspace to paperspace, copying and pasting,changing text, and the odd time when your just working away the computer will just STOP.....it make us so mad as you have to keep saving the drawing every few mintues just incase......PLEASE HELP....WE HAVE PURGED, AUDITED DWG ETC AND NOTHING HELPS..........
Try the AutoCAD user groups and forums - just do a google search - there are tons of help groups.
janmc is offline  
30-04-2007, 19:46   #26
Mellor
Unsubscriber
 
Mellor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,067
This is a problem that results from using drawings from later versions, but the drawing file hasn't been upgraded. For example, using drawings from AutoCAD 2006, this version still uses the 2004 format, but there are a number of new features. If somebody works on the drawing with these new features things can get messed up. It happen at an office I was at last year, the error message (in the text bar at the bottom) says something along the lines of "error not this kind of xxxxxx)
contact autocad, they can send you a patch to fix it.
Mellor is offline  
30-04-2007, 19:47   #27
Mellor
Unsubscriber
 
Mellor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,067
Quote:
Originally Posted by BostonB
Theres a few specialist companies around like deantus.com for example.
Deantus are mostly an outsourced company, they do everything that the other large companys do, they help with workloads mostly. They dont specialise in any area really though
Mellor is offline  
30-04-2007, 20:06   #28
BostonB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,745
They used to do it themselves when I first heard of them. I guess everywhere is outsourcing these days. Something to consider if trying to get into it.
BostonB is offline  
30-04-2007, 21:18   #29
Mellor
Unsubscriber
 
Mellor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,067
Quote:
Originally Posted by BostonB
They used to do it themselves when I first heard of them. I guess everywhere is outsourcing these days. Something to consider if trying to get into it.
I think you misunderstood me, Deantus do they're own 3D work, as do alot olot or practices, more and more are outsourcing.
Whats unique about deantus is that they are a technician company, no architects, at least when they started.
They get jobs outsourced to them from other practices when workloads are too high, or dead lines approaching. They dont specalise in £d, they deal with all areas of work that a large office does.
Mellor is offline  
30-04-2007, 23:28   #30
BostonB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,745
I see your point. I only knew about the 3D side of it. The other architectural stuff I wouldn't know about.
BostonB is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet