Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

10-09-2006, 20:34   #1
dceire

PC World's 'Interest free finance offer'!!!

I went into pc world the other day to purchase a laptop on their interest free finance offer which they are currently promoting, they went through the whole process before telling me that i had been declined finance by their bank!

I am a third level student i just figured that they didn’t want to get into a finance agreement with them even though i have a good part time job which I’ve held for 2yrs now & was paying over €300 a month in car insurance last year and repayments on the laptop were only €45 with a lump-sum at the 12th month.

So my dad suggested that he buy the laptop this way and I’d just give him the money every month & today he was refused finance despite the fact he has a perfect credit history and a well paid job??? Why the hell won’t they approve anyone for finance? is it just a ploy to lure in customers and the force them to get bank loans etc! i just cant understand it.
Advertisement
10-09-2006, 20:36   #2
Ruu
Closed Account

Who is their finance with?
10-09-2006, 20:43   #3
Creamy Goodness
Booooom, Blast & Ruin

the finance company is trying to tell you not to buy from them tbh.
10-09-2006, 21:00   #4
irlrobins

Moving to consumer issues
10-09-2006, 21:19   #5
Hitchhiker's Guide to...

it used to be with HFC (and american provider of store credit). Maybe write to them and ask them for written details of what their credit criteria are. (your Dad may have some old unpaid bills that he doesn't realise are outstanding that mean he has bad credit - e.g. from moving house and forgetting to pay a particular bill).

He could ask Experian for his credit report - they provide the credit rating in this country and have to give you your credit rating report for free.
Advertisement
10-09-2006, 21:45   #6
eth0_