Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Personal Hygiene and Lockdown

• Registered Users Posts: 11,859 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I’m considering it. :)

Break out the Lynx Africa gel. Someone said it makes women go wild.

No use in lockdown so.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭NSAman

I had a bath today, for the first time in 10 years.

Not because I am rotten, simply because I tried two of the showers in the house and both broke the damned shower heads fell to the floor. Third shower was i use and I couldn’t wait (herself wouldn’t let me in either).

Now I have two new shower heads, and more flipping work to sort out around the house.

I cannot function without a shower every morning.

Cleanliness is next to Godliness.... just call me God.;)

• Registered Users Posts: 16,330 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

NSAman wrote: »
    I had a bath today, for the first time in 10 years.

Not because I am rotten, simply because I tried two of the showers in the house and both broke the damned shower heads fell to the floor. Third shower was i use and I couldn’t wait (herself wouldn’t let me in either).

Now I have two new shower heads, and more flipping work to sort out around the house.

I cannot function without a shower every morning.

Cleanliness is next to Godliness.... just call me God.;)

Well la-di-da I have 3 showers! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭Podge201

Good old sting on the mickey the hand santatiser gives.

Podge201 wrote: »

Someone said that about mint shower gel.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭Ultrflat

Having a shower takes 5 to 10 minutes max.

step underwater wet hair grab head and shoulder squeeze, straight on to the head lather, grab shower gel and do the same step out get a good lather going jump back in rinse turn down heat. Finish with cold water to close those pour back up.

Job done.

Don't be a crusty. Shower more often.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

I should also add that I normally change socks / jocks / t-shirt / shirt every day but that all changed on March 28th.

Slippery slope my friend.

The clue in in the name...HAND sanitizer.

Why are you sanitizing your Mickey!!

Well la-di-da I have 3 showers! :D

Actually have 5 but the other two bathrooms are under construction....:)

anewme wrote: »
    The clue in in the name...HAND sanitizer.

Why are you sanitizing your Mickey!!

It’s called sexual experimentation, he used the vacuum last week.

It’s one advantage of working from home all the time, definitely no need for a shower even every second or third day as would be the norm. About one shower, max two across the 7 days of the week does me at the moment.

..........About one shower, max two across the 7 days of the week does me at the moment.

Aren't you married?

Augeo wrote: »
    Aren't you married?

Yes, not sure of the relevance though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭Class MayDresser

I hear your pain brother.

It’s one advantage of working from home all the time, definitely no need for a shower even every second or third day as would be the norm. About one shower, max two across the 7 days of the week does me at the moment.

So you realise you need/should shower when going to work but seem happy to let personal hygiene lapse when at home, not alone, with your wife.
    Unless ye sleep in separate beds that's a tad rank IMO.

Although a shower every third day when working is quite rank too.

NSAman wrote: »
    It’s called sexual experimentation, he used the vacuum last week.

Balls and all? :eek:

So you realise you need/should shower when going to work but seem happy to let personal hygiene lapse when at home, not alone, with your wife.
    Unless ye sleep in separate beds that's a tad rank IMO.

Although a shower every third day when working is quite rank too.

All in the mind of the shower obsessed.

Well if you and your Mrs reckon going to the jacks for 5/6 days and having some couple time together without showering is normal, ye are well met.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Well if you and your Mrs reckon going to the jacks for 5/6 days and having some couple time together without showering is normal, ye are well met.

Thank God I haven't eaten my breakfast yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 436 ✭✭mcgragger

Live dangerously, shower every third day. You won’t regret it.

This I am willing to try.
    Why not.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 9,018 ✭✭✭Ficheall

I live on my own and haven't left the house in about 40 days, and I'm showering about once a week. But if others need to shower to help maintain a sense of routine and keep mentally healthy, I see nothing wrong with that.

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Telly

I'm getting up, showering and putting on semi decent clothes to work at my kitchen table. I'm trying to keep some sort of routine working at home.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

Clean freaks are out tonight. Must be the full moon.

Same cats do be out if one suggests using a towel more than once, there was a thread on here a while back about that.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

Feisar wrote: »
    Same cats do be out if one suggests using a towel more than once, there was a thread on here a while back about that.

That is disgusting. I wouldn’t dream of it. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Addmagnet

I believe that washing the, er, 'important' areas with flannel, soap & water at least once a day to be non-negiotiable, but a shower every day is wasteful of water, washes unneccesary shower gel/soap down the drain and causes my skin to dry out.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

You're meant to sanitise after a **** not before.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Addmagnet wrote: »
    I believe that washing the, er, 'important' areas with flannel, soap & water at least once a day to be non-negiotiable, but a shower every day is wasteful of water, washes unneccesary shower gel/soap down the drain and causes my skin to dry out.

As long as the important parts are clean. Thing is, most people have abandoned the aul strip wash for showers and when people say they aren't showering they mean they're not washing at all. It's rank!

I dunno why you wouldn't shower daily, its super refreshing also cleansing of the mind, if you work in a busy job its a great time to meditate get your head clear.

I love my shower - I am an "evening" shower person rather than morning. Its therapeutic and sensual as in it involves touch and smell. Evenings for me are nicer as I feel I am washing the work day off me before I change into comfy home clothes.
    I am still working at the moment (essential services) but even if I wasn't I couldn't go to sleep at night if I hadn't showered.

While I know most people prefer morning showers, I don't. If you shower in the evening and go to bed you're not going to be dirty first thing in the morning (unless you're getting down and dirty with OH!) so hands, face, teeth does it for me in the morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,933 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Addmagnet wrote: »
    but a shower every day is wasteful of water, washes unneccesary shower gel/soap down the drain and causes my skin to dry out.

You don't need shower gel and soap every time you could have a rinse to wash of any big dirt and sweat.

I'd often go to the gym in the evening and just have a rinse when I get home to wash off the fresh sweat and freshen up. I shower every morning so I'll use shower gel then.

But on topic, not showering and walking around smelling, is gross. It's something that gross people do. Even if you have an underdeveloped sense of smell and you can't smell your own stink, other people can and it shapes people's opinion of you as a gross, smelly person.