Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Man shoots dead neighbour in Co. Mayo

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

B-D-P-- wrote: »
    Lads to put some perspective, the man who shot the gun is 80+ years.
    He didn't purposely aim at the car is word on the street, and yes, in rural Ireland, On a road like that, farmers do be sh*tting themselves when a car pulls up outside.

Its often a knacker coming to beat you to a pulp to rob your last €100 you have saved under your mattress.

This man shot his friend, I'm sure he's distraught.

Would he not have positioned the gun before firing the weapon. The triggers aren't that sensitive, so he must have known that there would be a spray of pellets fired towards the general direction of the car.

If he wanted to scare anyone, he could have fired in the air, like many have said.

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭Joe Kane

How many Garda stations should there be? who pays for all this. I have sympathy but realistically they can't be everywhere.

There should be at the very least the amount there was before they were shut down particularly in rural Ireland.

This man was 80 years old & if he's like a lot of people in rural Ireland was living in fear. I doubt he set out & planned to murder a man or his neighbour.

Going by a few on here though, he was akin to a fully fledged ISIS terrorist & should be banged up today, no questions asked.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,796 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Kurtyoo wrote: »
    Recklessness.

So not murder then.

Grand, just so we're clear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭73bc61lyohr0mu

walshb wrote: »

Country is effing lawless.

I can't remember a time than more recently when there was such crime and violence and blatant disregard for common decency. It's very worrying.

Hyperbole much?

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭Joe Kane

You shout out and if neccessary fire into the air. Not at a car that for all he knew had children inside.

Or 4 masked raiders with a sawn off shot gun.

Fear can make the best of us do the wrong thing, this man was 80 years old too in fairness. He might not be thinking like a man in his younger years or you. You seem to be fully qualified & know how to react in them situations.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,772 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Riskymove wrote: »
    we can speculate all day just as you have

perhaps he brought out the gun but didn't mean to actually fire and it went off

In all my years of owning my own firearms and having carried handguns, sub machine guns and assault rifles in a professional capacity I still have to see the first one that “just goes off”.... .

Even the simplest single barrel break action shotgun requires a series of deliberate actions before it’s capable of being fired.

• Registered Users Posts: 159 ✭✭snickers

Warning shots my arse you fire warning shots into the air or at the ground not at a car .

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

In all my years of owning my own firearms and having carried handguns, sub machine guns and assault rifles in a professional capacity I still have to see the first one that “just goes off”.... .

Even the simplest single barrel break action shotgun requires a series of deliberate actions before it’s capable of being fired.

Gustav sub?

Apart from that, guns go off when the trigger is pulled.

First they came for the socialists...

A couple of points:

It's terrible that people are living in that sort of fear, that headlights = grab the shotgun.

While I am sympathetic he fired wildly and killed a man, no getting around that

What's all this about kids, I could have been in the car!

To hell with warning shots generally, identify threat and drop it.

LuasSimon wrote: »
    It shows the fear people are living under in Rural Ireland with all the robberies and burglaries, any noise at night time is met with fear ..

No garda Stations and roaming traveller gangs have Rural Ireland under siege not that Fine Gael Dublin care.

its shows that old idiots shouldn't have guns

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,625 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Joe Kane wrote: »
    Or 4 masked raiders with a sawn off shot gun.

Fear can make the best of us do the wrong thing, this man was 80 years old too in fairness. He might not be thinking like a man in his younger years or you. You seem to be fully qualified & know how to react in them situations.

There's no 'in fairness' when an innocent man has just been killed

• Registered Users Posts: 35,625 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Hardly normal for that guy to be on his property at midnight. Must be more to it, why was he there. If it was a normal routine time to call the guy would have expected him, not be jumping to conclusions .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Portsalon

No garda Stations and roaming traveller gangs have Rural Ireland under siege not that Fine Gael Dublin care.

The nearest Garda stations to this tragedy are Knock (2½ km) and Ballyhaunis (5 km). Literally light years away :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 20,174 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Hardly normal for that guy to be on his property at midnight. Must be more to it, why was he there. If it was a normal routine time to call the guy would have expected him, not be jumping to conclusions .

Was he, though? I'm getting the impression that the car was on the public road when it was hit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

We’ll have to wait and see. But if he wasn’t acting in self-defence i.e. the man he shot was minding his own business, I can’t imagine he’ll just be let away with it. The ‘people in rural Ireland are living in fear’ thing is being exaggerated just a smidge by some in this thread. Where I grew up at least, it’s still a place where people look out for each other. Car lights outside the house wouldn’t have most people reaching for the ol’ shotgun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

jimgoose wrote: »
    Was he, though? I'm getting the impression that the car was on the public road when it was hit.

Where are you getting this impression?? I've read nowhere that the dead man was in a car, or that a car was hit. It's not reported anywhere I have read.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭bladespin

I don't know what it is, murder, whatever. He killed an innocent man because he selfishly and recklessly shot at a car.

It can't be murder unless it was premeditated and intentional, no one knows the details as yet.

Where are you getting this impression?? I've read nowhere that the dead man was in a car, or that a car was hit. It's not reported anywhere I have read.

The photographs in this article. Also, lines like "It is believed there is a car at the scene which has evidence of gunshots on it.":

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/mayo-shooting-garda-investigating-if-elderly-man-thought-deceased-was-an-intruder-38509720.html

Portsalon wrote: »
    Kids in a car at midnight down a remote rural lane in deepest Mayo :eek: - I assume that you've contacted Tusla?

No, because presumably he's not a window-licking insaniac. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Was it a rifle or shotgun?

A lot of people here seem to have a very sympathetic view of this situation simply down to the man's age.

If this was a 24 year old at home alone, you'd all be out for his blood.

I understand he is more vulnerable, but he still should have the mental capacity to know what he is doing when firing a gun at a car parked up in the dark and if he doesn't have that capacity, the man shouldn't own a firearm.

What he done is wrong, he is in the wrong and somebody's father, son, brother is now in a morgue laced with holes, never to speak a word again because of what he has done.

YFlyer wrote: »
    Was it a rifle or shotgun?

Any money it's an old single barrel baikal (shotgun).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

I've heard when dealing with characters of a certain cultural persuasion, the warning shots are fired after..

Given where this is, and one well publicised case several years ago, I would guess this is what might have occurred here.

Could have been a known problem in the area and when a concerned neighbour went to check on his mate there was an unfortunate case of mistaken identity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

It doesn't matter if the man was 80 or 18 , if you are living on your own and theres a threat of 3 or 4 travelling burlars armed with knives or crowbars coming to beat or torture you for money plenty will shoot first and ask questions later, many in rural Ireland cant or wont take any more.

I wonder who called the guards.

If it was Shotgun Johnny himself then presumably he either didn't realise what he had done, or was calling for an ambulance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

Portsalon wrote: »
    The nearest Garda stations to this tragedy are Knock (2½ km) and Ballyhaunis (5 km). Literally light years away :rolleyes:

Both open an hour a day more than likely,

• Registered Users Posts: 54,585 ✭✭✭✭walshb

It doesn't matter if the man was 80 or 18 , if you are living on your own and theres a threat of 3 or 4 travelling burlars armed with knives or crowbars coming to beat or torture you for money plenty will shoot first and ask questions later, many in rural Ireland cant or wont take any more.

Eh, but what of the non criminal people that may happen to be in the vicinity of these premises? Just a case of wrong place at wrong time, and to hell with ya! We just have to put up with it, yeh?

So should every man, woman and child in rural Ireland take up arms against every sillouette they see because a few people have been robbed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

jimgoose wrote: »
    Well in fairness, firing at a car like that just because he saw headlights snooping around the road is the act of a lunatic.

I don’t believe it is. He’s in his 80s. He was in no position to wait for whoever it was to land in on top of him. It’s no secret that rural Ireland is being terrorized, and the guards are doing **** all about it.
    We’ve no idea if that elderly man had a phone in his house, if he had anyone to call, if anyone even checks in on him or how many times he may have dealt with trespassers on his property before.

An old man that lives near me was broken into and robbed, nobody ever caught of course, two years ago, and he had a heart attack, he survived but went into a nursing home.

I’d question what someone was doing skulking around a (very elderly and clearly nervous) neighbors house at midnight? The man had obviously time to hear the car, get up, get the gun, go outside and fire it. I can’t imagine he moved very fast either given his vintage.

I feel so very sad for him today, and I hope he’s being well looked after and they’re being kind to him.

Both open an hour a day more than likely,

Hopefully.

This may challenge your comprehensive capabilities, but if a garda station is open then it must be manned. And every garda sitting on their arse in a small rural garda station is one garda less available to carry out patrols in the large area that they serve.

(It's one of the conundrums that the feeble minded (like Shane Ross's Stepaside constituents) face - would they rather have a manned garda station so they can more easily get their passport applications signed, or would they prefer to see more gardai available to carry out patrols!)