Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

When was the moment Irish people became docile and spirtitless?

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 15,176 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

I wonder what the likes of Countess Markievicz and Collins would think of Ireland's recent history?

Could you imagine French government/people or british government/people or any developed western country being cool with bankrupting its own people in favour of third party bond holders

And then electing them to run the country 8 years later

The format of the late late show, Ireland's most popular show by a mile showcases this docility . This "light entertainment show" heavily relies on misery and sorrow and submission to this day.It has literally taken over from the Church, the host even gives a weekly sermon in how we should behave
    80s ..90s ..not sure?

Its pretty docile though.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

hardcore gonzo pornography

Links genuinely appreciated. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,280 ✭✭✭HBC08

I imagine that Collins would be fairly active on twitter
    Markievicz would probably be more on an insta person.

Don't ever watch the late late show. It's bad for your mental health. With the exception of the toy show

Isnt saying "don't watch the Late Late show,it's bad for your mental health" an example of the docile nature the op is talking about.
    The flagship national broadcast show has morphed into some weird weekly misery porn,the host is paid an obscene amount,it's tax funded,if you don't pay the license you can do jail time.All of this is not right but the best thing to do is pretend it doesn't exist?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

I, personally, think a lot of Irish lads got fairly docile after the crash in 08. So much so, that we now have a large surplus of 30-something year old “manchildren”, some are even in their 40s. They live their lives online, playing computer games, watching wrestling and MMA cage fighting.

While the rest of us are “getting on” with things in the real world this lot are spending all their time complaining with other dangerously deluded oddballs, with fogged up glasses, about Lottie Ryan, female politicians and other, random, nonsense they consider “woke”.

There was always that “cohort” working in IT, the greasy haired crowd with unkempt beards. But this new subgroup of angry “midwits”, the type who hate women but can’t even talk to them, could really do with “drying out” from the hardcore gonzo pornography and spending some time away from the computer.

We’re going to need all the help we can get once the country “opens up” again, hopefully in the near future, so instead of seething over ‘The Late Late Show’ or braying at the TV while one lad pummels another lad in the head while he’s unconscious on the ground I’d recommend taking a “time out” and getting some fresh air. Within the 5k limit, of course.

Together, we can bring back the “spirit” of this great nation. It just requires rolling up our sleeves and facing up to the real world.

Good man EmmetSpiceland/Adrian Balboa/Johnnyflash/Aongus Von Bismark

• Registered Users Posts: 32,988 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Good man EmmetSpiceland/Adrian Balboa/Johnnyflash/Aongus Von Bismark

... and yet you are completely unable to actually offer a rebuttal! I like Hyperbollix's take on posts like these:

Are all your contributions to every thread as utterly pointless as this, or did we just get you on a bad day?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭NSAman

I find it hilarious that Irish people are vociferous in their condemnation of political actions thousands of miles away, but they barely protest at decisions that are wrong/affect them in their own country.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,176 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

NSAman wrote: »
    I find it hilarious that Irish people are vociferous in their condemnation of political actions thousands of miles away, but they barely protest at decisions that are wrong/affect them in their own country.
    Me too.

And we are REALLY bad at it.

I think its fear.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

NSAman wrote: »

Irish people are so spineless they won't even complain to a waiter if they're asked if their meal is fine.

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Irish people are so spineless they won't even complain to a waiter if they're asked if their meal is fine.

Irish people looked on at likes of bloody sunday and concluded nationlists were wrong to defend emselves in the north

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

I don’t watch the Late Late Show, OP. It’s really easy not to. As for all the other stuff, what would you have done?

• Registered Users Posts: 624 ✭✭✭COVID

The same docile spiritless instinct that makes us crave acceptance and validation for our existence on the world stage .For example when a new American president is elected we rush to prove that he has Irish connections and " Sure arent the Irish great " . People will squabble over whether his great, great, great, great ,great great grandfather was born in a boghole in Bohola or a dungheap in Dunboyne .
    Newspapers spent most of the Summer fawning over some american actor who found himself stranded in Killiney, wondering if he liked us and would such a sophisticated creature survive on food from tesco .
    There is some deficiency in our national psyche that makes us need to be liked.

You're making a holy show of yourself and the Irish nation, it was a SuperValu bag, you big eejit.

• Registered Users Posts: 7 Cortter

We need some new political parties

That's just self-preservation - never mess with somebody that can mess with your food!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Do you include yourself in that cohort?

Cortter wrote: »
    We need some new political parties

We get them all the time. They never get the votes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭SuperS54

It was sometime before we all voted the wrong way in the referendum and then voted the way we were supposed to after being told.

SuperS54 wrote: »
    It was sometime before we all voted the wrong way in the referendum and then voted the way we were supposed to after being told.

Divorce referendum wasn't it?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,939 ✭✭✭3DataModem

I wonder what the likes of Countess Markievicz and Collins would think of Ireland's recent history?

CM/MC: "Are the life expectancies still in the mid-50s?"

No. High-eighties now. Newborns have a life expectancy over 100. No TB. Little Pneumonia.

CM/MC: "How about education?"

Absence rates from national school have dropped about 80% (from 30% to 6%). Ten times as many people do the inter cert now, and half of them are women (compared to 40% back in your day).

CM/MC: "Are we still being run by the brits?"

No. In your day half of the GDP in Ireland was spent on the British war effort. Now we get to keep a lot of it, and get a fair bit from the rest of Europe too. We have to follow more international rules, but we are net beneficiaries of that.

CM/MC: "Are we still farmers?"

No. Farmland has dropped by about 10%, but the number of farmers is much much lower. Potato farming is barely a tenth of what it was. However back in your day half of farms were not owned by the farmers but tenanted, nowadays they are owned or part of a co-operative.

CM/MC: "Are people more comfortable?"

Nowadays only 15% of money is spent on food, compared to 60% in your day. About half of people have a car (2m private cars).

CM/MC: "Are you still electing blowhards?"

Yes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Mimon

3DataModem wrote: »

No. High-eighties now. Newborns have a life expectancy over 100. No TB. Little Pneumonia.

Absence rates from national school have dropped about 80% (from 30% to 6%). Ten times as many people do the inter cert now, and half of them are women (compared to 40% back in your day).

No. In your day half of the GDP in Ireland was spent on the British war effort. Now we get to keep a lot of it, and get a fair bit from the rest of Europe too. We have to follow more international rules, but we are net beneficiaries of that.

No. Farmland has dropped by about 10%, but the number of farmers is much much lower. Potato farming is barely a tenth of what it was. However back in your day half of farms were not owned by the farmers but tenanted, nowadays they are owned or part of a co-operative.

Nowadays only 15% of money is spent on food, compared to 60% in your day. About half of people have a car (2m private cars).

Yes.

Great post:). Owned the OP in fairness, well done.

3DataModem wrote: »

Yes.

CM/MC: is the 6 counties still occupied

Yes,and our media and establishment demonises those who sought to state up for oppressed nstionlists there...but we have money,so thats pretty cool,i guess :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Mimon

Yes,and our media and establishment demonises those who sought to state up for oppressed nstionlists there...but we have money,so thats pretty cool,i guess :pac:

Compared to where we were in 1920 we are living in a paradise but human nature causes people to complain and if everything isn't perfect it's a failure.

Well documented the reason for partition at the time and continuing partition. Michael Collins would be well placed to understand that methinks.

The 6 counties will be back at some stage and better to wait until the demographics change so that we don't have a large discontented minority on our hands. That never ends well.

That is mostly politeness. The waiter is a low level employee. Theres no point tel her or him the lunch was mediocre. Of course if something is missing people will ask it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

We get them all the time. They never get the votes.

Well, they're mostly arseholes like Renua.

Mimon wrote: »
    Great post:). Owned the OP in fairness, well done.

Not really since that wasn't the topic. But, yes, we have better facilities now.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭sheesh

look cm and mc there was a irregular war going on there for 25 years with with thousands of people being killed and many more living in terror as an island we voted for a peace deal and legal structures to prevent the discrimination of Catholics
    We feel we will get the 6 counties back peacefully within the next hundred years it is not perfect but the body count will be lower.

• Registered Users Posts: 667 ✭✭✭blackvalley

COVID wrote: »
    You're making a holy show of yourself and the Irish nation, it was a SuperValu bag, you big eejit.

Scarlet I am :P

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Could you imagine French government/people or british government/people or any developed western country being cool with bankrupting its own people in favour of third party bond holders

And then electing them to run the country 8 years later

The format of the late late show, Ireland's most popular show by a mile showcases this docility . This "light entertainment show" heavily relies on misery and sorrow and submission to this day.It has literally taken over from the Church, the host even gives a weekly sermon in how we should behave

3:46 on a Sunday

McGaggs wrote: »
    Well, they're mostly arseholes like Renua.

Poster should have been more specifci then :)

Ireland is a populist country though. What kind of party do people want that is a) different; and b) will actually get enugh votes to make a difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭SuperS54

Divorce referendum wasn't it?

Apparently it happened twice, the Nice treaty in 2001 and the Treaty of Lisbon in 2008. The treaty of Lisbon was the one I was thinking of.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,734 ✭✭✭saabsaab

I still say the famine. The British has over 100,000 troops posted here, not counting local militia etc, to stop riots and rebellion.

I can't give the reference but I saw a statement from a person who said that after the famine the wilder, rebellious and more independent types commonly found were all gone or dead.

Survival meant compliance and keeping your head down.