Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

What policies would you like to see introduced in Ireland

1235»

• Registered Users Posts: 1,779 ✭✭✭randd1

- Legalize all drugs under the following conditions; a) The complete legalisation of cannabis; b) The drugs would have to be produced here, and be co-developed with a "cure" if possible so we know exactly what's going into the drugs; c) The drugs could only be sold in licensed establishments where staff are trained in disposing needles, safely preparing drugs, correct amounts, 5/6 defibs on the premises; d) Any drugs seized in public by Gardaí that amounts to a personal amount are simply seized and destroyed and the person let home; e) Any person found to have significant illegal amounts of drugs for supply be subject to large and fines and serious imprisonment terms. Tax all use, use tax for treatments centres.

- Legalize prostitution. Tax it, ensure that those involved have mandatory STI tests and customers be checked previous to coitus by a trained on-sight nurse.

- All housing is to be organised by local county councils only, no developers (they can apply for tender on some projects). Introduce rent to buy schemes, whereby people who rent houses/flats from the councils can use what they've already paid in rent over the years as a base for buying the house (eventually the house is sold and the council get their money or a small profit). If the couple/person wishes to sell the council built house, the council gets first preference to buy it back for social housing.

- Every social welfare payment / all personal taxation is means tested. The more money you have the more tax you pay/less social welfare received.

- Introduce €2500/€2000/€1500tax credits for every child you have per household, depending on your total income (less income, higher child credits). People will be spending money on their children anyway, so the government is either going to get money through taxation or VAT.

- 3 tier social Welfare system. €100 a week basic unemployment after 6 months or when stamps run out. €175 a week for newly unemployed. €250 a week for long term unemployed (more than 6 months), but have to work 20 hours a week for a local authority (cleaning up streets, schools, hospitals, tidy towns committee's).

• Registered Users Posts: 20,451 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Sleepy wrote: »
    Higher Corporation Tax Levels at a GLOBAL level. Our current system of taxing labour more than profit is leading to huge social problems.
    Decriminalisation, regulation and taxation of most recreational drugs and prostitution.
    Reinstatement of History & Geography as compulsory Junior Cycle subjects.
    Make Irish an optional subject in Secondary Level.
    Remove all vestiges of religion from our Health and Education systems.
    Abolish concurrent sentencing.
    Removal of gender from all legislation (no difference between maternity & paternity leave, no difference between sexual assault / rape etc.) and abolish sexist quangos like the Womens Council of Ireland.
    A major review of government spending: why is the taxpayer spending millions on advertising every year? Are we getting a worthwhile return from our subsidisation of greyhound racing and the horse racing industries? Can certain quangos be consolidated? Is there any need to have a couple of hundred people employed to administer our children's allowance system when it could be easily replaced by tax credits and increases in welfare? etc.

If your review of spending is meant to reduce it significantly, you will have to concentrate on the big three, welfare, health and education. Everything else is very small in comparison. And in health and education you will have to reduce the workforce or reduce wages to make any serious impact.

I could see you ideas on drugs and prostitution costing a lot to administer. And could open up the state to claims from drug users for compensation if they have adverse outcomes from drugs like cocaine supplied by the health service.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,142 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

If your review of spending is meant to reduce it significantly, you will have to concentrate on the big three, welfare, health and education. Everything else is very small in comparison. And in health and education you will have to reduce the workforce or reduce wages to make any serious impact.
    True, but wasting millions because it's small beans out of a budget of billions is a piss poor excuse for doing so imho.

Sure, the millions we could save by abolishing Childrens Allowance, or better use of shared services in IT, or cutting out pointless advertising campaigns isn't going to reduce the national debt. Every million saved though could be better allocated: a saving of a million euro a year would cover the employment costs of almost 20 nurses, gardaí or teachers for example. Small incremental improvements can mount up to big impacts on overall performance.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭klaaaz

Cap the 6 number Irish lotto win at 1m. No need for one individual to walk away with the 20m top prize when higher prizes for obtaining the 5 numbers and 4 numbers would distribute that wealth more fairly to benefit the many not the few.

• Registered Users Posts: 455 ✭✭TheSegal

Cannabis is not a magic safe drug it’s probably more dangerous than morphine or diamorphine. Why do you think the should be legal but opiates two years.

In what way is it more dangerous than morphine or diamorphine do you mind me asking? The addictive properties of opioids alone make them far more dangerous than cannabis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭ohfa6muwtsvkc1

99% tax rate for "investors". If you're speculating on stocks, houses or whatever you can fk off. This includes "tax wrappers" like pensions.

State ownership of vital resources like hospitals, transport, telecoms and electricity.

Pay deductions for TDs based on how many unemployed or people in poverty there are in their constitency. They'll sort things out fast enough once their pocket is hit...

Radical overhaul of the Gardai. Pretty much phase out all the current leaders.

• Registered Users Posts: 491 ✭✭B_ecke_r

99% tax rate for "investors". If you're speculating on stocks, houses or whatever you can fk off. This includes "tax wrappers" like pensions.

State ownership of vital resources like hospitals, transport, telecoms and electricity.

Pay deductions for TDs based on how many unemployed or people in poverty there are in their constitency. They'll sort things out fast enough once their pocket is hit...

Radical overhaul of the Gardai. Pretty much phase out all the current leaders.

BUT IF FIANNA FAIL HADN'T SOLD EIRCOM WE WOULD ALL HAVE 1G BB BY NOW

• Registered Users Posts: 8,354 ✭✭✭corner of hells

randd1 wrote: »

- Legalize prostitution. Tax it, ensure that those involved have mandatory STI tests and customers be checked previous to coitus by a trained on-sight nurse.

rl6480plus.jpg

Could the nurse be dressed this way ?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Policies to make things easier for transgender men and women

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,988 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

B_ecke_r wrote: »

Anchorman-Yelling.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

Have sign language taught in every school in the land.

Not only would this be very helpful for the deaf community, but it'd be bloody awesome to be able to communicate easily in noisy environments (pubs/clubs/noisy workplaces etc) or at a distance. Great too (in the future) for elderly with impaired hearing.

• Registered Users Posts: 363 ✭✭Pronto63

Every person to get 1 free GP visit per year - under 5's get 2.
    This means that the working poor don't have to wait till they are nearly dead before attending the doctor. At the end of the year they could use their unused visit as a checkup. Makes for a healthier population.

Medical card holders would have to pay a nominal charge say €5 per visit. If you get something for nothing you don't appreciate it.

Agree with most other posts about SW, law and order, sentencing etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Irish should be taught 90% of the time in a conversational manner.

Replace handshakes with high fives.

Replace high fives with thumbs up.

Replace thumbs up with handshakes.

Legalise weed.

Everytime you want to buy a new phone you have to do do naked wrestling with the cashier for 3 rounds. It doesn't matter if you win or lose, you'll still get your new phone.

Build as many houses/apartments in urban areas as possible.

Summer camps for children during the whole of the school holidays.

Shopping in a supermarket will require you to wear a top hat. No top hat, no supermarket shopping.

Old people will be required to cross dress ever Wednesday. All old men in dresses, all old women in slacks.

Feminism should be put on the same shelf as Nazism.

If someone walks past you with a dog you are obligated to leave one loud barking noise out.

The President should be elected every 5 years.

We should have a better way to honour Irish citizens that do extraordinary things.

Diet Coke and Diet Fanta should be illegal.

There should be more Mexican food restaurants. So a policy of importing a few thousand Mexican's should be on the national agenda.

Irish people should eat more fish and less meat.

A special group that looks for ways to exploit our EEZ. It's 5 times bigger than the country.

Incorporating Derry, Newry and parts of Fermanagh into the Republic.

More sustainable energy projects are needed.

A ban on people posting really long messages on public internet forums. No one cares 'that much' about what you think or what you have to say. Oh...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

klaaaz wrote: »
    Cap the 6 number Irish lotto win at 1m. No need for one individual to walk away with the 20m top prize when higher prizes for obtaining the 5 numbers and 4 numbers would distribute that wealth more fairly to benefit the many not the few.

two million, one is hardly enough to buy a house and a yacht.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,657 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Sleepy wrote: »
    Higher Corporation Tax Levels at a GLOBAL level. Our current system of taxing labour more than profit is leading to huge social problems.
    Taxing unearned income like earned income
    If someone on minimum wage has to pay PRSI and USC then it should be Universal.

Defining a minimum turnover tax, based on what small businesses actually pay. Ditto for financial transactions even if it's only 0.1%. It might just stop yet another global stockmarket meltdown.

Big businesses will actually have to compete on a more level playing field, we can't afford corporate welfare. Looking at you Amazon - $10 Billion in profit and not only was there ZERO tax paid, they got a $129m rebate too. And it's not the first time.

Oh and the Finnish box for babies thing

• Registered Users Posts: 20,451 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Ban double spacing on long internet messages.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,657 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Irish should be taught 90% of the time in a conversational manner.

Replace handshakes with high fives.
    NO NO NO.

Fist bumps are far more hygienic.

Especially when you meet someone wearing an antivaxx badge, not that you'll see it though the hazmat suit they'll be forced to wear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Banks paying customers a rate of interest based on the banks profits from customer deposits.
    We're paying to withdraw our own money while they invest it for their own profit. Even better, if they invest it badly the tax payer bails them out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭ohfa6muwtsvkc1

B_ecke_r wrote: »

previous mess ups shouldn't influence an entire way of thinking. The capitalist system has collapsed plenty :D

I'd argue that private air flights should be banned, and more enviromentally friendly ferries and the likes should take their place. Private car use heavily discouraged and pubic transport made king.

• Registered Users Posts: 896 ✭✭✭angel eyes 2012

Pronto63 wrote: »
    Every person to get 1 free GP visit per year - under 5's get 2.
    This means that the working poor don't have to wait till they are nearly dead before attending the doctor. At the end of the year they could use their unused visit as a checkup. Makes for a healthier population.

Medical card holders would have to pay a nominal charge say €5 per visit. If you get something for nothing you don't appreciate it.

Agree with most other posts about SW, law and order, sentencing etc.

Are under 5's not free anyway?

A nationalised health service should be a priority. We should have waiting lists no longer than a year and mandatory primary care check ups every year for all. If you don't attend you should have to pay for treatment. We should then offer state of the art services for "health tourism" where we can offer private facilities for patients from all over the world. The monies raised will finance improvements and offer employment for residents in Ireland.

Animal welfare legislation to be drastically improved with an effective whilstleblowing policy and ombudsman for animals.
    Whiplash claims to be thrown out of court.

Army to be disbanded (disagree if you want but this is my list).

Marriage only legally permissible for over 28 year olds and you have to give at least one year's notice to the state.

Legalise and regulate cannabis and euthanasia.

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

Nationwide curfew 9pm for under 16's, 10pm for under 18's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭Giveaway

NExt time there is a moral panic with regards the internet, the minister responsible, instead of introducing new BS legislation for the feelz, just tells the electorate to turn off the offensive material.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭Firblog

The top pension any public or civil servant or politician can get is the average industrial wage. If you want a bigger pension than that pay for it yourself.

All employees get the same % pay rise as the person running the company.

No person to be hired as a national school teacher if they can't pronounce TH, if you didn't know maths you wouldn't be hired, why should you be if you don't know English.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭Giveaway

Are under 5's not free anyway?

A nationalised health service should be a priority. We should have waiting lists no longer than a year and mandatory primary care check ups every year for all. If you don't attend you should have to pay for treatment. We should then offer state of the art services for "health tourism" where we can offer private facilities for patients from all over the world. The monies raised will finance improvements and offer employment for residents in Ireland.

Animal welfare legislation to be drastically improved with an effective whilstleblowing policy and ombudsman for animals.
    Whiplash claims to be thrown out of court.

Army to be disbanded (disagree if you want but this is my list).

Marriage only legally permissible for over 28 year olds and you have to give at least one year's notice to the state.

Legalise and regulate cannabis and euthanasia.

there is tsunami of waste in healthcare. if it is free it will not be appreciated and abused. Ireland(for medical cards) and the NHS UK are fairly unique with regards no upfront payment. For example for all medical encounters in Germany, 5 euro upfront. France and spain have partial payments upfront with later refund by the state

• Registered Users Posts: 896 ✭✭✭angel eyes 2012

Giveaway wrote: »
    there is tsunami of waste in healthcare. if it is free it will not be appreciated and abused. Ireland(for medical cards) and the NHS UK are fairly unique with regards no upfront payment. For example for all medical encounters in Germany, 5 euro upfront. France and spain have partial payments upfront with later refund by the state

I think there is a nominal prescription charge for medical card holders and the countries you cited dont have waiting lists of 28 months for childrens eye surgery and 500,000 patients waiting to see a consultant. Most of the conditions of these people waiting will get more serious thus costing more to the health system in the long term. I strongly believe that health care should be the priority in any state and of course reduce any waste where possible. Most other posters considered justice and welfare reform as their priorities, fair enough. My proposal is mandatory and free if you participate and would reduce crime and welfare dependency as citizens mental health and well-being would be addressed quickly.

It is all about preventative medicine - somewhat similar to the Cuban system. If you don't engage and attend your check ups then you pay. Although it is somewhat of a utopian ideolgy, I give you that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

Haven't read all thread, but I'm sure there is here plenty about sentencing. It's a bloody joke.
    Mandatory and hefty fixed term sentencing for offenses against the person.

I just watched the video in this report, and it is beyond comprehension that this animal served only 22 months in prison. And that he was only sentenced to 3 and half years in the first place! :mad:
    One of the most sickening things I ever hear are the paltry terms handed out for incest and child abuse. 20 years minimum. More if particularly aggravated.. No parole, no bleeding heart crap about their terrible childhoods etc.

:mad:

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/i-hope-this-will-be-a-deterrent-mother-who-had-nearly-every-bone-in-her-face-broken-by-ex-awarded-150000-37888023.html

• Registered Users Posts: 11,461 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

NO NO NO.

Especially when you meet someone wearing an antivaxx badge, not that you'll see it though the hazmat suit they'll be forced to wear

Who's to say you can't get sh*t on your fist?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭branie2

NO NO NO.

Maybe we should replace the shaking of hands at Mass, which is the sign of peace, with fist bumps.

• Registered Users Posts: 491 ✭✭B_ecke_r

Firblog wrote: »

No person to be hired as a national school teacher if they can't pronounce TH, if you didn't know maths you wouldn't be hired, why should you be if you don't know English.

Lads.... take out yizzer books will yiz