Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Garda shoots dog in Longford

• Registered Users Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

Have you actually looked at the thread ?

You don't expect me to take the shyte on this thread at face value...thats why the question marks :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,761 ✭✭✭Effects

The garda in question is doing God's work. More bang bang vs the fcukin scum plz

God would say turn the other cheek.

• Registered Users Posts: 229 ✭✭John Sacrimoni

Effects wrote: »
    Really, why not? I know people that use it against grizzly bears.

I think thats bear mace, much much stronger

• Registered Users Posts: 11,191 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Sky King wrote: »
    RTE also saying it's a shotgun injury that gets yer man in the leg :confused:

RTE wouldnt know a shotgun from a hurl.
    Their last Primetime "special report" on firesarms ownership showed a bunch of plastic airsoft toys ( stickers were visible on them) and claimed they were "dangerous assault rifles".

• Registered Users Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭IRE60

archer22 wrote: »
    So what really happened here?

So far the story seems to go as follows.
    Guy brings van to travellers to get it repaired
    Guy does not want to pay for the repairs.
    Guy gets Garda friend to help him recover van.
    Garda friend gets into altercation and kills a Dog and wounds Dogs owner.

If thats the correct version then its bizarre ...to put it mildly!!

No - the van was being removed from the bearded gentleman as he hadn't paid for repairs on the van - that's my understanding

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    RTE wouldnt know a shotgun from a hurl.
    Their last Primetime "special report" on firesarms ownership showed a bunch of plastic airsoft toys ( stickers were visible on them) and claimed they were "dangerous assault rifles".

They also had the line one day regarding a ceased sniper rifle with scope and silencer. It was a feckin .22 rifle.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭BobMc

As soon as you touch the Garda its game over in my book, wouldnt stand for any of that crap is USA or most jurisdictions, imagine touching a French or spanish cop, they'd either shoot you or beat the living daylights out of you

• Registered Users Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

Really, why not? I know people that use it against grizzly bears.

You know people that pepper spray grizzly bears? I'm not being funny but I doubt that to be honest

:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 9,761 ✭✭✭Effects

You know people that pepper spray grizzly bears? I'm not being funny but I doubt that to be honest.

They don't do it for fun, they carry it as a precaution.
    One guy used to carry a 44 Magnum, but not since bear spray became popular.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

thumb_bear-safety-tip-use-bear-spray-to-anger-the-bear-13683265.png

• Registered Users Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

Any cliffs on what happened? I watched video. No dog?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,146 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Panch18 wrote: »
    Are you for real??

Firstly you say the accent is clearly not knacker, it clearly is

Secondly you say Longford is a big county. Again you are clueless, it’s the 29th biggest county you clown

Finally woken up and got out of bed?

You take things a little too literal re the size thing.

And you must have sleep in your eyes if you read anyone on this thread say "the accent is clearly not knacker".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭cloudy90210

Its fairly safe to say that the accent is indeed knacker sounding

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭cloudy90210

Bang bang bitch went down, bang bang traveller down

• Registered Users Posts: 11,191 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

I read somewhere that there are no recorded incidences ever, of a person successfully defending themselves from a grizzly bear with a handgun.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,753 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

tuxy wrote: »
    I'm long over due a holiday from after hours

That said I don't think it breaks the rules.
    what would he have done had he not had the gun?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

SeaFields wrote: »
    They also had the line one day regarding a ceased sniper rifle with scope and silencer. It was a feckin .22 rifle.

Ah, and that old chestnut, "high powered". High powered in compaired to what? High powered isn't a classification.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Pray that the dog doesn't mawl his face?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Nekarsulm wrote:
    I read somewhere that there are no recorded incidences ever, of a person successfully defending themselves from a grizzly bear with a handgun.

Handguns are not terribly accurate unless close up, by the time an accurate shot is fired the shooter is probably on the way to the bears stomach.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

https://www.ammoland.com/2018/02/defense-against-bears-with-pistols-97-success-rate-37-incidents-by-caliber/#axzz5YjUNJGW0

Although I'm not sure how accurate "ammoland" would be!

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

As interesting as it is is there any chance of posting on a different thread about bears?

• Registered Users Posts: 40,102 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

not true at all. https://www.thetruthaboutguns.com/2018/06/dean-weingarten/wyoming-another-successful-handgun-defense-against-a-grizzly-bear/

Firearms are not as successful as bear spray though (bear spray NOT pepper spray).

• Registered Users Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

Get bitten by the dog or strangled by his tie. It'd just be another garda assaulted case in the local papers and no one would notice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

tuxy wrote:
    As interesting as it is is there any chance of posting on a different thread about bears?

Just bear with us for a few more minutes...

• Registered Users Posts: 592 ✭✭✭wotswattage

Guess he learned not to bring a slash hook and dog to a gun fight.

*RIP the poor dog

• Registered Users Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭UrbanFret

Probably put the poor dog out of its misery.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Feisar wrote: »
    Ah, and that old chestnut, "high powered". High powered in compaired to what? High powered isn't a classification.

High powered compared to a tinkers dog perhaps?

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭fabvinny

tuxy wrote: »
    Casey fencing? You just have to check if it's a registered business or a fake company name on the van.

based in co cork.....

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭fabvinny

IRE60 wrote: »
    No - the van was being removed from the bearded gentleman as he hadn't paid for repairs on the van - that's my understanding

i know the guy in the van,he went up there from cork to buy an engine.deal went tits up for some reason and he called the guards.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 Crispycool

He was well within his rights to shoot the people who were pulling him by his clothes and shouting "get him to the grubber" (get him to the ground), trying to disarm him