Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The failure of Irish Media to impartially report

• Registered Users Posts: 24,214 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

griffin100 wrote: »
    Driving home tonight and flicking between the radio channels. At the same time RTE1 had a story about the tallaght fraud and how we should all be sorry it happened, Today FM had an piece about how racist we are in Ireland and NewsTalk had a Muslim academic on telling us we need to accept Islamist culture in this country.

The media has been taken over almost exclusively by social justice warriors. I actually got angry. Journalism is dead in this country.

Heard the same. All utterly mind numbing borefests.

Had to play a podcast

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

I think it is more that an obvious hoax was perpetrated for the purposes of gain.

No one in the media questioned it, just reported it as gospel.

Journalists are here to report the news yes, but to ensure it is true and accurate and not just repeat a narrative parrot fashion without fact checking.

By and large they are cowardly careerists. They will shy away from rocking the right on liberal boat. Safe to stand behind liberal causes, pro open borders, pro feminism, racism (white only btw).

A good example is that Sarah Jeong woman, most people will have heard of her through social media. Google Sarah Jeong and the irish times, RTE or the Independent. Nothing comes up. They avoided the story like the plague, its counter narrative.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

The media owe Eoghan Murphy and the government an apology over their disgraceful front page headlines which has given Ireland a bad name around the world.

All based on lies, shame on them and this cash yoke.

Poor Murphy, he'll probably be out of a job soon enough with the way he's handled this.

Damn you (((media))) and your reporting of the housing and health crisis *shakes fist at cloud*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

The media here is ruled by cliques. Back in the seventies quite a radical left wing crowd, which included the likes of Eoin Harris before he disappeared up his own hole, seemed to pull a lot of strings in the background.

Then along came the future master of misery in Joe Duffy who became president of the usi. This in turn led to the decline of the champagne Bolshevik supporter base, the media started to take on a more liberal Catholic FF outlook with the likes of future president Mary McAlese getting on rte.

The current crop are the bastard children of the previous ideologicaly driven cliques.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

dav3 wrote: »
    Poor Murphy, he'll probably be out of a job soon enough with the way he's handled this.

Damn you (((media))) and your reporting of the housing and health crisis *shakes fist at cloud*

Handled what??

Please tell me how any of this bints situation is his fault?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭UsedToWait

griffin100 wrote: »
    Driving home tonight and flicking between the radio channels. At the same time RTE1 had a story about the tallaght fraud and how we should all be sorry it happened, Today FM had an piece about how racist we are in Ireland and NewsTalk had a Muslim academic on telling us we need to accept Islamist culture in this country.

The media has been taken over almost exclusively by social justice warriors. I actually got angry. Journalism is dead in this country.

I often mutter curses racing to change channels as the likes of Paul Williams starts to opine on the cause of the day, but I must admit that the trifecta of sanctimony you outlined above almost precipitated a stroke.

Had two big rants to poor unsuspecting individuals since, and still simmering here..

• Registered Users Posts: 7,888 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Kivaro wrote: »
    RTE is our national broadcaster, but since their existence is protected by law (and politicians) and they are financed by taxing the citizens of this country, we know better than to expect impartial reporting from them. Liberalism can be a good thing sometimes, but RTE takes it to the extreme in their one-sided reporting of all things liberal. It is very disappointing that there is no competing entity in the country to balance this situation.

But what about the other media outlets in the country?
    There are two sides to every story. There always is.
    Look at the omnipresent Margaret Cash as an example.
    On one hand you have a mother who ended up at a Garda station with her six children because she had no where else to go.
    Definitely something to look at and report on.

However, what about the other side of the story. Margaret Cash, a criminal with involvement in Traveller gangs who terrorise communities around the country, but still receives approximately €50,000 in tax-free aid every year to support herself and her family. And yet she has ended up homeless ......... at a Garda station. Where is the examination of this aspect of the story?
    There are many other examples of media bias in Ireland.

Irish media, with the exception of a very few, report the side of the story that will play well with certain political groups in the country; groups who would economically ruin Ireland if they came within a hair's breadth of power. The one-sided reporting of this homeless case is a slap in the face to those who contribute to society in a positive manner and a worse slap in the face who are truly vulnerable in this country.

Irish Media (in general) have failed the vast majority of the Irish population and they should never be trusted to tell us the truth. They have lost any sense of integrity and if we have any sense we should boycott their advertisers at the very least, and at the very most we should just ignore them. Maybe they know that their time is coming to an end and they are willing to grasp at sensationalist straws in order to stay afloat.

Do we have any links/sources as regards that claim?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Handled what??

Please tell me how any of this bints situation is his fault?

it's not. not even a tiny bit. this woman started her campaign of having children she couldn't afford 11 years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,748 ✭✭✭griffin100

Odhinn wrote: »
    Do we have any links/sources as regards that claim?

https://www.pressreader.com/ireland/enniscorthy-guardian/20171212/281779924469721

• Registered Users Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Roanmore

I haven't been following this story much aside from the headlines but Newstalk had a piece on this story today, basically how people were using social media to vent and abuse Margaret Cash.
    It started out balanced enough, the guy standing in for Ivan Yeats said he would read texts from both sides.
    He started off reading the pro texts, spoke softly and solemnly, next the anti texts, his voice changed, nothing but contempt for the people's viewpoint.

The last text, some guy said that if a dog constantly had pups the owner would be described as irresponsible and said surely having 8 kids when you can't afford it is irresponsible. Maybe a little insensitive but what happened next I thought was a disgrace. First of all he said people who make these comments never leave their name, he was corrected by his production team.
    Then he said here we have a guy comparing Margaret Cash to a bitching dog on a puppy farm. He then repeated it for good measure. The texter never mentioned bitch or puppy, they were the presenter's words.

Next Fergus Finlay chimes in defending Margaret Cash having a big family comparing it to his own large family. The thing is he undermined his own argument by saying his parents did lots of things to earn money to raise their family. Presenter never said a word, too busy having a rant against people who were complaining about not being able to afford children even they were working and paying taxes.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭touts

The liberals have shut down all reasonable economically right wing parties and the clatholic fundamentalists have hijacked all socially right wing parties. The crack down on all right of center "thought crime" is forcing people further and further to the right to find a home for their beliefs. This is why Steve Bannon will find greater traction for his proposed right wing movement in this country than people think. The liberals will regret the day they brought down the PDs and Renua when they are faced with Bannon's movement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

RTE had the Margaret Cash story on the 6.1 news again this evening.
    So I was looking at the complaints process (link) at RTE and under the code of practice for the handling of complaints, and at the very top of the section we have this:

RTÉ is obliged under Section 39 (1) of the Broadcasting Act 2009 to ensure that:
    (a) all news broadcast is reported and presented in an objective and impartial manner and without any expression of the broadcaster's own views.

There is no way on earth that RTE can claim that the Margaret Cash reporting on yesterday's news was fair and balanced. It was completely partial and with zero objectivity.

The e-mail address for complaints is here ........ if anyone is interested:
    complaints@rte.ie

I reported the weekly anti-British/Britex crap from Tony Connolly. Didn't even get a reply from them. Even although this guy has a major conflict of interest in reporting on anything Britex related.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

George Orwell called it a long time ago in The Road to Wigan Pier, the "sandal wearing vegans" have ruined socialism for the actual working classes leaving the door wide open for the far right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

prinzeugen wrote: »
    I reported the weekly anti-British/Britex crap from Tony Connolly. Didn't even get a reply from them. Even although this guy has a major conflict of interest in reporting on anything Britex related.

Then RTE have not been following their own complaints procedures.
    You should follow up with the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland (BAI).
    Here's the link: http://www.bai.ie/en/viewers-listeners/complaints/

• Registered Users Posts: 6,130 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

The media are much better versed at distracting us from the real issues than we seem to think.

You'll also notice that we have never seen two politicians discussing the issue of life long benefit dependency, the impact that has on a person, and a community and therefore the town/city and country..ever, it has never happened despite the amount of hours per week we are presented with Current affairs and News content.

In fact, our media never tackle that issue despite the fact it is the root cause of a lot of addiction, criminality, anti social behaviour and the like, instead, they feed us stories like this knowing full well we'll take the bait...

This issue will never be addressed as long as our media and established political parties can help it, to do so would mean the huge poverty/charity sector would have to be completely reformed, as too would the Legal Sector who make fortunes on the backs of people like Mrs Cash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller Returns

Roanmore wrote: »
    I haven't been following this story much aside from the headlines but Newstalk had a piece on this story today, basically how people were using social media to vent and abuse Margaret Cash.
    It started out balanced enough, the guy standing in for Ivan Yeats said he would read texts from both sides.
    He started off reading the pro texts, spoke softly and solemnly, next the anti texts, his voice changed, nothing but contempt for the people's viewpoint.

The last text, some guy said that if a dog constantly had pups the owner would be described as irresponsible and said surely having 8 kids when you can't afford it is irresponsible. Maybe a little insensitive but what happened next I thought was a disgrace. First of all he said people who make these comments never leave their name, he was corrected by his production team.
    Then he said here we have a guy comparing Margaret Cash to a bitching dog on a puppy farm. He then repeated it for good measure. The texter never mentioned bitch or puppy, they were the presenter's words.

Next Fergus Finlay chimes in defending Margaret Cash having a big family comparing it to his own large family. The thing is he undermined his own argument by saying his parents did lots of things to earn money to raise their family. Presenter never said a word, too busy having a rant against people who were complaining about not being able to afford children even they were working and paying taxes.

I wonder was that Kieran Cuddihy. He's not very tolerant of opposing opinions.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Roanmore

I wonder was that Kieran Cuddihy. He's not very tolerant of opposing opinions.

That's the guy.

George Orwell called it a long time ago in The Road to Wigan Pier, the "sandal wearing vegans" have ruined socialism for the actual working classes leaving the door wide open for the far right.

I'm actually not opposed to all socialist ideas. I recognise that the answer is probably somewhere down the middle. the rot in socialist policy starts with a carte blance no questions asked abdicate all personal responsibility approach to welfare payments. it siphons money away from genuine cases and sows resentment in the tax payer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

touts wrote: »
    The liberals have shut down all reasonable economically right wing parties and the clatholic fundamentalists have hijacked all socially right wing parties. The crack down on all right of center "thought crime" is forcing people further and further to the right to find a home for their beliefs. This is why Steve Bannon will find greater traction for his proposed right wing movement in this country than people think. The liberals will regret the day they brought down the PDs and Renua when they are faced with Bannon's movement.

Very good post and I genuinely believe that this will happen.

The irony is that people like me in the "Center" do not want to venture anywhere near the right of center. And when I say "Center"; for me it means that I am left on some social and political issues, and centrist on others.
    But since ultra-liberals in Ireland are ramming their unrealistic ideals down our throats, without any opportunity for discussion, then there will be a push back. There is nothing wrong with liberalism by the way; it can balance the nature of things in society, but the type of liberalism we are seeing in Ireland is warping the safe balance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭HappyAsLarE

I'm actually not opposed to all socialist ideas. I recognise that the answer is probably somewhere down the middle. the rot in socialist policy starts with a carte blance no questions asked abdicate all personal responsibility approach to welfare payments. it siphons money away from genuine cases and sows resentment in the tax payer

You should be 100% opposed to socialist ideas. It requires tyranny to implement.

^^^^ I won't be signing up to Steve Bannon or anything like him but there is a problem with centrist ideas being labelled as wrong-think which may indeed have unforeseen consequences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

This issue will never be addressed as long as our media and established political parties can help it, to do so would mean the huge poverty/charity sector would have to be completely reformed, as too would the Legal Sector who make fortunes on the backs of people like Mrs Cash.

There's an element of truth is this alright. There's a good few sectoral empires and cushy guaranteed incomes built up and made on the back of these issues.

Suits the media to play the story like this though, whip up a bit of controversy.. sell a few extra papers, get some more listeners etc. And feck the consequences. Whatever they are, they'll whip up a storm on these too in time. Froth.

You should be 100% opposed to socialist ideas. It requires tyranny to implement.
    I can't bring myself to be opposed to healthcare based on need rather than ability to pay. I recognise that some things will never turn a profit but are still a social good.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

You must accept that educated socialists like Higgins Howlin etc know what's best for the great unwashed and the duty of the worker is to provide enough taxes to keep them in luxury and non worker scroungers in enough comfort that they will vote for the intellectuals at election time

• Registered Users Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

We don't really have journalists in this country. There are a tiny few like Mick Clifford, but overall we have campaigners masquerading as journalists. The level of bias in Irish media is off the wall.
    A bit unfair to single out the Irish media, they are all singing off the same hymn sheet - for example, last night Channel 4 news had an article about the brutality of the Assad regime to divert attention away from western backed crimes and atrocities in Yemen. Guess what? There was something on the RTE news this evening about the "bad" Assad regime.
    Who remembers the bombing of a school bus in Yemen now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller Returns

A bit unfair to single out the Irish media, they are all singing off the same hymn sheet - for example, last night Channel 4 news had an article about the brutality of the Assad regime to divert attention away from western backed crimes and atrocities in Yemen. Guess what? There was something on the RTE news this evening about the "bad" Assad regime.
    Who remembers the bombing of a school bus in Yemen now?

You're right. I would say, however, that the British media have a bit more diversity of opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Gunmonkey

There are two sides to every story. There always is.
    Look at the omnipresent Margaret Cash as an example.
    On one hand you have a mother who ended up at a Garda station with her six children because she had no where else to go.
    Definitely something to look at and report on.

However, what about the other side of the story. Margaret Cash, a criminal with involvement in Traveller gangs who terrorise communities around the country, but still receives approximately €50,000 in tax-free aid every year to support herself and her family. And yet she has ended up homeless ......... at a Garda station. Where is the examination of this aspect of the story?
    There are many other examples of media bias in Ireland.

Irish media, with the exception of a very few, report the side of the story that will play well with certain political groups in the country; groups who would economically ruin Ireland if they came within a hair's breadth of power. The one-sided reporting of this homeless case is a slap in the face to those who contribute to society in a positive manner and a worse slap in the face who are truly vulnerable in this country.

The problem being....they will only report the facts in this situation, which was her and the kids in the Garda station for the night. They need to get something out on print/on the air/online to get the clicks and sell the papers. They most likely did see all the Facebook stuff but ignored it as if they were to publish "oh she is a spoofer and scamming us all" then the outcry from the bleeding hearts would be colossal; we've people on here giving out about posters hitting this woman "while shes at her lowest point" and such....you think a national paper or broadcaster would get off with only some grumpy posts on Boards.ie? Wouldn't doubt boycotts or demands for apologies thrown around at best or helping to fund a slander or defamation case at worst!

Highlighting the bolded part, how much is actual fact and how much your opinion? Not saying she isn't a scammer and has been before courts, but how much can you prove just from a Facebook account? Yes, it should be investigated but if they went to print with no article covering this then the higher ups would be asking why every other paper/newsroom is covering this and they aren't? So they did the best they could and reported them in the Garda station and spun it about the problems with no housing in Dublin....probably the lowest hanging journalistic fruit there is right now!
    The media are much better versed at distracting us from the real issues than we seem to think.

You'll also notice that we have never seen two politicians discussing the issue of life long benefit dependency, the impact that has on a person, and a community and therefore the town/city and country..ever, it has never happened despite the amount of hours per week we are presented with Current affairs and News content.

In fact, our media never tackle that issue despite the fact it is the root cause of a lot of addiction, criminality, anti social behaviour and the like, instead, they feed us stories like this knowing full well we'll take the bait...

Because it works in their minds! Its far easier for them to just hand out wads to whoever demands it as a staged removal based on time/unwillingness to improve by the dole-lifers would eventually lead to some family out on the street or kids starving or such and then the outcry begins.

Which is better for politicians:

-a social group growing up with no sense of personal responsibility (who might give ya a vote if you promise to increase the gravy train next budget) and "Ah its terrible but theres anti-social behaviors/drugs/poor in all countries"
    -having to face down reporters listing off families thrown out of houses (and the accompanying videos of Gardaí dragging screaming mothers and kids out the door) and how the Gov can allow this and its awful because every case will have some "yeah but..." element to it to why they are unique in not being able to find work.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,679 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

https://www.pressreader.com/ireland/enniscorthy-guardian/20171212/281779924469721

This is the kicker, has any of the national press commentated or released that information.
    The Irish media is a joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

mikemac2 wrote: »
    Around the time of the bank crash the Indo reported that AIB staff receive €2,400 every year to join golf clubs, tennis clubs, ride horses & horse-whip taxpayers bla bla

It was true that an allowance existed but they were stacks of conditions and it wasn’t an easy bonus. Staff pay the subscription and go to HR to claim a percentage. The very top figure was only for senior staff

Bank staff on low to average pay took a lot of needless abuse and this sort of rabble rousing didn’t help. Take one line from a HR manual and spin it

Worked in the bank at the time of the crash. Low level officials such as tellers were getting constantly abused by the public and even spat at. Plenty of absolute idiots out there, no doubt about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,370 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

This one ticks all the boxes and more of the stereotypical scrounger.

If Varadkar had balls he'd go out and make a statement looking for support tackling this behaviour against the people who work for a living in this country.

And to the mindless liberals standing behind these scroungers - he'd get that support.

People are fed up with this.

If you can't afford kids and don't know how to use a condom because you are that stupid then keep your legs shut.

But then at 50k a year on all of us maybe she is not that stupid?

That is totally disgraceful.