Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Dublin Pride 2019

• Registered Users Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

Anyone else noticed the Pride booklet (100+ pages) falls apart in your hands (ie each page detaches from the bind as you turn the pages)? I and a friend both noticed that when we picked up copies this weekend. Maybe it was just a faulty batch...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,139 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Enjoy tomorrow everyone :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Irish Praetorian

Hope everyone had a great day today; more than a bit saddened that I couldn't make it but oh well.

Just, on the back of this issue, I'm quite interested in peoples attitudes towards the involvement of public bodies like the Gardai and sponsors big and small. I understand that this has been quite problematic for some, could anyone give me a cliff notes version (or even longer) of the reasons for such views?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

I'm quite interested in peoples attitudes towards the involvement of public bodies like the Gardai and sponsors big and small.

Just personally; I don't have a problem the Gardai or other public bodies being involved. I don't like that "us vs them" approach. They should be on 'our' side and their involvement is a positive step. We shouldn't be fighting our own, even if they are imperfect. Work with them to change for the better.

I do get annoyed by the amount of corporate involvement, though. Sponsoring is fine. Being involved is fine. But when the parade fills up AMAZON and GOOGLE and MICROSOFT open-top buses with music blaring and loud-speakers and everyone in pride t-shirts with the company logo front-and-centre, followed along by some of our actual gay community groups on foot without much fan-fair... then what exactly are they "sponsoring"? Their own spot in our parade? That's not sponsorship, that's buy-out.

And I have to assume there's nothing like a rule or regulation about using and abusing the Pride flag, because the amount of rubbish that's plastered with it for these few weeks is ridicules. Insurance with Pride. Vodka with Pride. Salted Peanuts with Pride. The **** does it even mean anymore after that.

But I try not to let it bother me too much.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Stop moaning ffs

Goodshape wrote: »
    Just personally; I don't have a problem the Gardai or other public bodies being involved. I don't like that "us vs them" approach. They should be on 'our' side and their involvement is a positive step. We shouldn't be fighting our own, even if they are imperfect. Work with them to change for the better.

I do get annoyed by the amount of corporate involvement, though. Sponsoring is fine. Being involved is fine. But when the parade fills up AMAZON and GOOGLE and MICROSOFT open-top buses with music blaring and loud-speakers and everyone in pride t-shirts with the company logo front-and-centre, followed along by some of our actual gay community groups on foot without much fan-fair... then what exactly are they "sponsoring"? Their own spot in our parade? That's not sponsorship, that's buy-out.

And I have to assume there's nothing like a rule or regulation about using and abusing the Pride flag, because the amount of rubbish that's plastered with it for these few weeks is ridicules. Insurance with Pride. Vodka with Pride. Salted Peanuts with Pride. The **** does it even mean anymore after that.

But I try not to let it bother me too much.

Who’s fighting?

It’s up to all of us to change our thinking.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Who’s fighting?

Arguing. That the Guards, etc, shouldn't be a part of the pride parade.

Some people are and I see their point but I don't really agree.

Tell them there are way more lgbt gardai than you’d think and they deserve representation too. On top of that it’s brilliant to see an arm of the state step up and be progressive and inclusive and showing support.
    For a great many years you couldn’t go to the gardai to report being attacked if you were lgbt. I know this from first hand experience. So to see this at last is such a balm.
    It’s this ireland now not the old one. Sure there were groups from all the main political parties taking part in parades all over the country as well as the Prode flag flying over Leinster house.

If those people really have nothing else to do but complain about gardai or whoever, showing support, id be sorry for them.
    Those people are always complaining though. Especially if it’s anything progressive. And they aren’t open to a debate on it or having their minds changed usually. Just ignore them.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,139 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Nice to see the Gardai and the PSNI marching yesterday.

The Gardai have a LGBT support group called G-Force, their Twitter account has some great pictures from yesterday!

And the army too :)

Mad to see the PSNI take part.

This will make a certain party up north lose their tiny little backwards minds

• Registered Users Posts: 8,268 ✭✭✭AllForIt

#alternativepride

https://twitter.com/elias_era/status/1145093889373757440

https://twitter.com/Chris_Noone_/status/1144938678520897536

https://twitter.com/SWAIIreland/status/1144945670002040832

https://twitter.com/SWAIIreland/status/1144975411601903616

I'm not sure what sex workers, direct provision and Chechnya has specifically got to do with LGBT rights but I suppose they'll do as causes for the perpetually protesting gray dowdy socialist types. Arn't brothels illegal btw?

Judging by the lack of likes and comments on twiiter for #alternaivepride it looks like it turned about to be a bit of damp squib. I think if they waned to be truly alternative they would have organized the event in an alternative location and especially on an alternative day to the main event instead of feeding off the media coverage given to the main event they themselves say they couldn't consciously take part in - but did really.

I have always thought there exists within any kind of activism a proportion of ppl who are never happy and wouldn't know what to do with themselves should they get what they originally wanted. If #alternativepride caught on it wouldn't be long before they'd be organizing #alternative_alternative_pride.

AllForIt wrote: »
    I'm not sure what sex workers, direct provision and Chechnya has specifically got to do with LGBT rights.

Alternative pride isn't really for me personally but nonetheless these are important and ongoing LGBT issues that were being given a platform yesterday

Point is to remind all of us there’s still people being punished in the world for being gay. Out in Eastern Europe and Russia especially. Gay people being beaten and killed daily.

And the stonewall / trans aspect is literally the birth of pride in the first place. Something everyone forget me. Me included.

We can’t fall into complacency. That’s the point of pride and presumably alternative pride

• Registered Users Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

There was the Garda band, and a senior officer type group and a gforce group and the psni contingent and then the GRA.

I didn't clap the various Garda groups as others did around me. I was sorry I didn't.

The Irish army had a significant presence as well, including the army band.
    I gave the army a clap.

In overall terms the corporate, should they be there, debate could take you years to sort out.
    I would say that they all had some form of music, live or loudspeaker stuff.

These interludes added some sort of energy to the thing.

Some of the non musical accompanied groups were a bit dowdy in comparison. Not seeking to do them down, that's the way it seemed in parade terms. That's what I was judging it on.

imme wrote: »
    In overall terms the corporate, should they be there, debate could take you years to sort out.

Overall I'm a bit on the fence, I think there is too much opportunism and it is clearly just a marketing and PR exercise for big companies (wouldn't mind seeing a VFM analysis to see what it's actually worth to them) and it was a little sad to see the grassroots local support organizations almost taking a back seat to the big corporate floats when they should be the ones center stage. It's a shame that it's got to the point where fringe groups are setting up their own pride celebrations, I don't see a greater good coming out of that to be honest.

That said, a poster in another thread made a point about overwhelming visibility being a good thing for someone possibly questioning themselves and I have to say I do agree, one of the more sensible posts I've read when it comes to the pride debate.
    J_E wrote: »
    Stop this. This is whinging for no good reason. You have no idea the impact this visibility has on younger people who are unaware of queer politics and radical anti-capitalist goings on, and why should they. These groups are creating an unbelievable positive display of a country that backs and supports their people. Of course there are still rights challenges to be won, but how can you sit here and type away a whole movement? Why can't people enjoy this one day for what it is? This is now a Pride for everyone, like it or not. Go ahead and push for new changes, but can you hold off the keyboard conquests for one day of the year and perhaps bring up these issues other times in the year when it isn't as convenient?

If Tesco doing Pride sponsorships makes one confused young person feel like they might have a place in the world after all, we all win.

• Registered Users Posts: 766 ✭✭✭Mr.Frame

In my opinion Pride has lost its meaning.
    The amount of Corporate/big business bringing their staff (mainly straight ) to the parade is ridiculous. The day has turned into a big day out and an advert for these corporations and their staff.

How many of these corporations were around and supported LGBTQ before the Marriage Referendum 2015? Very few of them were involved in those previous years.

Every LGBTQ person will remember their first Pride Parade and how it felt. For me it was hugely emotional and at the same time uplifting.

I cant imagine what its like for an LGBTQ person now to go to their first Pride.

The organisers I think , need to have a re think about the whole thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 23 Use your vote

Hugely disappointed at the 5.00 euro cover charge on Saturday (cash only!) to buy overpriced drink in Panti Bar.

Whatever Pride is about, it shouldn't be about a gay business fleecing its loyal customers - especially on Pride Day:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,271 ✭✭✭cgcsb

Hugely disappointed at the 5.00 euro cover charge on Saturday (cash only!) to buy overpriced drink in Panti Bar.

Whatever Pride is about, it shouldn't be about a gay business fleecing its loyal customers - especially on Pride Day:mad:

How about this:

My ticket to Mother block party was €33 (no re-entry) and you COULD NOT get a drink, because the queues were half a kilometer long. I only stayed for the 2 hours because I was crouching-tiger-hidden-naggin (something I haven't done since college years but I got the heads up from a friend who went in earlier). I wouldn't mind the security were actually patting people down in 2019, if you can imagine.

Your fiver was good value considering. I presume Pennylane was also serving?

cgcsb wrote: »

How about this:

My ticket to Mother block party was €33 (no re-entry) and you COULD NOT get a drink, because the queues were half a kilometer long. I only stayed for the 2 hours because I was crouching-tiger-hidden-naggin (something I haven't done since college years but I got the heads up from a friend who went in earlier). I wouldn't mind the security were actually patting people down in 2019, if you can imagine.

Your fiver was good value considering. I presume Pennylane was also serving?

Sounds a bit shocking re Mother.

In relation to pantibar they have to pay a fee to have the roadway closed afaik.
    A couple of grand if I remember correctly.

They would have had all their own staff and then some, security staff etc etc.

Pints were €6, not exhorbitant.
    The staff were super quick, don't think I waited more than 4-5 minutes at the bar.

Edit: penny lane wasn't being used at all. The place would only have been messed up by the likes of us. =D

Sounds a bit shocking re Mother.

In relation to pantibar they have to pay a fee to have the roadway closed afaik.
    A couple of grand if I remember correctly.

They would have had all their own staff and then some, security staff etc etc.

Pints were €6, not exhorbitant.
    The staff were super quick, don't think I waited more than 4-5 minutes at the bar.

Edit: penny lane wasn't being used at all. The place would only have been messed up by the likes of us. =D

I think a 5er in was pretty fare really, at least you could get a drink and there was outside space. The gardaí, in traditional homophobic style, were closing down Neelons and threatening Street 66 because of the overspill onto the street. Something that the gardaí wouldn't dream of doing on a match day or any Paddy's day, or on any sunny evening at any pub in town but there you go, nothing like an old fashioned queer bashing for the cops.

Queer bashing and Garda bashing in the same post. Is this a record for boards.

Can we stick to the facts please.
    Did the gardai actually shut down nealons?

Street 66 was doing a wristband thing so should have been able to restrict customer numbers themselves.
    As far as I remember their customers had the footpath on their side of parliament Street blocked more or less.

Can we stick to the facts please.
    Did the gardai actually shut down nealons?

Yes
    street 66 was doing a wristband thing so should have been able to restrict customer numbers themselves.
    As far as I remember their customers had the footpath on their side of parliament Street blocked more or less.

Nobody was allowed out the back with drink after the gardaí issued their threat. Yeah I suppose there was a bit of path blocking. Standard in Dublin on match days, paddy's day or sunny evenings. But the gays are easily harassed

I don’t know the year but I was 9 or 10 and certainly no idea I was gay and saw a very weird minuscule gay pride parade from the Porch of Easons on so aconnell st.
    It was a handful of people and a bedsheet with some gay pride slogan on it. That’s all. Those people were truly brave looking back on it now.
    Then we grew up and fought that good fight and looking back now it’s gives me happy tears and a huge sense of pride in both the country and it’s people.

We can nitpick about how it is now and it’s valid. But it’s truly amazing how far we’ve come. Further to go. Trans rights gay parents rights it isn’t over by any stretch. But we’re on the road and it’s brilliant.

Nobody was allowed out the back with drink after the gardaí issued their threat. Yeah I suppose there was a bit of path blocking. Standard in Dublin on match days, paddy's day or sunny evenings. But the gays are easily harassed

The front and back of street66 are vehicular thoroughfares.
    Usually smokers out the back are conscious of traffic and there's no issue.

The good weather obviously encouraged more than just smokers to be outside.

There are apartments out the back way as well, could the residents have been vocal about the crowds as well as it being a traffic/safety issue?

When the pubs in Fairview in particular have drinkers outside for big croke park games they have crowd control barriers that the drinkers are meant to keep behind to keep the path usable.

Your last line "the gays are easily harassed".
    I just don't buy that.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,268 ✭✭✭AllForIt

The gardaí, in traditional homophobic style, were closing down Neelons and threatening Street 66 because of the overspill onto the street. Something that the gardaí wouldn't dream of doing on a match day or any Paddy's day, or on any sunny evening at any pub in town but there you go, nothing like an old fashioned queer bashing for the cops.

I'm a bit skeptical about such reports in the first year the Guards took part in the parade and the first year I have ever seen this:

D-Op-vq-XYAA-w-Q.jpg

Anyone would think some would like to see a Stonewall-like riot of our own.

• Registered Users Posts: 766 ✭✭✭Mr.Frame

There are apartments out the back way as well, could the residents have been vocal about the crowds as well as it being a traffic/safety issue?

When the pubs in Fairview in particular have drinkers outside for big croke park games they have crowd control barriers that the drinkers are meant to keep behind to keep the path usable.

Your last line "the gays are easily harassed".
    I just don't buy that.

I dont know why the Gards have gotten extra "heavy" with regards to drinking out the back of Street 66, or indeed drinking out the front especially on Pride.
    Last year i saw Gards threaten people they would be arrested unless they went inside premises on Parliament St ( it was outside a wine bar). Two Gards were continually walking up and down the street.
    Up until 3 yrs ago i ( and lots of others ) drank outside the back of Street 66 without any problem from anyone and no one caused any problems either.

Ironically last year the 2 Gards walking up and down Parliament St waring people about standing outside with drinks, failed to do anything to a group of about 8 sitting on Parliament St bridge, drinking cans.
    Something wrong there!

Literally every sunny day the drinkers outside Floeys on Merrion Row or Kennedy's on Lincoln Place or The Barge at the Grand Canal.....the list is extensive are causing an obstruction that forces pedestrians onto the road. Lets not even talk about Paddy's day. Yet they come out with the iron fists for pride to enforce the rules.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

Yeah, we were outside Nealons waiting for our friend to order get a drink when the guards came and we were all cleared. The bar shut temporarily as well even though my friend was there half an hour and wasn't getting served such was the crowds. I understand crowd control and safety needs to be maintained but every sunny Thursday or Friday evening of the year, the corner footpath at Ferryman pub on the extremely busy Sir John Rodgerson's quay in the Docklands is blocked with drinkers forcing all pedestrians out onto the busy dual lane road. Similarly, any pub near all the sporting grounds on match days. Those venues or events never get cautioned.

We didn't even consider Pantibar due to previous year queues and Street 66 required the wristband so we just ended up going to The Oak/Thomas Reads pub on the corner and got served instantly and had a booth for us all to sit in so stayed for hours. Great atmosphere around town and the warm weather, especially when the sun came out made it really summer carnival like.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Anyone from Boards go? 34 and I've never been to pride, ever. Shameful stuff I know, but there's always Dublin and Galway next year.

Dublin wasn't any fun this year. Too big, too packed, gardaí killing all the craic.

Go to one of the other cities for pride

Having been very cynical about pride for the last 2 years I can actually say hand on heart that I had a fantastic time this year, however I will say that my positive experience this year was more due to the people I was with rather than the parade and layout itself.

The atmosphere was great though, much more positive and happy than last year (imo). Learning from my past mistakes though I left the city center before it got messy (ie, after it got dark)