Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
03-12-2019, 00:08   #76
cronos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,092
Anyone gone near the 10gb cap while roaming. It's a bit unnerving that there is nowhere you can actually check how much data you have used. They say they will send you a 1 warning text once you have reached the limit. Seems a bit late to me.
cronos is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
03-12-2019, 00:11   #77
coldfire1x
Registered User
 
coldfire1x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenjataimu View Post
I wonder how many here still have that o2 Golden sim from years ago.

Free calls & texts to o2 and still works with Three.
Only have to use a small bit of credit every 6 months (I think) to keep it active.
Still have mine.
I still have one of those golden sims. That was for life and still works on the same plan
coldfire1x is offline  
Thanks from:
03-12-2019, 00:19   #78
tea and coffee
Registered User
 
tea and coffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by _Kaiser_ View Post
You can give one to another person. Me I have myself and my little lad on my account.

Saving a tenner per month on his, and 50 per month on mine for a lot more included than we were getting previously.
Two separate numbers, I assume, then?
tea and coffee is offline  
03-12-2019, 00:25   #79
Gooser14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 787
Quote:
Originally Posted by tea and coffee
Two separate numbers, I assume, then?

Yes and two times Eur 9.99 per month.
Gooser14 is offline  
(2) thanks from:
03-12-2019, 00:40   #80
sector_000
Registered User
 
sector_000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 209
Anybody have experience of using their GoMo sim when roaming on a Huawei handset in Germany or France??

Wife had a lot of problems with that with a different carrier.
sector_000 is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
03-12-2019, 08:21   #81
glwaymiko
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenjataimu View Post
I wonder how many here still have that o2 Golden sim from years ago.

Free calls & texts to o2 and still works with Three.
Only have to use a small bit of credit every 6 months (I think) to keep it active.
Still have mine.
Yes we still have 2 in the house from all those years ago..
But have ordered the gomo sims,... the times are a changing....
glwaymiko is offline  
Thanks from:
03-12-2019, 08:25   #82
babelfish1990
Registered User
 
babelfish1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Chaos View Post
It's not.

I was with Eir for the past 5 years and have switched to Gomo for the past 6 weeks. The reception and coverage is worse and the data speeds are much slower.

I'm going back to Eir if they still have the plan I was on.
There are 2 key network differences between Eir & GoMo. Eir support WiFi calling & 5G and GoMo dont. You may have been using WiFi calling to enhance your indoor coverage while on Eir and lost this when you moved to GoMo? You may not even have realised you were using WiFi calling? It should be fine when you return to Eir.
babelfish1990 is offline  
03-12-2019, 08:42   #83
beauf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 16,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenjataimu View Post
I wonder how many here still have that o2 Golden sim from years ago.

Free calls & texts to o2 and still works with Three.
Only have to use a small bit of credit every 6 months (I think) to keep it active.
Still have mine.
Still using a few here. Not as useful anymore if you need data. But you can get a second sim for data only, if you have a dual sim phone.

Value these days even before GoMo is in the 30 day plans.

The 20 all you can eat on three I found demolished the unused credit at spectacular speed and without warning. Was so annoying I never switched to it after trying it.

The GoMo is slower and worse than the other networks I try. If someone came in with a €15 equivalent with better speeds I reckon a lot would switch to that.
beauf is offline  
Thanks from:
03-12-2019, 10:28   #84
fryup
Registered User
 
fryup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12,529
Quote:
Originally Posted by cronos View Post
Anyone gone near the 10gb cap while roaming. It's a bit unnerving that there is nowhere you can actually check how much data you have used. They say they will send you a 1 warning text once you have reached the limit. Seems a bit late to me.
esp if your using it in a dongle or router.....there's no way of getting a message...or is there?
fryup is offline  
Advertisement
03-12-2019, 12:45   #85
dermiestv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by beauf View Post
Still using a few here. Not as useful anymore if you need data. But you can get a second sim for data only, if you have a dual sim phone.
Same here and hoping the Irish carriers will start supporting eSims for data
dermiestv is offline  
03-12-2019, 15:53   #86
ted1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 16,914
Quote:
Originally Posted by cronos View Post
Anyone gone near the 10gb cap while roaming. It's a bit unnerving that there is nowhere you can actually check how much data you have used. They say they will send you a 1 warning text once you have reached the limit. Seems a bit late to me.
There’s a data counter on most phones
ted1 is offline  
03-12-2019, 15:56   #87
beauf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 16,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by ted1 View Post
There’s a data counter on most phones
Never found this to match the operators calculations.
beauf is offline  
03-12-2019, 16:18   #88
recyclebin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by sector_000 View Post
Anybody have experience of using their GoMo sim when roaming on a Huawei handset in Germany or France??

Wife had a lot of problems with that with a different carrier.
Which phone model? Some phones don't support all the 4g frequencys that operators use.

Is it data problems or call issues?
recyclebin is offline  
03-12-2019, 16:22   #89
grimm2005
Registered User
 
grimm2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by cronos View Post
Anyone gone near the 10gb cap while roaming. It's a bit unnerving that there is nowhere you can actually check how much data you have used. They say they will send you a 1 warning text once you have reached the limit. Seems a bit late to me.
You could set a data limit on your phone so it will turn off data when you hit 10GB and set the date range for the period that you're out of the country.
grimm2005 is offline  
03-12-2019, 17:11   #90
IrishStuff09
Registered User
 
IrishStuff09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 657
Have been using a GoMo SIM in my phone since they launched alongside my Vodafone SIM (with my number still on it) to test it, and mainly to see how roaming is.

Safe to say I'll definitely be moving my number to GoMo, had no issues in Italy and Belgium over the weekend and had full 4G and good speeds.

Speedtest taken in Brussels Airport


In Italy the network I was automatically registered on was ILIAD which I found had awful coverage and only 3G, but I was able to switch to "TIM" with no problems, and got 4G then.
IrishStuff09 is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet