Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

What age do you stop sessioning/going to bars?

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

23, when I finished college. I just realised I actually hate getting dressed up and going out. I love clubbing if you can just show up and dance, no bothering with outfits or makeup etc. But there's not really any options like that here.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Never, why would you let age stop you going out to mingle and jingle.....

I'm never stopping the party.....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭km991148

'Proper club' and coppers in the same paragraph?? :-D

You can always find a club night to suit age. They might just get fewer between as you get older, but that kinda suits anyway!

Miss Q bar, club m, coyote, 21s, Bondi beach stollorgan, few others too.

• Registered Users Posts: 475 ✭✭PHG

JimmyVik wrote: »
    There comes a point in life where people just stop going to niteclubs. Pubs even.

Usually its one of these stages. It only takes one of them. Or when your mates reach these stages even if you dont.

1 - You get a Mortgage
    2 - You settle down with another person.
    3 - You have children
    4 - You get married.
    5 - You just hit an age where it doesnt appeal to you anymore
    6 - It just becomes a choice between not being able to work or being able to stay up late.

Don't understand the first few.

1 - You get a Mortgage - So you have over leveraged yourself where you can't do anything. Sounds pretty stressful and a mortgage is usually cheaper then rent
    2 - You settle down with another person/4 - You get married. - I get when you are settled or married you want to spend time with your partner. See a lot of men go, oh the wife/OH won't let me or won't be happy, or Need to go home now as on a curfew. Unless something is planned with your partner or its been consistent few weekends out then it is a really sh*t relationship with a lack of trust. Its important that your partner can come with you but you need your own friends too.

My Dad rang my Mam a few years ago to say he was off on holidays as had decided with his mates in the pub they were going to go somewhere for 2 weeks.. We have a family business and she asked had he the cover sorted, he said yes. Her reply was, enjoy it and bring her back something nice. One woman in the group called him a liar and said she would never allow her husband to do that. A relationship should never be about allowing the other person to do something, its a team and they were able to talk about it. Thankfully its the same with my partner and we have a busy social life, together and apart.

3 - You have children - Its important to have time away from the kids when possible

5 - You just hit an age where it doesnt appeal to you anymore - Will hopefully still be going to the old man pub in my 80s

6 - It just becomes a choice between not being able to work or being able to stay up late - I get this but still nice to head out the odd time with workmates for dinner, pints, Xmas party etc.

Not saying pinting is the be all and end all buy having social pints, going to watch matches etc. is something I think we do very well, even in old age

• Registered Users Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭irishguy1983

JimmyVik wrote: »
    I know someone who was involved in medical research into just that.
    Turns out that a lot of people are actually allergic to alcohol.
    Some people get sick after only a few pints while others can drink 10.
    Thats the reason.

Yeah that is the level of detail I am talking about...Genetics I believe play a part....I know that niether my Dad or I can drink much....

• Registered Users Posts: 20,519 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Night clubs every weekend till about 29/30 but after parties stopped in my mid 20's , taking all sorts back them
    Late bars /disco bars in my early 30's ,,
    Mid/late 30s maybe go to the pub once every two months if even ,

• Registered Users Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Maybe that’s why the DJ at the wedding is alway so popular with the old wans - no real opportunity to move and dance past a certain age :(
    I’d say it was the mid 30’s and at that in the UK we were getting looks. Maybe they settle down and marry earlier there? I’d a couple of standing gigs planned and even thats all
    pear shaped now - I’d give a lot to be in the semi dark with a pint and a heaving crowd - in I winder if post covid outdoor events are going to hit a peak? All that booze and opportunity and ‘clean’ air and booze - can’t wait. Did I mention ice cold pints and music? And other people? Can’t wait.

Second wind acoming regardless of age.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Miss Q bar, club m, coyote, 21s, Bondi beach stollorgan, few others too.

I think you forgot to put "Don't" at the start of that post.

McGaggs wrote: »
    I think you forgot to put "Don't" at the start of that post.

Wasn't there for the drink, was more for the talent....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭No again Danni

Nightclubs around 23 - never really liked them but would still end up in one the odd time after that.

Bars - at 28 use to go out every weekend but then trailed off to maybe a night out once a month or every two months. I like a few drinks in a bar but with lockdown I'm not sure I'll be too fussed when it's over as I am a homebird really and have enjoyed sitting in with no expectation or plans to go out. Don't feel I'll be missing out.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,507 ✭✭✭Ottoman_1000

Ah to socialise again!! I am late 30's and deffo don't be craving for nights out in Coppers or the likes but I do like to (or at least did before Covid) head into town with herself for a nice dinner and a pint or 2 after. If we got to do that once a month it would be great...My real treat is Croke Park during the summer, I would bring the kids to most matches as they are as sports mad as I am and once I get them home after the game I often tip down to the local (The Blue Haven in Rathfarnham) and have a few creamy pints as a reward!!! Jasus heaven...

PHG wrote: »

1 - You get a Mortgage - So you have over leveraged yourself where you can't do anything. Sounds pretty stressful and a mortgage is usually cheaper then rent

I can kinda understand what the other poster meant by it. There's all manner of associated costs, in addition to the mortgage itself. When renting you can get your landlord to pay for most damage/repairs, whereas when it's your own place, replacing that boiler can be rather painful.

All the same, I got my mortgage when I was 26 and I continued clubbing. The difference being that I didn't spend a fortune on getting drunk... It's mostly about priorities and what you consider important for a night out. I know many guys who would consider a night to be wasted unless they were completely drunk at the end of the night.. which can be rather expensive. Whereas I made the switch to cannabis and various party drugs which tend to be far more economical compared the alcohol.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

It's really a question of moderation and knowing your limit. When you lying in your own vomit and you've pissed in your pants you know it's time to go on the shorts

• Registered Users, Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,175 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nigel Fairservice

Stopped around 27. I lived and worked in a fairly isolated spot for a few months. About 40 staff lived on site. I'd work til midnight and be up til 7 or 8 am drinking cans with everyone. I'd sleep then until the early afternoon . I did it every night for a few weeks and realised I just wasn't enjoying it. After that I'd just call in for a beer or two after work and just head off to bed at 1 or 2. I felt much better for it.

I was never in to nightclubs. Couldn't stand them and always did my best to avoid going to them. In the last few years I might get out 3 or 4 times a year. I'm perfectly happy with that.

Nightclubs I stopped around 27 I suppose. Ex kept going with her friends and I did my own thing. New gf hasn't done much of it so will have to do that a bit this year along with ecstasy for the first time in ages.

Pubs nowadays maybe once a month.

Bia hois, which are the little places selling cheap and weak beers in Vietnam, I go once or twice a week. Just one or a few friends and beers from say five until ten or eleven. I went on Wednesday after work and I'll go later today.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Stopped going to clubs in my mid-late 20s. Just stopped enjoying the scene.

Tend to have better seshs in gaffs in recent years (in the *before* times, obvs). More comfortable, no queue for the loo and can hear each other over the music.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Mid-20s for me.
    I think it's when you start to mature and cop-on to yourself. Then you start realising just how silly going to a nightclub / bar every single week is.

• Registered Users Posts: 273 ✭✭Greenlights16

After a 6 month stint in Oz in mid 20s, each weekend in Sydney consisted of Friday evening - early hours of Monday - cocktail of MDMA, Cocaine, alcohol.

That was enough for me, I'd never missed Mondays in my life until out there, no one gave a f*ck.

Came back here and just wised up, some people get away with that life, I know girls & lads still at it . For me it had detrimental effects for my mental health for a good while after. All good now though!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 20,519 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

PHG wrote: »

2 - You settle down with another person/4 - You get married. - I get when you are settled or married you want to spend time with your partner. See a lot of men go, oh the wife/OH won't let me or won't be happy, or Need to go home now as on a curfew. Unless something is planned with your partner or its been consistent few weekends out then it is a really sh*t relationship with a lack of trust. Its important that your partner can come with you but you need your own friends too.

My Dad rang my Mam a few years ago to say he was off on holidays as had decided with his mates in the pub they were going to go somewhere for 2 weeks.. We have a family business and she asked had he the cover sorted, he said yes. Her reply was, enjoy it and bring her back something nice. One woman in the group called him a liar and said she would never allow her husband to do that. A relationship should never be about allowing the other person to do something, its a team and they were able to talk about it. Thankfully its the same with my partner and we have a busy social life, together and apart.

3 - You have children - Its important to have time away from the kids when possible

5 - You just hit an age where it doesnt appeal to you anymore - Will hopefully still be going to the old man pub in my 80s

6 - It just becomes a choice between not being able to work or being able to stay up late - I get this but still nice to head out the odd time with workmates for dinner, pints, Xmas party etc.

Not saying pinting is the be all and end all buy having social pints, going to watch matches etc. is something I think we do very well, even in old age

I can understand the original poster

- As well as mortgage you a have tings to do around the house and garden and probably enjoy improving the house so spending money on things,

- Your partner,- Some people work all week get home do exercise and put the kids to bed you don't have much time with your partner, So weekend are when you get to spend time together

-Kids Most people only get to spend proper time with the kids on a weekend, So having a hangover is not ideal at all ,You cant get back them young year with your children when there teens they don't want to spend time with you ,

- Age- like loads of things in life many people grow out of things and have get new interests and have less time to do them

The odd night is grand but for me anyway the older iv got it becomes far less important than other things in life,

• Registered Users Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Wasn't there for the drink, was more for the talent....

Sorry, carry on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭No again Danni

Nightclubs around 23 - never really liked them but would still end up in one the odd time after that.

Bars - at 28 use to go out every weekend but then trailed off to maybe a night out once a month or every two months. I like a few drinks in a bar but with lockdown I'm not sure I'll be too fussed when it's over as I am a homebird really and have enjoyed sitting in with no expectation or plans to go out. Don't feel I'll be missing out.

I've changed my mind on this. As soon as lockdown is over, I'm going out and getting locked.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭km991148

Mid-20s for me.
    I think it's when you start to mature and cop-on to yourself. Then you start realising just how silly going to a nightclub / bar every single week is.

I guess it depends on what type of bar or club you go to.

There is a huge difference between venues, music choice, type of night etc and I'm not really sure maturity or ability to 'cop-on' is much to do with a lot of choices in this regard.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

I break it down into 3 phases:

16/17 to 22 is your solid nightclub/sessioning years. 6 - 7 years of guilt-free, "I'm not old yet" drinking. Those heady nights where you land home drunk and the world is your oyster.

23 to 26/27 ... you can sense the most enjoyably carefree days are slipping behind as you start to feel older than others you see out eg. college students, but you suppress those thoughts while you are out and try to press on regardless.

27/28 onwards ... you feel like an "older person" when you are out in a nightclub, or just drinking in general, and you are coming to terms with this. Still have some good nights but you don't go out as often and they just aren't *as* good as before, as your social circle decreases and friends go out less often

Jesus Christ, 28?

So when did you don the slippers, cardigan, pipe and cup of Complan and in bed after the 9 o'clock news? 30? 32?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭dotsman

Jesus Christ, 28?

So when did you don the slippers, cardigan, pipe and cup of Complan and in bed after the 9 o'clock news? 30? 32?

There are some serious OAP wannabes on this thread. Anyone who thinks late 20's is too old for having fun is wasting their life. I'm late 30's and I, and any of my friends who don't have kids, still enjoy regular nights out. Granted I have slowly migrated from a few times a week in my early 20's to a few times a month now that I am in late 30's, but the enjoyment is the same (and nothing beats a lads weekend away).

As for people talking about a mortgage. My "mortgage" probably increased my social life as I had more money and my own place for people to come over to or friends staying the weekend etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I'm 43.

I still go out. Pretend I'm 20 again. Comfort drink when I realise I'm not

• Registered Users Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

Strumms wrote: »
    I was never a nightclub guy.

Never saw the appeal of Qing up in the cold at 11pm on a pissy February night to get looked up and down by a gorilla with the IQ of a goldfish, to then pay just to enter an establishment where every drink on top of that is about 40-50% more expensive than your local... and the place is fûcking littered by posers...

Last nightclub I’m in was Diceys, after an Ireland game about 5 years ago...didn’t get the hype..

No need to blame a bad night out on Chinese imperial families.

Come on lads and lassies let's go out on a sesh.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

Jesus Christ, 28?

I was the same, I stopped going to nite clubs, raves, sessions, pubs, 12th culture
    burning bonfire nite etc.... when I was in my late 20's.

I think it may be a generational thing, because my father who's in his early 60's would go to the pub every few weeks & my uncles are the same, and even tho I & most people I know started going drinking around 14 - 17, but I barely ever see teenagers out drinking anymore, they still go out in gangs but they seem to be more into smoking sticky sticky sweet mary jane kush sticks than anything else.