Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

"Everyday Racism"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭CtevenSrowder

GetWithIt wrote: »
    Cultural diversity.

Up to, arguably, the 90s we had a mono-culture. A society ran by old white men, for the benefit of themselves and who they favoured. Comely maidens dancing at the crossroads and priests sodomising kids behind the protection of that society.

It’s not a binary thing. Society is what we make of it. But I know I’m far more comfortable with where we are and where we’re going, than where we’ve come from.

And why is 'cultural diversity' such a good thing? America is culturally diverse and it seems like a complete ****s how over there. London is 'culturally diverse' and it likewise is going down the tubes.

Ireland is still broadly speaking mono-cultural and we are far better off for it. We should do all we can to keep the numbers coming from outside of the EU to a minimum so we're not having our own riots in 20, 30 years.

BTW, the lad in salthill sounded Irish to me, didn't seem to have a foreign accent.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Yellow_Fern

And why is 'cultural diversity' such a good thing? America is culturally diverse and it seems like a complete ****s how over there. London is 'culturally diverse' and it likewise is going down the tubes.

Ireland is still broadly speaking mono-cultural and we are far better off for it. We should do all we can to keep the numbers coming from outside of the EU to a minimum so we're not having our own riots in 20, 30 years.

BTW, the lad in salthill sounded Irish to me, didn't seem to have a foreign accent.

I could have heard different voices but I sense some English and some Irish pronunciations and possibly some African ones. I think most black people here adopt Irish accents but I met exceptions with American and English accents.

• Registered Users Posts: 271 ✭✭Madeleine Birchfield

iebamm2580 wrote: »
    Going by certain peoples logic that black people cant be racist towards white people means that irish people cant be racist either as we never colonized or oppressed people throughout history.

We did colonise the Picts out of existence and the descendents are now called Scottish Gaelic. But that has no bearing on modern day discussions about racism.

And why is 'cultural diversity' such a good thing? America is culturally diverse and it seems like a complete ****s how over there.

America has been culturally diverse even before you factor in recent immigration post-1965. How anybody can think that New England types or the industrial Midwest or black Americans have a common culture with the Jim Crow South is beyond me. They fought a bloody war 160 years ago between the different American cultures in the North and the South because the cultures cannot be reconciled.

No, I'm talking about the destruction of Irish Ireland. Never once said 'white'.

It's interesting people complain about Muslims and Africans in Ireland which are only half the population of the Polish in Ireland. Should we end freedom of movement from the rest of the EU to prevent Ireland from becoming Polish in addition to African and Muslim?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Blaze420

It's interesting people complain about Muslims and Africans in Ireland which are only half the population of the Polish in Ireland. Should we end freedom of movement from the rest of the EU to prevent Ireland from becoming Polish in addition to African and Muslim?

The polish are hard workers whatever **** you want to throw at them. The Africans and Muslims - not so much. That’s cold truth not racism before you get your virtue signalling panties in a twist.

The difference being that Polish people integrate quite well in the countries they move to, and there's little trouble at all from them.

Culture is important, the differences between cultures, and whether they're able to coexist without friction.

I understand that many posters on boards really like to ignore the harsh differences between Muslim and Western cultures, and also ignore the friction that often occurs, but... other nations in Europe are experiencing real friction due to multiculturalism. Same with African cultures which might support FGM or other practices which many Europeans would find repusive, but Africans might consider integral to their identity.

Generally speaking Polish or EU citizens are going to integrate quite well within Europe without these conflicts/friction in Cultural norms.

Personally, we should be encouraging EU/Western migration within Europe while discouraging immigration from countries that don't hold a similar culture or set of values. At least until, we find a better way to integrate the current population of migrants, while reducing/removing the frictions that are happening.

Absolutely agree here - Muslim culture is regressive and has absolutely nothing to offer or contribute to western society. Progressive cultures like we have here do not need dark age millstones around our neck just to be politically correct or right on - we are all better off without importing that bull**** in to our lives.

• Registered Users Posts: 894 ✭✭✭cian68

Blaze420 wrote: »
    The polish are hard workers whatever **** you want to throw at them. The Africans and Muslims - not so much. That’s cold truth not racism before you get your virtue signalling panties in a twist.

It's not a cold truth though is it? You've made it up

cian68 wrote: »

Prove me wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭CtevenSrowder

cian68 wrote: »

He hasn't though:
    The new study from the Economic and Social Research Institute has examined how well migrants are settling in the country.

It has found that 16% of Africans living in Ireland are out of work, compared with 4% of people from western European countries.

The employment rate for Africans in Ireland was also very low at 45%, while 66% of Irish nationals were working.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2018/1107/1009164-esri_migrants/

Blaze420 wrote: »
    Absolutely agree here - Muslim culture is regressive and has absolutely nothing to offer or contribute to western society. Progressive cultures like we have here do not need dark age millstones around our neck just to be politically correct or right on - we are all better off without importing that bull**** in to our lives.

I actually disagree having lived or spent time travelling through Muslim nations. There's a lot of positives to their cultures. The point though is that Muslim/Islam as a dominant culture should remain in their home nations. It shouldn't be transplanted into a western nation because it has no link there. There's not cultural or historical growth throughout the past to justify it's existence. So, pandering to Muslims, and encouraging the adoption of Islamic practices to make them "feel at home" is... irresponsible.

However.. and this is where I do disagree with you. Had we a plan for integration with a clear idea of how we want Europe/Ireland to develop into the future, then, I would be far more supportive of Immigration from cultures that are so different from ours. Except that there is no planning involved. No definite plan to encourage integration, and seek to diminish frictions that may occur. Instead, its an attitude that it will all be grand, and any fault for it's failure rests with the native population, not the migrants (or the politicians).

Europe/Ireland could gain a lot from migration from other nations. I live in Asia primarily, but I've traveled through the M.East and Western Africa. Fantastic experiences.. and there's a lot to like. Plenty to dislike also. But the point is that we could benefit from a mixing of cultures if it was done in a practical fashion with clear research and planning done, with a no-nonsense approach to PC rubbish.

Alas, that's not going to happen, so we'll be experiencing the creation of fertile ground for racism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

https://twitter.com/deboscooo/status/1266864640962760711?s=20

The replies to this are an absolute disgrace. Fabu-D is a black comedian who has made Ireland his home and has called himself "blessed" for getting to live in Ireland. Look at the replies and outright hate he is receiving from other black people living here.
    Comments like "dancing for the white man"

Vile and disgusting and makes you wonder who is living amongst us

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

The replies to this are an absolute disgrace. Fabu-D is a black comedian who has made Ireland his home and has called himself "blessed" for getting to live in Ireland. Look at the replies and outright hate he is receiving from other black people living here.

Proof that the majority of the racism Blacks experience now is from other Blacks.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

Check out an American forum called " the coli" , it's a primarily black/ hip hop site . If you think blacks can't be racist, read some of the threads on it. They've also no bother slating other blacks for going out with white women or doing something they'd class as white. Whites are refered to as cacs ie cracker ass coons. Some of its hilarious by the way.

Check out an American forum called " the coliseum" , it's a primarily black/ hip hop site . If you think blacks can't be racist, read some of the threads on it. They've also no bother slating other blacks for going out with white women or doing something they'd class as white. Whites are refered to as cacs ie cracker add coons. Some of its hilarious by the way.

Black Americans. Many of them would call everybody not black, white. To them Hispanics, Native Americans, Arabs, Chinese are all white.

Far different from the African immigrants to Europe who identify as Nigerian or Ghanian (or rather Igbo or Hausa) rather than as black and whose culture is extremely different from black hip hop culture.

Black Americans. Many of them would call everybody not black, white. To them Hispanics, Native Americans, Arabs, Chinese are all white.

Far different from the African immigrants to Europe who identify as Nigerian or Ghanian (or rather Igbo or Hausa) rather than as black and whose culture is extremely different from black hip hop culture.

Yes, but what you seem to be missing is that the issue generally isn't with first generation migrants, like the parents (although that's changing). It's with the second generations. The sons/daughters who grow up in a country not their own, belonging neither to their home nation or the host country. So they gravitate towards groups which emphasize the differences, and encourage more aggressive attitudes.... leading them to emulate the American Black hiphop culture, or adopt similar cultures that have spread online. People who believe themselves to be victims of white oppression, and therefore, they have an ax to grind. It's now a part of modern culture... this belief regardless of whether it's real or not.

In China, I often encounter Black people from Africa, who have never been to a western nation, but they've adopted elements of the American Black community, which is the belief of being victims of racism all the time. From everyone who isn't black. Of course, they call each other N*****, engage in insults and demeaning gestures/behavior towards women (the women do the same too), and generally act like retards. I often find it interesting that it's perfectly okay for them to behave this way, but any suggestion of it coming externally, is pure racism and hate. Naturally.

Not everyone, mind, but it is a very common type of behavior. The Black culture of Hip-Hop style of insults, and the idea of being beaten down due to their skin color.

Yes, but what you seem to be missing is that the issue generally isn't with first generation migrants, like the parents (although that's changing). It's with the second generations. The sons/daughters who grow up in a country not their own, belonging neither to their home nation or the host country. So they gravitate towards groups which emphasize the differences, and encourage more aggressive attitudes.... leading them to emulate the American Black hiphop culture, or adopt similar cultures that have spread online. People who believe themselves to be victims of white oppression, and therefore, they have an ax to grind. It's now a part of modern culture... this belief regardless of whether it's real or not.

In China, I often encounter Black people from Africa, who have never been to a western nation, but they've adopted elements of the American Black community, which is the belief of being victims of racism all the time. From everyone who isn't black. Of course, they call each other N*****, engage in insults and demeaning gestures/behavior towards women (the women do the same too), and generally act like retards. I often find it interesting that it's perfectly okay for them to behave this way, but any suggestion of it coming externally, is pure racism and hate. Naturally.

Not everyone, mind, but it is a very common type of behavior. The Black culture of Hip-Hop style of insults, and the idea of being beaten down due to their skin color.

Which is yet another example of the corrosive influence of American culture on European and Irish society. Black hip hop culture may have a point in the US due to its horrid history but it has feck all to do with the experience of second generation African immigrants in Ireland.

It's a culture that has very few positives associated with it. In the US or outside. It encourages people to behave like retards.

When we look at racism, we should also look at what is causing the racism to occur. When Black people/communities are embracing a culture that projects such a negative perception, some responsibility rests of the Black people for behaving that way.

TBH It's hard to respect someone who calls his friends N*****, and calls his girlfriend a whore. That's not racism... that's simply a reaction to bad behavior.

It's a culture that has very few positives associated with it. In the US or outside. It encourages people to behave like retards.

When we look at racism, we should also look at what is causing the racism to occur. When Black people/communities are embracing a culture that projects such a negative perception, some responsibility rests of the Black people for behaving that way.

TBH It's hard to respect someone who calls his friends N*****, and calls his girlfriend a whore. That's not racism... that's simply a reaction to bad behavior.

Black hip hop culture is derived from the culture of White Rednecks and Southern White "Trash" as poor white American Southerners are typically called, which has similar characteristics with calling women whores and white friends "crackers" and black Americans the n-word and in general a very bad disrespectful culture.

It really doesn't matter where it came from (I genuinely don't know, or care). It's been adopted and changed to suit a Black population. White redneck/southern culture doesn't spread beyond their home states.. Black Hip Hop culture does, and is very representative of a large percentage of the Black community both in the US and abroad.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

It really doesn't matter where it came from (I genuinely don't know, or care). It's been adopted and changed to suit a Black population. White redneck/southern culture doesn't spread beyond their home states.. Black Hip Hop culture does, and is very representative of a large percentage of the Black community both in the US and abroad.

Can't think of anyone that'd aspire to be a redneck , but plenty of black youth act like and are influenced by rap music . Can't think of too many other cultures that glorify , drugs , money , bitches like blacks in America do.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,272 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The result of their parents taking advantage of the loophole that gave them automatic citizenship before we voted to close it back in 04.

Worth remembering that Labour and the hard left want it changed back to the way it was before.

The result of their parents taking advantage of the loophole that gave them automatic citizenship before we voted to close it back in 04.

Worth remembering that Labour and the hard left want it changed back to the way it was before.

That's ok. Two groups who will never see government.

How many other countries allow birthrate citizenship as a matter of interest?

America does but they run a tight ship to ensure it doesn't happen if possible.

Don't be so sure that Labour won't slip into Government at some point in the future.

• Registered Users Posts: 137 ✭✭SporadicMan

There's a lot of talk about undoing this change to allow birthright citizenship again in Ireland. Comes up on RTE I'd say once or twice a week, which is very odd.

Most of North and South America

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jus_soli

RTE was at the protest in Dublin and interviewed one lad and the first thing he comes out with is how racist all the Irish are and comparing us to whats happening in the USA.

He would want to brush up on his history, blacks were slaves in America from the 17th to the 19th century and got a raw deal for the next 100 years after slavery was abolished.

Here in Ireland those that did come here weren't put in chains last time I checked but were given every opportunity have a better life for themselves.

No fear RTE asked him to explain why there are so many Africans on welfare but sure even if they did he would blame it all on whitey.

America does but they run a tight ship to ensure it doesn't happen if possible.

Don't be so sure that Labour won't slip into Government at some point in the future.

Labour will only ever be a minority partner at best. They will never have enough power.

You know what someone should do? Start a boards wide poll on a new thread to see what the opinion is. There is a solid mix of people on here. I'd be interested to see the result

Edit: I just did a "latest " Twitter search on the 27th Amendment. No shortage of calls for it to be repealed. Apparently its racist.
    Don't know how that is but that's what they are calling it.

RTE was at the protest in Dublin and interviewed one lad and the first thing he comes out with is how racist all the Irish are and comparing us to whats happening in the USA.

He would want to brush up on his history, blacks were slaves in America from the 17th to the 19th century and got a raw deal for the next 100 years after slavery was abolished.

Here in Ireland those that did come here weren't put in chains last time I checked but were given every opportunity have a better life for themselves.

No fear RTE asked him to explain why there are so many Africans on welfare but sure even if they did he would blame it all on whitey.

TBF they need to face their history without seeking to revise it. African tribes engaged in slavery long before the White man ever appeared, and transported/sold slaves to both Egypt and later the Turks/Arabs.

This victim card is played too often without consideration to their own past behavior. Just as African tribes like the Zulu and others, engaged in mass genocide over corridors of control before the British arrived.

Or that when Liberia was created after the freeing of the slaves, Black people made slaves of each other. Ahh, but it was all the white mans fault. Or simply falling back on older habits.

There are too many double standards at play in the world today. That they can pick and choose what part of history just to justify the agenda they wish to push at the moment.

And in the US, the 60s/70s laid the groundwork for the civil rights movement and equality for Black people, but they allowed it to stutter to a halt, through infighting between the more peaceful movements and the more militant groups. They had momentum to encourage/implement lasting change, and allowed it to slip through their fingers, instead embracing the dark sides of crime through poverty. General apathy and passing the buck on to others for things well within their own control to change. Quite often in Black neighborhoods, it was black gangs which halted/prevented investments or development from occurring, which was to be brought about by other black people. Eating each other but it was the White mans fault.

I have little patience with this BS. Sure, they have faced opposition, but they succeeded with leaders like King, and others... what happened after that? What happened in African countries after the colonies fell, or the whites were pushed out? That's on them, as much as it is on various Whites for opposing them..

And as for Ireland, they came to a country with zero history of racial tension or dislike towards Black people, and have managed to encourage actual racism to exist. Opportunities lost. But, hey, they're victims, and powerless to have influenced any change. Meh. I'm truly sick to the free passes being handed around for this level of stupidity, and those seeking a free or discounted ride just because they're a minority.