Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Things said in Ireland that no one says in England

• Registered Users Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

No, it's marla (no fada). Mála means a bag.
    Mala is also Mallow town in Irish.

A lot of things my girlfriend's family says which I don't know whether it is an Irish thing or just them...

'Higher it up' (the TV)
    'Bring that upstairs with you' (Is there a difference between bring and take in Ireland?)
    'Billy Jo-Well' (I've actually heard radio presenters call Billy Joel this....weird :D)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭KungPao

Quazzie wrote: »
    Thanks a million. Most non-Irish have never heard this expression or what it means.
    I'm gonna guess that comes from 'grazie mille' which means a thousand thanks...but 'mille' sounds like a million.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 VirginPrune

The charming expression "I will in me brown" seems to be peculiarly Irish.

• Registered Users Posts: 137 ✭✭flipsat

In England when someone is annoyed or cross with you they "tell you off"
    In Ireland they "give out to you".

In England: pigs trotters
    In Ireland: crubeens

Basil3 wrote: »
    A lot of things my girlfriend's family says which I don't know whether it is an Irish thing or just them...

'Higher it up' (the TV)
    'Bring that upstairs with you' (Is there a difference between bring and take in Ireland?)
    'Billy Jo-Well' (I've actually heard radio presenters call Billy Joel this....weird :D)
    I remember being perplexed , as a young fella, by my older sisters saying "looor it down"...

flipsat wrote: »
    In England when someone is annoyed or cross with you they "tell you off"
    In Ireland they "give out to you".

In England: pigs trotters
    In Ireland: crubeens
    Both are pretty well-heard to me...(Dubliner).

Crubeens...no idea what you're on abaaaawt!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Irish person: while you're in Tesco get me a brown pan.
    English person: Why brown? I thought most pans were black?

Irish person: I slept it out.
    English person: Pray tell, what did you sleep out?

Irish person: The towels are in the press sine last night.
    English person: ****, I hope its turned off.

Irish person: I'm after leaving the door open.
    English person: What? before you closed it?

Irish person: I'll just be a couple of minutes.
    English person: Its been five minutes and they're stil not back :cool:

Irish person: I really fancy a juicy Sambo tonight.
    English person: Shock, just total & shock disbelief :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

England : Stoat.
    Ireland : Weasel

England : Weasel
    Ireland : nothing ( doesn't exist here.)

England : Gorse
    Scotland : Whins.
    Ireland : Furze.

lulu1 wrote: »
    Did anyone ever notice when they go to stay with friends/family in england that they would drink tea all day and nothing to eat with it..

Much the same as we drink other stuff :D

Sam Kade wrote: »
    I'm Irish and around a long time I've never heard of a pencil parer called a topper.

It was common decades ago. Last time I heard it most of you weren't born.

sammyjo90 wrote: »
    Runners/takkies for trainers..and pants for trousers

Pants in USA too. Linguistically we're kind of halfway between England and America.
    I believe takkies is originally South African, and began its Irish life in Limerick about 40 years ago.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Jumboman

We say Garda.

They say Old Bill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

I remember a colleague of mine in London shouting "Call the Guards!" because someone had just broken into our office.

My English and American coworkers thought she was doing an impression of Queenie from Black Adder or thought she was a mediaeval monarch of some sort.

Guards: seize him!!!

Plenty of English colloquialisms that leave Irish and Americans completely befuddled too though. It works both ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭Bepolite

aaronc182 wrote: »
    going to the shop to get the messages,

think this is an irish thing

That's a Scottish term, I think I heard it here once or twice in 10 years, in Scotland it would be common parlance, usually amongst older people.

• Registered Users Posts: 429 ✭✭Afroshack

The way we pronounce the letter 'R'

We say 'urrr'
    They say 'ahhhh'

They've also never heard of chicken fillet rolls.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

KungPao wrote: »
    I'm gonna guess that comes from 'grazie mille' which means a thousand thanks...but 'mille' sounds like a million.

Never heard Go raibh mille maith agat then? Infinitely more likely it came from Irish than Italian. ;)

tac foley wrote: »
    That is a Northern way of speaking, typically Yorkshire/Lancashire people who are not as well educated as they might be.

tac

What????!!!!
    Most of my extremely well educated Yorkshire family would disagree.

Cheek!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

This is probably more about pronounciation but for the first few weeks when we moved people would say:

"The midges are out"
    "Look out for the midges"
    "Feckin midges"

Meaning the horrible little flies that swarm and bite at certain times of the year.

But what I heard was:

"The midgets are out"
    "Look out for the midgets"
    "Feckin midgets"

It caused my wife considerable amusement when I asked what everyone had against dwarves, and how come I hadn't seen any.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,059 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Mala is also Mallow town in Irish.

No. Mala, the town, has no fada. Different sound and spelling.

• Registered Users Posts: 222 ✭✭Floody Boreland

I'm Irish and around a long time I've never heard of a pencil parer called a topper.

Never heard a pointer called either of these misnomers before:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Not2Good

Now you're suckin' diesel (heard down in Waterford)

Don't ask me what it means!!!! But heard lots of people saying it! And I wasn't at a tractor show's exhibition on fuel siphoning ...

"She had the face of a melted welly … " heard from a Tipp man describing a girl in the disco who in his opinion wasn't as pretty as the other girls. I guess this was a one-off expression which didn't take off (Thank God)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Not2Good wrote: »
    Don't ask me what it means!!!! But heard lots of people saying it! And I wasn't at a tractor show's exhibition on fuel siphoning ...

Sucking diesel means things are going great and better then expected. Like a carpenter started a two day job but everything is flying along and he might get done in half the time :)

Excellent, thanks ……. so they were being nice to me ….

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭AnLonDubh

No, it's marla (no fada). Mála means a bag.
    Just to say Márla is a perfectly valid spelling and the traditional one. It is pronounced with a fada in most of the dialects, but not in Clare Irish (on which the standard is based), or types of Conamara Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

In Ireland : ya complete looodermawn.

In England : you moron.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭Bepolite

You Langer.