Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Where is the Best Burger in Dublin?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

A burger is a burger and the fact it is just that - is fairly the opposite to hipster.

A hipster burger would be more a thing with lamb patty, rocket, beetroot relish and something that I can't even spell.
    I always end up either ordering a cheeseburger or a fried chicken burger, because nothing beats a great simple back to basics burger for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

I still pray for In-N-Out to set up properly after they did the pop up in Dublin a few years ago. No better simple, tasty fast food.

Well done is also perfectly acceptable, especially with the high fat content of the mince they use there. There’s this narrative these days that ordering your beef rare is a sign of a sophisticated gourmet with class and refinement. It’s sometimes just not the right option if you want the tastiest outcome.

Was in FX Buckley’s recently and was aghast to see a table on a fixed price menu almost all insist on getting their rib-eye steak cooked rare - despite the waiter gently persuading them that medium or well done would work better for the particular cut as it allows the fat to render and for the heavy marbling to melt. Got their steaks anyway and proceeded to start muttering about how chewy it was. Can’t please some people.

I should have said fillet steak. rib eye I always ask for in-between medium-rare and medium :) would never order rib eye rare. even fillet medium rare is probably best.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭TheShow

italodisco wrote: »
    Baffled as to how bunsen is so popular?

Basic simple 1 dimensional burger.

Hipster heaven it is, maybe that's the driving force behind all these reviews of the place.... Or the reviewers have never had a decent burger lol

thats the beauty of it, simple burger, no fuss. no need to cover it in all sorts of ****e.
    The burger speaks for itself.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

I still pray for In-N-Out to set up properly after they did the pop up in Dublin a few years ago. No better simple, tasty fast food.

Amazing to think that they don't even have a place on the east coast given their popularity. Bourdain always said it was his favourite place to get a burger. Must have heard him mention the place a dozen times or more on his shows over the years. Even if he was somewhere like Mozambique he'd somehow manage to shoehorn in a mention.

Last time I heard him talk about the place was on last year's Parts Unknown show about LA which Nick and Nate Diaz where guests on and they start talking about being vegan and Nate says he loves Cafe Gratitude (famous Vegan restaurant) and I think maybe the lads were expecting him to start talking about his favourite vegan food or restaurant but instead he just started talking about how much he loves In-n-Out Burger. The interview then moves away from food but I've often wondered if maybe they felt he was trolling them :p

Anyway, here's a clip of him eating one. Have to say, they look great:

Amazing to think that they don't even have a place on the east coast given their popularity. Bourdain always said it was his favourite place to get a burger. Must have heard him mention the place a dozen times or more on his shows over the years. Even if he was somewhere like Mozambique he'd somehow manage to shoehorn in a mention.

Last time I heard him talk about the place was on last year's Parts Unknown show about LA which Nick and Nate Diaz where guests on and they start talking about being vegan and Nate says he loves Cafe Gratitude (famous Vegan restaurant) and I think maybe the lads were expecting him to start talking about his favourite vegan food or restaurant but instead he just started talking about how much he loves In-n-Out Burger. The interview then moves away from food but I've often wondered if maybe they felt he was trolling them :p

Anyway, here's a clip of him eating one. Have to say, they look great:

Wowburger copied in-and-out in the burger style with 2 smaller patties with cheese in-between - same.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,527 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

glasso wrote: »
    Medium is the.... Happy medium :)
    In a place where you can trust the quality.
    Would definitely not go rare or medium rare. It's not steak, it's mince.

But where can you really trust the quality of beef mince? I'll take my steak rare every time, but a burger - well done every time, it's a basic food safety issue. Son of a Bun in Cork made a big play to the hipster crowd in Cork by serving pink burgers - and ended up giving a bunch of them severe food poisoning. Ironically, they're still in business yet the similarly themed burger gaff next door - which didn't nearly kill its customers - closed recently.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,196 ✭✭✭maximoose

yogi37 wrote: »
    . I work close to the Bunsen on Camden St and prefer to get a BoBo's just a few doors up.

I've never had a BoBo's that wasn't a sloppy mess. Hate when the bun gets soaked through and it just kind of falls apart.

Token had a simple bacon and cheeseburger as their weekly special a little while ago, and I think it's the best I've had in Dublin.

SEmiaMn.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭brainfreeze

Never tried a burger at Token.

That looks tiny though, is it tiny?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

That looks tiny though, is it tiny?

I think they're sliders?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,461 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

What is this, a burger for ants??

• Registered Users Posts: 9,196 ✭✭✭maximoose

Haha yes - two sliders for €9 I think it was.

Genuinely great. They have their standard burger plus a different special every week.

• Registered Users Posts: 31,816 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

What are you on about - a burger is a burger and Bunsen is staying true to that fairly simple concept.

Other places try turn a burger into a meal / haute cuisine.

A burger is a burger and the fact it is just that - is fairly the opposite to hipster.

If you think a burger can have another level - you haven't eaten in real restaurants.
    Totally agree.

I had a burger in cleaver east....it was called a pornburger bizarrely...

It had an upside down top bun with a load of bits of batter on it....the actual burger was fine..no need for all that messing plus I needed to eat it with a knife and fork or put it back in normal order to eat it!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

italodisco wrote: »
    Baffled as to how bunsen is so popular?

Basic simple 1 dimensional burger.

Hipster heaven it is, maybe that's the driving force behind all these reviews of the place.... Or the reviewers have never had a decent burger lol

You'd be hard pressed to find a better one in Ireland anyway

Bunen, In-n-Out, Shake Shack, basically all the best loved burger places have one thing in common.

They keep it simple and don't pretend they're reinventing the wheel and don't let some 24 year old just out of DIT cathal brugha streettry to be "cheffy" with it.

A burger is a simple thing, and when done right the simple things are brilliant.

Bunsen is as close to a perfect burger as you'll get.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

But where can you really trust the quality of beef mince? I'll take my steak rare every time, but a burger - well done every time, it's a basic food safety issue. Son of a Bun in Cork made a big play to the hipster crowd in Cork by serving pink burgers - and ended up giving a bunch of them severe food poisoning. Ironically, they're still in business yet the similarly themed burger gaff next door - which didn't nearly kill its customers - closed recently.

Is that why they ended up making this?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,527 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Is that why they ended up making this?

Probably. Son of a Bun had actually claimed beforehand that the Food Safety Authority (or maybe the HSE?) had approved them to undercook burgers - the only problem was that they just made it up.

I've had probably 30 bunsen medium (not medium rare) burgers over the years and enjoyed every one with not a case of even the mild trots.

so I trust Bunsen.

also it's not the colour that matters - it's the temperature that the meat has reached for the requisite time to ensure no bacteria could survive.

https://abcnews.go.com/Health/burger-safety-101-browner/story?id=23797840
    “With ground beef, color is not a reliable indicator of doneness,” said Marianne Graveley, a specialist at the USDA’s meat and poultry hotline.

Meat that’s still pink may be well-done, Graveley said, and meat that’s brown may need more heat.

“We used to have different campaign: It’s done when it’s brown in middle,” she said. “Now we say to use a meat thermometer. It’s the only way to know that it’s safe.”

• Registered Users Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭youtube!

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/food-and-drink/restaurant-reviews/catherine-cleary-my-worst-ever-meal-as-a-restaurant-reviewer-1.3521284

She ordered a feckin Veggie burger FFS ! I mean your in 5 guys arguably the tastiest burger on the planet and you get a veggie sandwich and give it a 1 star review on the strength of it! Stupid bint. Everyone knows what to expect in five guys, not table service just eat and leave but you get an amazing burger,world renowned in fairness yet she chooses to focus on service rather than taste, I mean at the end of the day it is a burger joint not a gourmet restaurant , somebody should tell her.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Bunsen

• Registered Users Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭Shred

youtube! wrote: »
    https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/food-and-drink/restaurant-reviews/catherine-cleary-my-worst-ever-meal-as-a-restaurant-reviewer-1.3521284

She ordered a feckin Veggie burger FFS ! I mean your in 5 guys arguably the tastiest burger on the planet and you get a veggie sandwich and give it a 1 star review on the strength of it! Stupid bint. Everyone knows what to expect in five guys, not table service just eat and leave but you get an amazing burger,world renowned in fairness yet she chooses to focus on service rather than taste, I mean at the end of the day it is a burger joint not a gourmet restaurant , somebody should tell her.

Yep, that's pretty ridiculous alright.

youtube! wrote: »

Five guys is Meh.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Eddie Rockets Smokestack
    /

• Registered Users Posts: 465 ✭✭Fox Hound

Hey All, just thought I would update everyone,

As this thread seems to be overwhelming in favour of Bunsen, I had my first Bunsen today, and good golly miss molly it was Top Notch! I just sampled the Hamburger, and it was great, Next time I will work my way up the menu,:-)....But yes I can agree with so many Posters, this spot is the real deal when it comes to no nonsense burgers,..so where should I go next?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 20,715 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Keyzer wrote: »
    Bunsen is hands down the best burger I've ever tasted... absolutely exquisite.

You poor bastard.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 20,715 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Bunsen is grand. It’s well cooked but poorly seasoned. A bit of salt and it’s be a great burger, the lack of seasoning really let’s it down. It’s a problem with most burger places though.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users Posts: 17,636 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

J Mysterio wrote: »
    Eddie Rockets Smokestack
    /

With you here, had 5 guys for the first time last week though and im adding it to my favorites list along with Bunsen and an Eddies Smokestack.

The key difference between bunsen and 5 guys is without a doubt the bacon 5 guys have

• Registered Users Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

VinLieger wrote: »
    With you here, had 5 guys for the first time last week though and im adding it to my favorites list along with Bunsen and an Eddies Smokestack.

The key difference between bunsen and 5 guys is without a doubt the bacon 5 guys have

What style of bacon is it?

🤪

• Registered Users Posts: 17,636 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Sabre0001 wrote: »
    What style of bacon is it?

Crispy and delicious streaky bacon, none of this half cooked back rashers you get with most burgers in ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Mod note: This is one for the Dublin forum I think, so please be patient while the thread is locked and moved.

Also, please note the new forum and forum rules.

Buford T. Justice