Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

One year on from Ms Cash's impassioned speech

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

Well they better start by telling that to every trainer whose yard I've ever worked on where horses live in 15 square-meter boxes because they can't be allowed out on grass, partly because of risk of injury. Horses need to be able to exercise
    They do not have some existential need for "space" so long as they have space to turn around, move and roll.

Again, not saying they should be kept in gardens in Tallaght, seems like an odd choice -- IF the pony is actually living there, it isn't in itself cruel. That's all.

I really, really wish people would stop saying travellers are cruel to their animals. They take them out for walks regularly. It's a terrible misconception country people have.

Maybe if people driving cars just had a tiny bit more consideration.

https://youtu.be/uuMS3WRGIvQ

poisonated wrote: »
    Just because some people do it doesn’t make it any less cruel. The suggested amount of space is about 2 acres.
    It's the norm because horses are very adaptive creatures, and they have been socialised to live contendedly in captivity. Calling it cruel to keep a horse in a stable or any confined space is lunacy and is cut way adrift from the real world.

So long as the pony isn't distressed, has sufficient shelter from wind, and has access to a surface that is relatively dry and well drained, that's the main thing.

Also have you seen a Shetland pony? You can transport them in the back of a jeep if you need to. They will live In your fob pocket. They wouldn't know what to do with 2 acres.

It's her own fault she has a criminal record...

Au contraire.

It's the banks fault. It's the governments fault. It's society's fault. It's your fault, and mine.

Do you not understand? WE are Margaret Cash's criminal record. Us. As a society.

I can't keep doing this. Why won't people just a Karl Marx book and try to educate themselves before pointing the cold finger of blame? Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

So long as the pony isn't distressed,

Not knowing much about ponies I have to ask, do loud noises distress them or do they adapt?
    Are they ok with the sounds of scrambler bikes and fireworks?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭normanoffside

I think the biggest reason why keeping a pony in your back garden is daft is (a) don't you want a garden? and (b) the neighbours probably won't be happy. But if those aren't considerations, I suppose go ahead. I wouldn't do it, but neither is it cruel.

Sure who cares about the neighbours.
    Bloody pass remarkables.

Sure who cares about the neighbours.
    Bloody pass remarkables.

If the people next door to Cash were stupid enough to pay for a house then they deserve it. However if they got it as a forever home I would feel sorry for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭normanoffside

tuxy wrote: »
    If the people next door to Cash were stupid enough to pay for a house then they deserve it. However if they got it as a forever home I would feel sorry for them.

Remember that Cash only got her forever home a few months ago so the neighbours would have already been there. Poor people, they had no choice.

Not knowing much about ponies I have to ask, do loud noises distress them or do they adapt?
    Are they ok with the sounds of scrambler bikes and fireworks?
    Fireworks -- same as dogs. Can be terrifying for them. Scrambler bikes probably less so, if they're used to them. I imagine even the Garda mounted horses, who are schooled to tolerate all sorts of sensory intrusions, would baulk at fireworks.

On a yard, horses will be exposed to all sorts of sounds like tractors, saws and angle grinders, construction work generally, and generally, they don't seem to care. But horses are individual and some are very sensitive, just like humans. So you adjust accordingly and maybe move them out of the path of a major stress.

I hadn't thought about keeping a horse in an environment where fireworks are likely in the coming months. That's definitely one to avoid alright.

Remember that Cash only got her forever home a few months ago so the neighbours would have already been there. Poor people, they had no choice.
    There's an estate in my nearest town where all of the travellers have been given houses side by side. Seemed like a stupid idea at the time, but it seems to work for them and for locals. And they're reasonably well blended in the community so there's no risk of being ghettoised or anything. Not sure if that's a common practice, but it might apply here too.

I don't think someone who buys a pony for their back garden 5 weeks before halloween has the cognitive capacity to care for it.
    Is there something that can be done to help the animal?

I don't think someone who buys a pony for their back garden 5 weeks before halloween has the cognitive capacity to care for it.
    Is there something that can be done to help the animal?
    But do we actually know that it's being kept in the back garden? Santa probably brought your bike into the kitchen but that's not where you keep it.

I imagine this isn't the first horse or pony in the wider family. Really, travellers tend to know their horses inside out. I'm sure someone can dig out something where a traveller was convicted of abuse, but I think people might be mixing up travellers with those young teenage men in Dublin estates who haven't a clue how to look after an animal and end up abandoning it.

In fact it just occurred that some of the methods used today around horses came from Traveller practices. There's something called 'the knacker's twitch". And no, it's not when you think you hear a Garda siren... It's a method if calming a horse.

Even the word knacker, which I shouldn't have used I suppose, come from the Norse hnakkur, referring to a saddle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭Doblin

A lot of hate for Ms cash on boards dot ie but people had the option to vote for Renua who would slash welfare but instead people stuck with FFFG

Is this a shetland pony? I hadn't realised they were popular with settled travelers but it makes sense since they take up very little space.

Neither this nor the previous pony-foal look quite like full Shetlands, but that might be because they're still immature. More likely there's some cross breeding, but it's hard to tell from a still image or that video clip.

Sulky racing on roads is inexcusable, no matter who is doing it. There is never an excuse for it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 328 ✭✭HailSatan

Well they better start by telling that to every trainer whose yard I've ever worked on where horses live in 15 square-meter boxes because they can't be allowed out on grass, partly because of risk of injury. Horses need to be able to exercise
    They do not have some existential need for "space" so long as they have space to turn around, move and roll.

Again, not saying they should be kept in gardens in Tallaght, seems like an odd choice -- IF the pony is actually living there, it isn't in itself cruel. That's all.

How much exercise?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Why do they blur their faces....

Remember that video when it went out.... Absolute scum...

Who on here stated they care for their animals....

Go and speak with any animal shelter and they'll tell you the score but people that believe they are great and the sun shines out of their holes will never do this.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,720 ✭✭✭Greyfox

It's the norm because horses are very adaptive creatures, and they have been socialised to live contendedly in captivity. Calling it cruel to keep a horse in a stable or any confined space is lunacy and is cut way adrift from the real world.

Keeping a horse in a stable all the time IS animal cruelty. To say otherwise is to live in a dream world. Yes its fine to keep them in a stable most of the time as long as they also get out to exercise. The problem is some people out there cant be trusted to give them the correct amount of exercise. I've seen lots of horses in very small spaces around Dublin where it looks like there always in the same place

Greyfox wrote: »
    Keeping a horse in a stable all the time IS animal cruelty.
    If by all the time you mean all of its life, I think I agree. But I also think people are misunderstanding horses needs, like the person earlier who insisted that horses need "space", mentioning two acres.

There are some horses, especially in dressage and racing, who simply cannot risk an injury, so they don't get out at all -- at least during the season, maybe not even beyond that. The idea that it is cruel isn't borne out when your observe these animals - horses are very good at expressing dissatisfaction.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Mod

Thread moved to CA/IMHO. Please note the local charter here.

• Registered Users Posts: 54,584 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Crime pays?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 328 ✭✭HailSatan

walshb wrote: »
    Crime pays?

Pony up PAYErs

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

So now we're funding her equine adventures .

Can we have naming rights at least

• Registered Users Posts: 39,513 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Doblin wrote: »
    A lot of hate for Ms cash on boards dot ie but people had the option to vote for Renua who would slash welfare but instead people stuck with FFFG

No they didn't.

Also people didn't vote Renua primarily because it isn't 1980 anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

poisonated wrote: »
    To be fair, it is cruel. I’m pretty sure that if you ask an animal welfare group, they will tell you that horses need space.

Quiet will ya she'll be looking for a farm next for the pony.

HailSatan wrote: »
    How much exercise?

They don't need any exercise. To suggest otherwise is depraved anti traveller bigotry

• Registered Users Posts: 26,283 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

They don't need any exercise. To suggest otherwise is depraved anti traveller bigotry

+1 how dare that poster suggest for one second that a woman who cant even look after herself or her children and cant keep herself out of a courtroom cant look after a horse.

There's no need to drag Princess Anne into this

• Registered Users Posts: 27,175 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

If by all the time you mean all of its life, I think I agree. But I also think people are misunderstanding horses needs, like the person earlier who insisted that horses need "space", mentioning two acres.

There are some horses, especially in dressage and racing, who simply cannot risk an injury, so they don't get out at all -- at least during the season, maybe not even beyond that. The idea that it is cruel isn't borne out when your observe these animals - horses are very good at expressing dissatisfaction.

There are many who take the view that dressage in particular and racing in general are just unnecessary cruelty to animals for some of the reasons set out in your post.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

She’s a thieving, sponging, whinging scumbag.

Life eventually gives people like that their comeuppance. Roll on the day...

I don't think so, unfortunately the universe doesn't give a ****...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,032 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Great to see it's all working out for Mags and that she can afford to buy and keep a pony for her son

Sure as she said "I never said I was poor. I said I was homeless"

Now she has her home forever

"never thought 1 year later I would have me own home tg. So for any1 wanting to give up plz keep going because there is hope for every1"

Inspiration stuff