Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Coronavirus in Limerick City

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,792 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

martyc5674 wrote: »
    Thats a terrible excuse for something to move slow (thats not an attack on you!)

My work involves constantly getting subcontractors to do work for us.
    Elec/mech/civil/HVAC/automation/cleaning mostly and a whole load of other specialist services depending on the work we are doing- and these guys are always chomping @ the bit to get to work. Im sure these guys are only mad for work too, and would easily be able to put together a V accurate tender as it is there specialist area.

You obviously work in the private sector. The public sector has layers and layers of red tape that has to be gone through before anything can happen. Nothing can be done without a public contract tender competition.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,734 ✭✭✭ShatterProof

Any plumbers doing house calls yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,745 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

Why are the gates of Mary I still locked? This is really annoying me, local residents put up with students year round, which is grand as the Mary I crowd aren’t the worst but then they lock the gates when people need to get outside, it’s taking the piss

• Registered Users Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Its because people couldn't be bothered to social distance when using the campus.

Mc Love wrote: »
    Its because people couldn't be bothered to social distance when using the campus.

Initially yes, that was back in March when this was new and you had a few lads playing football down in the pitch, now you have everything open and people left to police their own actions, playgrounds are open, everything,
    Yet Mary I still have the gates locked, normally only ever done on Christmas Day, all that green space and safe walking and cycling paths for children, I don’t know why, is there an equivalent anywhere else?

• Registered Users Posts: 301 ✭✭ChewBerecca

Not trying to be sparky here but a university/college is not a public park. Just because the general public is allowed in most days doesn't mean they have to reopen now. I get its frustrating for locals who are used to using the amenities but if Mary I (or other places) decide to not open to the public until September that's their business.

I can’t think of a college anywhere in the world that locks its gates for months at a time, locals have been very understanding about n recent times as regards the college expanding, I don’t think it’s right

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,792 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

I can’t think of a college anywhere in the world that locks its gates for months at a time, locals have been very understanding about n recent times as regards the college expanding, I don’t think it’s right

These are not normal times. UL has been closed for months too.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭dashoonage

maybe there just trying to avoid contributing to a second wave , so that you know...they might actually be able to have students attend to get an education in sept. just a thought like.

I'd fully expect all campus to restrict movement to students and staff come sept, there main priority it to be able to run academic semesters not provide facilities to locals.

These are not normal times. UL has been closed for months too.

UL have had security at the main gate but you are free to walk around campus and have been for some time, all other entries are as usual

No seminars/lectures/research etc, no need for anyone to be on campus. Most other universities are open because they have research centres and labs still operating (especially those working on Covid 19). Many universities are still businesses outside of termtime.

The reason campuses are open in the first place is because of the amount of events/meetings taking place that have external attendees, security would have queues of people to go through if ID was required to enter the campus.

Many smaller campuses or off campus areas are ID only worldwide.

No seminars/lectures/research etc, no need for anyone to be on campus. Most other universities are open because they have research centres and labs still operating (especially those working on Covid 19). Many universities are still businesses outside of termtime.

The reason campuses are open in the first place is because of the amount of events/meetings taking place that have external attendees, security would have queues of people to go through if ID was required to enter the campus.

Many smaller campuses or off campus areas are ID only worldwide.

There’s dozens of people working in there every day, plenty of cars in the car park, all academic staff are free to come and go, the main gate isn’t actually locked but the cars open and close it after themselves.
    It’s obviously not a big deal in the grand scheme of things, but as things are now it’s a bit of a cop out to say it’s to protect public health, it’s a few big fields and walkways that are safe for children, everything is open,
    I suppose there is obviously no obligation on them to open but when that facility is there it’s frustrating not to have use of it for the kids

• Registered Users Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Its a private campus all the same.

Of course, I don’t like it and I don’t understand it but it’s not a huge deal, I just hope it’s not something that will happen whenever the college isn’t in term,

• Registered Users Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭martyc5674

Is it not funded by the public though?

Are the green areas maintained by the Council?

I doubt it - but that’s not what I asked- and I asked cos I don’t know the answer.

I was genuinely asking as well in case the Council had taken the green areas in.

Public funding in educational institutes normally goes on research and new buildings/equipment, new student housing etc. Not known of any project for green areas funded by taxes so the locals can walk their dogs.

There’s really no reason to keep it shut up, people are out and about, everything is open,

Obviously they’re within their rights to lock it up but I don’t see the point, does anybody believe it’s helping to keep the virus at bay? A university campus should be open to all, it’s not that long ago that many people would have been too intimidated to walk-in the gates

There’s really no reason to keep it shut up, people are out and about, everything is open,

Obviously they’re within their rights to lock it up but I don’t see the point, does anybody believe it’s helping to keep the virus at bay? A university campus should be open to all, it’s not that long ago that many people would have been too intimidated to walk-in the gates

Its more than likely because of potential negative press.

If a cluster emerged that was pinpointed to a group playing football in UL, we wouldn't shut up about ULs perceived lack of social distancing measures.

There's also the staff, maybe the security and maintainence teams don't feel comfortable coming back yet, or because there's no real reason to open the campus aside from access to the green areas it would cost too much to warrant getting them back in.

If a cluster emerged that was pinpointed to a group playing football in UL, we wouldn't shut up about ULs perceived lack of social distancing measures.

There's also the staff, maybe the security and maintainence teams don't feel comfortable coming back yet, or because there's no real reason to open the campus aside from access to the green areas it would cost too much to warrant getting them back in.

Of course and there’s both sides to the story.
    But we should be asking the question about public funded property and making it accessible where possible to help people enjoy leisure time whilst social distancing.

Schools etc with nice outdoor basketball courts locked up during this time- all public money that paid for these, but not accessible.

It’s Mary I,
    And the thing is UL has been open for about a month now, most of the entrances were never even closed but there was signs up.
    All the maintenance staff are working in Mary I at the moment,
    I’ll park it there, the court of opinion of boards has gone against me, feels like I’ve rang up Joe Duffy with some 21st century problem and gotten hammered by the callers

• Registered Users Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Miike

Of course and there’s both sides to the story.
    But we should be asking the question about public funded property and making it accessible where possible to help people enjoy leisure time whilst social distancing.

Schools etc with nice outdoor basketball courts locked up during this time- all public money that paid for these, but not accessible.

Marty, I'm not sure if you missed the memo but there is a pandemic. While things are easing right now, there is an argument to be made that most sports are not conducive to effective social distancing and as such neither are basketball courts. Who cares who paid for them? This isn't about money. Stop banging the public money drum, for the love of all things good and holy.

I imagine Mary I is closed as a result of their own risk assessment which is perfectly in their right. Access to the campus isn't a right, it's a privilege. One which for now has been revoked for whatever reason. I'm sure its an inconvenience for plenty of people, especially considering it's quite a nice, safe area but it's just that, an inconvenience.

Miike wrote: »
    Marty, I'm not sure if you missed the memo but there is a pandemic. While things are easing right now, there is an argument to be made that most sports are not conducive to effective social distancing and as such neither are basketball courts. Who cares who paid for them? This isn't about money. Stop banging the public money drum, for the love of all things good and holy.

I imagine Mary I is closed as a result of their own risk assessment which is perfectly in their right. Access to the campus isn't a right, it's a privilege. One which for now has been revoked for whatever reason. I'm sure its an inconvenience for plenty of people, especially considering it's quite a nice, safe area but it's just that, an inconvenience.

I think you totally missed my point.
    I’m not on about organising an inter county basketball blitz- I’m on about allowing the facilities (where possible ie where they are in public view and won’t be vandalized etc) to be open so a few local kids can use them.
    It’s up to us the public to social distance/meet up within the guide lines.

I think you totally missed my point.
    I’m not on about organising an inter county basketball blitz- I’m on about allowing the facilities (where possible ie where they are in public view and won’t be vandalized etc) to be open so a few local kids can use them.
    It’s up to us the public to social distance/meet up within the guide lines.

I'd say there would be a lot of insurance red tape to allow these types facilities to open. Some places like schools might not even be allowed to open pitches etc during the summer.

And vandalisation would still be highly likely. Monaleen GAA has been hit a few times in recent weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 44 MissEmcee

Nice to be out for a bite to eat and a glass of wine in the Woodfield today but not impressed that the owner has decided that the 14 self isolation doesn’t apply to himself after being in Portugal last week. Disrespecting front line workers and the fingers up to the rest of us who have taken CMO advice not to travel.

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭AUDI20

MissEmcee wrote: »
    Nice to be out for a bite to eat and a glass of wine in the Woodfield today but not impressed that the owner has decided that the 14 self isolation doesn’t apply to himself after being in Portugal last week. Disrespecting front line workers and the fingers up to the rest of us who have taken CMO advice not to travel.

An yet you have a bite to eat and a glass of wine there¡¡¡¡

• Registered Users Posts: 44 MissEmcee

AUDI20 wrote: »
    An yet you have a bite to eat and a glass of wine there¡¡¡¡

And you missed the point. I didn’t know that the owner was abroad until a staff member told me when I was paying the bill. It’s just unfortunate that I didn’t know that when I brought in my Mam who I haven’t been able to see in months. I am a front line worker and have to take extra ordinary precautions to protect those around me. Perhaps the Primetime programmer last night might show you why we need to adhere to NPHT advice and not go off on holidays or if you have to self isolate for the 14 days.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,607 ✭✭✭tony1980

Do you need to book a table in advance if visiting a pub now? Was hoping to watch the Liverpool match on Thursday with a drink, the 90 minutes isn't ideal for going to watch a match due to half time, 2 hours would have been good.

tony1980 wrote: »
    Do you need to book a table in advance if visiting a pub now? Was hoping to watch the Liverpool match on Thursday with a drink, the 90 minutes isn't ideal for going to watch a match due to half time, 2 hours would have been good.

Depends. Some places are only allowing reservations, others are allowing walk ins with a phone number taken at seating. I'd say the walk ins might allow you to stay a little longer because they might not have a booking after the 90 mins.

Best to check the place out on social media or give them a buzz.