Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

What rules would you bring in if you were dictator?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭Hairy Japanese BASTARDS!

Children to be weighed in school.
    For every 0.1 over 25.0 BMI, ten Euro of the children's allowance will be withheld. If the child reaches a BMI of 30, the primary caregiver parent will be charged with child cruelty.

Parents who let their child use a phone or tablet in the buggy will be sterilised.

Any manager who hires a customer facing staff member who doesn't speak fluent English will have their business shut down.

Public clamping to be banned for expired parking tickets and obstructive parking to be punished with the offender's car being sold at auction.

Speed ramps to be replaced with fixed average speed cameras.

One year of national service for every able bodied 17 year old man and woman.

HSE administration to be quartered.

Mine:

Probably a bit Hitler like
    • Abolish vat on bikes and cycling accessories.

I'm aware the EU mightn't agreed with me :pac:

A bit "out there" on some points OP, but I think we could pull it off for sure on the biking related VAT charges without any damage to the exchequer.

I mean, there won't be any future demand for those products when every cyclist who goes on the pavement is arrested and fukced under the wheels of a moving train, stupid shorts and ten euro latte thrown in after them for good measure of course.

But just to prove I'm not a bitter unforgiving El Presidente, surviving members of the footpath riding cyclists family will be given the option of a more merciful death by poisoning if they inform on other cyclists. Their bones and the rubble from their bulldozed homes will be used to pave bicycle free pedestrian routes.

• Registered Users Posts: 958 ✭✭✭Stratvs

Anyone leaving plastic bags of dog poo hanging from branches or dumped under the “don’t leave dog poo here signs” to be made watch reruns of fair city 24/7 for a month.

HSE administration to be quartered.

Well... yes, but honestly, that just hasn't got the same dramatic effect without the words "hung, drawn, and..." in front of it.

Poor effort there OP, poor, poor effort!

• Registered Users Posts: 30,184 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Before you vote in an Election or Referendum. You'd be required to carry out a short test to see if you know what your voting for. If you fail you loose your vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭Hairy Japanese BASTARDS!

Cat licences to be introduced.
    Anyone who lets a cat roam will be subjected to the same punishment as a dog owner.
    Mandatory microchipping of cats.

If your cat goes missing, it's your fault. If you have it microchipped, the pound will track you down so you can reclaim it. If you didn't bother microchipping it then it's your tough luck.

• Registered Users Posts: 859 ✭✭✭Randy Archer

Ooooh .... where to start with the list.

No politicians allowed into politics, we have had generations of legacy families on the gravy train, if you have had a family member elected you cannot be involved in politics at any level for at least 10years.... this removes the nepotism, the cronyism and allows greater transparency in our political structure.

If politicians are found guilty of an offence while in office, they are stripped of any pensions, sacked from their position and not permitted to re-enter any public office for 20years.

Social welfare (which was originally created as a temporary measure) should be for a maximum of 2yrs, if you cannot get any sort of a job with 2 years, you do not deserve any state handouts - obvious exceptions apply.

If convicted of a crime you are automatically suspended from receiving social welfare - why should the state pay you money if you can’t follow the rules of the state.

The longer you remain conviction free the higher any state payments are (ie. Children’s allowance, state pension etc, so a person could happily retire if they lived a crime free life, parents would encourage kids to stay out of crime during the teenage years because of the amount they would be receiving in children’s allowance)

Legal professionals to be held accountable if their client reoffends and they have successfully gotten them bail - definitely no free legal aid paid if client reoffends.

Emotive argument to be removed from court hearings, No gender or personal details out before the judge... just cold hard facts, if there is ambiguity about a fact it’s up to the judge to decide, too many times I have heard that little Johnny is expecting a child and now wishes to mend his ways (despite having 3 other kids from 2 other mothers and 89previous convictions for similar offences)

Gardai, or any public servant ... if found guilty of an offence should be stripped of pensions, sacked from job and no access to public jobs/civil service for at least 10yrs.

Repeat criminals get longer time, and no legal aid.

Sex offenders are publicly identified following conviction, let the country know who they are and let them become an outcast, on that note ALL criminals should have their image available to the media on conviction (it should automatically be issued on conviction, and should be available for the public to view)

ALL public office projects should be properly costed and the minister / civil servants involved loose their jobs/pensions if a project goes over budget, contractors should also be punished if a project costing is incorrect.

Public transport network needs to be improved, better driver education and restrictions on road usage - every road user needs to qualify for road usage,

ie.
    You cannot drive a car on the road without having experience of being a cyclist and motorcyclist, and at that you have to graduate up in vehicle power, 1l, 1.2l, 1.4l etc at least 6months or even 12 months at each level, I don’t care how rich you are .... everyone needs to understand how to act on the road and needs to understand how other road users will experience the road.

Going to have to leave it here for now.... battery is at 10% and it’s only 8.30ish in the morning

Feel free to click the thumbs up if you like the concept and I will start work on a full manifesto.

Why should lawyers be held accountable for criminals re offending ? What happens if the criminal who reoffends goes to another lawyer ?

You suggesting that lawyers have voodoo dolls and cast spells over their clients to commit crime ? If that was true, they’d prefer a one and done and entice them to commit a heinous crime like murder or Some fraud That would entail many trial days in the central Court . Mickey Mouse district court cases aint paying for the steak dinner

If anyone is “accountable” it’s the family of the criminal scum . Lawyers demand their fees for work done, no different a plumber or doctor, the criminal will force themselves to steal in order to pay for the legal fees , cause lawyers ain’t going to work for free . Why should lawyers be held responsible for the actions of the scum ? They have done nothing wrong, of lawyers lie in court their career is ****ed

While the idea of suspending criminal scum of their welfare sounds like a good idea ..eh, most of the social welfare recipients fall in to the class of probable criminals and if you didn’t stop their welfare after committing a minor criminal offence , they will be inclined to get involved in more serious crime ... this ruling stuff is fierce burdensome, unintentional bleeding heart stuff, bah. In an ideal world, we’d do away with welfare all together and let the weak fend for themselves , but sadly, in the world of entitlement, these bastards would be full of envy and look to steal of their betters .

Family members following their parents or uncles in politics is inevitable . We are a small nation. Some families are vastly superior than others . Let the people decide for themselves who to vote for . They are also entitled to hire whoever they want for their team, they (the TDs staff) do the work anyway

As for arguments in court ... it is always about the facts, however the lawyer permits defences. Moreover , criminal law deals with motive ie the existence of intention and recklessness ; some crimes are worse than others . You want to keep building prisons ? That’s a lot of people you are going to throw into ...not sure I’m keen to see my tax being used in such a way - expect assassination rather quickly

• Registered Users Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭moonshadow

All pubs to be kept shut regardless of covid compliance and community numbers, and everyone to wear a mask in my local shop that only two people can fit in.
    Allow bars in Dublin to serve alcohol to random people from doorways and hatches On public streets , but not to the locals of a wee parish.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,685 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Before you vote in an Election or Referendum. You'd be required to carry out a short test to see if you know what your voting for. If you fail you loose your vote.

Well you are a dictator why would there be a need for elections. By a test you mean you little army who will tell them how to vote

Just to punish my people for the craic of it I'm going to make Welsh the new national language. I haven't decided on Arabic or Cyrillic as the alphabet yet though.

Well you are a dictator why would there be a need for elections. By a test you mean you little army who will tell them how to vote

I'd be a very fair dictator as long as you don't vote for the Green Party. I'd even give Mary Lou a chance.

Come to think of it. I'd just lock Eamon Ryan for a few years for just been Eamon Ryan. I thought Shane Ross was a bad until this lad came along.

I'd also give Eoghan McDermott a long prison sentence!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,684 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

I'd get rid of the name Barbara.
    Bar... Bar...Ahhh!
    Bar.. bear.. ah!
    Barb ara!

See? Now I've no idea how it's supposed to be pronounced.

Ban the fcuker.

Landmines which can only be activated by bikes to be placed on pedestrian paths.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

If your dog ****s on the footpath it is immediately exterminated. If you dont remove the dead body you are fined for littering

TG4 shut down and replaced with multilingual porn channel

Person who thought of second policy above (ie me) rewarded with Govt Grant of €33 million being the saving to the exchequer in year 1

• Registered Users Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Eduard Khil

Anyone starts a dole bashing thread is put on the dole

• Registered Users Posts: 2,926 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Romeo & Juliet law fixed somehow

15 year boy and a 16 year old are besotted with each other and get it on

The boy could possibly become a convicted sex offender and the girl suffers no consequences at all

Section 5 of the Criminal Law Sexual Offences Act 2006 states clearly the girl will not be charged with anything
    5.— A female child under the age of 17 years shall not be guilty of an offence under this Act by reason only of her engaging in an act of sexual intercourse.

Meanwhile the boys life is ruined

How did this come to pass. Michael McDowell was one of the richest barristers in Ireland before he became Minister of Justice and he still is very successful. We didn't put a teacher or farmer or whoever into Minister of Justice, instead it was a legal eagle and yet this??

Truthvader wrote: »
    If your dog ****s on the footpath it is immediately exterminated. If you dont remove the dead body you are fined for littering

Ah heyor, even Hitler was a dog lover

mikemac2 wrote: »
    Romeo & Juliet law fixed somehow

15 year boy and a 16 year old are besotted with each other and get it on

The boy could possibly become a convicted sex offender and the girl suffers no consequences at all

Section 5 of the Criminal Law Sexual Offences Act 2006 states clearly the girl will not be charged with anything

Meanwhile the boys life is ruined

How did this come to pass. Michael McDowell was one of the richest barristers in Ireland before he became Minister of Justice and he still is very successful. We didn't put a teacher or farmer or whoever into Minister of Justice, instead it was a legal eagle and yet this??

Wasn't this changed a while back?

I did some internet searches before posting and didn't find any recent news

Always happy to be corrected :)

mikemac2 wrote: »
    I did some internet searches before posting and didn't find any recent news

Always happy to be corrected :)

I wasn't certain myself but came across this...

http://www.justice.ie/en/JELR/Pages/PR17000103

“Offences concerning sexual acts with under age children have also been restated and strengthened in this Act. However, the Act also recognises the reality of under age, consensual, peer relationships through the introduction of a ‘proximity of age’ defence. Under this provision, a person charged with an offence of engaging in a sexual act with a person between the ages of 15 and 17 years can rely on a defence where the act is consensual, non-exploitative and the age difference is no more than two years."

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Limpy

I wasn't certain myself but came across this...

http://www.justice.ie/en/JELR/Pages/PR17000103

“Offences concerning sexual acts with under age children have also been restated and strengthened in this Act. However, the Act also recognises the reality of under age, consensual, peer relationships through the introduction of a ‘proximity of age’ defence. Under this provision, a person charged with an offence of engaging in a sexual act with a person between the ages of 15 and 17 years can rely on a defence where the act is consensual, non-exploitative and the age difference is no more than two years."

O'Gorman will sort that soon enough.

once something had been explained to somebody on boards, if they repeated their point/question as if it hadnt been addressed the. they would be permabanned and their windows smashed in for good measure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭JasonStatham

I'd shoot Irish people who talk like Americans, or start talking about American issues, like they're re happening in Ireland. Haha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭ChelseaRentBoy

maherhonda wrote: »
    If you pop out a child and can't afford to house it the child will be put up for adoption or you will be given a caravan by the state to live in. Social housing would be done away with. Pay your way or feck off, people are purposely popping out children to get a free house.

Anyone on the dole and are not actively seeking work every week there welfare will be cut altogether. Proof has to be uploaded every week and any interviews done will be sent onto dole office with feedback.

We have a social house and pay our way. Imagine that..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭ChelseaRentBoy

Middle and upper class people who buy drugs and then complain about working class areas being destroyed by those same drug dealers or being full of scumbags should be shot dead.

• Registered Users Posts: 552 ✭✭✭mark_jmc

Anybody who heats fish up in a microwave automatically gets their genitals set on fire

* Irish language to be taught to anyone who wants to learn it, in a way that they'll actually learn how to speak it. Compulsory for kids up to 16.

*No more immigration unless they have a job or can support themselves; or their wife/husband can.

* Survivalism skills compulsory, as well as weapons training/martial arts for anyone able.

* As close to natural as possible regarding food; less additives as possible.

* Drugs are allowed. If it comes from the ground/a plant and can be cooked/cultivated with little to no skill/training then it's fine.

* True History to be taught and not the whitewashed version.

* Various foreign diplomats to be spread about the Country (if they want to that is - would still be importing/exporting goods to other Countries); subject to zero diplomatic immunity. Finer points to be worked out by an 'expert group'. This would lessen the chances of getting nuked by other Countries.

* Population to be no higher than 8 million.

* Buildings/dwellings to be made to a high standard. Apartments would be subject to the 'torture test'. If screams can be heard next door then there are sanctions.

*Home is a man's castle so any unwanted violation of it can be dealt with extreme prejudice at the time, or for a not ungenerous stipend can be bound and gagged for use in the 'test' as mentioned just above.

* Specially reinforced articulated lorries driven by experts, to go around the motorways early in the mornings (Extra pay on Sundays) with no obligation to take evasive action from oncoming traffic that's in the incorrect lane.

*Shorter working weeks.

*As less 'Green' bull**** as possible. The homosapien is an aberration, and being that he has reached self-awareness it's pretty much his point/ or is the inevitable conclusion to his species' existence to destroy the natural world. That's not to say that littering and the like won't be frowned upon.

* Unnatural sh1t ie pharmaceuticals are frowned upon. If similar remedy can be got from chewing on a leaf/root/plant etc from a plant/ tree then that drug's usage will be kept to a bare minimum. Will have good relations with other Countries (while not taking any crap off them), so if it can be sourced from abroad/dried etc.. then that is quite acceptable.

* The late late show will provide entertainment only. No maudlin sh1t allowed, unless it's incidental. Sanctions for the host if he/she goes off the reservation. An odd 'human interest' story for traditional purposes - don't want to lose complete touch with our heritage - as long as illness doesn't feature.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Torture tests - I like it!!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,695 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Wasn't this changed a while back?
    No.

It's still a 3 day relationship between a 13 year old and a 17 year old that caused 6 deaths.