Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

From Fat Couch Potato to who knows where

124»

• Registered Users Posts: 411 ✭✭Sr. Assumpta

Wow! Awesome log Inquitus! Congrats to you!

I cycled, briefly, in a group with you on the SKT 160k, how did you get on?
    It was my first SKT and it lived up to my expectations ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 227 ✭✭stas

Thanks for your log, Inquitus! Some great dedication there. I wish I found it earlier to get inspiration from (I was lacking it lately!) :)

Please keep it up.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,847 ✭✭✭Russman

+1 on the above, great log, very inspirational.

Keep it up ! I'm actually feeling guilty sitting typing this rather than being out putting in the miles :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭g0g

Been meaning to read this and some of the other logs for a while and finally got round to it now! Fair play Inquitus that's some achievement in that time! I had started running a few years back and moved to cycling - are you moving the other way round now!? You're log is helping motivate me to make that move to a road bike maybe next year! Keep it up anyway and hopefully next time I bump into you at an event I might be fit enough to keep up for more than a km!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,729 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Sadly I haven't done much bike wise since the Sean Kelly 160. i have been away with work in Brussels, and away in London for pleasure, had family over, and generally not had a free weekend. I have commuted on 5 or 6 occasions and done 6 or 7 spinning sessions. I was all set to do the Mad MTB Introductory spin on Sat and then the Swords CC Sportif today, but have been laid low with a fluey kind of bug since Tues and was in no state for either. Pretty pissed off tbh.

The age old problem of how to keep in shape over the winter seems to be rearing it's ugly head.

Winter Plan B

Last Years Plan A ended up in a pie eating festival of fatness over xmas! lets hope Plan B works better!

1) Spinning on Tues and Thurs. Have done 6-7 sessions the past few weeks, and its a good very high effort blast for 40 odd minutes. Hope to keep this going as work and family allows.
    2) Run @ 20km a week after work come rain or shine.
    3) Get back into the Swords CC Sat morning spins. Need to invest in some winter gear though, I am strictly a short sleeved and above the knee merchant at the moment.
    4) Buy a Tacx and set it up in my "office".
    5) Join Mad MTB and get some weekend spins in. Again need to invest in stuff to keep me warm.

The aim of all this is to be in good enough shape to attack the Swords CC Club league when it kicks off in the spring.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 75,285 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

If you can get to the Swords spins do it - that's 70k+ per week alone

I have the Tacx in the garage for the bad weather, and also will go on the bike machines in the hotel gyms when away on business (or get an hour on the track when in Manchester). I find a change is as good as a rest, and doing the different "disciplines", including the spinning definitely helps keep up the mileage and maintain/improve fitness over the winter

Ok I have assembled the bits and bobs for my indoor training setup
    • Tacx Flow T2200 Cycletrainer
    • Focus Variado (my brothers bike but he moved to the UK and bought a nice Bianchi so he doesn't need it, will double as my Tacx / Winter Bike)
    • Sufferfest Videos
    • Xbox 360 and 40" Plasma to stream said videos to.
    • Old 5.1 surround sound setup

The Sufferfest Videos are pretty good, I also got some Spinervals and others to look at, did 3 sessions this week. It's a handy way to get in some exercise at 8 or 9pm once the kids are down to sleep, and when you can't really be arsed to go outdoors.

Next I need to come up with some sort of training plan, to get the most out of the hour or so a night I can spare. Anyone recommend some good reading on how to get the most out of training. Something relatively concise that explains the basics etc. would probably be a good place to start.

I also joined MAD MTB recently and have been out with them last Sat morning and this Sat morning on my MTB. Hope to get in some night spins after work as well.

http://app.strava.com/rides/1979208

http://app.strava.com/rides/1952128

All these bikes are beginning to drive the wife crazy, shame they need keeping in the house really, to prevent them getting nicked. The family bike count is now at 6!
    a1f-4xc_MOUNT_VISION_5.7_c1.jpg

First official spin since I joined the club today, and I managed to go over the handlebars in the first 20 yds! Nice way to start the day. Am fine at the going up, getting better all the time with the downs. Had the tyres at 50psi which was way too high....you live and learn.

Also picked up some lights so I should be good to try a couple of Audax next year. I wanted to do the Dying light but I have to attend a Stock Take in Genk that weekend so have to give it a miss.

77kg still, and though I have been doing less recently due to work/family commitments I think I am maintaining the fitness levels.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

Inquitus I have to take my hat off to you. Only starting out myself with goals etc your logs show everyone that hard work and determination can conquer if you want it bad enough!! You should be very proud of what you have achieved, If I am even half as successful as you have been I will be a happy camper !

Well done again

The Bonk

Went for a group spin from Taylors 3 Rock this morning, cycled the 27km over from Swords for the meet. Was running late and in a bit of a rush, plus had had a few beers the night before...nothing excessive though.

Made it over to the meet handy enough, had 3-4 apple breakfast bakes on the way over, but that was all I had brought with me in the rush, and I hadn't eaten much the day before despite going Mountain Biking .

Went via Eniskerry and up and over Sally Gap, struggled with the climb from the off, legs didn't feel great initially, but I made it up to the crossroads at the top, slowly but not too disasterously. We continued on for Laragh and I started to feel starving hungry and a bit faint, one of the lads gave me a powerbar, but that didn't kick in for a while and as we made our way across from Sally Gap to where the descent into Laragh starts proper I started to feel really bad, no power at all, slightly faint, barely the energy to grip the hoods. The idea of pulling over for a lie down popped into my head, not good at all. I struggled on to where the descent started, and thankfully gravity got me to the Hippy Café where I got a coffee and a big slice of chocolate cake.

The break and the Cake + Power combo worked a treat and the way back was a breeze. I guess this must be my first encounter with "The Bonk", and it wasn't a pleasant experience. I was genuinelly wondering how on earth I was going to get back to Swords in this state, ringing the wife for a lift crossed my mind, or struggling to Bray for the Dart. Thankfully I was in a group not on my own, and the lads really did look out for me when they saw me suffering.

I will make damn sure I never leave the house without a pocketful of energy food in future, lesson learnt.

http://app.strava.com/rides/1993830

Update 11/11/11

23/10/2011 - Swords Beginners Swim 70km - http://app.strava.com/rides/2074295

Foul day for a ride, company and craic was good though. Plinged 2 spokes en route and the rear tyre went flat at my front door.

06/11/2011 - Kevin King Memorial Spin 90km - http://app.strava.com/rides/2250433

Ice cold, crisp, blue skied, sunny morning ideal for a spin. Good craic and a nice scenic route. Hole calling was a bit crap and I hit a crater about 30km from home, flat front and rear. Got it sorted with the help froma couple of stragglers who stopped.

07/11/11 - 7.6km run - http://app.strava.com/runs/2250432

New training regime implemented, up to 10km run every evening, unless out on the bike.

08/11/11 - 7.8km run - http://app.strava.com/runs/2259287

09/11/11 - 7.8km run - http://app.strava.com/runs/2268979

10/11/11 - 18km MTB Night Spin with MAD - http://app.strava.com/rides/2281958

Went out for a night spin up at Three Rock with MAD, first time riding in the dark, great craic, lovely evening for it, really enjoyed it, defo will be out again!

Pea soup fog at times , and the obligatory Superman over the handlebars! Need to get to grips with them roots!

• Registered Users Posts: 411 ✭✭Sr. Assumpta

Inquitus wrote: »
    Update 11/11/11

23/10/2011 - Swords Beginners Swim 70km -

Go You! ;)

Update 20/11/11

11/11/11 - 12km run - http://app.strava.com/runs/2289987

Easy paced run, felt a bit hard running into the wind up towards Boraimhe, did quite alot this week so legs probably feeling it.

13/11/11 - 60km cycle - http://app.strava.com/rides/2313673

Went Strava segment nabbing round NCD. 3rd on Ballyboughal to Naul at a 30kph average. Also a wind assisted KOM on the Estuary Sprint. Nice day for a spin, and strava adds some fun.

14/11/11 - 40mins on the Turbo - http://app.strava.com/rides/2329978

1st turbo session, it seems alot harder on the turbo than when being out and about to be quite honest, and with the weather as good as it is at the moment the turbo isn't getting much use. It is easier however to train to a specific HR on the turbo and not over exert.

15/11/11 - MAD MTB night spin up at Three Rock - http://app.strava.com/rides/2343487

Really been bitten by the MTB bug and the night spins up in Three Rock fit in very well with the family situation as the missus doesnt seem to miss me as much on a Tues/Thurs evening as she does on a Sat/Sun. Highly impressed with the MAD club since I joined, super friendly and helpful. Broke my rear mech on this spin and had to head home early, had sourced a replacement derailleur from a club member on the Weds and another lad straightened my derailleur hanger for me prior to the Thurs spin. If you fancy getting dirty, I heartily recommend MAD.

Also find the MTBing is more enjoyable when the weather is shíte than going out on the road bike is.

17/11/11 - MAD MTB night spin up at Three Rock - http://app.strava.com/rides/2371109

Lashing rain but great fun! Fooked up the garmin by not starting it! so manually added the spin.

18/11/11 - 12km Run - http://app.strava.com/runs/2371914

Felt good tonight, 4 mins faster than last time with the same perceived effort, though these are easy effort runs and I am not pushing it so the time is largely irrelevant.