Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

French author, 50, says he's incapable of loving a woman of 50

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭ Niko Thousands Paperboy

Some people won't be happy until men are completely policed in what they say.

DS86DS wrote: »
    Who cares what chattering Aul wans like Lizzie Cundy think. If a man can get a prime aged woman in her 20s, then he is going to.

No amount of virtue signalling from a bunch of middle aged feminist battleaxes is going to change that

exactly the auld bags who feel threatened with irrelevance.

love the way that they trot out the exact same names of 4 or 5 women that have actually managed to stay attractive - what about the 100's of millions of other ones...?

• Candie wrote: »
    When aspiration and expectation collide with reality.

What they prefer, and what they can attract are often rather different. Most people have unrealistic expectations when talking about their ideal partner, to be fair.

In a way, your post is far more depressing than the original comment as in most people would rather be with someone hotter but settle for whoever they can get.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,756 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Which aspect of what he said was boorish ? He prefers a younger woman what is so bad about that?

He had to tell the world about it, say something shocking to get yourself in the limelight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭ Niko Thousands Paperboy

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    He had to tell the world about it, say something shocking to get yourself in the limelight.

It's shocking to the easily offended and predictably, the media know this and use it for clicks.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,756 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

glasso wrote: »

love the way that they trot out the exact same names of 4 or 5 women that have actually managed to stay attractive - what about the 100's of millions of other ones...?
    Sure all 25 year old women are beauties. Would you rather be with a 25 year old ugly woman or a 55 year old beautiful woman?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

You wouldn’t kick Terri Hatcher out of bed for baking a bad cake.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

glasso wrote: »

why do you have to talk about women like that? Do you look at the older women in your life as "aul bags"? So what if there are women out there who are not as attractive as a 25 year old, it's called ageing and it happens to all of us.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,752 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

There you go folks. If you have only learned one thing today it's "don't have an opinion on ANYTHING because it will offend someone".

The theres Sandra Bullock.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Candie wrote: »
    Plenty of people in the age group he's attracted to wouldn't be remotely interested in a guy as old or older than their dad.

How dare you, that's Captain Black! :P

capblack.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 32,802 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Why are people getting upset about someone expressing an opinion?
    His own personal opinion?

If this offends anyone, then they really need to take a good look at themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

He's within his rights to be a bit of a dickhead.

Just like young women are within their rights to want to be with him or not.

Non story.

I don't agree with him (as in that women that age are not attractive or cruising women half his age), and he seems a bit of a bellend, but it's relatively harmless and his business and at least he's being upfront about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

He's within his rights to be a bit of a dickhead.

Just like young women are within their rights to want to be with him or not.

Non story.

I don't agree with him (as in that women that age are not attractive or cruising women half his age), and he seems a bit of a bellend, but it's relatively harmless and his business and at least he's being upfront about it.

And as controversial French authors goes he is not even fit to lick the shoes of Michel Houllebecq. Now there's a creepy fecker.

To be fair, I'd say most older women don't give a fcuk what he thinks of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Have to agree with him when he says:

“I prefer younger women’s bodies, that’s all. End of. The body of a 25-year-old woman is extraordinary. The body of a woman of 50 is not extraordinary at all,”

I'd rather be feeling some nice melons compared to some prunes.

25 not a bit old for you?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

To be fair, I'd say most older women don't give a fcuk what he thinks of them.

When the supply of 25 year olds has dried up, there wont be a supply of same age either...

25 not a bit old for you?

Meheheheh! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,031 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

"nagging aul wans"
    "Battle-axes"
    "Aul bags"
    "Chattering aul wans"

Yay, another thread to enable the woman haters to vent. Hasn't been one of those in a while actually :rolleyes:

Some 50 year olds look good, some don't. Some 25 year olds look good,some don't. I don't think one man's personal preference should be international news.

To be fair, if you're a 50 year guy that thinks that, outside the very occasional situation or other factors like wealth and fame, women half your age are going to routinely find you attractive, you're a bit soft in the head.

He’s sorta famous, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭DS86DS

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    "nagging aul wans"
    "Battle-axes"
    "Aul bags"
    "Chattering aul wans"

Yay, another thread to enable the woman haters to vent. Hasn't been one of those in a while actually :rolleyes:

Some 50 year olds look good, some don't. Some 25 year olds look good,some don't. I don't think one man's personal preference should be international news.

It's not woman hating, it's just pointing out facts.

Men love fast cars and young women just as women love shopping and soap operas.

It's just how we are as people and there's nothing wrong with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,017 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

A 50 year old probably wouldn't put up with him

It's not woman hating, it's just pointing out facts.

Men love fast cars and young women just as women love shopping and soap operas.

It's just how we are as people and there's nothing wrong with it.

Feck. I hate shopping and soap operas. :( My life seems meaningless now. :(:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭ Gemma Yummy Wedding

Imagine the outrage if a woman said she only likes tall guys

Probably have her own money and opinions. Not sure that'd fly with him by the sounds of it :D

• Registered Users Posts: 14,243 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Imagine the outrage if a woman said she only likes tall guys

There'd be no outrage. Women say that all the time.

That sounds a bit like

"You can't fire me because I quit"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

He's right. Good on him if in his 50s he can get a 25 year old beauty.

Who wants a nagging Aul wan when you can get a woman in her prime.
    Yes, "aul wan" = automatically nagging.

Biology attracts men to younger women. Whether they actually end up with them is another story, and people are usually in relationships with those around the same age. As said, Melania Trump is always cited, when it suits, as a beautiful younger woman, even though she's nearly 49. And so what if Donald is nearly 73? She's still an "auld one". So "younger woman" is relative. And it's not like there is just either 25 or 50. And men seem to forget they age too, and a 60-year-old man would be delighted to be dating a 40-year-old woman and he wouldn't even be able to relate to a 25-year-old. Also these older men who get much younger women tend to be really rich or unusually good-looking and fit. You're kidding yourself if you think it's a standard thing for "dad" dudes to get together with women in their 20s.

But yeah anyway biology does attract men physically to younger women and that's totally fair enough - really stupid of those women to get angered by one man saying he wouldn't be attracted to them. He is only speaking for himself, and even though many other men feel the same way, he did still just voice his honest opinion and shouldn't be pilloried for it.

But some guys here have to make derogatory remarks about women for ageing or being middle-aged. I don't get what it does for them - don't they have mothers, grandmothers, aunties. Same lads tend to be the "muslims have a terrible attitude towards women" folks too. Crappy attitude towards women is terrible! (When it suits).

Yes, "aul wan" = automatically nagging.

Biology attracts men to younger women. Whether they actually end up with them is another story, and people are usually in relationships with those around the same age. As said, Melania Trump is always cited, when it suits, as a beautiful younger woman, even though she's nearly 49. And so what if Donald is nearly 73? She's still an "auld one". So "younger woman" is relative. And it's not like there is just either 25 or 50. And men seem to forget they age too, and a 60-year-old man would be delighted to be dating a 40-year-old woman and he wouldn't even be able to relate to a 25-year-old. Also these older men who get much younger women tend to be really rich or unusually good-looking and fit. You're kidding yourself if you think it's a standard thing for "dad" dudes to get together with women in their 20s.

But yeah anyway biology does attract men physically to younger women and that's totally fair enough - really stupid of those women to get angered by one man saying he wouldn't be attracted to them. He is only speaking for himself, and even though many other men feel the same way, he did still just voice his honest opinion and shouldn't be pilloried for it.

But some guys here have to make derogatory remarks about women for ageing or being middle-aged. I don't get what it does for them - don't they have mothers, grandmothers, aunties. Same lads tend to be the "muslims have a terrible attitude towards women" folks too. Crappy attitude towards women is terrible! (When it suits).

It's basic evolutionary psychology that men want and prefer younger women. If he can amass a good lifestyle he will get young women clamouring to him.

All of this started with angry feminists who can't accept evolutionary fact and the things that make us human.