Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Near misses - mod warning 22/04 - see OP/post 822

• Registered Users Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Duckjob

CramCycle wrote: »
    This was my understanding as well but on the same note, the rules for overtaking do not change. The road still has to be clear ahead and it must be possible to see far enough ahead to presume that the road will remain clear for the duration of the overtake. In most cases, a solid white line is there because this is not possible. It is not always the case, so I would be wary about giving some road users who are clearly not fit to make a decision for themselves the impression that it is grand to do, nor do I like the terminology of hazard.

Yeah but solid white lines are basically designed to denote high level of danger in cars overtaking other cars. A car initiating an overtake from behind a bike generally would require much less roadspace to complete the overtake due to lower speeds, so plenty of places where the former could be highly dangerous but the latter would be fine.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭papu

Almost witnessed a very nasty accident today, Truck was maneuvering into the construction site off Pearse St. 3 Banksmen for J R Ratigan construction to guide the truck , but they all stood at the front and no-one was watching the rear.

I was walking my bike up the footpath and the truck came well onto the footpath and then started reversing , it turned the cab and just narrowly missed the cyclist coming from behind..

Skipping on Embedded doesn't seem to work , its 12seconds in.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,362 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Chiparus wrote: »
    Sorry you are correct about DLR area.
    They widened the footpath on the north side narrowed the footpath on the southside and put in parking bays the then narrowed the road.

When it was pointed out that there was no provision for cyclists, they painted some bicycles on the road - no cycles .

I was driving along it a month ago saw a female cyclist nearly get killed when she suddenly stopped when she dropped some thing.

https://dlrcoco.citizenspace.com/transportation/bird-avenue-road-safety-improvement-scheme/

http://irishcycle.com/2016/11/05/council-uses-guidance-to-justify-no-spaceforcycling-but-ignores-advice-on-removal-of-slip-turns/

I'm not sure what else they could have done on Bird Ave. Unless they were to take away all parking to put in a bike lane, but you can just imagine the uproar that would result from that.
    papu wrote: »
    Almost witnessed a very nasty accident today, Truck was maneuvering into the construction site off Pearse St. 3 Banksmen for J R Ratigan construction to guide the truck , but they all stood at the front and no-one was watching the rear.

I was walking my bike up the footpath and the truck came well onto the footpath and then started reversing , it turned the cab and just narrowly missed the cyclist coming from behind..
    They weren't banksmen - they were just lads standing round having a look. They were feck-all use to anyone. The driver was very 'jerky' too - driving quite fast for the manoeuvres in question, presumably trying to take advantage of a gap in traffic - but definitely very risky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Had someone skip into the bus lane this morning approaching Patrick's cathedral without checking her blind spot. It wasn't really a near miss as I kinda saw it coming, but 100ft up the road there was a cyclist on the ground in front of a golf that had done the same thing. Two peds were helping him up and he seemed ok, if a little shook.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,254 ✭✭✭Chiparus

I'm not sure what else they could have done on Bird Ave. Unless they were to take away all parking to put in a bike lane, but you can just imagine the uproar that would result from that.

Perhaps if you drive up Bird Avenue and look at the 3m wide footpaths?

You can guess what happens when the church carpark or the sports ground carpark is full

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,824 Mod ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

Danbo! wrote: »
    Had someone skip into the bus lane this morning approaching Patrick's cathedral without checking her blind spot. It wasn't really a near miss as I kinda saw it coming, but 100ft up the road there was a cyclist on the ground in front of a golf that had done the same thing. Two peds were helping him up and he seemed ok, if a little shook.

Cameras on Bus lanes would stop this. In certain places if you've not left it within so many metres a fixed fine immediately. Same as with cameras at lights. It would free up gardai to police the dangerous driving etc that cameras alone can't.

Also a couple of things. The Bus Eireann strike has lead to a lot more private coach operators in Dublin the past few days. Operators who might rarely drive in urban areas, and operators I rarely see on my route but have seen a lot of the past few days. I'd be taking extra care with them around at the moment, as I feel they're less likely to be aware of the cyclists around the place.

Also, on Sunday had someone wait patiently enough behind me while cycling near Dunboyne/Clonee. They then thought a bend was a good spot. Luckily for them I could see a car ahead and waved at them to pull in behind me. They looked a little spooked and gave an appreciative wave as I possibly saved them and someone else serious injury.

I did have a closs pass on the Quays coming from the point to the IFSC too. I'm not sure what the point of the cycle lane there is at all. I don't know where you're supposed to get onto to it as it's slightly raised, goes off onto the road and around some busstops and has car parking spaces on some of the exits. It's really a stupid design. That it throws you out onto the little bridge beside the convention centre where there is virtually no space is nuts too.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 48,291 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

there's a spot on the r130, heading east from garristown towards the oldtown/naul road, where twice in my last three times on it, i've had to stick out the hand to warn a car approaching from behind not to overtake, as there was oncoming traffic. and both times the person behind me seems to have mistaken that for an 'overtake as fast as you can' signal. i must be doing something wrong, or maybe the drivers behind think i must have some form of tourettes.

on sunday, it was a 4x4 pulling a horsebox who was the oncoming traffic. he got a little bit of a start, waved a thank you at me.

there's a spot on the r130, heading east from garristown towards the oldtown/naul road, where twice in my last three times on it, i've had to stick out the hand to warn a car approaching from behind not to overtake, as there was oncoming traffic. and both times the person behind me seems to have mistaken that for an 'overtake as fast as you can' signal. i must be doing something wrong, or maybe the drivers behind think i must have some form of tourettes.

on sunday, it was a 4x4 pulling a horsebox who was the oncoming traffic. he got a little bit of a start, waved a thank you at me.

This is a tough one, I had a dublin bus tailgate me on a narrow road a while back and I attempted to gesture "back off/wait" and he overtook very tightly. When I spoke to him he said I had waved him on. Since then I use arm-out signal, like I'm turning right, then just take the lane. Not always possible but works the majority of the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,097 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I was driving down the Templeville road towards Terenure today, through both roundabouts as I do quite frequently. As I came onto the roundabout at Cypress Grove I saw a cyclist coming from Wainsfort road, passing on the left of the traffic sitting waiting.

As I drove around the roundabout I could see the cyclist with his head turned looking straight at me, but he never stopped and as I exited the roundabout he then came straight out in front of me. I braked and missed him by inches, but if I hadn't already seen him and been wary of him I have no doubt I would have hit him full on.

Considering what had happened on that road just the day before I couldn't believe how utterly stupid that guy was, but the fact is that I see such behavior very regularly on that road and at those roundabouts. The cycle lane is marked right around the roundabout but many cyclists seem to think it being marked gives them right of way over any vehicles already on the roundabout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

Right, lads, point to be raised at the compulsory weekly meeting of all Irish cyclists on Thursday.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,097 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Chuchote wrote: »
    Right, lads, point to be raised at the compulsory weekly meeting of all Irish cyclists on Thursday.

Typical dismissive answer, but do you not think that the markings on those roundabouts give rise to these sorts of incidents? Is there not a case to be made for better information on what those markings mean?

The thread title says "near misses", are you only interested in those that weren't the cyclists fault?

Typical dismissive answer, but do you not think that the markings on those roundabouts give rise to these sorts of incidents? Is there not a case to be made for better information on what those markings mean?

Not dismissive but simply recognising that other cyclists are no more responsible for a stupid act by a cyclist than you, as a driver, are for all the idiots who use their phone while in the car, say.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 48,291 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

This is a tough one, I had a dublin bus tailgate me on a narrow road a while back and I attempted to gesture "back off/wait" and he overtook very tightly. When I spoke to him he said I had waved him on. Since then I use arm-out signal, like I'm turning right, then just take the lane. Not always possible but works the majority of the time.
    i'm not sure if you can mistake an arm shot out, splayed fingers, and palm facing backwards as a 'coast is clear to overtake' manouevre, in the situations i've mentioned.

I particularly like the idea of siccing an earworm on the drivers. A-wim-a-weh-a-wim-a-weh

413043.jpg

yeah, when people beep at me i give them a nice cheery wave. to be fair, on at least one occasion, it has enraged them.

I gave a confused I don't know to someone who beeped at me. He then tried to run me off the road. But yeah, I agree, I am trying to be better at not reacting angrily.

Yeah you'd think that alright, but I guess they either misinterpret or just dont care.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,445 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Weepsie wrote: »
    Cameras on Bus lanes would stop this. In certain places if you've not left it within so many metres a fixed fine immediately. Same as with cameras at lights. It would free up gardai to police the dangerous driving etc that cameras alone can't.
    I still cannot understand why this is not done. The N11 is a joke at the minute with bus lane usage. One guy yesterday, had used the bus lane from Cabinteely, every light he was on his phone. Make it a requirement of any state sponsored buses to have their cameras to have ANPR, and run it against registry for taxis and buses.
    Yeah you'd think that alright, but I guess they either misinterpret or just dont care.
    FYP

• Registered Users Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

CramCycle wrote: »
    I still cannot understand why this is not done. The N11 is a joke at the minute with bus lane usage.

Had someone beeping and gesturing at me last week because I wasn't using the rollercoaster part of the N11 cycle lane city-bound by RTE. A certain someone not in a bus or taxi during the restricted hours for bus lane usage :pac:

jive wrote: »
    Had someone beeping and gesturing at me last week because I wasn't using the rollercoaster part of the N11 cycle lane city-bound by RTE. A certain someone not in a bus or taxi during the restricted hours for bus lane usage :pac:

I used to take the lane in bus lanes when cars were skipping traffic during restricted hours, until I had to make a very quick trip to our lady's hospital via some bus lanes a while back. Now I always make sure it isn't an emergency, but 99.9999% it's just assholes.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

I used to take the lane in bus lanes when cars were skipping traffic during restricted hours, until I had to make a very quick trip to our lady's hospital via some bus lanes a while back. Now I always make sure it isn't an emergency, but 99.9999% it's just assholes.

How do you do that?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,211 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

How do you do that?

Easy...if you hear a siren, move to the left.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭Fian

07Lapierre wrote: »
    Easy...if you hear a siren, move to the left.

Except when I drove in to Holles Street Hospital along the bus lanes while my wife was in labour (years ago) I didn't have a siren to activate.

For me it is not sensible to try and "police" other vehicles using the cycle lanes any more than it is appropriate for Taxis/Buses to try to "educate" cyclists out of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,211 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Fian wrote: »
    Except when I drove in to Holles Street Hospital along the bus lanes while my wife was in labour (years ago) I didn't have a siren to activate.

For me it is not sensible to try and "police" other vehicles using the cycle lanes any more than it is appropriate for Taxis/Buses to try to "educate" cyclists out of them.

Since when does having a pregnant woman in you car allow you to use the bus lanes? I understand why you did it, but you are still bound by the ROTR. Next time, contact your local Gardai station and request an escort.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Since when does having a pregnant woman in you car allow you to use the bus lanes? I understand why you did it, but you are still bound by the ROTR. Next time, contact your local Gardai station and request an escort.

That is correct, and I say that as someone who has broken the lights on the way to the rotunda.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

Fian wrote: »

Lots of assumptions there....

• Registered Users Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Lots of assumptions there....

where are the assumptions.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

This was just some dude in a van (Ford Transit) being an irate bollox, I didn't even take the lane he was just too wide to squeeze by.

He seemed to be vibrant and full of health

Ah now, if someone's in labour they get a free pass; when young Roubaix O'Donnell is on his way in, you don't have time to look for an escort.