Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Near misses - mod warning 22/04 - see OP/post 822

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,409 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

He also wouldn't have been so calm had it been a car he hit or had it been the gardai who pulled him over.

The truth is, he overtook two cyclists coming upto a turn he planned to take. He should have stayed behind. Just because you acted appropriately, does not absolve him of being a poor and unobservant driver.

Should the cyclists have seen what he was doing and drop anchor, possibly but by the sounds of it, he did not have much time to if the van managed to hit him.

I have noticed this more and more, with several incidences in the last week on the N11 where i have had to haul on the brakes because a car sped up just short of a junction to make the turn in front rather than behind. This said, a few have stopped short of the junction to let me through, but they always seem to do it in good time, which is great. These are generally observant and rational drivers who realise that a) I am there and b) they don't make time on the N11 tributaries by rushing so what is the point.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭shootermacg

Peterx wrote: »
    I am saying be aware of and give way to the 2 tonne white vans when they are turning left on top of you.

The driver was just "proceeding with the traffic" as my old driving instructor liked to say. Yes he could have seen the first cyclist and yielded but he never looked like stopping his turn. This happens so regularly that cyclists should allow for it, despite the rights and wrongs of the who should yield to who bit.

With the cake eating, you can safely substitute the word people for drivers.
    I routinely ignore many poor cycle lanes on my commute, I can hardly claim this particular stretch of red paint is sacred.

The only option left to the cyclist is to cycle in the middle of the road whenever there's a left turn so, just in case some van decides to turn in on top of him. OOps where's that sarcasm smiley?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,947 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

josip wrote: »
    Discrimination against Robin Reliants.
    Apologies for going off topic but it's a Reliant Robin (Reliant being the maker, Robin the model). ;)

(It's amazing how many say it back to front yet they wouldn't say 'Escort Ford' or Corolla Toyota'.)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,254 ✭✭✭Chiparus

Apologies for going off topic but it's a Reliant Robin (Reliant being the maker, Robin the model). ;)

(It's amazing how many say it back to front yet they wouldn't say 'Escort Ford' or Corolla Toyota'.)

To be doubly pedantic.
    You would say 5 series BMW , or e class mercedes:rolleyes:

Chiparus wrote: »
    To be doubly pedantic.
    You would say 5 series BMW , or e class mercedes:rolleyes:

I am not sure your right, the ads say BMW 5 series IIRC

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 48,204 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i reckon i'd say mercedes E class too.
    or 'mercedes E220'. 'mercedes E class' (or 'E class mercedes') isn't a model as such anyway, it's a range. same for 5 series.

• Registered Users Posts: 71 ✭✭V-man

Pedestrian focused on his phone decided to cross the main road straight into my path.
    All that saved us from a serious impact where my over sized Magura Disc brakes, we touched but don't think it was a nice feeling because bike including rider is still 120+ Kilo.
    Told him he was not looking on which he replied he did. Some people are just eejots.

(FYI I was wearing high-Vis, had my Lumotec light on (bonus) and he still did not see me despite watching)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,046 ✭✭✭buffalo

V-man wrote: »
    (FYI I was wearing high-Vis, had my Lumotec light on (bonus) and he still did not see me despite watching)

But were you wearing a helmet? Had you earphones in? One of those was probably the cause.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

"Robin Reliant" is just slightly easier to say and has a nicer rhythm than "Reliant Robin". Starts with a stress, two unstressed, then a stressed then an unstressed

Compare:
    -UU -U: dactyl, then a trochee. Very satisfying.
    U- U-U: iamb, then an amphibrach. Who among us even uses an amphibrach when we're writing verse? As Wikipedia says, "In English accentual-syllabic poetry, an amphibrach is a stressed syllable surrounded by two unstressed syllables. It is rarely used as the overall meter of a poem"

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 48,204 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

tomasrojo wrote: »
    Who among us even uses an amphibrach
    is that a fixie? sounds very hipstery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭I love Sean nos

tomasrojo wrote: »
    amphibrach
    Worlds-first-Water-Bicycle-1-640x359.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭mr spuckler

reposting as previous version was way too long!

collision at lunchtime, cyclist hit pedestrian who was crossing the road in front of peter's pub in dublin city centre. neither were using the road with due care or awareness. he seemed fine afterwards, she had a sore leg and was very shook.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,479 Mod ✭✭✭✭dory

I only started cycling for the first time ever last month. I can't believe how horrible motorists can be. One fella (the passenger) put his head out the window to shout at me to get off the road (just because he was behind the gárdaí for a long time who wouldn't pass me on a continuous white line). I've had loads of near misses - lots of people who are about to pull out onto the main road, see the bike, are terrified of getting stuck behind a bike , so pull out even though there's not enough space and almost knock into me. No wonder there are so many road deaths this year.

reposting as previous version was way too long!

collision at lunchtime, cyclist hit pedestrian who was crossing the road in front of peter's pub in dublin city centre. neither were using the road with due care or awareness. he seemed fine afterwards, she had a sore leg and was very shook.

So basically they both lived to tell the tale with minor possible bruising and a lesson learned being the outcome. Lets substitute in a car / truck and rerun this scenario again. What would the outcome be?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,046 ✭✭✭buffalo

So basically they both lived to tell the tale with minor possible bruising and a lesson learned being the outcome. Lets substitute in a car / truck and rerun this scenario again. What would the outcome be?

The driver says 'the cyclist wasn't wearing hi-viz or a helmet, how was I supposed to see them while checking the speedo to make sure I was under 30kph?'

• Registered Users Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

dory wrote: »
    I only started cycling for the first time ever last month. I can't believe how horrible motorists can be. One fella (the passenger) put his head out the window to shout at me to get off the road (just because he was behind the gárdaí for a long time who wouldn't pass me on a continuous white line). I've had loads of near misses - lots of people who are about to pull out onto the main road, see the bike, are terrified of getting stuck behind a bike , so pull out even though there's not enough space and almost knock into me. No wonder there are so many road deaths this year.

People have no idea what cyclists are up against until they get on a bike themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,489 ✭✭✭VW 1

Tombo2001 wrote:
    People have no idea what cyclists are up against until they get on a bike themselves.

Its so true, most true when you have a taxi driver beeping you to get out of the bus lane because you are impeding them. I would always like to invite them to try the cycle lane on my bike to see where they would choose yo cycle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,834 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Lets substitute in a car / truck and rerun this scenario again. What would the outcome be?

My money is on the truck beating the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

Not quite a near miss, but - I'm a little enraged at the moment, things going on at home - so I dashed out to the shop at 16:50, and as I came around a major turn, a van driver with a van with the logo of a parking firm was turning at the same time.

The driver was holding a mobile phone in front of his face as he turned, and as he drove on, and when I joined him before the lights, he was still staring into it.

Not my normal calm self, so I gave the van a belt with the flat of my hand and told him to put down that phone.

"**** off," he explained.

It escalated from there, with me telling him it was illegal, he was irresponsible, he was in charge of two tons of industrial machinery, he was a professional driver and should have more sense, and him telling me he had a perfect right to use the mobile phone in the car and there was nothing dangerous about it. "I'm recording you," he said, pointing the phone at me, and of course I replied "I hope you are!" And off he drove, with a friendly beep.

Chuchote wrote: »
    It escalated from there, with me telling him it was illegal, he was irresponsible, he was in charge of two tons of industrial machinery, he was a professional driver and should have more sense, and him telling me he had a perfect right to use the mobile phone in the car and there was nothing dangerous about it. "I'm recording you," he said, pointing the phone at me, and of course I replied "I hope you are!" And off he drove, with a friendly beep.

I only have two palms and feels so inadequate when I hold them upto my face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Sarz91

Coming home on the N11 just before Stillorgan a lad decided to pull into the cycle lane just in front of me and jam on. Nearly went into the back of him. Went to go around him and he had his hand up to apologise. This talk of hi-vis this and that. The chap saw me and decided he'd do it anyway.

I slowed down at his window to gesticulate that there are other cyclists behind him and that he should move. Other motorists started to shout at me even after I had moved on as if I was in the wrong. I nearly get hit and somehow I'm in the wrong....

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 23,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Call now logged with traffic watch, awaiting call back from local station.

The person who answered the call on the traffic watch line was fantastic, asked for the details of the incident (which I had a lot of!) and just said she would pass on all information to the local station. I'll keep you all posted with how I get on.

Just an update on this for anyone that remembers. (Close pass by a taxi in Portmarnock, video now private)

I got a call from the local station about a week after contacting Traffic Watch, and for a few different reasons I only managed to go up to the station with the footage this evening. His opinion on the pass was that it was ridiculously dangerous. He asked whether I'd be willing to go to court over it, which I said I would. He took the footage and said he will call to the drivers house and see what he says.

So far, everyone has been incredibly professional and courteous. So a thumbs up on the response so far.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭papu

Just an update on this for anyone that remembers. (Close pass by a taxi in Portmarnock, video now private)

I got a call from the local station about a week after contacting Traffic Watch, and for a few different reasons I only managed to go up to the station with the footage this evening. His opinion on the pass was that it was ridiculously dangerous. He asked whether I'd be willing to go to court over it, which I said I would. He took the footage and said he will call to the drivers house and see what he says.

So far, everyone has been incredibly professional and courteous. So a thumbs up on the response so far.

Fair play, hopefully the way to stop these ridiculous overtakes and punish passes is to take a few people to court over them. It really is sad that this is what it takes.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭a148pro

Glad you did this, was going to PM you when I read your first post at the start of this thread last night. I was knocked off bike 2 years ago, got photo of car with reg and number for witness who stopped. Rang it in to Garda Station but never went to make formal complaint. Even posted on here to say I would but never did.

Through bizarre coincidence later learned that 6 months after I got knocked down the same car was speeding with another car and the other car crashed into someone and killed them. Can't be sure it was same driver but probably was. Felt a bit sick to learn that as I felt I could have done more and perhaps if I had he might not have been so quick to go speeding the second time and perhaps that accident wouldn't have happened. A bit remote to say the least but still don't feel good about it.

The lesson is we have to make these complaints, even if it may be frustrating or may come to nothing we have to make them and do our best to stop this behavour lest others get hurt.

I had two close passes from some old bas tard on a motorbike. Started in Goatstown, where the bloody ape with a clear road ahead decided to buzz past me almost in the cycle lane, leaning into me.
    I ignored the first one.

Met him at the next set of lights, an inch outside the cycle lane, rolled my bike ahead of him, as is my right. I rolled off just as the lights turned green and about a second or two later he buzzed me accelerating actually in the cycle lane, barely inches away.

I cycled on and finally caught the scumbag at the canal near Harcourt street (I know right, all the breaking the speed limit and he still can't beat a man on a bike). Pulled up next to him and said, "hey I have all your bad behavior on camera and it's going straight to the police". To which he replied, "WHAT ARE YOU ****E-ING ABOUT? ******!!!"

I think it was a rhetorical question, but I answered anyway. I informed him, that he'd been breaking the speed limit and riding in the cycle lane the whole journey. I informed him that he was trying to unnerve cyclists on purpose and it was all on camera and that I would be reporting him to the police as soon as I got to my work-place. Seemed to quieten the scumbag down a little.

Unfortunately my camera was out of charge because I'd left it on my helmet the previous evening.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Chuchote wrote: »
    "**** off," he explained.

This is the best thing I've read today.

i would like to think that there's an element of contagion with this sort of thing. the more taxi drivers who relate to their mates that they've been caught on camera might spook the horses a little in their overtaking of cyclists.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,400 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Not my video, but shows some close calls for this cyclist...

I think it's getting worse out there, a buddy of mine came into contact with a UK reg coach on the way into Laragh during the week, sent him into the ditch but no injury suffered.. he caught up with the coach up in Laragh village.. driver must have hid! Definely seen him in the coach mirrors though, and didn't stop to check my buddy was ok on the bike...

It is weird, less than a month ago I could swear it was improving, now in the last two weeks it seems to be getting so much worse. Most cars are still grand but the few that are bad, are awful. I have ran out of fingers and toes to count the number of near misses I have observed this week. Out of all of them, one was the cyclists fault where they swerved out for a right turn without looking. Car was observant and slammed on as soon as it started, lucky they were well under the speed limit. The rest though, skimming by vans/cars in the bus lane, left hooks when overtakes were not even close to being completed etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

CramCycle wrote: »
    It is weird, less than a month ago I could swear it was improving, now in the last two weeks it seems to be getting so much worse. Most cars are still grand but the few that are bad, are awful. I have ran out of fingers and toes to count the number of near misses I have observed this week. Out of all of them, one was the cyclists fault where they swerved out for a right turn without looking. Car was observant and slammed on as soon as it started, lucky they were well under the speed limit. The rest though, skimming by vans/cars in the bus lane, left hooks when overtakes were not even close to being completed etc.

I've been thinking the same. At first maybe I thought it was this thread and I was noticing it more, but there definitely is something different. Maybe it's the weather, traffic getting worse in general, I'm not sure. But I've also witnessed a few altercations between cyclists and motorists, 2 this week alone.