Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If the Green Party got into government are they mad

• Registered Users Posts: 51,118 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Yes but the OP is giving out about the possibility of the Greens getting into government but it's mainly the OPs choices i.e. long commute because of their job and their home choices

We can only go by what happened the last time they were in Government and all they did was put a tax on fuel and rubber stamp FF’s actions which helped bankrupt the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭demfad

biko wrote: »
    Green parties are usually big city hipsters and generally clueless about the real-world nation-wide implications of their ill-thought-out "politics".

I used to vote Green but then I started looking into their politics beyond the lazy attitude I had that "sure, they probably good for the planet" and left.

Parties like this are usually leftists and will be hijacked by socialists sooner or later.

From greenparty.ie
    The Green Party is a progressive political party focused on social justice, democracy and protection of the environment.
    Only one thing here is green, the rest is leftist mumbo jumbo..

Democracy itself is "leftist" Mumbo Jumbo? Exactly how right wing are you?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

is_that_so wrote: »
    In an EV yes. We actually need more focus on what can be easily addressed.

An EV does nothing for congestion, particulates, damage to the roads or your own personal health

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Nobelium wrote: »
    We'll they are hardly going tax the rich are they ? Wouldn't go down too well in their comfortable leafy suburbs.

It's all about passing the burden of carbon taxes onto those who can least afford them, i.e. the ordinary working person. As usual the rich and the social welfare classes will be looked after.

You seem to have an issue with suburbs? What have they done on you?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭SonOfGoat

Just goes to show us Irish are really stupid people. The Lisbon treaty was voted no, but for some reason the nation changed it's mind and voted yes the second time. My point is, the dismal, idiotic green party at the time were spouting their usual rubbish. Wanting to ban light bulbs, wanting to raise the price of petrol and diesel and other carbon taxes. Eamon Ryan the moron on a tv show in about 2008 talking about they will have rural broadband in a few years and still look at it now. And the daddy of them all, the green party fought tooth and nail for water charges. So while there was uproar all over the country and people jailed over that, they get voted in. On a scale of 1-10, how stupid are Irish people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Nobelium

The Irish electorate seem to have the memory of a goldfish.
    From 2007-2011, the green party did everything they could to support, defend, and prop up FF's cronie capitalism that bankrupted this country for a generation, and left us with paying the massive debts we have to pay for several generations to come.

I'm all for preserving the environment for future generations, but the Green party are scum.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

demfad wrote: »
    Democracy itself is "leftist" Mumbo Jumbo? Exactly how right wing are you?
    Democracy itself is not leftist, you're right.

It's just a buzzword for them to use though.
    More buzzwords they like (from their charter):
    Individual autonomy
    Inclusive democracy
    Social justice
    Gender equity
    Justice between the generations
    Global justice

The green's virtue signalling is strong.

If the Green Party could shake off the leftist blah and focus on the environment only, I'd probably start voting for them again.
    Actually, I wouldn't because they are so heavily pro-EU.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    So let's do nothing?

Youre right lets force China and America and india to change by not buying their clothes, cars and electrical goods and medicines.

The Irish electorate seem to have the memory of a goldfish.
    From 2007-2011, the green party did everything they could to support, defend, and prop up FF's cronie capitalism that bankrupted this country for a generation, and left us with paying the massive debts we have to pay for several generations to come.

I'm all for preserving the environment for future generations, but the Green party are scum.

I remember Mary White of the Green party tabling a white paper for "recognising the Travelling Community as an ethnic minority". This would mean reserved places in the Dail and Seanad. A percentage reserved in the Judicary, police and civil service and on the "higher Profession" courses in Universities. This stuff is all on the way folks.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,331 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

No planes, stop making mobile phones and tablets. Would that make a huge difference?
    Of course it would but you won't hear the greens or anybody else going after that stuff.
    It's all about making it harder for the ordinary man.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,703 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Youre right lets force China and America and india to change by not buying their clothes, cars and electrical goods and medicines.

So basically, let's collapse our economies?

Thats right !!! we will show them by going back and living in caves. Can I bring my xBox, if thats ok?

Sure why not, surely there's components in it to start a fire

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Green party should focus on making the environment work for the people. Why hasn't work started on the 90 solar farms that have planning permission? Because government won't garentee to buy the clean electricity. This for example would be an easy subject for green party to get behind instead of non stop ****e about bikes in dublin

JJayoo wrote: »
    Green party should focus on making the environment work for the people. Why hasn't work started on the 90 solar farms that have planning permission? Because government won't garentee to buy the clean electricity. This for example would be an easy subject for green party to get behind instead of non stop ****e about bikes in dublin

Those solar farms are a load of rubbish. Yes they do make free energy but not fast enough to cover the cost of manufacture and installation. Dont lets go down the road of Biofuels again, lets not forget Niger.

I like the green party ideals but like communism, they dont work in the real world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

I wouldn't go that far now at all. Greens are generally thoughtful & well meaning. Just become too urban focused and blind to the wider consequences of their policies.

I remember Mary White of the Green party tabling a white paper for "recognising the Travelling Community as an ethnic minority". This would mean reserved places in the Dail and Seanad. A percentage reserved in the Judicary, police and civil service and on the "higher Profession" courses in Universities. This stuff is all on the way folks.

Typical half wit Greens. Equality of opportunity for everyone is a very good idea for society. Equality of outcome for certain people only . . not so much.

I like the green party ideals but like communism, they dont work in the real world.

Green party and communism, I'm not seeing the connection!

Great Ideas on paper but they dont translate well in the real world. See Venezuela. You get Mary Green back in power and we will all be headed for the Gulags.

Great Ideas on paper but they dont translate well in the real world. See Venezuela

But we haven't based our economy on oil exports?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

lawred2 wrote: »
    cutelad wrote: »
    Just wondering if anyone fear the green party getting into power. The likelyhood they will want us all stop burning turf stop driving and get buses and tax the hilt out of us. All grand but they are a Dublin party and no clue of the country folk. I drive 40 miles each way to work and really only way to get there.

Can they be any worse than FFG?

We've got about a decade to provide a future for our children. It's clear FFG have no credentials in this regard.

its hard believe grown adults believe this its all over in 11 years. my god.
    de clown al gore said the same 20 years ago... while living in a huge mansion and flying private jet rlol

Those solar farms are a load of rubbish. Yes they do make free energy but not fast enough to cover the cost of manufacture and installation. .

Solar farms are a great idea, the construction is minimal, the land is still fully available for grazing of sheep, the panels reduce wind so grass growth increases and they are beneficial for smaller mammals, tho this is more so in the UK as they have a lot more small mammals.

It also adds profit to 'poor' land. My only issue is that solar panel technology is still in its early stages and you would want a scheme in which you could upgrade your panels every 5 years or so for the better technology.

But we haven't based our economy on oil exports?

True but we are based around American based MNC. We do massive food trade with China. What do you think would happen if we started a trade war with these countries. Did you ever see a mouse rape an elephant?

its hard believe grown adults believe this its all over in 11 years. my god.
    de clown al gore said the same 20 years ago... while living in a huge mansion and flying private jet rlol

Sure I remember coming home scared from primary school if there was a nuclear war we would be all be done for. 90's Saddam Hussein had Chemical weapons..... Bogie man stories for children to keep their minds occupied.

Solar farms are a great idea, the construction is minimal, the land is still fully available for grazing of sheep, the panels reduce wind so grass growth increases and they are beneficial for smaller mammals, tho this is more so in the UK as they have a lot more small mammals.

It also adds profit to 'poor' land. My only issue is that solar panel technology is still in its early stages and you would want a scheme in which you could upgrade your panels every 5 years or so for the better technology.

You arent covering the cost of manufacture. If you have to upgrade them every 5 years then they have a shorter life than a washing machine!! They are useless. The real truth is there is a lot of hedgefund money in their development that is failing to materialise. In short they dont work.

BarryD2 wrote: »
    I wouldn't go that far now at all. Greens are generally thoughtful & well meaning. Just become too urban focused and blind to the wider consequences of their policies.

Some people have very short memories. The greens knew fine well what they were doing with FF from 2007-11. They supported, defended, and propped up their corrupt cronie capitalism right to the bitter end and bankrupted our country, destroyed thousands of lives, and forced an entire generation to emigrate yet again . .and we will be paying their debts for generations to come. This is the same party that preached to us in cahoots with the SIMI and the Germans that Diesel cars were environmentally friendly.

You arent covering the cost of manufacture. If you have to upgrade them every 5 years then they have a shorter life than a washing machine!! They are useless. The real truth is there is a lot of hedgefund money in their development that is failing to materialise. In short they dont work.

You don't get how upgrades work? When you upgrade your car do you bring your existing car to get crushed? Or is it taken and sold on again?

The point of this thread is the green party, if your only concern is your carbon footprint then simply don't have kids or pets and try not to live too long.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭swarlb

Macha wrote: »
    UN climate scientists say we have 11 years left to halve global emissions. In that context, the Green Party would be mad not to go into government in the near future, given the time lag between policy decisions and implementation.

Add to that the irreparable damage of plastics and the escalating biodiversity crisis.

11 years left ?

What exactly does that mean, 11 years before the 'end of the world' or in 11 years we'll be unable to breathe because the air will be toxic, and there will be no food left to eat, or water to drink.
    What EXACTLY does it mean ???
    10 years ago John Gormley told us we had '10 years left' to save the planet.
    Don't get me wrong, I'd actually vote for a Green candidate, but I'm kind of wondering.. 'When will it all end'
    At the rate they are going there seems little sense in actually looking forward to a future, little sense in bothering to have any children (as we only have 11 years left), little sense in signing a mortgage agreement, little sense in bothering to study in order to get a decent education, and a decent job.
    The whole climate change debate is relentless to the point of getting boring, almost like Brexit.
    Someone needs to explain EXACTLY what is happening, in coherent understandable terms, and not the usual scaremongering babbletalk.
    If Ireland, tomorrow, completely stopped ALL emissions, would that mean we'd have 11.2 years left (and loads of spare cash, because of the money saved on fines) because in the grand scheme of things Ireland means feck all in global terms, and unless EVERY country on the plant conforms there is little point in even having a debate.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,756 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Macha wrote: »
    UN climate scientists say we have 11 years left to halve global emissions. In that context, the Green Party would be mad not to go into government in the near future, given the time lag between policy decisions and implementation.

Add to that the irreparable damage of plastics and the escalating biodiversity crisis.

The UN said no such thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

4 years left to save the world - 2009

hansendemon.jpg