Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

35000 for falling in your own yard

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

namloc1980 wrote: »
    You'd be in beach of your tenancy by filling it in yourself. What if you made a balls of filing it in? You'd be responsible for any injuries caused.

Well in that case - assuming I hadn't the wherewithal or the technical competence to fill in a hole. I take the bold step of actually supervising my kids.

Jacinta - see pot hole out the back? Stay away from it will you - NASA are working on a revolutionary technology which we hope may in time be able to fix it.
    What's it called ma?
    Bag of premix or something along those lines, i don't know honey, best just leave it to the experts.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,064 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

You'd be in beach of your tenancy by filling it in yourself. What if you made a balls of filing it in? You'd be responsible for any injuries caused.

Well in that case - assuming I hadn't the wherewithal or the technical competence to fill in a hole. I take the bold step of actually supervising my kids.

Jacinta - see pot hole out the back? Stay away from it will you - NASA are working on a revolutionary technology which we hope may in time be able to fix it.
    What's it called ma?
    Bag of premix or something along those lines, i don't know honey, best just leave it to the experts.

Absolving property owners of all responsibility I see. That'd end well. "Never mind that live wire hanging down there, just keep away from it, it'll be grand".

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭Samuel Vimes

judeboy101 wrote: »
    Groarkey again, quicker we elect our judges the better.
    enricoh wrote: »
    Judge groarke, if i ever have a compo case it better be him on that day! A most generous man!

To be fair all the Judge did was approve the SETTLEMENT OFFER.
    In other words liability was accepted , he had no hand act nor part in deciding the case, his sole role was to approve the settlement offer and he cannot order the offer to be lowered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Are we absolving parents of all responsibility? The parents have a duty of care to supervise their child. Does she need someone from the council to move in and babysit?

LOL at all the posts blaming the council for not fixing her free house quick enough. The council provided housing for her and her child, something she failed to do. What is her responsibility as a parent? Housing and supervising her child don't seem to be expected of her.

You can rant and rave all you wish but a landlord whether council or private is responsible for ensuring the property they are renting is in a safe manner. Especially after they had been informed of an issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

You kind of left out the bit about the council being the landlord and not fixing the issue after they'd been told about it. Fairly important info to skip over.

Its not important. The outrage is important.

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭PistolsAtDawn

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    Can’t beat it. House at nominal rent and all the trimmings, plus the odd cash bonus if you have a mishap. Here’s me like a fecking eejit up and early to head to work and pay my mortgage.

This is Ireland, only idiots work for a living. Better off letting the taxpayer pay for your lifestyle

Oh great, instead of being about whether or not the claim was justified, this is going to be another bashing thread...

Are you new to AH :pac:

This is Ireland, only idiots work for a living. Better off letting the taxpayer pay for your lifestyle

You know nothing about the individuals involved other than your own prejudices filling in the blanks for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

pjohnson wrote: »
    Its not important. The outrage is important.

It's a disgrace Joe

To be fair all the Judge did was approve the SETTLEMENT OFFER.
    In other words liability was accepted , he had no hand act nor part in deciding the case, his sole role was to approve the settlement offer and he cannot order the offer to be lowered.
    Are you trying to undermine our outrage by quoting facts?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭Charles Ingles

TUSLA should be called in and that woman's children taken off of her - she allowed her child to play in a dangerous area by her own admission.

Good point,
    But responsibility only goes one way in this country

Edgware wrote: »
    It is just another sign of how fed up ordinary hard working people are with all the scampers, dossiers and Scrotes who are leeching the system.
    Casey for Europe.

Shuffling Casey outta the way isnt a bad idea it got Hogan away from us.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,547 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

pjohnson wrote:
    Are you new to AH

No, but given how utterly depressing and repetitive the dole bashing threads are, I was doing my best to avoid them. Some posters do their very best to shoehorn the topic into absolutely any thread they can though.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

They're fond of claiming in that place. A kid claimed and was paid substantial monies for falling off a rock in that place a few years ago.

No, but given how utterly depressing and repetitive the dole bashing threads are, I was doing my best to avoid them. Some posters do their very best to shoehorn the topic into absolutely any thread they can though.

The topic of a thread is meaningless. If the threads seems popular its gunna be either "immigration" or "scroungers". Its all some can talk about.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,262 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Bloody joke. If it was that big of a liability then surely the renters should have some modicum of intelligence to avoid the area. The child was 14, not 4. Not too hard to tell them to stay clear.

And here's an idea, why not fix it themselves and show a bit of respect for their home instead of waiting for everyone to do things for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

You can buy a bag of mixed sand and cement in a hardware store for about 4 euro. Mix and a bit of water and fill the hole . I know they complained to the council about it, but how about getting off your arse and fixing it yourself . It's not like you'd have to be a builder to fill a bit of a hole

pjohnson wrote:
    Are you new to AH

Rarely see a pensions bashing thread even though multiples more is spent on OAP than dole, children's allowance and any other social support you can think of.

You can buy a bag of mixed sand and cement in a hardware store for about 4 euro. Mix and a bit of water and fill the hole . I know they complained to the council about it, but how about getting off your arse and fixing it yourself . It's not like you'd have to be a builder to fill a bit of a hole

Ethnic cousins only take no action whatsoever

Legally you'd be in breach of the tenancy agreement. Are you suggesting tenants should breach their tenancy terms and conditions?

Legally you'd be in beach of the tenancy agreement. Are you suggesting tenants should beach their tenancy terms and conditions?

Breach

Rarely see a pensions bashing thread even though multiples more is spent on OAP than dole, children's allowance and any other social support you can think of.

The OAP bashing is saved for budget time.

Pensioners have paid their dues to society and deserve every social help they get.
    Unlike the won't work and entitled brigade

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Edgware wrote: »
    It is just another sign of how fed up ordinary hard working people are with all the scampers, dossiers and Scrotes who are leeching the system.
    Casey for Europe.

I'd rather the likes of Coveney just grew a pair.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭von Smallhausen

Oh it gets better.....

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/41000-for-student-who-fractured-his-ankle-in-fall-on-footpath-38004029.html

41 fookin' thousand for not looking where you are going at 6am in the fecking morning. I know this cretin and his family I used to live in the same estate...and as a supposed student whom lives near the school he supposed to attend..you dont need to start at 6am in the feckin morning, its a literal 20-30 minute walk.

This is where our taxes are going....i'm off to take an "accidental" fall on my way home from work as some of the footpaths are dodgy at best where I walk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

Will she use the 35,000 as a deposit to buy her own house?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭janfebmar

Banana Republic. The taxpayer pays as usual. I'd break my own ankle for 5k, never mind 35k.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

Legally you'd be in breach of the tenancy agreement. Are you suggesting tenants should breach their tenancy terms and conditions?

Why ring them in the first place , if I had a hole that was hazardous ( no jokes pleases) I'd fix it myself . Are the council gonna throw someone out of their home for filling a hole. I'd doubt it

Pensioners have paid their dues to society and deserve every social help they get.
    Unlike the won't work and entitled brigade

Not all pensioners have paid their dues. Scangers and Scrotes get old too and continue to bleed the system

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

vicwatson wrote: »
    Back Yard? Yard?

‘merica

been worse if it happened on the "property"

First they came for the socialists...