Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Experimenting with long hair giving that barbers are shut?

• 06-03-2021 8:37pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 165 ✭✭

Trying to get a look like one of these photos below. I suppose they take a bit of management. 90s American movie star look. There might have been a time when these were considered a style, but nowadays these guys would be seen to need a haircut. You never see styles like this anymore!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

They look good. Mainly Sean Penn.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,916 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

I'm bald. Fúck off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 165 ✭✭Deemed as Normal

They look good. Mainly Sean Penn.
    What stands out about his?

Sexy tousled looking with a slightly moody approach.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

The Problem with hair that length is that in order to look good, this really needs a hairdresser to look after it...not just a barber.

Full length hair you just tie up in the back and you're done...that length needs managing or it looks like you're wearing a mop.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭Ultrflat

I need a hair cut sooo bad, there is nothing I can do with it. So that's what I do messy unkept hair cut for moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

peasant wrote: »
    The Problem with hair that length is that in order to look good, this really needs a hairdresser to look after it...not just a barber.

Full length hair you just tie up in the back and you're done...that length needs managing or it looks like you're wearing a mop.

As a bald man, my heart absolutely bleeds for those with these kind of problems.

The horror of looking like you are wearing a mop. A mop of beautiful, thick, defying the ravages of time hair.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Can yiz really not find a barber who’s cutting hair on the QT at this stage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

You need to raise the bar, OP.

aca6d5fd70d0ec2fce29df2ce417350c.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 78,241 ✭✭✭✭Victor

I've let my hair grow since December 2019. I was going to get a haircut in February 2020, but thought "Nah".

The beard has gone completely white.

The head hair, previously dark has started falling out in handfuls and there is downy white hair underneath.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,170 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

peasant wrote: »

A fair point.
    Like looking at the Sean Penn hair it looks cool and you'd think all it is is just letting your hair grow out. But as you say you'd probably find out Penn was going to the hairdresser's all the time.

But op give it a shot. You've only got two options on lockdown. Let it grow out and buzz cut. I am rocking the buzz cut myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭AlejGuzman68

Go with the Hasselhoff look and add in a pornstache.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

tis hard to find anybody to cut hair like that nowadays.

They've forgotten how to do it.:confused:

The skills have been lost.

Most fellas nowadays are happy with some sort of laughable 'buzz cut'.

No 1 on the sides & 2 on the top.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭thesultan

If I had perfect hair (I don't). Mine would be like the guy off dazed and confused. I also like Eddie vedders 92 hair

• Registered Users Posts: 10,526 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

I got mine cut just before lockdown, getting rather “unruly” at this stage. Hoping to get it done again as soon as possible but it’s just another sacrifice we have to make in these unprecedented times.

Really hope to see the majority of men back in the barbers when things “open up” again. There are few things worse on a man than long, curly, hair and an raggedy, unkempt, beards. Well, bootcut jeans, obviously.

I’ve noticed a large number of gross beards poking out from behind the masks when I’m out shopping and, quite frankly, I don’t like it. Unhygienic and unsightly.

The tide is turning…

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 108 ✭✭Fran has a bone

https://twitter.com/i/status/1098735571277631488

Mines getting more like this, but such a nuisance now with it and blowing in the wind

• Registered Users Posts: 23,796 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Everyone should grow out Jerry Kiernan hair in tribute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Stephanie33

Mines getting more like this, but such a nuisance now with it and blowing in the wind

Where are ya going with your fetlocks blowing in the wind :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

The trick with three month hair is not to touch it just leave the bed head scuffy look.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

just grow it long enough and it can be tamed again :D

34009-1_720x720.jpg?v=1580927001

• Registered Users Posts: 51,111 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

giphy.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

Turning into Dermot Morgan, can't wait to get to the barbers.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I'm just getting continuously better and better looking

• Registered Users Posts: 81,114 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Me, I'm thinking about a look between Tom Jones and David Hasselhoff, if I make a balls of it then it's Terry Savalas time with the cutter.

I'm just getting continuously better and better looking

Traffic collides when I cross the road. Onlookers stop and stare. Crowds gather in midnight vigils with pictures of me. The Pope himself expressed a huge sermon to my attractiveness in the Vatican.

Me aswell :D no I'm being truthful and im looking so good lately :pac: it's the lack of stress and freedom :D thank God!

Only trouble is...Ive lost all modesty :D

Use your boobs well girlfriend

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

My OH is cut my hair the week before last with a professional trimmers, and it was a pretty good job for someone who is not a barber.

The hair was getting unruly - as the others opined, if you were to grow your hair out some sort of styling would be required for it to look well.

As for me - I’m toying with the idea of growing it shoulder length again, the first time sine 1998, when I cut it very short after my long haired college years. But my partner would never like that! Only now I’ve got the salt and pepper colouring...

• Registered Users Posts: 16,757 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

It's strange how the pandemic has changed my hair cuts for no obvious reason - my wife has cut my hair for years. Always had short shorn trims but for a laugh during the first lockdown, she decided to give me a funky asymmetrical cut and I've left the top grow longer than its been in decades. I have a shock of grey hair now and I love it!

I've also become quite handy at keeping her hair in shape.

We're like monkeys, grooming each other!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

tenor.gif

...maybe?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 165 ✭✭Deemed as Normal

I forgot Bryan Ferry