Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
03-11-2018, 12:09   #1
deadl0ck
Registered User
 
deadl0ck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,293
ReCap a C64 ?

Anobody re-done the caps in a C64 ?
Or know where I could get it done ?
deadl0ck is offline  
Advertisement
03-11-2018, 18:24   #2
KeRbDoG
Registered User
 
KeRbDoG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,050
Yup, done it - I bought a kit (as I'm lazy) from https://retroleum.co.uk/c64-capacitors along with a cap kit for a Speccy 48k while I was at it.

Many guides on YouTube to help you along with different methods of removing the old caps and installing the new caps
KeRbDoG is offline  
Thanks from:
04-11-2018, 14:39   #3
deadl0ck
Registered User
 
deadl0ck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,293
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeRbDoG View Post
Yup, done it - I bought a kit (as I'm lazy) from https://retroleum.co.uk/c64-capacitors along with a cap kit for a Speccy 48k while I was at it.

Many guides on YouTube to help you along with different methods of removing the old caps and installing the new caps
Apart for the cap replacement are there any other "must do" things ?
deadl0ck is offline  
17-11-2018, 22:59   #4
KeRbDoG
Registered User
 
KeRbDoG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by deadl0ck View Post
Apart for the cap replacement are there any other "must do" things ?
A general cleaning and if you fear overheating of the main processing chips, installation of good quality heatsinks.
KeRbDoG is offline  
Thanks from:
17-11-2018, 23:06   #5
deadl0ck
Registered User
 
deadl0ck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,293
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeRbDoG View Post
A general cleaning and if you fear overheating of the main processing chips, installation of good quality heatsinks.
Are there heatsink sets also ? (I'm also lazy)
deadl0ck is offline  
Advertisement
18-11-2018, 18:14   #6
KeRbDoG
Registered User
 
KeRbDoG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,050
On that site I linked to before, yup - but they are aluminium not copper but each to their own
KeRbDoG is offline  
18-11-2018, 20:55   #7
deadl0ck
Registered User
 
deadl0ck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,293
So I finally took down my C64 form the attic - it was still in it's (very tatty) box. It's a C64C and it's gone very yellow (a lot more yellow than I would have though considering it was not left in sunlight at all)
Anyhoo - I plugged it in and power light came on, but no picture
I'm using an S-Video cable from retro computer shack
Bugger !
deadl0ck is offline  
19-11-2018, 20:08   #8
deadl0ck
Registered User
 
deadl0ck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,293
So I reckon it's the PSU - it's a 4 pin out on the supply I have. The 5V DC seems fine but the 9V are around 2V and 7V
deadl0ck is offline  
20-11-2018, 22:12   #9
eddhorse
Registered User
 
eddhorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,740
Send a message via ICQ to eddhorse
Which power supply do you have?
eddhorse is offline  
Advertisement
20-11-2018, 22:40   #10
deadl0ck
Registered User
 
deadl0ck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,293
I was wrong - the power supply is reading 10.4 on the pins - i was reading it wrong as it's 2 phase so I should have been on pin 6 and 7

Anyhow - that was under no load (so a direct read off the pins with a multimeter), but after a bit more reading, and a post on the lemon64 forums I checked the 2 RAM chips and they are reading 1.46 V instead of 5 at pins 1 and 9

So it could be the power supply after all

And...if it sounds like I don't really know what I'm talking about it because I don't I'm just learning as I go along.....

Edit: here's a look at the old girl:
deadl0ck is offline  
21-11-2018, 11:16   #11
safetyboy
Registered User
 
safetyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by deadl0ck View Post
I was wrong - the power supply is reading 10.4 on the pins - i was reading it wrong as it's 2 phase so I should have been on pin 6 and 7

Anyhow - that was under no load (so a direct read off the pins with a multimeter), but after a bit more reading, and a post on the lemon64 forums I checked the 2 RAM chips and they are reading 1.46 V instead of 5 at pins 1 and 9

So it could be the power supply after all

And...if it sounds like I don't really know what I'm talking about it because I don't I'm just learning as I go along.....

Edit: here's a look at the old girl:
That looks like it's been very damp.
safetyboy is offline  
21-11-2018, 11:21   #12
deadl0ck
Registered User
 
deadl0ck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,293
Quote:
Originally Posted by safetyboy View Post
That looks like it's been very damp.
It was on my parents attic for many years before I rescued it, and it might have been a bit damp there (even though it was in its original box and styrofoam).

Any tips as to how I should approach it ?
deadl0ck is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet